Catholic Brides

nelea

Hi I'mserious,

Sorry - just saw this. Looks like Christina has answered your first question
I believe each church has different love offering charges. Not sure how much HC and St Mary's is charging..if I find out I'll let you know. I had the same churches in mind when I was making my decision too, hehe..

imserious

Yes yes.. Nelea, when u find out let me know ya..
I know HC is charging $200 - $250 with $200 extra for the rent of the foyer for luncheon or tea reception. They don't provide recept table. Got to ask your caterer for it.

Is that the same for St Teresa or St Mary?

nelea

hey love or money, wow..that's fast..I'm surprised it's booked up already! what other churches do you have in mind?

hey I'm serious, I asked my MPC group and I heard it is generally about $200ish for love offerings. I just remembered there is a couple from my group getting married in st mary's, il sms them afterwards (sorry it didn't occur to me earlier to ask them, doh)

hey noknok, we were contemplating going for next year's MPC initially..but decided to go for this year's Q4 course instead, hehe..we just completed the MPC course last Sunday. Made some really good friends!

love_or_money

Hey nelea.... we booked with Immaculate Heart of Mary but still hoping St Teresa's opens up! hee

we went for MPC earlier this yr think it was Q2. who was ur presenting couple?

nelea

hey love or money..ahh okay IMH is a nice church
the location is kinda far from kampong bahru though?

ooh nice! my presenting couple was ronnie and grace. who was ur presenting couple? they told us a previous batch from this yr (not sure if it was Q2 or Q3) was really interactive. during the talk with the doctors there were like A LOT of questions..haha..was that your batch?

nelea

hey i'mserious,

just got the rates from my MPC group mate. Apparently St Mary's booking form includes rates for booking the various stuff you might need:

church - $200
flowers - $300
wedding preparation booklet - $9
wedding candles - $28
choir (optional) - $200 (the optional bit was apparently included in the form)

A refundable deposit of $200 is required, and there is a list of contact nos for their various choir groups if you need to get in touch with them to sing at your wedding. They also have different rates for different reception areas (st clare's hall/canteen/etc), you can find out more from their website at http://www.stmary.sg. She said the form is also downloadable there, so you can check out the list of rates they have on the form. dangit, I hope St Teresa's booking form has this much information too, lol..

imserious

Hi nelea, thanks for the detailed info. I have to say that you really plan well in advance for your wedding. Good..unlike me, everything last minute.

nelea

i'mserious: LOL naw..we were actually planning to have our wedding in Oct 2009. Things changed at the last minute after he officially proposed, so in the end we settled for 2010..which is why some things are already planned for

lalaa_27

hey Brides!
My AD is on 26sep09

hi noknok! haha see u in dis thread too.. yea im also kancheong bride like u!
me & HTB went to see our priest 2 days ago n he was quite amused dat we start so early!

Sam.. thanx for posting that church checklist here.. very useful for me

gals juz to check with u all ah.. is the MPC also mandatory for church? or juz CEE is sufficient?
i'l probably be goin for CEE in Feb next yr..
anyone else goin same time??

raine24

the requirement is MPC or EE.. one or the other will do. So if you're going for EE in Feb, then that'll suffice.

I went for my Pre-Nup with my priest last week.. whoa like so serious, got to 'sumpah' all.. haha..

noknok

Hi lala.. hee.. My priets was surprised too, then a week later I told him I wanna change date, he say good, cos another couple wants my date. Then he realised I'm not early at all..

Haha.. my priest all do things upside down one.. I already done my Pre-Nup too.. Haven't gone through MPC or EE, HTB suppose to get baptised next year, I'm suppose to get confirm next year. Like all sequence all wrong like that..

My priest recommend MPC instead of EE cos he say it's more thoroughly done. I opt for MPC, to me, I'll rather see more of the other half to be now then regret in the future.

lalaa_27

wah Noknok.. y urs is like all haywire! my priest say cannot do pre-nup more than 6 mths bfore weddin le.. he asked us to come back next yr.. :/ so our meetin wif him was juz to book his time to do the mass for the weddin day lor..

guess different priests have different ways of doin things lor..

I cant go for MPC cos its over 6 sundays rite? my HTB work on shifts n cant get leave over 6 weekends!
so dats y prefer the ECC which is 1 whole weekend.. easier to apply leave..
also heard from my cousin dat ECC is good cos its more intensive over the entire weekend

by the way, anyone got a template or sample for mass booklet? thanks!
must start thinkin of scriptures n hymns to put in the booklet also..

raine24

yups.. agree with Lalaa's cousin - EE is very intensive. its about 48 hrs spent together at one shot, with more than half of that in intensive sessions back to back addressing questions after questions, issues after issues.. takes a lot out of you emotionally as well. I thoroughly recommend EE!
loved my time there. But if you like the journey with MPC cos think they have couples journeying with you as well.. do go ahead. It depends on the needs and likes of the couple.

lalaa_27

good good Cher
u book oredi? i haven yet..
oh i juz realised dat in my earlier post i keep typin ECC instead of CEE.. paiseh.. think of too many wedding stuff until my brain upside down oredi.. :p

Noknok.. i also prefer do powerpoint.. but my church got no screen or projector
now got 1 more headache.. my church admin say due to renovations in church, mite not be able to use the church in sep! argh!

lalaa_27

must wait for dem to confirm first i guess.. cos my HTB really keen to hav weddin at dis church cos he was baptised there n practically grew up in dat church.. haiz..
dunno if other churches got vacancy for my day o not.. must start callin n checkin oredi..

noknok

Think for catholic churches many priest still deem now as early for registration for weddings in sept. Unless you're looking for super popular churches. if not, shouldn't be a problem ba. btw, which church are you looking at??

noknok

Me in St Stephen's.. not a popular church at all. But I got baptised there and I found my ex primary school principle there.

precious_11

Hi noknok.. i think i know why that church is not too popular.. coz i understand that there are wakes held in the church premises rather frequently..

graceyong

Any catholic brides having buffet lunch caterers? If so pleaes provide ur comments and suggestions

Anyone tried Kr1ston or Stamford Catering?

noknok

does ur church have appointed florist?? cos my one has, have to go to one of the sisters from the convent. If that's the case then you may wanna check with them directly. Don't really know the price. So sorry, can't help.

I'm going to have a snack reception. Thinking of holding church wedding at about 3pm. Anyone has recommendations??

raine24

Hi femme,

My church IHM charges $400 for 8 bouquets to be placed at the altar (most of them) and around the church. Have to get pple to specially do up the pews, signing table, bridal chair, etc. if you want these.

So I decided not to get the church to do my flowers and engage an external florist, which cost around the same price to do up all the deco in the church which includes the altar deco, bridal chairs, reception and signing of marriage register tables, and pews.

So it depends on what kind of deco you want.

A bridal bouquet could cost separately around $80-$100 i think.

noknok

My church dun allow outside florist leh. Sob sob.. will it be very weird if I dun hv flowers at all for my wedding??

raine24

Hi serious, I've pm-ed you the name of my florist and her website.

noknok - just my 2 cents worth... i think a church wedding without flowers might look too much like lent... being a little bare.. it may not be as much of a celebration as compared to flowers and deco... just my opinion.

cyys

Hi Jacinta

I can email my booklet to you. But I only had a wedding service (with communion) and not a full mass, so not too sure if it will be useful to you.
if you would still like to have it, leave your email address and I'll send it to you.

cyys

Hi Noknok,

I dont have many hymns and readings on hand, but I can send you those I used for my wedding. pls leave ur email address if you need them.

noknok

lalaa.. wanna meet up sometime and browse through hymes and readings together?? hee.. I'm super not familiar with all those

lalaa_27

Thanks CY! will definitely come in handy!

sure Noknok.. but now all holiday mood.. no mood to think.. hehe.. no mood to work also.. anywae think mite be more productive to share ideas of readings n hymns via email also