Cats Lovers??

Somersault? Hahaha.... Transulcent, to tell you the truth, she's always doing it. She's indeed a joy to us. Now, I don't even want to go out any more. Just wanna go home and play with her....

Translucent,

I only have 1 cat, and his name is Nanook. Chocolate Peanut Buttercup is one of the many strays I named. There are lots of beautiful strays near my place. Would you like to look at Nanook too?

Wet food is canned food actually. Comprises of mainly fish and some other meat like chicken, lamb, liver, beef etc.

Eunice,
Cats are very clean so they dun really need to be bathed occasionally. We bathe Nanook once every two weeks because we want him to smell nice, and because of his huge white patch, it would look dirty lor.

I have used the sand Curly is using right now.(Litter Star) It's good, rather effective, and not to worry, the cats won't swallow the beads. I have stopped using it because Nanook played with the sand rather than used it.

Hey lollipop

Checked at my pet store last night, they didn't have the Whiskas biscuits for kittens leh. Hopefully Carrefour has it now.... remember the last time I went, didn't see any...

OHhh lolli!! I thought wet food means u give them wat watever u eat!! like vegie n meat! haha. Me so silly.
Yar, can i see ur cat too Lolli!
I hve good news!! I bought my Buttercup today!!!!
But she seems to be afaird of me??? Waaaahhhhh.
WHy???? Keep jumping everywhere and run away whenever I am near leh.Exploring the house.
Normal??? I feel so neglected.....

Translucent,

Congratulations! You have finally gotten Buttercup! How does it look like? What breed is it? How much did you pay for it? Would love to see how it looks like.

Give it time to explore the hse, and observe where her fave spot is. Also, the ltter tray has to be placed in an area which is private, esp. for young kittens.

Remember not to feed it with milk.

Let Buttercup come to you instead of you approaching it. Perhaps it is feeling stressed. Give it time to get used to the surroundings then you.

What's your email add?

Curly,
The Whiskas dry food for kitties are in a foil pack, think it is about 1kg or 500gm. Try NTUC.

Curly,
Try the NTUC at Hougang Mall. It's near your parents' place right?

I know they sell it there. And if NTUC doesn't have stock, you can try the pet shop, Petlovers. Same level.

po0;.Lolli,
hmm maybe i should just do my normal things and let her come to me huh? I keep wanting to catch her and carry her. But she keeps runnung away from me.
I think I scare her when i bought her home. SHe was kept in a box while i was driving. And she keep meowing until so pityful...but i cant let her out.
She is a normal house kitten. So i guess no breed? ;P I paid $40. But plus the scratch post n the ,toyr, her food etc altogether 160+.

How come is a cat in Spore huh?
Opps sorry so excited until forgot to give u my email. [email protected]
THnks! I will try to snap afew n email u guys too.

Hey she is licking me now, does tt means she is getting used to me already?
Thanks for helping huh!

Congratulations Translucent!!! Please tell us more about Buttercup. How old is she huh?? What colour?? And pls, pls show us her snaps when available.

I remember when Snowball first came, she was very unresponsive but now she'll run towards me when I call her. There's 1 habit she's still doing - rest between our legs. I suppose it gives her security.

Last x'mas I enquired about a cat (local shortair ??), I think it's around $400. Recently they have some imported ragdolls, males cost $800++ and females cost $900++. So expensive!!

Lollipop, went to Carrefour just now, they don't have the kittens ones.... Will check out NTUC Marina Sq tomorrow lunch time. If still can't find, then will go to Hougang Mall this weekend.

I dunno hw much a cat costs in singapore, it all depends on the type of breed also. the more exotic, the more exp.

if she's licking you, she's getting used to you. which is good news! let her recognise your scent.

will send it to you now.

WAAAAH. SHe is curling around me NOW. N was biting me playfully. waaah first time i let a pet bite me. I was so afraid of their bite before. ~gulp~ I am trying to get used of their claws actually. I already hve scartches on my thigh.

Curly, Buttercup is 9wks old now. So it is normal tt they are unresponsive initially huh. So relieve.I think she is starting to like me alittle. She is greyish, brown, black in color. hehe. Rojak.;P

Wow cats can be so ex huh.Like dogs. Mine is domestic cat, so very cheap i guess.

Wow Translucent, you must be having so much fun!! Buttercup is 9 wks' old, must be tiny. Give a more time and she'll recognise you. Snowball is around 15 - 16 wks' old now. She's very playful; loves to bite and scratch still.

So is she going to sleep with you?? Snowball sleeps with us on weekends only.

Curly, how cute, instrict curfew for snowball to sleep on weekends on ur bed only??
Now, I dont know if i should leave her in my rm at night or outside my rm. Her fav place seems to be under my bed at the mo! haha.
But if i leave her outside my rm, the alarm sensor will detect her n trigger the alarm. But if she sleeps in my rm, im afraid she will sleep on my bed which i am not very keen leh.how huh.

Hey she is sleeping on the chair I am sitting now. Sooooo cuteeeee. Sorry girls I keep talking abt my cat. ;PPPPP I am jsut so fascinated by her.

Translucent, I let her sleep with us only on weekends bec that's when we sleep without aircon. So if she needs to do her business, she can go any time (I don't want her to do it in my room or on my bed). But sometimes she'll give me heart attack. Last Sunday morning I heard noises from the window grills and guess what? She was climbing right up to the top of the grills and the windows were wide opened. So I had to pull her inside forcefully. Sometimes she'll go under the cover and start biting or licking us in the middle of the night. She ever licked me on my lips too. If you don't like her to sleep on your bed, maybe you can buy her a nice bed.

Don't apologise because we are all doing the same thing!

But Curly,

When she was sleeping with u guys, does she knows how to do her business? When she was younger, does she knows where to do her poo poo n pee pee?

My rm is upstairs n I place her food n litter downstairs at the laundry area. But I am afraid when she is in my rm, she wouldnt know where the food or litter is? Now, i hve put them in my rm, my toilet. n the litter sinks leh. argh.

Wah ur cat must hve loved u so much! Lick u on the lips.

Hi Translucent,
Glad both of you are getting along with each other! Suggest you keep her in your rm, otherwise you may have a hard time looking for something so tiny. I suppose she has been dewormed and vaccinated? Cats are very clean, so no worries about sharing your bed. Nanook is quite "zi dong", though he sleeps with me, he only occupies the foot of my bed, although at night, I'd wake up to find him in the middle of my bed.

BTW, have sent you those pic

>^..^<

Translucent, when we first had her, she did her business mostly on newspapers, only ocassionally out of place but mostly in the kitchen. But once she learnt to use the litter tray, you don't have to worry any more. Like what lollipop mentioned, must bring her to the litter tray and sniff.

I agree with lollipop to keep her in your room now as she might hide somewhere and you can't find her. Snowball used to hide underneath the fridge when she was very small and we couldn't find her....

Translucent,

If you have the litter tray now, train it to use it immediately, then you won't have to worry about the mess. Sit with it when it's eating, and once you get the cue it doesn't want anymore, bring it to the tray.

Lolli, Your Nanook is so human. Know how to Zi Dong. I hope mine is too. We'll see tonight. ;P
I've seen Nanook too! Thanks for the pics. Wah he looks like a eyptian cat leh! The patterns on the fur very nice. How old is he now huh?

Hmm ok I will keep her in my rm for the moment then. UNtil she get used to this house.
She is vaccinated already, but not dewormed yet. The keeper said I can do it myself? Ask me to go in nxt week so she can show me how to do it.

I bought a collar for buttercup too. But she doesnt seems to like the bell leh. Up till now, hve not managed to slip the collar unto her. haha.

Also, I keep hearing this sound coming out from her. SHe has eaten, so I dont think its cos she is hungry. Do u guys do what is tt? How does purring sound like??? Never heard before leh.

Very difficult to describe how purring sound like leh. Try this - say pu...rr with your tongue. You can feel it at her throat.

Update us more about Buttercup ok??

hmmmm i think i heard her purr awhile ago. But there is this other sound...like a deep "theeeeeeeeee". Heard of it?

Also, she just poo poo. And it looks quite slimy leh. Cats shit is hard one or wet one? My friend said for dogs, if u feed them dry food, their poo will come out hard hard kind. If it is the same for cats, then my one normal?
I wonder was it cos she had such a fright in her new environment tt her poo is wet? haha.
GOsh, im so worried she will get sick.

Hi Translucent, cats can make many different sound. Sometimes Snowball doesn't meow; when she first responded to me when I called her, she "ae.....". Was very cute and I made her said it repeatedly until she got "sian". hahaha....

So far her poo poo has been solid one leh, only different colours. Only once was quite messy - I think because she was scared. It was her first trip to the vet and we put her in a box. On the way back home, she poo-ed and messed herself... So can't really conclude if it was soft or wet but stink like hell......

Translucent, you are the first person who commented Nanook looks like an Egyptian cat.. btw, he's 4 years old now.

When he was much younger, his waste was alittle wet also, but given proper food, her waste will solidify. No problem. What Curly said is true, if the cat is scared, it will pass out "green" poo poo... Nanook's solid.

Remember not to give it milk, otherwise, stomachache. Then poo poo will be very wet, like diarrhoea.

Nanook makes alot of sounds too. He breathes very hard as well. He also makes endearing sounds... like he sighs in contentment.
I also dunno how to write down in words how a purr sounds like

Curly, my buttercup doesnt meow much too. She only meows when she couldnt find me when i leave her downstairs.

This morning, her poopoo is much better than yest ones. So i guess u girls r right lar. She was abit traumatized yest, so her poopoo wet wet one.

Yar Lolli, thanks for the advice. I didnt give her milk. I better not, cos I wouldnt want her to hve diarrhoea n mess everything up. haha. Just now when she poopoo, her tail kenna her shit! I will need to get used to traces of pee n poo in my house. haha.

Yest, she slept with me on the bed too. And this morning, she curl up on my chest n sleep close to my heart. aaawwwwwwww!

Lolli, Nanook's eyes said it i think. Like eyptian eyes right????He just reminds me of Anne Rice's Queen of the Damned?? haha.

hehhe.... my orange sounds like a motor engine running when she's abt to sleep

i got her a basket n placed a small mattress on it for her to sleep. so far ive seen her lying on it once but at nite, she still sleeps with us on the bed everyday.

btw, wat's the best way to bring orange out? i would like to bring her n junior to east coast but i dunno how to carry her along when we go blading. can i place her in a bag??

Hi eunice

I think my buttercup sounds like tt. Sometimes she makes the deep motor sound. When she is sleeping, the motor in her was on the whole time!
Buttercup doesnt like to sleep in the basket I bought for her too. Infact, she hve not rest in it yet since I bought her back.

Eunice, so be careful when u bring orange out leh. I was thinking if there is another person in the car during the journey to EC, will be better. Cos the person can play with her so she wont be so afraid right.
And I saw Orange's pictures posted here. Her eyes are so huge n adorable. I love her color too. No wonder u named her Orange.

I guess cats like the warmth we provide... cats can be quite "manja" at times

Queen of the Damned?! Aiyoh, that movie quite dark leh....

halo Translucent,

my hubby would be the one driving
both orange n junior have no problems travelling cos they quite used to it. only thing is tat we hardly take her out of the car cos we r afraid tat she might juz run away.

say gals, how do u bring ur cat to other places? do u let it roam free? has anyone tried using the harness? btw, how come i never see any clothes for cats huh?

Eunice,
I dun bring Nanook to any place because I'm afraid I'd lose him. Also, I dun want to stress him.

I haven't used the harness on him, if one day I finally decided to walk the cat, haha... walk the cat... then I will get the harness. the cat feels more secure wearing a harness rather than a leash.
There are clothes meant for cats, a colleague told me once she put it on for her cat, the cat was stunned, its movements unsure, and it walked backwards!

hahaha.... lollipop, so funny!! Imaging Nanook walking backwards...... Never thought of dressing up Snowball, only thought of gloves for her paws. Ever thought of walking her but losing her..... no way!!

Went to NTUC Marina Sq just now, they don't have the kitten Whiskas biscuits. Really got to wait till weekend.....

Curly,
Initially my mum thought of putting mittens on Nanook to prevent him from scratching our furniture, but the idea was discarded. Otherwise, how can the cat cover its poo poo and urine? The mittens will surely be stained.

My mum (again! She always has weird ideas
) also suggested dressing up Nanook in tee-shirt so as to prevent excessive shedding of fur. Nanook is a short-hair breed, but his fur is very very long, and he sheds easily.

BTW, he has also dropped his whiskers and I have kept them! Haha... the first time he dropped him milk teeth, I kept them too!

Crazy owner, erm, I mean, slave

Curly, hope you can find the kitten food soon.

Wow lollipop, your mum so fun one!! My mum's not keen on animals..... But my dad loves our poodle at home.

When would a cat drop its whiskers and milk teeth and how long does it take for the new one to grow again?? Maybe I can make her a fairy tooth cushion....

My mum initially dislikes cats and dogs. Somehow, Nanook won her over, and now she talks to him, pats him and even plays with him. Wonders a cat can do. Nanook is the one which causes a change in my mum's heart towards strays. She's more sympathetic. She encourages my going down to feeding them, not sure if Nanook approves though!

I guess they drop their milk teeth when they are very young. I dunno when Nanook dropped his, but I saw it, and it's rather small and cute. Jagged edges. Whiskers, I think, can be grown back, just like our hair.

Oh, do your cats fart?

Fart!!!! There was once when I was carrying her when I heard a noise from her but it didn't smell so I wasn't sure..... Once her butt was so near my face that I could smell her, boy it stank like hell!!!!

Haha Lolli,

"Walk the cat" really sounds and looks weird. haha. I read it somewhere that if we wanna walk the cat, have to put leash. Let them be familar with the place first or something like tt. I'm gonna do it soon. hehe. Bring her out in the field like dogs to play.

My mum really dislike pets too. She hates the fur and they stinks and mess up the house. I had a bunny once and I bought her w/o my mum's knowledge. Within 1 wk, my mum wanna send her to SPCA. I was so desperate that I cried and begged her so much to let me keep my bunny. In the end, I think she never see me so pitiful and desperate, she gave in. And she was a joy to the whole family for a while until she died. But my uncle very funny. Everytime visit my house say wanna cook rabbit stew! So angry with him.

Lolli and Curly, how do u guys bath ur cat? They hate water right? Does ur cat scratch and crawl at u when u bath them?

I put her in the small tub of warm water and use a wet cloth to wipe all over her; clean her ears and eyes then shower her. How she hates that!! She always try to escape from her bath but she got no where to go - I always shut the bathroom door. So far I have not use shampoo yet.

errr... i a bit more cruel. i hold her under running tap water (which is warm during the afternoon) n then used junior's shampoo to wash her fur
she would try to struggle n mew pitifully but i would juz console her lor

btw, i noticed tat i got quite a no. of small little red spots on my legs. which r quite itchy. could it be ticks? or fleas? i used to hav them but not as many now
but orange n junior r both free of ticks

Wait till you gals smell your cat's fart. When Nanook was young, he used to fart alot. Man, it was the silent type... but it sure stank! Guess he was at the "weening" stage.

Nanook was being a bozo again. He woke me up at 6:38am. My parents are sick so I thought noone fed him this morning. I went out only to find his food dish already filled. His purpose of waking me up was for me to watch him eat, then I could go to sleep. He does that to me only, but thank God it is not always.
Sometimes I just find his behaviour weird but sweet.

Translucent, my mum and I bathe him once every two weeks. With warm water. They like warm water. We shampoo him like we shampoo ourselves, scrub him, massage him, then rinse off the suds. Then we dry him with a huge towel. he hates the dryer.

Eunice,
Those red spots could be caused by sandflies... have you been to the beach lately? I have had 8 on the right side of my thigh and they were really itchy.

Why dun you consult a dr? Get a cream from them and perhaps they will go off few days later.
Dun scratch, the more you scratch, the itch becomes more unbearable.

Take care!

halo lollipop,

sandflies?? never been to the beach but hubby came back from bali recently. hmm... is it possible to bring sandflies back??

i ever brot it up to the doctor n doctor thot tat it might be chickenpox
but of course it isnt cos it occured a few times liao.

Hey girls,

U know what, I called Butter to me this morning and she responded! SHe doesnt run away from as much as before now too. hehe. Waahh, i feel so good tt she listens to me. ;)

Gosh, it is so difficult to wash a cat! I think I hve to ask my FH to help me to bath her. Curly I think i will adopt your method. haha. Just like bathing a baby leh. Oh yar, and warm water. I can forsee it is gonna be quite a task man.

I was bitten by sandflies before Eunice. The bite doesnt go away for weeks.

Eunice,
Didn't the dr give you some cream to apply on?
You can try this method. FH told me one of the ways to stop the itch is using your saliva. Somehow, it won't itch as bad.

Translucent, how long are you going to be in Perth? When's your wedding? Are you planning it in Australia?

Lolli my FH told me to use saliva to lick my wounds too! ahaha. It does cool the itchness.

Lolli I think gonna be in Perth for quite some time. Maybe 1 year. See can find any job in Perth or in eastern states. Tentitively, my wedding will be in nxt year. I also dunno it's gonna be in Oz or Spore. Still hve not decided yet. I'm actually still studying lar, so hve to wait till i graduate first then plan everything. But for now, just scout around and see see look look.

How abt you? And Eunice? I know Curly is happily married! ;P

Buttercup is going crazzzzzzzzyyyy at the moment. Chasing after the crashed paper ball! Ya mine play with paper ball too! haha. She is ignoring me totally and running away from my every movement. How come she blow hot and cold one.

hmm...think i'll try ur method of applying saliva. usu. i use my fingernail n press several times on the spots to stop the itchiness
kinda works for me.

translucent,

well, ive oredi ROMed n now preparing for weddin on boxing day this yr end

orange is like tat too. loving one minute n another attacking ur legs
she's irritated many of my family members n my mil wans to throw her out cos think tat orange will get worse when she's bigger
. is tat true, curly? will the kitten outgrow the biting stage?

Eunice, dont mind I kpo...how come boxing day huh? It looks like a cool day to remember your wedding day leh.

Ohh dear Eunice, I hope your MIl is just joking?
I really love Orange's eyes. They are sooooo big and roooooound.

So you are staying at your FH place already huh? Or you always bring Orange to his place to play, so your MIL wanna throw her out...

Hello everyone,

Well, the last time I posted here, I suspected my queen, Mischka was pregnant, as it is, she is not pregnant! Actually, this comes as a big relief as I have just found out that I will be leaving Singapore in about 3 months and now my big dilemma is this, how to move my 2 cats with me. I have contacted Pet Movers and Singapore Airlines Cargo and their prices are rather exhorbitant!

Anyone got some advice or recommendations for me in this regard? Thank you.

Hi Eunice, I do hope that they'll outgrow the bitting stage because I have had enough bites and scratches from Snowball.

lollipop, I went to Hougang Mall NTUC just now but they don't have Whiskas biscuits for kittens, neither does Pets Lovers. Anyway at least they have Iams ones.

Curly,
So sorry... you went down all the way to Hgo Mall only to find out that they din have what you want. Perhaps out of stock, or mebbe they discontinue the products.

Anyways, glad they have Iams... looks like Snowball is "destined" to eat Iams all her life

hello girls

I found some fleas on Butter on Sat. 6 of them. She was out playing the yard and ventured to this site with a pile of dump. I think she got it from there. I think i'm gonna keep her indoors now. No more playing outside. Do u girls hve problems with fleas?

Translucent,
I am not sure if Nanook has fleas, his colour coat being difficult to trace. I deflea-ed him abt 2 years ago. Perhaps you can check with the vet?

THanks Lolli, I think cos Nanook is a indr cat. So not much chances of atracting fleas to him. And if ur house is clean n not infested by them, it's alright.

I found dried blood residues on Butter's coat initially. I read up tt it is actually leftoever by the fleas. If u see the dried blood, it means ur cat has fleas. GOsh i immidiately started combing n searching for those damn fleas. I hope i hve found every single one of them. So stress n paranoid abt them now. I chk on her coat 2 times a day now! haha.

Now im afraid they hve lay their eggs n the cycle will begin all over again n i'll hve fleas in few weeks time. I think i better bring her to the vet soon!

Anyway Lolli, thanks for ur input again.