Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

hello ladies, Monday cheers to everyone. Today, I start work at 4.30am, a history in my life! Hopefully I could off work earlier today.

Mandy, sorry to hear that u're not well .. really hope to see you in the future. Whenever there are chances, u still could come back to participate in this thread.

Aiyo, Mandy, so sad to hear that you are not feeling well & too much work & later no more internet... so many bad news.

Hope you are feeling better now & do keep in touch with us somehow... we'll miss you...

helo ladies..I'm on-leave today..that's y very quiet..never make noise here..hehehe

Susan, how come u go to work so early? your ah neh boss ki siow kah?

Hi hi (tired), now i can only log on internet when i'm home liao, see my timing of posting.... sigh.

Hi all ladies, so sad can't meet you all cos of my illness. Of coz i'll pop into this thread more often since i nvr see you b4 but still need to kp in touch.

SP, how do i go to next lvl to err...junior member?

BB_2, I suspect there's no difference at all between "New Member" & "Junior Member" or higher ranks... it's just to encourage us to post more I guess, wuahahahaha....

Anne, the hard disk in my hse's computer mati...
So now got to wait for my bro to help me load the camera software into the new hard disk first, then only can download our gathering pics.

Susan: my office got alot of mooncake since last 2 weeks..all supplier came with mooncake..I don't have to buy any..keke..Anyway I don't fancy mooncake at all..but Starbucks coffee flavour one quite good.

Anne, just like you, my office also recd lots of mooncakes. abit sick of it liao...

SP, nevermind. We can wait for the photos..

Hey everyone, ZHONG QIU JIE KWAI LE....

I don't fancy mooncake too, but craved for Haagen Dazs ice-cream mooncake.

The representative from Swissotel, came and passed 2 boxes to my Ah Nei boss directly, sekali thot that he would share with us but he brought back home leh ..

I find S'pore made mooncake is sweeter compared to M'sia made.

Happy Mid-Autumn Festival, everyone!

Wah, how come everyone's office got so much mooncake until "sian"? That's none over here at my office.

Talking about mooncake reminds me of our conversation at Si Net Ga about annual dinner & lucky draw prizes. Well, the half day annual leave prize is really cool, kekeke! Sorry I got no stories to share - over here no annual dinner & of course no lucky draw.

actually when think about it, getting annual leave as a lucky draw prize means a lot to many people .. i wouldn't mind to get it as a prize. OF all the annual dinner that I've organized (I went and bought the prizes), I've never won any of them .. so sad hoh ..

he he, who will go out and carry lantern around tonight? Don't know with other part of the world but my side here is having a heavy downpour, so expecting round moon is hidden behind the clouds tonite.

oppss,
guess I am too late in reply you susany
I cannot make it for the gathering.. it's too late a reply, however I guess I need to tell you. :P

any good deals from NATAS?
I was thinking of booking a package next march, however most of the agencies cannot provide the price for next year. Wonder anyone in the same situation like me?

Shuen Ping, thank you for uploading the pictures, they are very well taken.

YYBB, it's OK, we're going to meet again. You are welcomed to join us next time.

Mandy, I went to Chinatown, took a look at the world biggest lantern.

Helo ladies..how's the celebration of Mooncake festival? No celebration for me
actually wanted to go to Boat Quay to see the dragon but I was working late..so call off the plan

Oh ya..there will be Singapore Motor Show coming up at Suntec City on 11th Nov to 21st Nov 2004..anybody interested to go? I can help u guys to buy ticket at cheaper price..we r part of the exhibitors.

Wow, yesterday talking about mooncake huh! So u all must be enjoyed of the yesterday "San Yue" liao?
Yesterday moon seem to be very bright isn't it! Did u all see that too?

Ya anyone here of ur hubby still have younger brother or sister? I want to know cos my hubby is the eldest and he got 2 sisters and 1 brother which is not married yet. I wonder how much should I give them when they pour tea for me calling me as "Dao sao" leh.

I find abit "pai sei" for them to call me "Dao sao" cos one of his sister is 2yrs older than me, another is 1yr younger than me and for his brother is 2yrs younger than me.

Hee... really lots of pretty gals + yummy food...
Wah I guess, u gals must be having a wonderful times...nevermind I still hv chance to get up w u girls.

Anne, thks alot. But I guess I will be busy by then...

Zann, sorry my hubby is the youngest. Me also not sure how much to give.

Hi Anne - I think I'll be going back hometown, due to Deepavali & Hari Raya holidays for card distributions leh ..

Zann, I'm planning to make life easy by giving out same amt ang pow to all "minors" including my own brothers as well as unmarried siblings of my hubby. I'll probably give them separate ang pows for helping out with AD duties, hehe.

Zann, probably u want to make it standard ang pow for all those that not married but "shake-hand" with during tea ceremony?
I think SP is rite in the sense that we don't confuse on the ang pow envolope..too many different type of angpow and also avoid double standard lah..

For those who help out like bestman or siong tee then probably another bigger ang pow for them lor..

for the relatives' children, i tend to pao RM5 .. but unsure about our family customs - whether both bride & groom together giving out 1 packet or bride gives 1, groom gives 1.

I think RM5 should be fine. mmm... now the headaches is what is the market rate now for bro, jia mei, open door?

I agree w Anne & SP. I was even thinking to get Ang Bao of diff designs to identify them.

Hi all! Wow about ang pao giving huh....

Got to check with the groom side leh. Cos that time when my 2nd cousin got married her husband's side is more particular with "open car door" so they gv my cousin's own younger bro ang pao with auspicious nos like 288 or 388, for him alone leh!
Then we as "sisters", the groom parents state no more than 188 for all the "sisters"! wow, very bias hor. Maybe i could have forgotten certain figures lah but i knew the younger got more than us. "pian xin".

Oh, talking about my FH, he's the eldest at home, even his younger sis and bro are older than me! Imagine they all call me Da Sao, haha, i'll burst into laughter
but if the elders are very strict about this thing like in China (maybe?) must go by the "rankings" in family. hehe

Luckily i'm ROM-ing soon only, no need to worry for the customary FOR NOW ONLY. It'll be my turn. :P

Talking abt $ always makes me excited, keke.

I have yet to count how many kids there are going to be - if not many, I'll consider RM5 per ang pow because will be giving out 2 x RM5 = RM 10 to each kid. So RM100 will cover 10 kids. If too many kids, cannot afford lah, got to reduce to RM2 x 2 = RM4 but then does it seem too little & stingy? Hmm...

Susan, me quite used to giving ang pows to my family members - have been "practising" it for years giving ang pows to parents & brothers for CNY. My family is very cute, CNY my parents will give ang pow & I'll also give ang pow back to them, haha.

In fact, these past few years me taking ang pows from relatives also very pai seh - so old already still take ang pow, hehehehe...

SP: y shd u give out 2 ang pow to one kid? is this the custom? For our family practice, we only get one ang pow wor..

If I have to give out 2 ang pow per kids or those unmarried..I'll bankrupt ler..for my side, I need at least 50 packets..goes the same to Brandon's side..need at least another 50 packets!

Actually I find giving out RM2/packet to kids still a practice leh .. "yi-si, yi-si". Depending on ones budget, cannot be forced, right? When CNY comes, can 'pau' more loh.

SP, your family is really cute leh . Only this year, I started to 'pau' Gold packet to 3 persons who are not my own relative because these people have been 'taking care' of me since I came down to Singapore. I don't 'pau' red packet to my family, but at every end of each year, I'll give extra $$$ in my allowance to my parents.

Anne, if your family tradition only giving 1 packet, then follow loh ... usually it's a Cantonese practice - bride 1 packet, groom 1 packet ... but Hokkien only giving out 1 packet.

Wah, Anne, so many kids ah? Gosh! Then the tea ceremony also will take quite long hor? So many kids = so many relatives...

Susan, I "purposely" don't give extra allowance to my parents at year end - I prefer to keep it until CNY then put inside ang pow & give them, kekeke...

Susan, you are right. Hokkien only gives out 1 packet. My hubby is cantonese, so will give out 2. So as not to be "unfair" to the kids on bride's side, I'll either double the $ & give 1 packet or easier to just give 2 packets loh.

Ya..I think hokkien only give 1 ang pow per kid..so stick with it..keke

SP: my dad got big family with 12 siblings..from my cousin's wedding experience, we need at least 2.5 to 3hrs to complete the tea ceremony. Therefore, my mom suggest me to split, my dad side will have my tea ceremony in the hotel before my dinner reception..and on my AD, only my mom's family will be at my place for tea ceremony. All this arrangement done is due to the time contraint where we need to travel to my in-law place for their tea ceremony. Brandon's dad also got big family with 14 siblings..oh gosh..hopefully we can have enough time to go back to the hotel and rest for awhile before the dinner start!!
I'll definately collapse after my AD

Actually, my planning is to give RM6, one kid one angbao. In this way, don need to hold so many angbao with us. But me hakka, not sure abt our custom.

Anne, thanks so much for sharing your wedding photos! Wah, very nice lah, got seaside, outdoor, indoor also many styles! The chinese writing background is unique & special.

I really love your wedding gowns! MTM?

SP: thanks for the compliment..pai seh ler coz I drag so long never get it done..kekeke
Which wedding that u like? I got 2 white gown..one is for AD and another one is for my tea ceremony and also match-in use on my Penand reception. AD one is MTM, the other tube one is OTR.

Anne, actually I like both your wedding gowns! Pic 0008 the slimmer A-Line one really shows off your beautiful sexy figure, so admire... Pic 0007 is really grand yet sweet-looking, is this the AD MTM one? Do you get to keep both the gowns or only the MTM one?

By now I've looked at your photos > 3 rounds - your PS really captured the delight, fun & happiness in you & Brandon... I see also shiok, keke...

SP: Pic0008 is the gown I'm going to wear for my Penang dinner reception cum tea ceremony. The other gown Pic0006 which is softer is for my AD and is MTM one. I don't get to keep any of the gown. All will have to return to BS after my customary.
Nothing to admire about me lah..I'm so big size..both I need to praise my photographer, we will make us feel good and have so much fun while taking the PS. Till now, we got no regret to pay the high price to get quality work coz I'm very fussy person to deal with :P

can i ask if u all r taking bridal pkg from msia or spore? cos for my case, wld have dinner in msia & also a small one in spore....thinking where to get pkg easier... *vexed*

too many postings here...i cant catch up, hope u all dun mind me poking in from nowhere...

Hi Nana, welcome .. which part of M'sia r u from?

where will u have your actual day ceremony?

the quality and service from Singapore BS is much better, of course, u're paying for the price.

so, it's depending on your budget and preference too.