Catholic Brides

Hi Jacquise,
Yah manz...tell me abt waking up early. Hahaha. So far, the last 2 times at SJI...FH and I always one of the last few couples to walk in. heehee...
6 weeks really went by quite quickly! It seemed like a long time...6 weeks. But 6 weeks has gone by!

Yes, it is indeed a blessing to have attended the MPC. The couples' sharings are very encouraging and inspiring to us. Oh yes...a lot of effort is needed for the couple pak manz. So much distraction throughout the week (compared to EE), but that's where we "fight" the distractions and c ome out closer to each other. It's esp so for FH, coz he was on reservist the past 3 weeks...so it was more difficult to meet up.

Hey, I still dunno which group you are in...

Hi Cookie Bunny,

quote from cookie bunny:
Lovebug, heard from other forum the florist is a bit inflexible? Is it true? Can we choose the flowers or at least the colour of the flowers?

sweetie, I've heard about the inflexible florsit too hehe. I've yet to speak to her, but from what I know thru my wedding buddy, the standard charge for the flowers is $200, any special request of flowers or colors, be prepared to pay for the extras.

hope that helps

Hi Lovebug,

I've called the florist but didnt manage to talk to her much. She said my wedding is still far so call her back later(didnt manage to ask her when to call back 'coz she hang up before I could say anything
).
When do you plan to call her? Your wedding is coming soon, right? Must be very exciting

I got 2 qns that I hope all you kind souls out there can help with:

1) Is it necessary to go over the order of our wedding service with the priest or we can decide on the order ourselves?

2) Any idea how to go about printing a wedding service booklet? I have come up with the order on MS word, however I am having difficulties in printing it such that the pages run in sync as a booklet when the pages are folded in half. Anyone experiencing the same problems? I am thinking of DIYing our own wedding booklet.

hi garcia,

1) u cant decide on the order. its fixed and you have to follow a guideline. actual sequence must be cleared by the priest.

2) in ms word there is a function.. i think petrina or csi fan knows.. but how many are you making? it quite time consuming if you gotta print quite abit.. think u better leave it to the printers. ultimately, for a nicely done up one, you just have to pay $1 - $1.20...

Hi Garcia

As minssy says, there is a set sequence for you to followed and you need to give a draft copy to the priest first.

Not too sure about the MS word problem. But the way I did mine was to print out a copy, then cut and paste it onto another A4 in the correct order. And then photocopy. It worked fine. My hubby 'borrowed' his office photocopier, but we used our own paper (of course)

Hi Garcia,

You have to be on MS Word 2002 and above. I had similar problem. in MS Word, u go to File/Page Setup/MArgins, then choose Book Fold under Multiple pages, then u can choose how many pages per sheet.

Hi Minssy, Mrs N & Evie,

Thanks so much! I will try out Evie's method, else, might just use Mrs N 'manual' method.

Will let you gals know once I figure out this MS word problem.

Garcia,
As minssy has said, there is a set order of service for the booklet, and depends if you're having a mass or not, and both will need to be proofread by the priest.

I also did my mass booklet manually, because my MSWord wasn't a new version. The amount of drafts I did was amazing....poor trees!
For the copies, I did it at some photocopy shop. For booklet covers, Techman in Bras Basah had quite a good selection, but seemed to run out of the ones I wanted, so maybe if you want a popular cover, then must order early. PS: The 'fun' bit is when you decide you want to insert page numbers as well

Minssy you there?

do you have a copy of the MC list for me?

It has to be for the banquet and will that include the MC inviting the priest to say grace?

Will you gers be inviting the priest? Erm..I not expecting AB for him...thinking of just inviting him for the banquet?

Anybody?

Can email me the MC list to [email protected]

hi cat,

yes always here

u r referring to the emcee script for banquet? normally priests do not go for the banquet dinner though its nice to invite. and it could be ultra weird for him to say grace in a banquet dinner cos 1) there are alot of non catholic friends around esp if there are old folkies 2) dinner doesnt start instantly cos there is this dinner fan fare thingy. but if u really wish to do it, then u gotta get your emcees to say something like 'before we commence the dinner, we would like to invite the priest of xxx church to say grace'. i think saying grace for the church reception is fine already...

Orh...than do you have the list WO INVITING the priest?

I dunwan the common one le..you have something different than the common one..kek kek kek

Hi Cat, I'm inviting the priest and will also ask him to say grace before lunch. At my cousin's wedding, they invited the priest to say grace before the start of the dinner banquet. But it's also cos both sides of the families are all Catholics. Like minssy pointed out, it may be weird for non Catholic friends, but I think it's okay, they should respect your faith right? Just attended a wedding where the couple is Christian and they also had their pastor go on stage to say grace and I know they had friends of other faith attending too.

What I've also seen done is after the whole wedding Mass, before the send-off, the priest will say a few words to bless the food at the reception to follow in the church hall. If your wedding Mass is in the afternoon and precedes the dinner, and your priest isnt' attending, you can consider this.

Ummm..I have a noon service and the banquet in the afternoon, but I think come of my guests not catholics...think they will just EAT the food after after the service...

So if i choose to invite the priest, than I need ask him to say grace ma..ai yah..headache..the guys dun bother about all these things!

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR...

btw which church you at? me at CTK - FR Stephen Yim...;p

I have not decided whether to invite HIM...just want to standby the MC list (not the usual one)...umm...

Hi Minssy,
Didn't see you here for a while...

Hey Garcia,
yap, try Evie's method.
By the way, will you be using the LCD TVs at St. Teresa? Coz can also flash the mass proceedings (readings / hymns etc) on the TVs, right?

Hi Cat,
I've attended weddings where they invited the priest to say grace before the first dish is presented. Seems ok...

hi cat,

if the banquet is in church then its fine
i tell you.. different priest do different things rite? go ask the priest directly lah! haahahah. but if you have the reception after the service, its quite auto that priest will eat one mah
some priest say the grace in the final blesssings before everyone is dismissed. its very subjective.. go check with your priest okie?

hi csi fan,

yah lor.. awol a little.. kekeke..

Would really appreciate it very much if someone could share the template of the wedding booklet with me. Having only a service. Thanks!

cookie bunny & lovebug,
I read with horror abt the florist situation. I haven't called her yet but was kinda prepped abt it by my wedding buddy. Lovebug, do you get to see what the decor would be like?

It is nice to invite the priest and I think some do appreciate the gesture. But whether they accept your invitation probably depends on how well they know you or your family and whether they have prior engagements. The two priests that came, concelebrated our mass and were personal friends of ours. We also invited my hubby's parish priest out of politeness (apart from the paperwork he wasn't really involved in our wedding). But he declined, guess he didn't know us so well so may have felt awkward.

Our mixed-faith guests (muslims, hindus, other christians, non-church goers etc) were also ok with the saying of grace. Don't think anybody would mind, so long as its short. If not, you can say your own with the people on your table or privately.

Our parish priest was not able to attend our luncheon as he was celebrating another mass at lunch time. We did say grace (FIL), as our faith is important to us. I don't think it's an insult or whatever for non-christian/catholic guests, as long as u make it short and sweet.

Hi Cookiebunny,

Yeah my wedding is in another 2mths! ahhh still got lots of things not done =| I think I should be calling the florist soon... else there'll be no flower at my wedding hahaha... =p

I've yet to print my wedding booklets, any kind ladies here can offer some good recc for printers?

Hi Ann_maria,

I've yet to call up the florist to check with her. I'll feed back soon I've got any info.

Btw, when is your wedding? who'll be your celebrant?

hi lovebug,

i used iscuccess. its at sunshine plaza.. they rushed out my wedding service booklets in just a few days... really cool

Hi Lovebug,

Dont worry, everything will turn out great!
But do update us on the florist 'situation'

Ann_Marisa,
Is the wedding buddy assigned by the Parish Priest? I was told by Fr Peter that there'll be a married couple who will help us preparing for the church wedding but nobody contact me yet.

Thanks Minnsy, can you recall how much did you paid for the printing?

Thanks cookie bunny, I'll update you rgd the church florist =)

Oh, cookie bunny, be patient, the wedding buddy will contact you 3mths before your wedding.

hi lovebug,

abt $1.20 per booklet or something... there is this $15 conversion fee. its to convert your text in ms word document to the program they use.

Hi lovebug,
Thanx for the tip abt the wedding buddy.

You know the florist accidentally called me few days ago hehehehe
, so I managed to ask her abt flowers. Most likely can choose flowers unless the colour you wanted something not very common. I asked for pink, but yes she wanted me only to call her again 1 mth before the wedding.
It seems lots of things have to wait nearer to the wedding...

are all of you using real flowers for your church decoration? Apparently, it seems that the florist (got the number from the church), suggest using hand made flowers.
What do all of you think? Will it be weird if I use 'fake' flowers. It is about $300. Expensive? The florist said that I can keep the decor materials at the end of the day.

hi aiko,

real flowers will look nicer in a way but depending on how the quality, some handmade flowers could be nice too..

$300 is very good if it consists at least:
1. 20 pew deco (flowers + ribbons)
2. 2 main flower stands at entrance or 1 arch (quite not so in fashion anymore though)
3. 1 altar flower arrangement (either on the altar or on the floor, depending on church)
4. 1 reception or ROM table flower arrangment/centrepiece
5. deco for groom & bride's chairs

Hi Cookiebunny & Ann_Marisa,

I've called the florist, she sounded quite stern (in my opinion) hehe, but it'll be quite easy to talk to her if you know what you want, and give her the budget you looking for. =)

Hope that helps =)

Hi cookiebunny and lovebug,

I'll be sharing with another bride. Spoke to the florist and she said we cannot choose flower and the arrangement. Can only choose colour. And no flowers at the pews.

$200 is the min budget. Do you have another idea what difference it'll be from the normal mass flowers?

Since I'll have no idea how it'll turn out. Think i'll take the min and make my own pew decorations. Just so it'll look more like a wedding.

If the wedding buddy hasn't called you. You can check with the church office who it is and call them instead. =)

hi mountain9,

i got mine for abt $300 but i paid my florist extra cos i needed her to do up an extra stuff and also my bride's maid bouquet... depending on your church, i think $300 - $400 is ok.. ultimately, much as u would like to enhance the place with flowers, you are going to use it for 1 hr nia :p

my contact is susan from font creative and she is at 9699 0104..

i think i am quite easy going ba.. i only insist in having a pink theme :p. lemme know if you wanna see my church deco..

Hi minnsy

haha....ya....would be only for 1 hour...

font creative...Dot they have a website? Cos I went to this Font Creative website but it doesnt seem that they do church deco...

U didnt think of DIY-ing ur deco?

U have sent me a link before.....so I have seen ur church deco before...hehe..Thanks

hi mountain9,

no webbie.. i went to susan's office and see her samples.. its like, she's the first and only one i visit for the flowers stuff so decide to confirm her since she is a catholic and that she is quite familar with the churches

why dowan to DIY? first, its impossible for the bride to do it yourself, not on AD & eve. secondly, nearing to AD, there will be alot alot of stuff to be done and confirmed and i dun see the need to spend so much time on the flowers deco when i can leave it to the expert
keke....

Hi ann_marisa and lovebug,

Thanks for the info, and agree with lovebug she sounds very stern hopefully she is nice in real life.

ann_marisa, read from somewhere, they dont allow real flowers at the pews.

This weekend, just confirmed my bridal studio
Hopefully next week will confirm my AD videographer.
Btw, Minssy, I have also booked Simon for my wedding

hi mountain9,

welcome.... ya know what... susan does other business also so i think the webbie could be her other business.... cos that time i dun remember having her having a webbie on her flower stuff...

Need some advise. Do church conduct wedding on sundays? If they do, is it only in the afternoon? anyone done church wedding in the afternoon follow by the dinner?

Hi Cookiebunny,

Yup. No real flowers allowed. But since i've made my own wrist corsages for jie meis. I just have to use the same materials to make pew decors. Should be quite quick and easy.

Hi Tea, for churches that solemnise weddings on Sundays, it's only a service not a full mass.

I've attended one at St Michael's some years back. But my friend held a tea reception for all the guests as only close friends and relatives were invited to dinner.

By the way, does anyone have the Holy Week schedule for the East? I'd like to know the service times for Queen of Peace tomorrow. Thanks

Hi Tea,
I attended one a few years back...where the wedding was incorporated into the usual Sunday mass. So the couple also had the entire congregation as guests...

Hi Tea,
church on sundays are just services even if both of u are catholics....
usually after the last mass and when the crowd starts clearing lah...
wedding services on sundays usually starts at 2pm so that sunday evening mass goers wont clash with ur tea recep...

my sister's wedding mass was incorprated into the usual sunday mass... it was at church of the risen christ.. cant remember the recep though.. but the mass was a 1 bird kill 2 stones for catholics...
yup...