Calling all Malaysian brides/grooms

Hi morning ladies..good to see most of our family members r back on gear.

Eccentric, don't take it so hard. Since your customary is not over yet, y not discuss with your hubby to get a new pair?
Well, I do experience of losing a platinum ring during hiking. I think when we sweat the ring will get loosen. So watch out ladies..

SP: We all understand..RM is kind of small when come to Spore. The spending power is huge..so we try to be more considerate loh..somehow we also Msian what

Susan: Pls get the ball rolling for the 2nd gathering. I think most of the ppl r back to this thread..try to consolidate and finalised the venue together ya.

hi SP, eccentric, mandy, susanY,

Keke.. come to think of it.. I am quite selfish in my thinking. Still very childish hor... :P

All your hubbies are caring about you in a way or another. I guess I never really emphasize to look into the good side of my FH. I am being self-centered and only thinking about the worse in life. Do you think I am being pessimistic?

I am so sorry to make everyone uncomfortable with my questions. However, I have no one to turn to right now. So lost... So I choose all you kind gals out there to seek for personal advice and experience. I've realised I made the right choice. Thanks a lot !!! YOu are really of great help to me by feedback promtly on what you think in particular.

SP: Haven't got my photos yes. Maybe soon..
SusanY : I've booked my venue in Malaysia already. It's at westin hotel.

Wuahahaha, I'm finally "Junior Member"!
Mandy, you'll be next! Zann, Joyce, Eccentric, Dreamin, Zzee... "jia you", hehehe...

Anne & Susan, shall we meet in a nice place around City Hall? Hmm, is a budget of around S$20 per person okay for everyone? Hopefully that will give us more choices for the venue.

dreamin, great to hear that u realised u made the right choice
Have a good weekends..spend more time with your hubby and probably can suggest for a surprise dinner with him?

SP: so excited ah?? $20 shd be sufficient.

Ladies out there, do join us for the upcoming gathering on 25th Sep 2004, Saturday evening.

2nd Gathering - M'sian Brides/Grooms
Date: 25th Sep 2004, Saturday
Time: 6.30pm
Venue: TBA
Invitees:
1. Susan and Jin (Confirmed)
2. Zann and Yau Wei
3. SP, is your hubby coming with u?
4. Anne and Brandon (Confirmed)
5. Joyce and Joe (pls update whether u can make it?)
6. Mandy
7. Irene and hubby
8. Zzee
9. dreamin
Please bring along your spouse if he/she is around town.

Wondering whether Little_Star,Lynn and Wendy still with us in this thread?

Anne, thanks for getting the ball rolling again!

My hubby will join us.

Hmm, should we delay the timing so that everyone who's going to Natas can have more time there & still make it to our gathering? We can also meet somewhere nearer/ at Suntec.

Dreamin, do you think you can make it if the timing is later?

dreamin, I'll be visiting NATAS and I think Susan will be there too.

SP: We can make it 7.30 or 8pm..not to worry..previous gathering we also welcome late comers.
Can arrange to meet at Suntec, maybe the restaurant near the fountain there or TonyRomas..how? Any idea?

Hmm, I'm wondering what is the best way for ppl to contact me while I'm in S'pore. My M'sian hp got no auto-roaming (not planning to use, will be expensive).

Anyone has any ideas/ suggestions? Are there any prepaid sim cards that I can activate & use immediately?

2nd Gathering - M'sian Brides/Grooms
Date: 25th Sep 2004, Saturday
Time: 7.30pm onwards
Venue: TBA
Invitees:
1. Susan and Jin (Confirmed)
2. Zann and Yau Wei
3. SP and hubby (Confirmed)
4. Anne and Brandon (Confirmed)
5. Joyce and Joe (pls update whether u can make it?)
6. Mandy
7. Irene and hubby
8. Zzee
9. dreamin
Please bring along your spouse if he/she is around town.

SP: M1 or Singtel have prepaid sim card with certain amount of money on it. U can get it from any of the retail store.

Hi SP,
Can't confirm yet... Think my FH has something going on later...

Any idea how's the ang pao rate like in Malaysia?
Xiong Di : RM50
Jie Mei : RM50
Ang Pao for Kids : RM8
Car Opener : RM18
MC : RM50

Is that the standard rate?

TGIF but I'm extremely busy today!!

Eccentric, sorry to hear about your incident .. but happy to hear that your hubby is so understanding.

Shuen Ping, I can arrange with you on the communication.

Dreamin, I think we can pour out more comfortably our feelings here. Anyway, indirectly we are all have became 'sisters' to each other. Have you had your food tasting at Westin? Which part of KL are u from? Is your BS in S'pore/KL?

About our gathering, we're gonna have it in the evening, instead in the afternoon as proposed.

Suntec is a good idea. Has anyone tried the 'all-u-can-eat' Indonesia food at the 3rd level? We can try Sizzler too.

Need your response latest by 21 Sep, kiasu mah .. must make advance reservation.

Thanks gals for all your support! You all are such a nice bunch!

Have a great gathering ya!

Been to the indonesia place, food not really that fantastic. But a good place to hang-out, cos u sit there for ages & when hungry again, can order more food.

Dreamin, thanks so much for the info.!

WAH! You are so generous with the ang pows... err, can I also be your Jie Mei??? Hahaha.....

Is there a "fixed" or "standard" rate for ang pows? Hmm, a girl told me she has been jie mei for many times - and the largest ang pow she got was 48 (gate-crashing ang pow 288 divided by 6 jie mei) while the smallest... you won't believe this... was RM3+ ONLY... because ang pow too small & got to divide for soooo many jie mei... hahaha......

I suppose if we can afford it, we can give big ang pows. If not, smaller ones will do.

anne, too bad i can't make it coz' i need to balik kampung la

seems like this round most of u will turn up. too bad i'll ve to miss a ball again

dun worry... i will definitely make it for the gathering.

hi ladies, since u r discussing on ang pao, dun mind i check with u about the average market rate for "ping-jing" in KL/M'sia?
my friend said is RM10K, is tat so much?

my thee-ching will be this weekend.

my mother told me that she will not be asking anything from the groom side but I know groom side will ask a pair of pants and shoes from us, also a set of teapot too.

about ping-jing also depending loh .. some people will ask a lot of money but then will only take half of it and return the rests. Some will accept all the money but without asking more for tables.

the price varies, could be as much as RM10K, could be lesser too ..

Hi Ladies, wah... looks like I am really behind the topics....

Hi Dreaming, welcome welcome!!!

mm.... now is on tee ching? Oh ya Susan, yr thee-ching is on 19Sept! Where are u going to hold the thee ching? Who will be joining from both side of the family? Girls, I can't wait to be home. I am packing for my stuff tonite and off to Batu Pahut tomorrow and my PS is on Sunday!!! I better have good sleep for these twodays!

didn't know that pin-jing can be up to RM10K..
Wow...
But my parents just ask for what my FH can afford without stating a price. Now I am thinking how can we fork out RM10K of pin-jing... Headache. Was thinking of giving my mum only RM1,888 initially. Hmmm... Must raise my price now. Since only 1/2 will be taken by my mum the rest will return to us, correct?

Sorrie har.. what is thee ching day har?

Irene, you must secretly snap some photos for us to see ..

Dreamin, my 'thee-ching' (marriage goodies negotiation) date is obtained from the temple ... very lor-soh lah, luckily falls on Sunday, else must apply for leave.

Have you talk to your mom about the wedding goodies? It's up to your mother how much she would accept, some people just accept $0.99 leh .. just as yi-ser, yi-ser but some will accept 100%.

BB_2, finally your PS day is almost here! Enjoy your PS on Sun!!! If can, remember to take some pics with your camera too! Can't wait to see you in WG & EG... sure very nice one...

susany,

Oh I know what is ti ching day already.. marriage proposal day har? kk

Who should be involved in this? my parents and me and my FH?

what are the goodies that you will be preparing?

oh! "ti-ching" got to go temple to get a date ah? i thought anyhow a date will do. hehe
. btw, wat is the purpose of "ti-ching"???

About "ping-jin", my mum said up to us, but my FH family dunno how much to propose. if below average then is not nice.
i consulted my friend and she told me RM10K. i was a bit shock ... that y i'm verifying this topic here. hehe

don't know if it meant as marriage proposal or not ..

I'm going to have food tasting at the same time, so both parents, us and his grandma will be around. Usually grandparent doesn't have to be involved lah, but somehow his mother asked her own mother to tag alogn ..

I think his parents will ask my parents what we want from them - how much of ping-jing, how many roasted pig, how many bottles of liquor, how much of token appreciation to my mum, how many banquet tables for us, how many boxes of cakes/biscuits, etc ...

my mum was so puzzled about all these things, so she decided not to ask anything from them. actually, these will come from Jin's budget too.

we don't have to prepare any goodies on this day but whatever they request from us, then the goodies will be sent to the bride house on Guo Da Li Day.

Dreamin, what dialect r u?

actually I find RM10K also too much lah ... can choose nice number lah .. RM1188, RM6688, RM1688, he he he

will let u all know the outcome ler, I'm quite kan-cheong lah

both parents only saw each other once ... i feel worried if they have nothing to talk

SusanY,
I am cantonese and my FH is hainanese.
Hmmm complicated hor..

I am sure both parents can get along well. They will have something to talk one.. Dun worry. Mums will have no problem in exchanging their ideas in cooking, however dads are usually the stern ones with less to talk about. That's my experience. All in all, both parents are happy to meet each other ones... Like friends like that.. No worry..

Seems like your parents are quite modern like mine.. Dunno much about the real tradisional procedure. They will just want our life to be easy without asking too much... Lucky to have such parents right !!!

The temple gave Jin's mum 2 lists of date and type of ceremony that we have to go thru .. 1 list for the groom and 1 list for the bride.

When i showed my mum the list, she was shocked! I think I have more knowledge about the customary than her, he he he.

hi SP,
overlooked your message..
no mention about the links to check out the prepaid card. So which one is better har? keke :P

try to get market price so that all the relatives will not snigger at me for being stingy. You know that kind of sam gu lok po (cantonese).

Joyce,
waiting for your confirmation on the pin jing.. keke

wow... didnt know so many "procedures" or "customs" to follow leh. Basically our "so-called negotiate" was just a short & brief meeting over lunch. Guess, i was "given" practically free! =) I guess, at the end of the day, all parents hope that their daughter will marry into a nice family and to a loving hubby.

Hi, Dreamin... me not sure which is the best lah, need to also know how much they are charging for the SIM card (not mentioned).

Since I'll just be in S'pore for around 24 hrs, maybe it's not worthwhile to spend so much. Maybe should just get a phone card instead, hehe...

hi all ladies!
i dunno if i can make it on 25 sept or not cos i suppose to have a dinner appointment with another friend also... but if can make it, i'll try to bring my FH along also lah. Hehe then all the ladies out there, you all can teach my FH how to listen to me liao. Hahahahaha.

Hi SP,

I think so too.. unless you are coming to Singapore quite often to meet us... Keke :P
then you can consider getting the prepaid card. If I am not wrong you have to top up the prepaid card after a certain period of time depending on the subscriber.

Hi, Dreamin!

Hmm, if your mum is only going to take half of the pin jin, then I suppose it's okay to put 10k in the ang pow since she's only going to keep 5k.

Fyi, I'm also "worth" 5k only, hahaha...

Hello Ladies,
Wow... It seem that I have lost the thread liao! So now the conversation is about "PIN JIN" lah.
I also have the same problem too.
My mum also said that "yi si yi si". But I don't the meaning of "yi si" should be how much? I asking my hubby to give my mum S$4,000/- and see how much my mum return! My hubby keep quiet and say nothing. My mum ask for 3tables for Malaysia wedding dinner. But as for Singapore wedding dinner will be fork out by the bridal side. Actually I don't know S$4,000 whether is too much or not? And I don't mum will return him how much!

hi zann, seems like we r having the same doubt too. my mum also said "yi si yi si"...haha... problems with this word. i rather she give me one exact figure.

i think i'll talk to her when i go back tis weekend. i dun dare to propose coz' i'm not sure whether my mum will have the "practice" to return half the money or not

I don't know do Malaysia still have this kind of thinking about "PIN JIN" which groom give so much to the bride's mother is also mean that the bride's "JIA ZHUAN" also much have so much!

Ya, Joyce when will be ur AD?

Hi zann, joyce, sp,
My mum also say "yi shi yi shi".. haha.. all mums say the same thing. When my brother in law gave her only $188. Then she is not happy... Haha... Now I have to think properly what does she meant by "yi shi yi shi".

Abit broke now, don't think will force hubby to fork out too much. S$10K is a lot of money.... How har? I definitely know that I am worth more than that of course haha... However S$10K is really too much to ask for from my hubby now since my BS and wedding dinner took up most of our savings now. Sigh...

Do you think giving my mum RM2888 is too little? All up to my mum hor...

ok, about my thee-ching ... as I said earlier, mummy doesn't want anything ... his mother immediately offered RM5k ... we've not decided whether to accept all or to give back partially .. many feedback asked us to accept all as we didn't asked other things from them.

if u think the other way, ping-jin is meant for the bride to buy goodies for the groom.

if talk about whether worth or not, of course we're priceless!!

hi zann, sorry can't answer ur question about my AD. the date keep changing until i oso blur. my mum is looking for the "BEST" date for me. i'll get confirmation from her during my coming trip home.

hopefully by then i can tell u more about my wedding arrangement.

susan, gald to hear that ur "thee-ching" was smooth. good for u. at least now u ve accomplished the mission oledi.

for the 5K, if the money doesn't fork up from ur own pocket.... keke.... dun hesitate, take all la. haha

smooth? dunno ... when we said we do not want anything, then the mother offered us RM5k ... we keep on insisting that we do not want anything .. eeemm, then his grandma came with 1001 things from us and my mother and I were shocked!!
Pig's liver, ginger, sugar cane, I must wear white jumpsuit during wedding night eve, spittoon, bla bla bla bla, i pengsan liau ...

wow... no offence, but i feel most of the customary stuff are man made & too symbolic... but of course certain traditions have to be adhered to, like the tea ceremony. Think it's better not to know too much of "what can" & "cannot do", then kepala pusing trying to follow all of them...

so far in my mind is just the tea ceremony and dinner... nothing else... might be too simple i guess..

Wow..very very busy day..sorry for MIA ler..
My hubby is safe..my parents din ask for anything fr groom side. Means..I'm FOC !! :P
We both only reserved 3 tables each for 2 seperate banquet for both sides. Fair and Square marriage..hahaha
Actually I shd ask more fr my FIL since he is so "cat" but my mom keep telling me that at the end who suffer..my hubby has to fork out and pay for everything.

Susan, poor thing ler..I really hope that your MIL will fork out the RM5k..else u got to discuss with Jin, if let say he has to pay then u can tell ur mom to play temporary game loh. Return the $$ to you when the customary over. This is how my friend practice previously.