Catholic Brides

Hi Nerak,

Like CSI, I was initially undecided between the gatecrashing and meeting at church - then finally I decided that meeting directly at church would be good fun and I'd love to see R's face light up as well (priceless!)
I think these days there are more tendencies to do away with the traditional gate-crashing and even the pre-wedding photo shoot as more people prefer to keep things simple...that said, I think gatecrashing can be fun too...it's more of a personal preference...

I m new in this thread and need some advice. Haven't really decided on which church yet. Tinking of having it at Sacred Heart.

Any of you have frens who had it there b4? Having some concerns. The lunch reception area is actually on the 3rd level and some of my relatives are old pp. Rather worried that they have some prob going up the stairs.

Hi Ah Ping
I'll be hving a luncheon instead of dinner. Think it'll help save alot of time. As for the tea ceremony, we're going to hve it at the luncheon itself. Without the dinner, it's so much easier, as we don't hve to rush from one place to another and then the changing of gown (hving only 1 WG) and so on. Less headache.

Hi Shine,
My cousin had hers at Sacred Heart (but the reception then was on the 2nd floor)...

My future BIL had his there too...and his reception was on the 3rd floor. Yap, it was a challenge for the older relatives, esp grandma. But well, they just climb up there once, sit there to makan till dunno when...and climb back down once. It is a bit difficult, but as long as there's pple with them throughout the erm, "climb"...it's not too bad. And it's just 2 times (up and down).

Must remind them to take it slow and not to rush. Perhaps, can set aside some tables dedicated to them (nobody else can sit there), so that once they reach there, they will have seats immediately. And perhaps you can delegate another younger relative to take the food for the older relatives...so they can rest their feet...
Just some ways to minimise their discomfort lah...

Hi CSI,

Thanx ya. Guess tat's the best i can do.

Actually i wanted to have the celebration at St. Peter and Paul church as i had my baptism, confirmation and all done there. But the date was taken so had to look for another church.

So did ur cousin and BIL had any complaints there?
afterall its a once-a-lifetime thing so rather stressed and worried about it.

Hi Shine,

Wow, SPP would be so meaningful for you...but awww...can't be helped lah.
go SPP for some kodak moments then!
When's your AD?

Nah, the couple involved (stars for the day) had no complaints. Older relatives were the ones who made noise, esp as they were climbing up and down the stairs...hahaha. But once they are up there, they were all smiles. Just set aside / reserve tables and seats for them (IMHO, preferably near the door so they don't have to walk any further) and get some food for them.

Don't worry too much. The more we worry, the more we expect. And, if a teeny "blemish" were to occur, we would get "heart attacks" and the world would have collasped ard us liaoz. no point lah...Spend so much time worrying, end up cannot really soak in the mood and enjoy the process...Advise from FH....hehs. Coz I also worry so much and want it to be almost perfect.

Hi CSI,

i agree with u... wori too much aredi. hee!

my AD is on 27th Jan. will be having church wedding in the morning, dun tink i will have gatecrashing. Followed by reception in church, tea ceremonies at home then proceed to hotel for dinner... hee!

i still owe you all the contact of the seamstress.... sorry owe you all 1.

hi turtle,

i had a service on a weekday too.. you can PM me and i can send you my prog...

okie i got the contact for the CS maker. she makes gowns, CS, bridesmaid dresses etc etc.. feel free to call her yah

Noelle
9455 4816
House of Cheongsam
55 Siglap Rd
#02-21 Siglap Centre

hi vanessa & cookie bunny,

welcome.. just hope siglap is not too far for you all... try calling her.. i think for non peak seasons, she only needs abt 2 weeks or so...

hi diamond,

for my mil's long CS, which is totally made to measure, i think its $200+... cant remember leh.. but such things are in accordance to fabric type, design & materials

Hi minssy and cookiebunny,

do you happen to have an account at the multiply.com?

my multiply id: lovebuggy

see you around! =)

hi lovebug,
Can I add you too? I have multiply...

Hope you don't mind, but I visited your multiply site...and....we both have the same name!!
("Sekali" minssy thinks it's the same 1 person...muahahaha)

Hi Minssy,
I think Siglap is ok, I got someone to drive us there hehehehe

Lovebug,
I just sign up with multiply, but dont know how to use it yet *blush*
Btw, I went to visit your site, you already had your church wedding?? I thought it's this coming June?*confused*
And I found out we were from the same JC!!!!!
I was from Science stream

Hi CookieBunny,minssy and CSI Fan!

Saw ya at the multiply! =)

Hey cookiebunny, i think u've visited the wrong site izzit? hehe my wedding is in June! My id: lovebuggy

CSI_fan, wat a coincidence to share the same name hehe =)

Minnsy, you look familiar! just can't remember where I see you before hehe...

hi lovebuggy,

hahahah. i saw your PS photos in your multiply.. i dun really recall leh.. hhhhmm, maybe we will discover along the way? hee

minssy,

hmmm... if I'm not wrong, think I saw u from the TV, can't remember if it's one of the videographer's portfolio or tv program... ...

hi mudpie,

thks....after much consideration....we will go for the dinner. cos better to respect the elders.

so have u found your venue? me still looking around...headache

minssy,
i tot that was very touching and romantic! dats y i can remember so well heehee... so I'm right ah...you're the female lead ah hehe =) Very romantic hubby you got. =)

Cookiebunny!
Saw ya on the multiply! =)

CSI_fan, you having your wedding at st. theresa? VERY NICE CHURCH! I went there for my photoshoot, but can only take at the exterior of the church.

minssy,
hehe ... don't be shy... should feel proud of it! You're blessed with a loving husband! =)

Aiyoo... i'm having pre-wedding jitters now... I think I'll get emotional when I walk down the aisle. Anybody can share your experiences of moments as you walk down the aisle with the daddy, and the everything?

lovebug,
I wasn't thinking very much while walking down the aisle, just concentrating on not walking too fast, and trying to kaypo on who actually was in the church
The key is to smile, even though you may be feeling nervous, because everybody's camera and video will be on you. Also important that daddy walks same timing as you....I kept pulling my daddy back because he was walking so fast, and the aisle is very short in OLPS!

I don't think I took it all in until reality hit me right at the end when we were signing the documents. Then I finally realised that this was permanent and my life would be changed forever. My husband was quite emotional while saying his vows and when putting on the ring. I thought I would remember the vows, but when it came to my turn, my mind was totally blank, and I ended up reading it :-P

hi lovebug,

oh yeah he is...

walking down the aisle? i second tootiseroll.. anyway you will have the rehearsal so you have a feel.. on the AD, you may not wanna cry cos any potential tears has a risk on your make up and u dun wanna look smudged! kekeke...

Hi lovebug,
yap, our wedding will be at St. Teresa.
the church is quite nice, esp after its renovation...It's FH's parish...so it's near our place... I guess we're lucky.

Hello everyone, just wondering if anyone here is doing a wedding service with communion? Cos i am trying to get my mass booklet together and i am stumped. hehe. What kind of songs are suitable for the service or is it totally up to us? Is it possible for me to get samples of your mass booklets? Wanna get some ideas on what kind of readings or songs is better... thanks alot girls..
Thanks for all your help!

hi ribena,

just sent to you.. read thru the past few archives of this thread.. u will find info on links of readings to help you understand better.. not sure can just ask in the forum

thanks! oh canon in d is the traditional wedding march song isit?

My priest suggested that i can use a CD instead of a choir . Has anyone here used a CD for the wedding before? And where can i find such cds or wedding marches and hymns songs?

Ribena,
We also used a CD for both our processional and recessional music as well as when signing the documents. The only thing about CDs is that you need someone to operate the CD player and switch on/off the right music at the right time
You should be able to practice timings etc during your wedding rehearsal

Minssy,
Ya, you're right, I think part of the reason why I blanked out my mind was because I didn't want to cry....argh, imagine all the mascara running down the face!!

hi tootsieroll,

yah man!! for me, my tears welled up abit but i had to control! morever, its the start of the service so all the more i cant look ugly :p

Can the service can be without hymns and just have cd instrumental tracks for processional, signing of register and rescessional ?

ribena,
Yes you can, although it will be a very quiet service then

In addition to the CD tracks, you may want to think of music for these other areas, although if you want, most can be read, or the music omitted - this is for the mass. If you're having a service, then some sections will be omitted anyway

1) Entrance hymn - or a read entrance antiphon
3) Kyrie - the priest can lead this
4) Gloria - can be said
5) Psalm - or read this
6) Gospel Acclamation - can be said
7) Sanctus - can be said
8) Doxology - can be said
9) Lord's Prayer - can be said
10) Agnus Dei (Lamb of God) - can be said
11) Communion - can be omitted
12) Thanksgiving - can be omitted

Not sure if you're looking for a choir - your parish should have a few choirs which can help with the music at your celebration. Just pick the one which suits your musical taste most. Whichever choir you choose, confirm with them as early as possible because they will need time to prepare for your celebration. For me, I wanted something different, so the choir I chose had to 'practise'

hi ribena,

dun really think so leh.. catholic wedding mass/service is of some standard procedure.. songs are necessary, esp when its so impt in creating ambience and making things more beautiful...

CDs for processional, signing of registrar and recessional is fine.... have someone to control and play the music and yet must be professional enough cos you can't afford for stuff like the 'the music suddenly ended' or 'the music is too loud'... get what i mean

Hi tootsieroll,
Me getting married in OL too.. Did u get the Sun 6pm choir to help out? They are really good!
Me very kiasu, chooped them in Dec and they said "so early ah?" hiack.

Jacquise,
Can't remember which mass my choir was from, but I asked my mum to go to the different masses and see which one she preferred
My wedding was last june, I think I choped them in February

when are you getting married? Who is going to be your celebrant? For us, it was so rushed, because our mass was at 9am, and there was another couple who was getting married at 12pm....wah seh, no time to take much photos, cos had to clear the space for the other couple to set up

I was very impressed with OL's 'service' actually. The secretariat is so kancheong kind, but efficient. Are you getting the appointed church flower lady for decoration? She did a very good job for ours - everyone said the decor was really pretty. Didn't know OL is so photogenic hahaha
Our wedding couple was also very good, talked us through everything, and they were especially helpful during the rehearsal.

Hi minssy & tootsieroll,

Guess I'm just worrying too much, hehe... think you're right, best to keep the mind blank and, must remember to look pretty at all times haha... =p and also to walk really slow =p

Hi tootsieroll...

My AD is 2 Dec. Hehe. 1 yr in advanced already booked man. keke. We gonna have 2 celebrants. Fr Paul & Fr Greg. My FH's parents know both of them very well so they are willing to do it.

Mine is also 9am mass... Stress hor, have hi tea, then still must haf tea ceremony. Not sure how Im gonna rush. I heard that there will be a volunteer couple to assist us so I feel better. until now i have many qn marks as to who to put in charge to receive the buffet pple when Im gg thru my sacrament.. haha. glad to know that the florist is also gd as we dun have a choice. Yup I believe OL looks gd on pics as it is very grand. My FH "grew up" there so I no chice but go there though aisle is soooo short!But i think the couple after us might not have time for the buffet. hehe. So what time u have to clear up ? I got all these qns ... but i dunno who to ask.... :p