Carlton Hotel

shoppee

the food on AD is fr Wah Lok. u see, the chef can prepare a few dishes for a few pple, but on AD there's so many pple, it's impossible he alone can manage it, hence it will b shared among all their chefs...

nautilus0921

Dear all, I'm new here. I'm interested in Carlton and would be meeting their staff next week.

Heard that they are quite strict in terms of offering additional perks. Would like to find out what perks should I ask for with success?

Anyone with photos of the ballrooms could also send to [email protected]. Thanks so much!

puffygal

Hello all, just had my wedding at carlton and i would STRONGLY recommnend william chan to be your coordinator. he has been very helpful from the day we met up and even when the wedding has ended

suite was not as bad as some mentioned. yes, it might not be newest or most fashionable, but it is clean and well kept

some may be concerned over the pillars in ballrm 1,2,3, but frankly they wont be not a concern when you are busy entertaining your guests. your guest will adjust themselves if it happens to block their view.

did heard some comments abt the not so good service but i believe it is the same everywhere in spore (most at least), but im pretty sure my guests enjoyed themselves that day , judging from their feedback

all i can say, im glad i chose carlton hotel singapore for my wedding..it's really a memorable and unforgetable one !

nixi018

Hi Puffygal, congratulations to you! Time really flies and your wedding is over liao.. Hee.. Glad that the experience with Carlton is a good one.. I hope mine (in 3 months time) will be ok as well..
Going for food tasting in 2 weeks time..

nixi018

Hi J Lam, i chose ballrm 4 and 5... Mine is wedding lunch and it is considered quite ok for the location.. which other hotel are you considering?

i think it's up to your decision, some might wanna top up for a better dish for their guest, some dont think that is necessary cos they wont remember or they wont give you more ang pao money.. etc etc.. of course if for me, the dish is not up to our expectation, i will request to change dish or rather change menu, cos we also particular with the food as well.

tt86

Can anyone PM the extra perks that Carlton has offered you?

We are interested in signing their weekend lunch / dinner package.

polar_bear

Had my wedding lunch early Oct 2011 at Carlton. Quite happy with the hotel service and William was friendly and helpful.

Surprisingly, the food on actual day was better than during the food tasting, receive few compliments from family members and guests that food was good and service was nice.

I find the Bridal suite quite spacious despite not high floor. At least it is bigger than Holiday Inn suite which I had visited.

pencil12

can i check what are the perks that is negoiated for carlton hotel? heee, want to make my booking for march 2013 but not too sure if i should wait awhile to see if there is any wedding fair? The perks in the standard package is abit little.

muffins_rene

hi all, i'm new here! =P

i've just met my coordinator to view the ballroom. its not fantastic but i love the march in for Empress 4 & 5. cant complain for the price package though the perks are really pathetic as even food tasting in under one of the wishes??!

well, thank god i requested to view the "bridal suite". apprantly they do nt have a specific suite for bridals (depends on which suite is available). went to 22nd floor, was really old and have a musky smell when the door was opened. Quite disappointed as i thought that they will have nicer suites for the new wing.

anyone has just held their wedding DINNNER there?
given 1 more week to give an answer if not they will release my slot. am also looking at sheraton and pan pac.

hope to have some comments! thanks! =)

yanting

Hi, anyone has Joanna as your coordinator? Anyone noticed a change in her attitude aft u showed interest in signing up with them? N how's her service aft signing up? Comments n advice needed urgently. Thanks!

neutronic

hi all. I am keen to hold my wedding in Nov 2012 at Express 123. Any other opinion about the Hotel?

@Baby (polar_bear) - Can you had just done your wedding. Can you share some foto pls? Thks in adv.

lozcve

anyone can share how they managed to get any additional perks from Carlton? Their perks seems pathetic and i heard there won't be any roadshows/open house till JUNE!

yanting

Giftgalz: Hi, I juz signed with Carlton on Xmas eve for dinner on 30 Dec 2012. you might already have read in earlier posts that they dont usu give additional perks, so I'm unsuccessful in squeezing them too.. I only managed to get additional 10% parking coupons on top of the 3 wedding wishes that comes with 28 confirmed tables..

nixi018

We just had our wedding lunch at Carlton Hotel last week and had a good and enjoyable time. The service of Anson (probably a new coordinator as I had been liaising with William all the while) was good!

For the dishes, my guests commented that the fish was abit bland. In addition, we top up extra to change the mushroom to braised abalone but we felt that the quality of the abalone was not so good. For info of those who intend to upgrade their dishes. Cheers and happy planning for your wedding!

lozcve

im interested in Carlton only bcos it is one of the few hotels (not in sentosa) that offers outdoor venue for solemnization. however, i heard from william that they do not reserve/confirm the outdoor venue for couples. has anyone gotten them to confirm this for you guys?

yanting

Hi giftgalz, my coordinator Joanna also said so, her reason being there's another function room juz next to the outdoor solemnisation area, so if there's booking for that function room then u can't use the outdoor area already, cos scared later the guests go to the wrong places.. Have u taken a look at the place? we went up to check out the outdoor area, I personally didn't find it too fantastic, juz beside a small "waterfall" n nt at the poolside..

puffycandies

Hi Yanting,

I am gg to sign up with Joanna too. Does her attitude change after signing up?

U saw the outdoor solemnisation area? where is it located? Coz that day she didnt show me the outdoor one, only one of the small room near to empress 4&5.

Did you manage to see the bridal suite? The day i went all fully booked hence no chance of viewing it.

didnt manage to get any extra perks from her besides the 10% more for car park coupon, i think its quite fixed (or is it bcoz of that coordinator?).

Lets hope the whole event turn out to be smooth and pleasant.

Hi HX,
I would also like to know how much you top up for the abalone? Is there any pricelist for those additional dishes? Was thinking whether to add in one more dish ornot, coz not sure 8dishes is it enough for the guest?

appreciate ur reply.

yanting

Hi Candy!

Erm, I dunno abt that cos haven't talk to her yet aft I signed , pray hard she doesn't lor.. But 1st time I went to view the venue I bumped into a fren, Joanna was also his bro's wedding coordinator n he said she's gd la..

Oh she also didn't show us the outdoor venue, juz happened that my bf asked her abt it on the day we signed so she told us we could take a look if we wan, think its on 3rd or 4th floor bah..

I also didn't manage to see the bridal suite cos she say they r cleaning it n preparing it for that nite's couple
but to us, I guess bridal suite is nt a big deal cos ultimately u juz slp in that aft a long tiring day..

I heard generally they r v strict with their perks regardless of coordinators.. I did a rough calculation, hotels like Conrad cn give a lot of other freebies mayb cos each table they r charging abt $300 more.. So actually in a way u r paying for it too.. Haha, mayb I'm consoling myself.. Keke..

Ya also hope things will b smooth on that day.. Think your sis n bro v impt.. If they r e steady coordinator sort, then u cn b v worry-free

When's your AD? Lunch or dinner? I think if sun dinner 8 dishes shd b ok le.. Cos anw pple will try to go off early cos next day need to work too..

puffycandies

Hi yanting! Thks for sharing ur thoughts, guess it make me feel more comfort after ur analyzing
i was thinking of getting additional one more nite from the wishlist or not hence asking of how the suite is like.

Mine is early next year, didnt manage to secure for this year de
. Mine will be a sat dinner at empress 4&5. Maybe i shld ask to view the outdoor solemnization area when i'm there for signing and wait till food tasting then decide to add on or not.

yanting

Hi candy! Haha glad it helps
initially I was also thinking of getting the additional nite fr the wishlist, so I asked Joanna how much is it worth, she told me its abt $600-700. Then I tot that this is a want n nt a need, n we cn easily go for a gd staycation with that price, so I decided to spend the wishes on other things that r more necessary for a banquet

Oh I like empress 4 & 5! But it's taken for my date so I've to settle for empress 1, 2, 3..

puffycandies

Hello yanting! I've book my banquet with joanna and she turn out to be nice and patience on that day! We didnt take the additional nite in the end coz she say the stay have to be on consecutive nite. End up we took beer instead coz scare our guest drink alot. Actually empress 1-3 oso nice to me gving that cozy feel but just pil wants bigger room so we hv to postphone our date to get better room. But no matter wat, felt so relieve to settle the banquet, nw we can focus on other stuff already! ^_^

Hi chewchew,
Yup! U can ask if she can throw in for you.

yanting

Hi candy!! Yeh happy for u that banquet is settled! I so agree with u that once banquet is settled then cn finally move on liao
if nt, like cant move on to other things for fear have to change date if cant find venue, that's y I also decided to settle for Carlton quick

oh actually I didn't like the pillars n low ceiling in empress 1-3 but decided to juz book n move on to other prep

chewchew

Thanks Candy and Yanting!

I've been searching reviews on Carlton and saw many negative comments about their lack of response etc which really made me scared of signing up with them although it is my first few choices.

Dunno how joanna will be

puffycandies

Yanting, Actually i saw swissotel's atrium ballroom much smaller and lower ceiling than this, to me 1-3 still acceptable. Dun worry, i believe that day will turn out great despite this small imperfection.

Chewchew, mmh. Actually i cant really comment on her coz i met her thrice and 2 out of 3 were nice. Maybe it also depends on the timing ba, like she got a tough day that day? So far her response to me were quite prompt. Actually before her i was dealing with william(if im didnt rem his name wrongly) and that was during new year period hence lack of update. Maybe u can try gv them a call if they did not reply ur email?

yanting

Chewchew: actually Joanna replies me v promptly too. In fact I started liaising with her abt nov-dec period n many times she was clearing leave, but everytime once she's back fr her leave, I'll definitely get her reply..

Candy: Wa, Thanx for the reassurance! Have been psycho-ing myself that a great wedding is nt juz abt the wedding venue too.. Heehee..

cherrycheries

Will be booking Carlton this Sat!

However we are still debating over lunch or dinner banquet.

Any brides or btb able to share the "breakeven rate" for dinner ang pows?

cherrycheries

We booked Carlton, however sad to say, I didn't like the staff who liaised with us (William has left the hotel).

And they are also quite inflexible in terms of perks, which we didn't know have to confirm upon booking of banquet. And the perks can't be negotiated at later time.

Wonders if we should let go of the slot. Any advice?

snowdrop39

Cherry, u made me think twice about Carlton... they gave me an apointment to meet for a discussion, and it's a two weeks' wait.. are their schedule really so packed?

cherrycheries

Eve: We managed to meet them within quite a short time, probably within the next week. maybe they have quite a lot of appointments coming up?

Are you taking dinner or lunch? for dinner, you have to confirm their perks on the day of confirmation (ie paying deposit). we didn't know about that, so I felt "forced" to discuss with htb on the spot. perks also cannot be changed once you confirm.

Joanna is also a little too straight forward for my liking. Made me feel like she's just a "sales person" trying to seal the deal quick when we were negotiating the terms. However, I think we will still go ahead with Carlton, since the price is very competitive for its location.

My only regret is that we didn't really source for and view other hotels, since we were quite happy with William the other time when he met us.

Jolyn: Maybe you will like the place? Best bet is to get in touch with the hotel staffs and view the place. Different people different preference? Hee..

shirleywee

You guys can try looking for Winnie Lo. I met Joanna 1st then I met Winnie although the perks is not good but I like communicate with her more than Joanna. Joanna makes me feel sales but Winnie is friendly.