Catholic Brides

eureka29

hi, was wondering whether anyone can share a typical Actual Day schedule? would also like to find out when to have the tea ceremony?

fleurjade

Hi CY,

I realised i forgot to leave my email :p
it is [email protected]
Thanks so much

sher02

Happy New Year Everyone!

Just checking if anyone checked out the chapel at St Peters and Paul? It has a max capacity of 140, which is perfect for us and comes with aircon & fan.

Another question, I notice that most of you are getting married in St Teresa's. Any particular reason? Do they have a chapel? Any idea what the max capacity is?

Sorry for all the questions! I'm a non-catholic and my FH and I are living in Perth so its a little difficult to co-ordinate!

purinne

hiya all ... i've been trying to book st teresa for mi church weddin ... but its booked ... anybody who happens to know when its booked up till? i was lookin for dates in oct 09 but its full

i was soooo sad .... is there any other churches that are nice and classical like church of st teresa?

cyys

hi Sher,

I believe St Teresa's has a chapel. not too sure of the max capacity, but it's pretty big - i only had about 80 guests and it wasn't even half-full. so i think should be able to seat about 200 guests.
but it is a very popular church for weddings, so suggest you book early if you're planning to hold your wedding there.

krystal80

hi all, need to make a "odd" query...as u all know, we need to get an extract of our baptismal cert to give to the priest celebrating our wedding mass/service.

My hubby is Malaysian and so need to go to KL to get an extract. But I've no idea how to arrange it esp since the church doesn't even have a website or an email for me to contact...

are there any other couples in similar situations who can advise? Thanks!!

graceyong

Hi Andrea, the church would have a contact number. You can ring the secretary and give the details to the secreatry. And they would prepare the cert. Or ask your hubby parents or siblings to help to go to the church to get the cert also can.

graceyong

what is the church name? u can search from internet or msia yellowpages.com.my

however the best is to ask his parents or siblings to help out.

krystal80

thank you grace!!!

he does have relatives in Msia still so if it's that simple, then I not so headache...*phew
I was getting stressed and irritated coz the church doesn't have a website/email then not convenient for me to call during the day...

raine24

hi andrea, i think that you guys may not need to go all the way to KL's church to collect it.. think it could be sent to either your house or his relatives place in M'sia. gd to check if they have that option. cos my church sent it to me, but mine is in sg la.. so may be different..

cyys

hi andrea, no need to worry. my hb was baptised in malacca, and we just called the church and they sent his parents a copy of the baptism cert. it's quite easy, so shouldnt be too much hassle.

cyys

hi imserious, can u leave or PM me your email address? it's a pdf file so i would have to email it to you.

krystal80

hi cy, thanks for the advise.
Roughly how long did it take for them to get the cert mailed out? (scared procrastinate/forget till last min =P)

cyys

if i'm not wrong it was about 1-2 weeks. i think it's better to do it asap in case u forget later. anyway, you just show it to the priest as soon as you have the cert, and you don't need it after that. so probably best to get it done before you get really busy with all the wedding prep.

lalaa_27

hey gals.. thot we have to give this to the priest only 6 mths or less bfore the weddin.. my priest specifically said he doesnt want it earlier than that.. cos then it mite not be updated wen wedding comes..

fifteenmay

Andrea, yours 12 Dec 09 right?ahahah.. i want to attend one earlier than mine so that i can see the order of the mass. not too sure where does my groomsman and bridesmaid stand or do during vows?
Lalaa,i just went to meet my priest last weekend. you are right, only 6 months or less otherwise it "expires" and you have to ask again..

krystal80

fifteenmay, hahahaha yeah lor =P groomsmen normally will be standing with the groom at the altar, ur bridesmaids (typically) will enter the church before u do...what my hubby suggested for ours is that when my stepdad passes me onto him, that's the cue for the bridesmaids and groomsmen to take their seats

so far i've been to 3 church weddings and only 1 had bridesmaids and groomsmen...and I didn't get to notice what happened to them =P

shingirl

just like to check..... for your church wedding... how do you make the church look full?.... and is that all people who attend the church are those invited by you?

raine24

I was a bridesmaid for a friend's wedding. during the vows, the bridal party does not have to stand, as the bride is not moving from her spot, just standing and turning her body a little.. She shd be able to handle her own skirt. The bridal party can remain seated and "enjoy the show".

However, I must say that there are a few times in the mass when the bride moves ard and at least one bridesmaid has to help her with her skirt/train (e.g. when she has been given away and needs to take her seat, sign of peace, signing of register, etc) so the bridesmaids have to take note of these and be attentive.
If your priest is nice he will help you out with these things at your church rehearsal.

precious_11

Hi Raine..

You mean the priests will be there during the church rehearsal? Coz the last wedding rehearsal that I went for, the priest was not there to help my fren lor.. it was like the secretariat or something... jus giving very brief instructions..

krystal80

hi cher, yeah my friend's one also...I was her lector for her wedding and the priest himself guided us all through the whole procedure and even made me and the other lector do the whole reading, the prayers of the faithful...he literally ran thru the whole mass...which I tot was nice...

raine, like tt i got to remind my bridesmaids to be a bit more "zi dong" hahaha

raine24

if u got a nice, thorough priest, he'll be there at your rehearsal to guide the couple through the whole thing. I feel it's kinda impt cos the couple obviously hasn't gotten married before and might be nervous going through the rites etc. They want to know what goes on.. esp since it's so different attending the mass vs actually being bride and groom.

obviously this all depends on your priest la..

noknok

cham, even for my baptism there was no rehersal. Wonder if there will be one for my wedding.

Do we need to find our own lectors??

raine24

um, its up to the couple to plan and book the priest, their helpers, and most imptly the CHURCH for their rehearsal. (usually 1-2 weeks before)

yes usually the couple has to find their own lectors, choir, commentator, etc.

lorrainec

i'm not sure if i wanna have a rehersal for my wedding. anyway i wont have bridesmaid for my wedding. so i guess i'll just have to do everything myself and hope my hubby will be 'zhi dong' in helping me haha

raine24

yups I have. Met my priest in Nov.. did the pre-nup thingie already. Have settled on my readings and hymns and now doing up my mass booklet nicely.

lalaa_27

yup i met my priest oredi too last dec.. n he said we're too early since our AD only in sep :p

doin the booklet is gonna be so time consumin! wer r u gals printin ur booklets? any cheap printin places to recommend?

lorrainec

i will only be meeting my priest for pre-nup this month. still waiting for him to call my hubby to arrange for it.

Raine, did you buy nice nice papers to print your booklet? i was recommanded to go tecman @ bras basar and take a look at their papers. very nice.

Lalaa, for me i will probably need only 20 booklets or so, so i think i will print myself haha.

raine24

lorraine - i'm not sure whether I have the budget to buy nice paper to print. maybe only for the cover?
cos i'm printing abt 200 books. Was tempted to save $ and print myself, but my hubz thinks its not worth all that effort to save the $$. My friend has kindly agreed to help design, layout and print the booklet for me.. not sure where he's going to do the printing yet.. but we'll be paying for it of cos!

imserious

I'm meeting mine this sat. AD in March. Think its a bit too late.. Duno what to expect oso.. die liao..

CY..i pm-ed u liao. Thanks

lorrainec

raine, yap i was referring to the cover only. The inside can be just nice plain color paper. Wow you need that many ah? I dont have that many catholic frens so i guess mine dont need so much. Just 30 or so will be more than enf. haha.

I'm serious, how come your pre-nup so late? i guess you will have to bring down your baptism and confirmation cert for the priest to keep a copy of it.

lalaa_27

Lorraine.. wish i also had to print only 20! haha

raine.. i probably haf to print abt 200 also.. lucky u.. got a nice fren to help u out! maybe i shud go bug my frens too.. hehe

raine24

hey lalaa.. yups am very blessed to have such nice, talented, giving friends...
they keep me sane from not having to do everything on my own.

this is one of the few times u got an excuse to ask yr friends for help.. I'm sure they would definitely say yes if you ask them.