Bliss Garden Restaurant - Singapore Expo Foyer

tinkybell

I am seriously considering to book my wedding dinner with Bliss Garden Expo for Oct 2008 but now that there are so mani feedback and comments, i was wondering if the negative feedback are more than the good ones.

As the parents and in-laws are leaving the entire wedding dinner planning to my hubby and myself, we want to make sure we get the best deal but very unsure now.

Furthermore, now that there is an attitude Steven, understand fr frenz that Suzanne also abit attitude de. Like that how??

I am sure there are afew who just had their wedding dinner with BG Expo, please give us your input.

nez

Had my wedding in Jan 07 at BG. Saw a couple of comments on Steven & Suzanna frm this forum after placing my deposit, were scare of the bad outcome at 1st, but hubby & I decided to continue wif it anyway. Actually, other than meeting suzanna for viewing of the restuarant till placing yr deposit...you weren't be seeing much of her later on as most of the other stuffs, you'll be liasing wif the restuarant mgr/ captain. And my experience wif Steven is alright. And he even gave us extra bottles of beers after the whole event was over while we n some frds still hanging ard the coffee bean area to chit chat

I think a gd communication wif the mgr/captain is impt as they'll be the one helping u to run the show on the day. So long yr request r reasonable, i dun think there should be any prob.

Anyway, it's jus my 2cents worth of comments. Hope it'll help

julia85

wow... din know bliss rest. service quite bad...
anyway, i had a CNY lunch there...
food not really fantastic..

dun really like it...

bride21

I have paid my deposit for the Ballroom 1 at Bliss Garden. The few times I met up with Suzanne she was quite alright, her attitude still ok. the ballroom is simple can add own deco...

Haven't met that Steven yet. My wedding will be held on 22 Feb'08.

I'm wondering how the food would taste like... hmm.. Anyhow my food-tasting will be in Dec so hope it goes well..

eve21

keithmichelle,

I had also placed deposit at Bliss Garden but at Ballroom 2. In fact, I placed the deposit sometime in Jun07 with open date for Year 2008. I have just confirmed my date on 11.11.2008.

I hestitate to take Hilltop or Expo... in the end Expo was my choice because of the location as most of my guests stay in East and North-East. Hilltop crystal ballroom is really good and so grand but location wise... not many people know where is it.

Your food-tasting in Dec... u paying 50% for it?

isshin

I went for the food tasting on last Sat.... the foods were good.... both parents did not have much complain expect the first dish " the cold plate"....

shanchry

Have my dinner @ Bliss Garden on 22nd of Sept 2007.

Overall it good.. Postive feedback frm most of my guest.

As for angpao for the staffs who help out in the actual day itself...

Couple must b more auto.. If u feel their services is good, then give abit more or else just give abit!!

Anyway the angpao is just a good luck n extra tips for their haardwork on tat day itself.

The price stated in the menua is NETT price.. No GST, No services charges n etc...

keer13

Hi, Hui

I'm also considering this venue. Had went down to see the place recently. Think it's really nice but just worried about the food & their service as read from previous thread.

For the photos, perhaps, you may refer to their website: http://www.qianxi.com.sg/blissgarden.htm

Is there anyone who had any feedback on this restaurant? Anyone attended a wedding there recently or held their wedding there. Care to share?

Is there anyone who has confirmed to held their wedding at BG? Let's get together here.

For me, I will be a Nov 2008 brides.

tomoko77

Hi Nicole,

I am holding mine at bliss garden but date might change, now i booked 14 sep 2008.

I also like the layout, pillarless and high ceiling. nice nice

meimint

I'm considering Bliss Garden for my wedding banquet. Does anyone know what is the mode of payment? Do they accept credit card payment or by cash? Straight after dinner or the day after dinner? Will really appreciate some info. Thanks

keer13

Hi Tomoko,

Yes, for a restaurant, i must say that the decor is one of the best.. But, sad to say that most guests first reaction is.. EXPO!!! SO FAR!!!

Haha.. so, me went around scouting for other venue but none to my budget & taste on the decor..

Initally, i wanted to host in a hotel but the prices seem steep for 2008 banquet.. Considering 10% + 1%+ 7% tax etc.. N, not to mention that most places do not throw in free flow of beer, liqour or wine..

Anyway, what is the differences between holding in a restaurant vs hotel huh?? Anyone to enlighten me.. Prestige?? "Face"?? Hee.. Really confuse...

Btw, do u like the table setting? Are u particular?

eve21

Hi Nicole,
I have confirmed my banquet at BG on 11.11.2008. I placed deposit sometime in Jun07 as Suzanna mentioned they are increasing the price after GST hike in Jul07. So I managed to secure the old pricing which is $10 lesser than current price per table.

Meimint,
BG dun accept credit card for banquet settlement. Cash is too dangerous ba... Suzanna advised cheque payment, can be a post-dated 1 (a few days) so tat u have some time to bank in the ang bao money.

Keer,
My banquet will be on a weekday, but I will still be holding it at expo. At most I cater bus for most of my guests & relative who stay in North side.

My husband likes BG becos they throw in free flow wine, liqour and beer and most importantly is he wants roasted piglet dish. BG able to cater tat at a competitive price. As for me, the furishings and ambience couldn't compare to 5-6* hotel but definately is one of the top among the restuarants.

For those still considering BG (from my experience dealing with Suzanna), BG dun give favours and complimentary carparking. I didn't manage to get any other freebies. Whatever is stated on web is wat I'm will be getting. They dun have much room for negotiation lor.

For those who are looking for excellent customer service provider (like hotel staff who are trained), this is not the place.

keer13

Hi Eve,

11.11.08 seems to be a hot date. Is it an auspicious date on the Tong Shu?

For me, i have yet to decide a date. Still thinking if i should change to weekend to convenient my guests.

Btw, most of my guests is also staying in the north. I'm also thinking if I should cater a bus service for that. Let me know if you have any lobangs for such service.. Hee..

I'm also thinking of changing some of the dishes. May I know how much does it cost to change to the roasted pig & did you change other dishes?

Btw, how many tables do you have?

I'm still looking around for BS? Have you book yours?

eve21

Hi Keer,

Ya my date is selected by a master... He had looked thru the whole year of 2008 and left us with 6 dates. Guess wat!! All are weekdays and only 2 are 2nd half of Year 2008. I feel 11.11.08 look quite special so pick tat lor.

I haven't really check out on the bus service... shall keep u inform when I have one.

I did change some of the dishes. I took the $608 menu as now posted on web.
- Swop Suckling pigs cold dish to Bliss garden cold dish [Less $10]
- Swop Braised mixed superior seafood to Roasted crispy suckling pig [Add $40]
- Swop Fried prawn with cereal to Steamed live prawns [No cost]
- Swop Fried rice in lotus leaf to Braised Ee fu Noodle [No cost]

I have booked a minimum of 40 tables. In fact I feel quite insecure as there is not black n white from BG. All the above are actually some handwriting on their food menu. I only have a pc of receipt stating the minimum no of tables and amount of deposit we paid, not even the menu we selected and additional amount we have to pay for swopping the dishes. Until now I still keep the food menu with the scribbling by Suzanna. I ever check with Suzanna, do i need to confirm again with her on the menu. She replied no need, menu only need to confirm when the date is nearer.

I haven't start looking for BS yet. Tot of start looking around after cny...

keer13

Hi Eve,

I think 11/11/08 is a nice date. Lucky u book the venue so early in advance. Otherwise, will be hard to book for such special date. Think I heard that a lot of people going for that date as I was looking around for venue & BS.

I actually have a friend that drive a private bus. I can aslo check with him his rates & let you know. Just that he can't help me on my wedding date as he's my guest.

For me on the menu, was thinking only on the $518 menu due to budget constraint. But, was thinking to change the fish from Sea Bass to Guropa.

If you have 40 tables, you will be taking the grand ballroom. For me, i only have 25. SO, the smaller one. Do you plan to do any additional decorations to the place. I was thinking of a centrepiece for every table etc.

Ya, i think i will also feel insecure with Suzanna's style. But, just pray that everything turn out well.

For BS, i try to look for it early so that i dun rush to get one later. But, i think if u not picky, after CNY, it's still ok. Which means, I'm rather picky!! Haha. Can u believe it that i had already seem 16 BS & yet to confirm my mind.. Hee.. Btw, if u wan to MTM ur gown, it's better to set aside 3-6 months. I think there's 2 bridal show in Jan. Maybe you can consider if there's any good deals there.

tomoko77

Hi Keer,

They look grand n nice. i went there during evening time, just nice there is a couple holding their wedding so i have a good look on it.I like it very much.

Infact i wanted Paya Lebar the price lower but the layout for the ballroom was not wat i wan.

eve21

Hi Keer,

I dun think I'm doing additional decorations to the place but getting favours for my guests. As u noe, BG dun provide favours. I haven't really source for BS partly becos my new house coming end of this year. Too many things to cope!! Ok shall keep a look out of the bridal show... Thanks!

Hi Tomoko77,

I noe of your date 14.9.2008 is 八月å五 rite!! Super HOT date wor! My friend looking at tat date but most of the hotel are already booked! So you have fixed the date with BG. You book for ballroom A or B? Are you getting favours for ur guests? Which menu u have in mind or already fix? How's ur experience with Suzanna?

Sorry too many questions asked!!
This thread has be very quiet wor... I tot not much people interested in BG liao...

qingzi

Does anyone have pics of decor at Expo? Do they do the decor themselves?

Nottom: It's no use telling them you will complain to your 'friends', tell them you will complain to relevant authorities (HPB, CASE, etc), and really do it! Too many Singaporeans are too complacent and inappropriately defensive, it is a step to creating more mature adults in our society.

keer13

Hi Eve,

Yes, ur idea to get wedding favors sounds good. Let me know if you have any good deals. Or, maybe, we can also combine to purchase as some places have minimum order quantity.

Initially, I was thinking of rental a Polaraid to give instant photos as wedding favors for remembrance but not sure if I have the time to take with some many of them. LOL!

New house? Congrats.. Haiz, for me, property market is too steep now for resale. No house for me after marriage. Just bid for BTO. Not sure if i can get it also..

If you need any advice of BS, feel free to PM me.

Hi Tomoko

Ya, initially, I also thought of saving $$.. Went to Paya Lebar & Farrer but was disappointed till I saw BG. It's the best among the three. Hilltop is also not bad.

So, have u selected your BS?

Hi Qingzi,

BG does not do much decorations, except some flower stands on the main entrance & along the walkway. Those flower stands comes with candles lighted on. On the table, there's a nice contemporay table turner with menu & table no. nia. No flower centrepiece.

tomoko77

Hi Eve,

ya 八月å五. I'm getting the smaller room bcos i getting ard 30 tables. As for wedding flavour i dun dun we getting any , bcos we find it wasting of money and not much ppl will appreciate it. how u getting any?? Menu no ides bcos my bf's dad wan to have food tasting so will decide in May and as well take as parent meeting. Suzanna i think she is alright not hao lian type but one thing i dislike is she timing not punctual make me wait n wait....heehee....

xunny

I had mine in late October. No questions about their services and Steven was very helpful to us.. The other lady was also very experience and helpful to me when I was doing my march-in and getting on stage.

My guests had no complaints about the food, serving was generous and drinks (hard, soft and beer) were free-flow.
I had the normal banquet, vegetarian and halah food.
Thumbs up!!

meimint

SS Foo> how did u pay for ur banquet? By cheque? I read from EvE reply that there's no complimentary carparking. U had any complaints from ur guest regarding this?

EvE> Thanks for the info. Appreciate it =)

qingzi

Thanks Keer. Sorry if I missed this like, 5000 messages ago, but who is the organiser / sales person there that I can contact?

xunny

Hi Meimint

yup, no complimentary carpark but no issue la. there is train service and although the walk is a little long, it's sheltered all the way. I had a lunch reception so the guests were quite happy to be enjoy some shopping after the recep.

Some of my guests could not find the restaurant so it might be better to get some bro/sis to guide them.

Paid by cheque, quite fuss free except u might not get to earn the reward points from credit card, but hey i would say the savings from the NETT price (drinks included) is very worthwhile.

eve21

SS Foo,

How was your march-in? I will be taking the bigger ballroom even that I find the march-in is quite short. Only 4 tables away from the stage. *sad*

Does BG has any emcee for the banquet? or u have your own or engage 1?

xunny

Hi EvE

I took the bigger ballroom, though march-in was short, it also means less margin of error.. However, if u have a long train becareful when u ascend the steps, hold up the front of ur gown.

MC was his colleague, better get ur frens

btw, changed my nic as well.. easier to type

boakangta

hi xunny,
how u find steven?i will be getting him as my MC.my wedding is on late jan 2008 and is there anything to take note of?

boakangta

hi xunny

So,your mc was our fren?do you know where i can get wedding band for jiemeis and how much to give to xiongdi n jiemei?Thanks..so how was your wedding?very busy har

xunny

Hi boakangta

MC was his colleague. What wedding band are u referring to? Wrist corsages? That's provided by the bridal shop. I have seen push carts in bugis selling but quite ex.
Ang bao for jie mei and bro up to u, they would be more than happy to help out.
Wedding stuff left for him to coordinate. Ours was a simple affair and lunch reception so half day settle all the stuff.
The wedding is just a day to enjoy yrself but the lifetime of journey together IS what that is important (at least for me)
Enjoy planning !!

snowgal85

I have book my wedding banquet on sept 2008, but i very scared, cause the lady boss suzzanna like not flexiable at all, than on that day i have about quite a number of table, is the food nice, i went to have my lunar dinner at there, is totally yuck, so quite worry on the wedding. can anyone advise

snowgal85

Dear Tomoko 77

Thanks for the reply, how u think their service, are u been serve by suzanna. have u try the food tasting. u take which menu?

lovingcouple

i have been to one of the wedding in jan.. my fren wedding w ard 20 tables..

Got a shock of my life.....at ard 10.15 - 10.30pm, while we are still eating our dessert...they ROLL in some other empty tables (guess its to pre setup for tomorrow event) from their store, open the tables & lay tablecloth...all just beside me while THE WHOLE ballroom is having dessert!! kaoz...

and at 10.30pm sharp, they told us beer/wine stop.... luckily one of the male supervisor give us some to drink w the host. not sure if i am wrong... we are served by those big beer bottles (usually at kopi shop one)... thought at least should be draft beer from barrel.... somehow it taste not as fresh as draft beer...

just to share my exp.

snowgal85

Hi Wei Wei, wow they told me that those beer is like put into jug or not like bottle like kopi tian, so how the food nice bo, coordination eg, service staff is most china, service not very good as i when to have lunar at there, wow scarey lo. die lo, i going to call suzanna when the date is near. thanks for the feed back. anyone more to share

snowgal85

Dear Tomoko 77

Please update me again after you done with your wedding update. thanks alot, which bridal shop you choose? I thinking going to Precious Moment to take alook

lovingcouple

beer was served by jug initially, but even when about to closing time....stil can serve by jug rite? but they chose to give me by the bottle..

wat i am trying to say is bottled beer can never be nice compare to a draught beer by barrel...

but food is not bad...passable...got the standard there. but i hate the rolling of table into the function when we are still eating the dessert... what the heck man....so unsightly

tomoko77

Hi Shermaine (snowgal85),

diff.
Bliss creation is bridal shop.
Bliss garden is wedding restaurant.
My wedding dinner on 14 Sept 20087.

urs??