Bliss Garden Restaurant - Singapore Expo Foyer

trina_wys

hi S& A forever,

eh.. farrer park qianxi's is at the Civil Service Club along Tessensohn Road..

its a restaurant there but its squarish and pillarless.. the website is the same as the bliss garden website that i've posted 3 postins away..

join us in the qianxi thread to chat!!

brink_79

Hi Petrina,

I was at the wedding show at marina square last week and realise that they are giving free food tasting as a perk if you book yesterday. Me did not book as my date is not known yet. They are actually booked for most of the weekends for Jan and Feb07 liao...

Oh I also met Susanna but unfortunately she is not able to extend the promotion of the food tasting thing till later.

You have free food tasting or still have to pay as per the website?

Me most likely going for more wedding shows before I really decide

Also went to Qian xi website and from what Rayna descibe, I think must really weigh and see

trina_wys

hi brink!!

wah! free food tasting? no leh.. me dun have that.. coz last year when i signed up.. it was only 50% off for food tasting..

u still have yet to decide on the venue for ur wedding? better decide quickly coz lots of venues would be taken up at least 1 year in advance liao..

good luck in ur search!!

pinkybear

I'm looking for places for my wedding dinner. One of them is Qian Xi. I'm wondering if anyone can comment on the quality and quantity of food and the place(looking for somewhere there looks nice and not so many pillars)? Tks a lot.

aacz

viewed the thread at the given link, but got a bit lost.

Wa... even restaurants also must a year in advance uh... gosh!

Heard lots nice feedback about QianXi, how about the service?

HTB and in-law-to-be also rather keen at the EXPO venue. Just one concern I have, roughly what time does the dinner end? Dun think I'm keen to happily take my time while our guests can't wait to leave, especially when EXPO is rather far...Afterall the guests are the reason why we've the dinner.

happytea

Hi just wonder, if there are reception provided for the guests before the dinner?
and is there a room for the bride for makeup and dressing?

we are looking at Bliss Garden for our AD

duckling78

Hi happy Tea you may want to join us at the thread petrina has given.

There will be bridal room for changing and make up however there will be no hotel room in the package.

Hi brink79

Wow free food tasting so good. Is the food tasting apply to booking to bliss garden at expo or at all other branch.

puroland

i just went to view Bliss garden on sat, they do not provide free food tasting.
And we saw suzanna scolding her staffs infront of us! so pai sei!

vicjun

We have a wedding lunch package to let go .

venue : Bliss Garden Restaurant
Date : 15/10/2006

Actually we had placed a deposit of $2000 & willing to let go by a lower price.
For those who are interested to take over, kindly email to [email protected]

nottom

I'm holding my dinner at Bliss garden in sept 06.& arranging for my food tasting tml. A bit kiasu but then, got 2 ghost festivals (Jul 25 to sept 22),so better get the ball rolling.
Anyone who has held their wedding at the smaller ballroom or any1 who has ideas, i need some advice..i tink the walkway is rather short n we'll finish our march-in veri quickly- which is quite unromantic.. Anyway to get round this?

hugginggal

Helping my sister to do search for info.Anyone can share with me the menu + pricelist? Intend to have 11-12 Tables and how will the package like?Click my username.Thanks

may5

hey I chanced upon the bliss garden website. Food nice? Another concern... any pillars in the hall? How about bridal changing room? Where is it? Price is very attractive hehe...

furnana

hey lala, there are no pillars, is a Singapore Expo, next to Coffee Bean @ Foyer.

Bridal Changing Room is quite small.

Is a long rectangle shaped.

nottom

i had my wedding at bliss garden-expo in late sept. I must say that i held high hopes with regards to the food as there were rave comments by word of mouth and website. But it ended in disappointment..

i was in TEARS the following day after getting feedback from my relatives on the food -- in one of the table, there was a baby cockroach in the shark's fin soup. My relatives did not complain to the waiter at the time of the discovery as they did not want to blow up the matter or affect my other guests. They only told my mum after the dinner ended.

The next day, we went back to the restaurant to pay and told the restaurant managers about the cockroach incident. Their replies and the way they handled my feedback was insincere and disappointing..

They asked me if this was made known to the waiter at the time of discovery. When i said no, they INSISTED that they checked for quality control before the dishes were taken out to the guests and IMPOSSIBLE that such thing would happen. They also emphasized that if we had told the waiter, they would replace another plate.

Without evidence of the cockroach, they made me feel as if that i had lied to them and come to argue for a discount or refund. I also felt that they were really insincere and not prepared to hear me out since my wedding was over and no longer a customer to them..

Their poor and insincere post-sales service made me very furious and sad that i ended in tears at that time. I told them frankly that i would complain, to my friends and online. I also insisted they call Suzanna to make her known of this incident.

It was only after much of my tears and insistance to let Suzanna know of my incident that they reluctantly called Suzanna and later offered a table for free to appease me. But it really doesn't help. Because my relatives would never go back again to eat given the incident; & i wouldnt too.

If they had offered a listening ear and were more sincere in the first place, perhaps i wouldnt feel so sore about it. perhaps i wouldnt even post this comment.

So for those who are getting their service, if u do unfortunately be caught in the same situation, remember to take photo or inform the waiter at that point in time. Cos if u don't, then pls don't expect any satisfactory post-sales service from Bliss Garden- Expo.

Sad bride

xiaohua

Hi nottom

Wa. I've already placed deposit for Bliss Garden for next yr liao... Now saw this n v worry lei.

Has anyone have same incident too??

nottom

Hi Hwa,

this kind of incident is really beyond our control lor..so dun worry too much. Yours is ballroom A or B? mine is the smaller one. besides the cockroach incident, some of my colleagues, friends n relatives mentioned that the food was not warm/a bit cold. i read this in the forum too but it seems that the management cant do anything about it. it's a pity that when i ask my colleagues now how they think of the food at my banquet, they actually say "erm..can't remember or forgettable". Sad rite.

xiaohua

Hi nottom

I book the bigger one cos its nearer to kitchen so hopefully the food will not be cold law. Now can only feedback to Suzanna n hope for the best. Thanks for informing us on it. At least if more people feedback to management their concern, maybe they will try to do something la.

furnana

a bit of regret after paying for the deposit..
my AD plan is actually 11/11/2007. I intend to delay due to other matters. After reading this, seem like i have second thoughts

eowyn_1711

Am considering to have my banquet at Bliss Garden too.... but now having second thoughts. Any one just hold their banquet in Bliss Garden? Can post comments abt food and service? Thanks!

nottom

Hi Hwa,

Yep, the bigger ballroom is nearer to the kitchen, so i presume the food shld be hot. I tink getting feedback from the guests on that nite when u go around the tables toasting will help alot. If most guests complain about the coldness of the food, then pls feedback in this forum so that we will know that it's not the distance between the kitchen & ballroom; but that bliss garden expo really suck.

I got my parents to help me ask for feedback on the food that nite. & most of those guests sitting near the walls commented that the food was not warm. Perhaps, their waitresses & waiters serving those tables were not serving fast enuff.

To me, Bliss garden -expo wedding package really is attractive, considering that they throw in free hard liquor, red wine & beer. But after their LOUSY after-sales service on the cockroach incident and guest comments on the food being served cold, my banquet was flawed & i really cant bring myself to encourage couples to hold their banquets there lor. Maybe im SWAY la, other people might have better stories to tell.

Anways, I hope suzanna will take future feedback seriously; if not, i tink they wont get to enjoy good business like before.

aacz

Has any bride/bride-to-be fedback to Suzanna about the downturn?

thinking of giving her the feedback during my food tasting, but that months away from now.

ade77

my AD is on 20/01/2007 @ Bliss garden. I feel abit worry now. Maybe I will call suzanna about tis issue?

xiaohua

Hi Adeline

Ya.. Think u can help to feedback to Suzanna on this.. My AD next yr so food testing will be around Apr 07.. Still long way to go b4 we will meet her..

Thanks alot

nottom

Hi Adeline,

R u going to talk to Suzanna about my encounter? If yes, Steven was the mgr whom i talked to. You can quote his name if you are talking to Suzanna.

i tink Suzanna shld really focus on how to keep the food warm from the kitchen to the smaller ballroom. perhaps can feedback on this?

lavender_garden

Initally I'm really interested in having my wedding dinner at bliss garden -spore expo. Suzanna just called me earlier today asking when I can make up my mind and sign and pay the deposit. But after knowing what had happened..I think I really need to re-consider...scary lei..

lavender_garden

Hi Adeline,
Just wondering if u have spoke to Suzanna about the matter? Any feedback to share? Did she promise to make sure everything will be fine?? I do like that place and i think it's the nicest among almost all restaurants.. but a bit "scare scare" ..

Anyone else have any comment?

ade77

I had spoken to Suzanna, she agree to take care of everything.
As for the foods,she had already standby a food warmer outside the Ballroom A which I did saw during the collection of my invitation cards.

fion77

Hi ppl,

My AD will be 16 Sept 07, so hopefully all things will go well.

Was quite rush in placing the deposits ..so they are some queries . The package they offer is reali nett & no tax, gst, svc chrage?

Btw, can i chk for those who held the dinner there,
1) Do they have a changing room ?
2) Do they have muslim serving & vegetarians?

Fion

lavender_garden

Hi Fion

Firstly, Congrates

My AD is on 28 Sept 07 and I'm also looking at having it at Singapore Expo..initally is a bit worried abt the food,but i think it should be alright since there is a warmer to warm the food..

I think i can answer yr question..

1) Yes, the price is really NETT with no gst/tax/svc charge
2)Yes there is a changing room, it's between ballroom A n B. The changing room is not very big but still ok lah..
3)Yes, they do cater muslim and vegetarian food (cos that's also what i need)

BTW, Which ballroom are u taking? Abd happy preparing

ade77

Morning gals,

My AD is on 20 Jan 07, will updated you gals after my wedding. No. of tables you require and no. of muslim and vegetarian frds you have, you can able to confirm one week b4 your AD.

everafter

jus attended a fren's wedding at Bliss Garden last week. Was looking out if there's any cockroach!!! lucky there was NONE! mm...the food is quite plain though :p

fion77

Hi Ppl,

So worried abt the negatives feedback rec so far, seem it all came so suddenly, cant help worrying.

Now somemore say food is plain, heard QX is well known for it food..

Anxious....ha!

lavender_garden

Fion:
i'm thinking of taking the small ballroom.. should be ballroom B..

Ya loh.. tt's y until now i'm still thinking if i should take that place or not... I think right now we can only wait for Adeline's feedback

amaratine

I'm also holding my banquet in blissgarden soon... i feel that the mgr Steven quite sucks when we went to select our wedding invitations... no smiles , face black black, wonder how he became a mgr, dun even hv the basic customer service atititude, even my FIL who hardly criticise people can't help but commented tat this mgr is not as good as compared to the previous mgr...and I realli hope he is not the coordinator for my big day... sianz...

ade77

Under this Qian Xi Restaurant forum??
This gals just had her Wedding @ Blissgarden on the 18th of Nov. This is wat her feedback...

I am 100% happy. The Food are generally nice. Except that the Suckling Pig not crispy enough.
All my guest feedbacks are positive.
My MC is Steven(manager). Very well done, Cina type, which I like lor.

On the 18th of Nov kanna Food Fest and so on, so i was given 50++ free parking lots.
Thanks to Blissgarden Boss who actually pay for it according to Steven.

eowyn_1711

Heard that the staff in bliss garden has attitude problems... is it true? Pls share your good/bad experience. I had actually short-listed bliss garden as one of my banquet venues...

krisyjo

i went there to attend my gf's wedding dinner last year in Feb 06.. the food was ok but one thing is that you cant put high hopes on the service wise.. beer is served from the bottle itself and the service staff is rushing to clear the food.

My gf was rather angry that the captain actually went upto the groom to ask for tips and her hubby gave them 200 as he didnt know how to turn the lady down. The fact is that they've paid them service charge already..

allanyvonne

Thanks for the feedback.

I had actually placed a deposit for 1stJan2008. I think I booked the bigger ballroom (which i remember vaugely is Ballroom B) with tentatively 40 tables.

Read the cockroach incident and service feedback. Bit worried but I think I will still go ahead. FH like that place (resturant with ballroom setting) and heard from friend the food is nice.

Not sure the manager we met is Steven or not, but he is "captain" for my ballroom.

Few issues, I feel the reception area for bigger ballroom (B?) is not as "nice" as the other ballroom. Coz it is "inside" the walking lane. And the changing room, I feel it is enough for me (bride with gown spacing), the makeup artist and probably 2 friends with no more much spaces for movement anymore.