Carlton Hotel

lynnie : actually u can try asking to top up a more expensive dish or suite to use the bigger ballroom.. i did ask a few hotel and they can do that.. no harm asking though..

yenming : i can email you the package and the co-ordinator's email add, i have 2 contacts for that u can choose either one..

nixi018

Hi Jermaine, yup i am doing rom on the same day too before the wedding lunch so i most prob will shorten the morning customary part so that it won't be too rushed. Hee.. what about you? Are you doing ROM on your AD too?

Hi Carol, can ask the coordinator to check with the other couple whether they are confirmed on the banquet booking. For my date, it was also tentatively booked by another couple. However, luckily they gave up the slot after my coordinator checked with them. Good Luck!

fishie_09

Hi all..

I understand that empress ballroom 1&2 and ballroom 4&5 are side by side. Any brides have had her wedding at these ballrooms with another wedding next door? Is the partition sound proof that we wun hear wats goin on next door?

your help is appreciated! TIA

jasming

Hi Lynnie,

I've asked winnie to add on additional perks for 25 tables, eg additional nite stay and some free wine, after they ck with higher authority, the ans is no. They are quite rigid in terms of their perks. I think they know their ballroom is nice and location is gd.

shoppee

I signed up with their catering director, irene last year, even she also keep shaking her head (saying no) to whatever extras we asked for. their hands are tied, there's hardly any room for negotiation...

somehow regretted abit when I saw their bridal suite for the first time, months later aft signing the contract...

also very disappointed when i saw the revised table settings n wedding flavors... they were much better when I saw them b4 I signed the contract!

Sckyl: yup, they are rather rigid. As I can't reach their requirement, I already gave up my tentative booking for dec 2012. Their ballroom really nice, confirm can sell thus they not worried.

nixi018

Queen - You requested to see the bridal suite after signing the contract? We have not seen the bridal suite yet.. When is your AD btw? Their wedding favours are quite standard ones..

shoppee

I can't recall.. think that time wanted to see but was occupied... it didn't cross my mind that a grand ballroom would have an ugly bridal suite... it's very old, the furniture seems like more than 15 year old...

my wedding this year, not convenient to say when, juz in case they read this forum.. haha...

when I signed the contract, those flavours I saw were much better!

polar_bear

I've also signed up with Carlton thru Irene last year. She seems ok to me. Requested for slight change in one of the dishes and increase complimentary parking by another 10% and she agree.
Recent contact to Joyce for food tasting next month was pleasant too.
Will update my experience after going thru my wedding in Oct this year.

jermaine86

Queen: furniture more than 15 yrs old is like so old!! that would seems like a concern to me now..lol

do anyone have pictures of their bridal suite to share?

Baby (polar_bear): pls update us after your big day this oct..

actually the date that we wanted was a tentative booking but the coordinator got back some good news for us that the other couple is willing to give up the tentative booking. after sending us the contract (yet to be signed), another couple wanted our date and we had to decide immediately before they give up the ballroom for them. seems like its really a popular banquet venue..

jasming

Hi Lynnie: So where did u choose in e end ? Really like the ballroom, But the pillars in empress 1-3 is my concerned too. Wondering will it affect the overall feelings.

Is the bridal suite spacious ?

fishie_09

seems like the service in carlton really bad.. they really took aggeeessss to reply emails

My concern is there is 2 weddings concurrently, will the noise from next door be heard? hmmm

Sckyl: I signed up with Mandarin Orchard eventually. Hmmm, I think it's up to your preference. But a pillarless ballroom is better so that your guests' view won't be blocked.

fishie_09

Jermaine.. thats a good suggestion! LOL.. have u had ur wedding yet?

Lynnie.. u taking the imperial ballroom of mandarin orchard?

shoppee

haha.. maybe 15 years old abit too Kuazhang... but I feel it's at least 10 years old...

yes, they take a while to reply emails... it's faster to call them! after u call, then they will reply yr email quite fast... haha

jermaine86

Fishie..my wedding is next yr..yours??

Queen..actually i have heard of the old bridal suite before..and i have asked the coordinator is there is any suite on the new wing but unfortunately no. the new wing is more for corporate bookings..hence the smaller room and such. we shall just suck thumb..:/

shoppee

ya.. I asked if I can juz take the normal rooms at the new wing, they oso say cannot... bridal suite to normal room is a downgrade they oso dun allow...

fishie_09

lyn

Mine is next yr too....still deciding if shud take carlton... the onli good thing i like bout the hotel is the ballroom.. the rest... hmmmmmmmmmm

shoppee

probably becos this is not a hotel chain hence can't offer that attractive perks..

location wise, I think it's really convenient... the toilets also quite decent... I once visited a hotel which has only 2 cubicles near the ballroom, can u imagine the queue?
price wise still not 1 of the highest, though it's not really
cheap...
just have to visit as many ballrooms as u can and slower trim down the list...

tatty003

Hi all... I Just went to Carlton find that their service is really bad... The ballroom for empress 1 to 3 got 4 pillar will block the guest view... But for ballroom 4 and 5 the the ceiling v high but no block...

tatty003

Hi HX... I Hv shortlisted Carlton so yesterday we went down to talk to the coordinator... The way she talk is like v impatience n also Never explain v detail la... When we ask her gt any privileges she say all is written at the paper.... Such a nice hotel but give this kind of service really v disappointed....

ndlex

hello eveyone,

i'll like to share my horrific experience on carton.

My fiance and i had wanted to confirm our wedding package at the Empress 4 & 5 ballroom and had an appointment with one of the banquet sales person, Winnie Lo. Few days before our appointment, she called to ask if I have already book with another hotel. I was shocked as we are supposed to be meeting her that weekend to pay the deposit and confirm the booking.

This is chronologically what happened.

–––––––––––––––––––
27 May
Was referred to Winnie handling our event. We fixed an appointment to meet on 31 May.
She replied also to say that out of our requested dates, 2, 9 & 30 June 2012 on waiting list.

Met on 31 May

1 Jun
Wrote to Winnie that we are keen, and we are looking at 30 Jun. Ask her to inform us once it’s available.
Winnie replied that “ Currently 30 June 2012 for Empress 4 & 5 is available.†However, 30 June 2011 is a auspicious date therefore there is additional of $30nett per table incurred

2 Jun
Email to Winnie to ask if Ballroom 3 can also release to us if we require more tables, or how many tables do we have to book to secure the ballroom 3 as well for us. And some misc questions.

11 Jun
Email to Winnie to ask if she can reply to our queries as we have not heard from her.
She called back to say she did not receive the email. I forward it again to her immediately.

13 Jun
Winnie sent an email : “Thanks for your call a moment ago. Further to our discussion. The only option is to guaranteed 50 tables then I can open up Empress 1 - 5 for your wedding dinner. At this current moment I am unable to offer Empress 3 - 5 for your wedding dinner on 30 June 2012. I can only confirm with you 2 month prior to your wedding.
I have already block put empress 4 & 5 for your wedding dinner. Therefore please revert to me by 20 June 2011, as we are changing our wedding package rate soon. “
Also some other perks were discussed via Winnie’s email to us.

17 Jun
My fiance wrote the email to Winnie (cc me) if she is available to meet us on 19 Jun, as we’ll like to confirm our wedding package
Winnie reply to say she is not working on 19 Jun, and if we can meet with her the following sat or sun (25 or 26 Jun).
My fiance reply that it was stated that we need to revert by 20 June, and if the rate and offer still stands since she can only meet us later.
To which, Winnie reply : I will hold the date and rates till 26 June 2011. I will arrange to meet you on 26 June at 1.00pm.

22 Jun
Winnie called me and ask if I have signed up with another hotel. I was confused and replied to her that we were suppose to be meeting her this Sunday. And she say she did not receive my fiance’s email. I forward the email to her and she say ok, can we meet at 3pm instead, which I agreed. Shortly after, she called again to inform me that the ballroom was released to another couple on the same date, 30 Jun 2012.

–––––––––––––––––––

We were shocked.
This is totally unprofessional, especially from a hotel, which emphasis was given to organising wedding events, as seen from the efforts it puts into renovation and attention to details to having the perfect wedding.

As everyone here would have understood, much efforts and discussion have been put together by 2 families to come together in agreement to the date and venue. We are appalled by the carelessness of the team handling the most important day of someone’s life!

We have since changed our venue for our wedding, and the new coordinator at Sheraton is much more professional than this!

the co-ordinator attend to me was also Winnie, she sound rude over the phone but i still fix a date to meet her but last min me and partner went to Pan Pac to meet the co-ordinator so we sort of cancel off the meetup..

i also dont like to talk to her over the phone so rude lor..

tatty003

My coordinator Also winne... I find that they also nt flexiable... So I think will nt consider this hotel... I rather choose the hotel that look old but give better service....

seems like Winnie's service really bad??? she is a manager somemore le.. ya lor i give up this hotel.. i actually quite like cos of the ballroom.. but nvm la.. i jus take other hotel lor.. since this co-ordinator is like sh*t.

i cant imagine facing her for 1 year plus lor, and not to mention that she keep forgetting what has been agreed.

ndlex

After my incident, I wrote a letter to the MD to highlight this matter. I didn't receive any reply fr him, but the catering director, Irene Tan called me. But she pisses me even further, with her remark that "I m sorry what my girls did spoil ur weekend..." it wasn't about the weekend!! They simply dun get it. No wonder the whole dept was so cock up... It just simply is the culture there...

dorisll

I also kana similar situation at Intercon before I sign with carlton. I was so pissed n post it on the forum. Then I heard from my friend that the coordinator is her friend and she keep kana scolding from her boss.so I think tt is just that we are " bad luck " Lo n is quite normal I think. I can uderdstand how u feel but everyone do mistake what, Non of us are perfect. At least me n htb found a place that we really like.
Dont think too much la. Lol

dorisll

The worst at Intercon no body even write back to me. but I guess cos we are not paying any single cents to them so y they bother.

shirleywee

I am new here. Can anyone advise me can carlton hold 60 tables for wedding dinner?

I heard is a new ballroom, am very intrested with the ballroom.

pantieileen

Hi Andie, thanks for the comment on the great deco and renovation coz my aunt was in charge of the development of the new hotel wing and ballroom. Personally i haven't seen the new wing but the food is good (coz i always eat free from Wah Lok). Will go tell her on the bad wedding services.

prisci11a

hi all, wondering if anyone can share the rate for wedding banquet at carlton for weekends? can't seem to find their rates or menu in their webbie... and what is the smallest number of tables will they accept?

puffygal

I have been liasing with William all along and so far, he has been responsive with his emails and calls.

@mad, Had food tasing recently and feedback from family members was good, with minor comments. The serving was pretty big and we were all joking if they will serve this portion during actual day :p

@prisci, If im not wrong, the epslande room at level 4 is a min of 10 tables, its a small ballroom (I nv been up to see though). Ballrm 1-3 or 4-5 I guess it depends on whether weekdays/weekends , but it b 20 odd tables.

shirleywee

Have met up with winnie n signed mu AD with Carlton even we have read many bad remerks.
Personally feels:
1. Ballroom Is fantasic
2. I like the lobby when you 1st step in
3. Suite is quite old. But the space is big
4. My corridinator Winnie is nice and easy going girl.
We have actually met her 3 times and finially sign up and don't think that she is what some of them have discribe.
Trust ur own view n feeling I should say.
5. I like the space in the car park because it is not cramp like many of the hotels I went

This is my experience so far. Will keep u guys update when I go for my food tasting

nixi018

hi, just to check whether you guys make partial payment before your banquet for credit card rebate? Do you go down personally to pay? TIA!

tiaevaleshya

Hi, I am new to the forum. Like to ask if anyone has any comments on the food? We were told by Winnie Lo that the food served on AD is from Wah Lok but my fiance's brother who had given a treat to his family at the Wah Lok restaurant and subsequently attended someone else's wedding banquet at the Empress ballrooms said the food tasted so different (he said the food at Wah Lok was so much better)!

Really appreciate some comments because right now we are seriously considering between Carlton and Marina Mandarin. We prefer having a dinner but Carlton only has Empress 1,2, and 3 for lunch(not to mention the pillars and low ceiling but we have not seen Empress 1,2 and 3 with the pillars because they were in use for seminars) while MM has the Vanda Ballroom avail for dinner on the same date (the pillars were not too obtrusive so we are ok; ceiling also on the low side but we are somewhat ok too because MM offers us better perks).

We hope to make a decision within the coming week because Winnie said there's another couple who's also interested in taking the ballrooms on the same date for lunch. So, am thinking that we don't have much negotiating power since Carlton seems really popular.