Bliss Garden Restaurant - Singapore Expo Foyer

galevo

I've booked my wedding to be there for Dec'05

Yet to have the 1st couple to hold theirs there this coming Sat.

Had asked the lady boss for permission to have a look what it will be like - Facilities , march-in and 1st dish presentation.

eugvel

yap... maybe gg to take alook also...

haha... quite like the hall, high ceiling n pillarless... like a ball room...

still considering...
what offer u manage to get?

galevo

When to view the 1st wedding on sat... was unsure what to expect from the restauran..

However overall I was quite please with the facilities and presentation of the place

Its was quite nice with the lighting effects mix with the fast paced music.. it has quite a modern touch for a trad chinese resturant..

However I just feel that the march-in is a little too short .. maybe have to re-think about the march-in route .. Like to have the limelight for a little while more... Sisters.. any suggestions?

The 1st dish presentation is also a little simple.. waiters and waitersses just enter with the music and walk round the ballroom. ending up on the stage and take a bow b4 serving to the tables.

For the package wise, it's from $448 onwards its good for those on a budget. I have yet to discuss with them the details of the package or which package i'm taking. Generally its covers almost everything I am looking for and its within my budget. Thus will did not negotiate much with them. I just put on a deposit to reserve the ballroom for the date I'm looking at. (I'm taking abt 45 tables)

They do not offer any hotel stay for their package and i dun think i would need it as they offer free flow of hard liquor instead. (this can be ex-changed for 30 Blts of red wine if you prefer)

On sat that there was a Birthday dinner held next to the big ballroom and there was a KTV session luckily the wedding was not disturbed by it as guests for the wedding couldn't hear the off key singing
(guess its due to the quite concealed partition. giving a sound proof effect)

The restaurant had nicely designed a "backstage" walkway for the wedded couple to exit from the dressing room to make a 2nd march-in. This way,the bride do not need to reveal her 2nd outfit to her guest till its time or walk by the smaller ballroom. There's a "pte" toilet for her too near the exit of the walkway, so no need to share toilet with the other ladies..

Food wise, seen from the birthday dinner, the portiion is quite good .. nothing much to complain abt...

To me the only cons for Bliss Garden is the location is at the far east of the Isle. maybe inconvenient for those not driving and stay at the east. Otherwise its not a bad choice.

Anyone else had booked Bliss Garden?

galevo

I suggest those who are insterested to give QXL a call and they can help with your enquiries.

maybe arrange with them to view one of the coming weddings and get a feel how things will turn out.

teosohchin

I have the the package too. Cos it has the ballroom style and the price is cheap. But don't know how the food taste lei? Any comment?
My AD is on 12 Feb 2006. Their pricing increased by $20 per table wef 1st Mar 2005. Luckily, I signed up jus on time.

eiggam

Hi suelynn,

you can go check out www.qianxi.com.sg for the menu. the menu (as in the food) is the same but the price starts from $468.

I went there to take a look yesterday (both at the expo and farrer park). I really like the expo one cos it's just like a ballroom with big chandeliers and intelligent lighting. It has a big and moveable stage too. The plus point is it has 4 projector screens and two of them are really huge ones. The sound system is really good too. The boss and his wife are really helpful and very nice. We found the march-in too short so we asked if we can have the march-in differently and they agreed to accomodate our requests. As they have partitions, they can split the room up to 20 tables to 90tables (90 is the whole ballroom). Even tho we only have 30 tables, they said they'll give us a 40table partition so we have more space. The minus point is that it's quite inaccessible, about a 7-min walk from the MRT station (it's at where coffee bean is) and all the way in the east. taking into consideration that some guests may take cab and cab fares that start from expo have a surcharge i think, so we were quite hesistant.

i kinda like the farrer park one also cos it's pillarless also and i think they just reno-ed so some stuffs are quite new. the prices are about $50 cheaper than the one at expo and it's only a 3-min walk from farrer park mrt.

i think food-wise, qianxi has its standard. my mum's friend just went to a wedding banquet in meritus mandarin and qianxi(paya lebar) last weekend and kept telling my mum not to have my wedding banquet at hotels cos the banquet at meritus was very bad while she thoroughly enjoyed the food at qianxi. i think it's value-for-money.

i haven't signed up the package yet cos still shopping around. do you all think that expo is too far? the only thing that is preventing me from placing deposit there is its inaccesibility.

I got the pics of Bliss Garden..cos I went down yesterday. My opinion....

Travelling: If can take bus nearer cos its better to walk in by Hall 1 that side.....if take MRT, got to walk 5-8mins to Hall 1 escalator then go up straight. I feel its quite ok cos got MRT.

Ballroom A:
Smaller, Min 25 Max 38, When placed 34 tables, me and hubby feel very cramp already. As its a rectangle (with the right side shorter), the march-in is indeed very short. The stage is the same as QXL with LED lights behind, 1 projector screen, pillarless, red carpet. Recept area shld be juz outside, facing the main door.

Ballroom B:
Bigger, grander, nice ceiling (similar to pan pac), higher ceiling, stage size both ballrooms almost the same, min 40 max 56, the recept area also facing the ballroom b entrance. Slightly longer march-in, same shape as A but bigger in area. Can be quite cramp if take the max table. Also red carpet...

Pros:
1) Seperated halls - wont mixed up guests
2) Newly open, less than a year
3) Deco can be similar to hotel ballroom
4) Very cosy

Cons:
1) If got 2 weddings on same day, the path way is gonna be very cramp cos two recept tables...and alot of ppl outside.
2) The placed muz be properly vacuum outside as when I went there (no events) the carpet outside is filled wih those lumpy dust.
3) When the place is cramp inside, ur guests will have a hard time to leave their seats to the toilet.
4) Higher deposit as compared to other QXL. Higher menu price too.

I will post the pics here....

eiggam

HI Gin!

Nice to see you here! thanks for the magazines! ;)
thanks for the detailed analysis. i'm deciding between qianxi farrer park and bliss garden. i like qianxi farrer cos it's more central but i really really like bliss garden for its new-ness and grandness. it's a novel idea to have a wedding at expo also. i thot you decided on your dinner at paya lebar? how's your preparations so far?

galevo

hello gals..

Glad someone else here is also considering S'pore Expo Bliss Garden..

Well i've confirmed mine there but wonderinghow to lenghten the march-in cos i feel it silly to have a short march in..

Ladies, what you gals recommend?

Hi maggie,
Np for the magazines.
Anyway i keeping to QXL paya lebar for its space...if take bliss, i can onli have ballroom A and which is going to be too crampy...

Hi GalEVO,
U mean u taking ballroom A ah? Anyway walk in, turn right, then walk to the end, then walk to stage? Abit dun make sense cos left side guests cant see..but got projector lor. Anyway if u have more than 30 tables, then dun tink abt it, it will be too cramp. Another suggestion, walk slowly???? :p

eiggam

hello ladies,

i sorta have a mental image that if going to take ballroom A, can walk in, turn left and do a U shape walk to one end of the stage before walking up the stage. dunno if you gals can get it. actually come to think of it maybe look weird but or else march in really too short. such a waste.

anyway, i think i'll most prob take farrer park (if i take qianxi ah..) bliss garden a bit too ex and a bit inaccessible. hmm.. not sure yet. but it's definitely a very novel idea. think people will be interested in attending. i also like the big area next to coffee bean for kids to run around. farrer park i scared they get knocked down by cars. ha! :p

but there's really some good points about bliss garden that i like. still thinking. galEVO you confirm bliss garden liao rite? when's ur AD how many tables?

galevo

I've confirmed with Bliss Gdn for 23rd Dec.

I'm looking at abt 50 tables thus not many restaurant i've seen can accomodate. And should be taking Ballroom B. As from the the lady boss they will less likely be having another gp of wedding at Ballroom A as she said she'll likely use the both ballrooms for me cs i told her i might increase the no. of tables cos I and hubby have lots of relatives and frds.

One thing good is there a huge carpark as most of my guest drives.. but too bad its on per entry basis ($2 + GST)and Bliss is not covering the Carpark fees.

Anyway I'm still thinking abt the march-in.. well have to discuss w/ hubby then.

Hi GalEVO,
Congrats! Anyway hope that day dun have the other wedding, anyway to play safe lor...

galevo

HI Gin,

As understand from the lady boss, they are unlikely going to take in another couple or have walk-in guest for my wedding cos i told them rite now i need 50 tables and might increase the nos .

but maybe neverknow they might get their walk-in business in the smaller ballroom.

cherylpoh

Hi Ladies, anyone having their wedding banquet in May cos I am going to have mine on 22 May. I intend to get florist to do up the flowers in e ballroom cos I find their flowers not nice. Anyone have any lobang on florist? Thanks!

trina_wys

I went down to farrer park qian xi today to take a look and had a talk with the boss.. and have decided to take up Bliss Garden for my banquet as well...

But mine is still a very long way to go coz AD is in 25th Nov 2006.. haha.. guess i'm kinda kiasu.. but having been to so many hotel ballrooms and restaurants.. bliss garden is really so much better in terms of ambience and pricing.. therefore.. will be comfirming my banquet end of this month to sign up with them..

I'm glad to join you ladies in this forum..

cherylpoh

sure. i hv scanned in my fav pics for the photo montage during my dinner b4 our 1st march in. will send to you soon.. :p

trina_wys

Hi GalEVO, Gin & Cheryl,

I will be signing up this saturday at the restaurant itself..

And there will be a wedding dinner there too.. will tell you gals what i think of it after i see it and maybe i can help GalEVO with the lengthening of the March-In??

cherylpoh

Hi Petrina, sure. do update me on how u find e decor. muz be accurate cos u see e actual thing itself. I am oso thinking of how to lengthen e march-in. sigh....

trina_wys

Hi Karen,

there are a total of 6 quotations to chose from and the price ranges from $468 - $628 depending on the menu that you choose.

Hope this info is useful.. when is your AD?

trina_wys

Know something? the lady boss told me that eversince the opening of the restaurant, they already have 60 confirmed bookings for this year.. wow!!

bubblesoul

Hi Petrina

Nice knowing you.
I have not confirm with my AD yet cos HB went overseas for training. But we decide to held it around Nov/Dec 2006.

Hve you seen the actual Ballroom there??? Issnt nice... From the pics above,seems nothing much.

trina_wys

hi Karen,

I have been there to take a look at the ballroom before. what i can say is that i was pretty impress with the restaurant coz it seems like a ballroom instead.

Pros,
High ceiling, red carpeting, white panel walls, 12 x 8 stage with some lighting panels behind.. better than so many hotel ballrooms that i've visited. Boss and lady boss are also very friendly..

Cons,
Small foyer for reception, short march-in, if u take ballroom B (bigger one) and there should be a wedding in ballroom A (smaller one) then your guest might be confused on where to go..

Hmm.. i think the above pictures really dun do the restaurant justice. you should go and take a look for yourself too..

your AD will be very close to mine!! how many tables are u looking at??

bubblesoul

Hi Petrina

Wow,from what you say is kind of impressive,think i should take a look myself when my HB is back.

Oh my godness,if take either one of the ballroom oso confused the guest... not to confused them means have to take up 2 ballrooms liao lor... Oh No.....

I have not calculate the dates yet...u calculated yours??? I am looking at abt 30tables lor.... you have sign up with them already???

trina_wys

Hi Karen,

I've placed my booking with a deposit liao for the 25th Nov 2006. I'll be talking ballroom B coz I will have about 40-45 tables..

I think i will place a note in the invitation card that my ballroom is the inner one so that people will know...

ballroom B is much nicer in terms of grandness. and there is a slightly longer march-in as compared to ballroom A..

i didn't calculate my dates coz FH and i dun really want to do the fengshui thingy.. and the date was just picked as we wanted a saturday and during nov..

bubblesoul

Hi Petrina

Wow,you very fast lei.. haha... How much is the deposit that we have to placed???

Hmmm.. whats their min and max tables for Ballroom B???

Good lei,dun have to calculate your dates.. i cant man... both side parents wan us to have a good date... sigh.

Ask you hor... am i a little late to book the Venue???

trina_wys

I can't really say how much I've placed for the deposit coz it varies from each qianxi restaurant.. should be around 3k-4k..

ballroom B minimum tables is 40.. max is 50 tables.. but can extend to 60 tables also.. now I'm holding it in restaurant.. am thinking of inviting more people.. might increase the number of tables.. i see how first..

it's not too late to book the banquet area.. dun worry.. usually hotels run out faster than restaurants... but i kiasu a bit coz i think this restaurant might be in hot demand for next year..

next year i think the boss told me that they got 3 confirmed wedding dinners for next year.. May(forgot the date).. 7th Oct.. and 25th Nov(mine!).. so i'm the most kiasu one.. hehe.. ;)

bubblesoul

Hi Petrina

Is okie that u cant say how much you have placed.

Wow... seems like this restaurant is kind of HOT man.... me cant do anything now cos HB not in singapore.. Sigh....

trina_wys

haha.. it's ok Karen... really dun have to worry... still got plenty of time for you to book the venue..

i chose this coz of budget and good food.. the fact that to hold a wedding at the expo is also a rather novel idea.. quite interesting..

have u been to other places to see the ballroom or restaurant already?

ur HB working overseas?? when is he coming back??

trina_wys

Hi Cheryl,

Yes i went on sat... BUT... the wedding was on sun and not sat.. me so blur..

luckily.. the tables and all were up already.. the boss even 'on' the laser lights and projectors for me to take a look.. VERY IMPRESSIVE!!..

however.. i am thinking of adding more wedding decor myself as i find it a little too simple.. just artifical flowers lining up the march-in... i was thinking of adding lots and lots of candles.. big ones small ones.. see whatever size i can get to make the atmosphere more romantic.. but of course i'll have to get the boss's permission for doing this.. coz i sure dun wanna accidentally set a table on fire.. haha!!

i told my hubby what i wanted to do and i think he's freaking out! guess he's worried about the costings.. hehe..

cheryl.. u taking ballroom A or B?