Catholic Brides

eureka29

Hihi, thanks for the advice. Will check with the priest.

Hi shoebe0, the preparations are going ok - am in the process of finalising the WG design. Hope yours is going well too...

suwaiwai

Hi Andrea

Tot I should drop you a note here, my wedding is over!! haha it went very well, and to our surprise, we actually had a lot of fun that day. Helps that the MC (a fren) is such a joker and our friends sprung a surprise video for us.

Philip Lye was ok too, he sang with feelings cept that he forgot the lyrics occasionally. We figured it was coz we chose songs that were not very common and since he memorised all his songs, its very possible to forget the lyrics sometimes. So that's ok.

Mrs Foo, you may want to give an angbao to the church uncle/volunteer if they are helping you set up the canteen (for reception) or church (for svc).

Wishing all you future brides a blessed marriage and may everything run smoothly on your wedding day.

krystal80

hi wangy, u've got mail..

femme, i'm not sure I follow your question but I guess he sings in baritone voice and in a laid-back choir kinda style?

roomfulofstars

andrea: heheh, sorry for my vague question. Yeah I meant is it kinda 'straight singing' contemporary style or is it classical like those opera type?

samkcy79

Hey I have other checklists that might be useful and thanks to the brides who posted it earlier

Sam<center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif

Checklist_-_Church-453914.xls (27.1 k)</td></tr></table></center><center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

Coordination_list_for_wedding_day-505625.doc (47.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

advy

Hello all, i need the Church of St teresa name and address in Mandarin , anyone can help urgently ? I need to print for my wedding invitation . Thank you.

raine24

hi serious, i've sung for countless weddings at Holy Cross.. if its not too logistical (like contact persons and house rules) then I should be able to help.
What do you need to know?

little_a

need some advice here.. i'm a catholic. In feb 08 I have obtained my interim judgement final (annulment). can someone advise me how to go about getting annulment in church? understand that if the church approved the annulment ... i can still marry in the church.

i'm planning my wedding soon. can someone please provide me with some advice? my fiance is not a catholic.

imserious

Hi raine, i'm not a catholic but my fiance is. We've attended the CEE though.

Cos we'll be having just a small wedding on a weekday, so just wondering if the choir is available? And what r the charges like?

raine24

hi serious, I think the choir might not be available for weekday services, as most pple are working. You can try asking the youth choir, as some of them are still studying. or they cld just provide one keyboardist and one singer. Think they sing for Saturday evening mass, you can try looking for them then. Good luck!

fairybride

hi gals, any of u do away with the gate crashing and meet direct at the church for the wedding mass followed by tea ceremony at the church? is that common? appreciate any feedback! THanks!

raine24

Hi Mrs Foo, We're not going to have any gatecrashing for our wedding day either.. the first time he will see me on the wedding day will be when he's standing at the altar waiting.. looking at his beautiful bride as she's walking down the aisle with her dad to meet him.

Think that feeling for him that point will indescribably heightened mixed with the excitement and pride... basically I think it will be an awesome experience for the groom, in church especially.

Not to mention not having to down any poisonous stuff that could hurt his stomach just before the ceremony, and coming to church all fresh and not sweaty! It helps that I have supportive parents who don't need all the traditional stuff like "fetching bride" and whatnot in the morning. But my tea ceremony will be done either at our parents' respective homes, or at our new home. cheers!

imserious

Hi raine, thanks for the info. The church will have the contact no for the youth choir?

Agree with you on the aspect of gatecrashing. If not for my super traditional parents, i'll opt to do without as well.

fairybride

thanks raine for your feedback. I might seriously consider. Btw, anyone knows of any choir/freelance that can sing at weddings besides Philip Lye? Out of 4 choirs from my church,2 has turned us down, now left with 2 which I also don't know if they can sing or not so want to start looking for back ups. Appreciate all inputs!! This whole planning is stressing me out!!! :|

nelea

Am also another super kan cheong BTB..made a booking for April 2010 with St Teresa's...Fr Arro was like huh..so early book liao..LOL..

Anyways so I wanted to ask if anyone might know..when should we start arranging for the other stuff like seeing the priest for appointments, arranging logistics with the church, etc? Cos when I called St Teresa's just now Fr Arro only wrote down my name and no. I think the booking for 2010 was not open yet, he didn't even ask me what time my wedding mass was going to be, etc..think I'm too kan cheong liao..sigh..

raine24

hi serious, not sure if the church will give out the contact no. for the youth choir. Actually my friends sing in that choir... Why don't you go down on Sat to find them first, if you don't manage to speak to them, I'll help you ask them if they're free to sing for your wedding date?

Mrs Foo - Don't stress! When is yr wedding?

Hi nelea, you only see the priest only ard 6 mths or less before the wedding. So you only need to liaise with him only like a few mths before that. Cos the baptism extracts need to be valid for 6 mths before the wedding day. Don't kan cheong..
settle big things first. Like date, venues, house, guests, etc. Booking the church is the right thing, though it is early. Good luck!

jadeyu

HI RAINE,
thx for the info. our father ask us to hold a mass since we r both catholics. Great to know that u r from Holy Cross. Me &amp; HTB are both from Holy Cross but holding my wedding at St Teresa. Jux wondering is it possible to engage Holy Cross choir to sing at another church? was thinking of engaging the youth choir.thx.

Hi Mrs Foo, me too me too!! super headache with all the planning. Me also looking for a choir to sing @ St Teresa. But mine's a weekday mass.. so they charge $300 for like 4 pple... trying to source more cheaper one if possible. My wedding is jux 1 week b4 urs... sigh... if u have any freelance choir contacts, do share with me..

Anyone with Philip Lye's number? Has he sang in Catholic weddings b4? Is he good?

fairybride

Hi Jade

I think u can try phili, read the reviews that he is v good, even my church coordinator recommends him, too bad he is taken for my date already, if urs is weekday, should be easier and he charges like in the range of $150+-.

raine24

Hi jade, I was from Holy Cross, but now am at IHM. It's possible to engage the HC choirs to sing elsewhere, but of course they must agree. Best if you speak with them directly. Try to catch the youth choir at Sat sunset mass first.

Mrs Foo - don't worry, everything will fall into place. Just be organised and cool. God will do the rest. :D Just enjoy the process!

Hey this Philip Lye is making good money man! I think I shall take this as a sidejob when I'm a tai tai next time! (WHOA I WISH) Since I sing and play. It'll really be good pocket money! haha.. ka-ching! business plan..! LOL..

graceyong

hi Mrs foo.. i maybe in the same shoes as you .. that i ask my htb to meet me in church but he instead want to come to hotel to pick me up

Jade. have also engaged with Philip to sing for my wedding as his reviews are good and church coordinator recommend him too. So do consider him =) then to headache sourching for a whole choir and on weekday it is harder actually for u.

serious, don't need to get a choir if yours a weeekday wedding. Try philip as he would be good enough for the occasion and cheaper vs a choir! hehe

fairybride

hi raine

so if u are meeting at the church, who takes the bridal car? Bride or groom leh? Actually for us really not much of a difference la..for me i can even walk to church..ahhaah it's that near...for him, it is a 10 mins drive...but just curious how ur logistics go

raine24

Oh.. I think the bride ba..
her skirt is bigger.. need more room haha.. how can u walk to church in your wedding gown anyway? (unless its really NEXT DOOR, like 2 steps away.) Anyway, u are also princess for the day right? supposed to get driven around.
My FH will prob take a lift from his parents to church. He'll go there early to survey everything, and make sure everything has been settled.. e.g. Caterer, reception tables and chairs, church. I have a friend who's handling the coordination for the deco and guests reception table, the girly stuff guys ain't good at.. LOL. I just want to arrive stress free and everything's beautiful and hunky dory..

nelea

hey raine,

thanks so much!! just have one last question..when do you reckon is a good time to double check the booking I have with St Teresa's? Cos my main celebrant is a different priest (Fr Bosco) so I'm only booking the church venue..

im also wondering..does anyone know what the max capacity of St Teresa's is?
sorry if im asking too many questions..

imserious

Hi Raine,
i'll go down to look see this Sat. What will be a good time to meet the youth choir?

Any particular person i should look out for to talk to? Do you know if Holy Cross works with any particular florist?

raine24

hi nelea - think can check the booking again like one year before your wedding date. then one more time closer to the date.. maybe 6 mths.

hi serious - so sorry just checked with my friend, they're not singing until 6th Dec.. but will PM you the contact person's hp no. u can check with him.

For florists, I think Holy Cross does their own flowers for altar and all that, but for additional florists u have to call your own. Not sure if they have a "blacklist" of florists, but you can check with the office secretary.
good luck!

nelea

hey raine, thanks! yeah i think that makes sense too. sigh too kan cheong liao..I like St Teresa's cos of the cathedral feel, but I might change from St Teresa's back to HC (which is my regular parish) if St Teresa's is too small..we'll have to see how it goes next year. LOL! thanks again..

noknok

Hi Cheryl,

I've attended one there before. It was a wedding service on a sunday. So they only started to decorate after the morning mass. Then they held a small lunch thingy downstairs. The lunch area was not decorated at all. Also not many places to sit. So not really impressive. But the one I went, dun think they spent so much effort on the wedding cos it was a 'rush' job for them I think.

graceyong

I am in the mist of preparing my church wedding mass booklet. Can anyone share with me what songs they have choose? and for the readings, are we to select the reading or we have to consult with the priest what readings should we choose? Any guidance please

noknok

Just wanna know

How far away from the wedding do we have to start planning for the mass. Is the following a must??

1) Choir (if no choir then who'll sing the hymns?? any bride diy?? hee)
2) alter boys (is this really needed)
3) readings and mass booklet (when must start preparing??)

I'm having my church wedding on 19th Sept next year. i asked father but everything he say, dun worry, still have a lot of time, go for your mpc first. So when do we need to Worry??

raine24

Hi 4placesbride, talk to your choir who will be singing for your mass and ask them to suggest some songs for you to choose. They should be able to do so. For readings there's this really cool little book which has all the appropriate readings and psalms for weddings, think it barely costs like $3. try your church's bookshop, if not SPI. If all else fails, consult your priest during yr prenup session, he should easily be able to recommend.

Hi Noknok, you can plan for your mass anytime! But preferably of course closer to the date as a lot of things may change, and your priest might give some advice along the way as well. My 2 cents worth:

- not good for bride to DIY anything during mass as 1) she has to pick up her skirt and move around here and there 2)it looks like no one is helping her to do things at mass 3) it may give some added stress to the big day. For me, I'd rather be enjoying my entire wedding mass without having to serve in it (for once).
- If a choir's not available then can get one animator and one keyboardist, or a two in one if the church has the facilities.
- Altar boys, the church will settle for you. they have a roster of altar boys for weddings. Think they may be necessary to help the priest.
- Mass booklet can start anytime, but closer to the date better as your preferences may change, after the pre-nup done with Father etc. 19th Sept is a long time more, haha.. but i understand wat it means to be kan cheong.
One thing at a time ya? Big things first, then come to smaller things later.
good luck!

noknok

Hee.. yeah yeah.. I too kan cheong le.. but like a lot of things to settle leh.. still have renovation n stuff.. not a lot of time left.

raine24

don't worry, I have my reno starting next month or Jan, and my wedding is on 1 May, so I know what's it like to be kan cheong. The secret is to stay very organised and stick to your timeframe/deadlines. And everything will go hunky dory.

imserious

Nelea, do you know the charges for St Theresa?
Do all churches charges the same? I'm deciding between that, Holy Cross &amp; St Mary