Bishan Area

hi mehmeh,

Haha, good idea on the mirror

Colonial Antiques is in Balestier...
Here's a pic of our bed - ties in with R's love for resort perfectly, without compromising on my need for comfort...

396861.jpg

hi dreamdoll,

Your bed def gives it a more European look. I think i had better show Ally the pix of my bed & ask her how I can modify it to suit my theme

hi mehmeh,

Not to worry, I think if you get longer and slightly wider organza drapes I think it'd be lovely
Just my personal opinion la...I love your sheets - luxe feel

hi dreamdoll,

Quite hard to get them longer.. But let me give it gd thot how it can be done. Maybe like how u do it, only the sides & not the top..

I like the quilt cover alot.. Prob is, heheh, too smooth, it slips off often! Have 'fights' with HB at night when we use this quilt cover

mehmeh,

That's tricky...but i think it looks nice on the top as well...how about popping by arab street for a look at the fabrics?

Haha...but I think your quilt cover's sheen is very nice...we haven't yet brought our duvet over...which reminds me, moving is sucha hassle!

hi dreamdoll,

I got the drape fr Arab Street.. Maybe re-orientating the drape may make it longer yah? Will post any updates when i've made changes

Oh u missed the National Day sale for Robinsons, tt wld be quite a gd opp to secure 2-3 bedsheets/duvet cover sets.. heheh!

Hmm, dun think of it as a hassle.. It's a journey tt u 2 embark as 1! Anyway shift enough & shift every now & then, dun attempt to shift everything at a go, things may go missing & u get frustrated packing & unpacking.. Must enjoy the process at ur first lovenest

hi mehmeh,

Hmm true too...do update me

Ah, the Robinsons National Day sale - think I missed that one! But I went to some Robinsons private sale thing not too long ago, and I couldn't resist the Hallmark sheets...hehe...

Haha, I think the most challenging part would be bringing my tons of clothes, bags, shoes etc over
Probably have to dispose of some!

Hi dreamdoll!
I am good! Can't wait for my HDB appointments..so far away. Cos we promised to let the owners stay till after their child finish her exams, so push back first appt to Oct. Oh well..
Your place really very resort like man!! Cool! Think you all have very good taste. I hope mine will be nice too.

Hi Hui,

Ya I know what you mean...the wait!
But time flies so it'd be oct before you know it!

Thanks for your compliments, hehe resort-like mainly our master bedroom

Hehehe Okok. I guess before I know I'll be screaming to all of you that I've gotten my keys!

Hows your preps for your wedding? Must rest well ya? Have fun and take lots of pics and do share ur pretty pretty pics!

hi Hui,

*waves* was wondering where u were... heheh
Hmm, if i dun rem wrongly, i think it was abt $1.2-1.3k

U saw my update in my site? I can literally countdown now!! 1st appt wld arrive really shortly.. Hang in there

hi Dreamdoll,

Oh yes, members sale on weekend before National Day.. I grabbed some cosmetics!
Hallmark has gd stuff.. I like another brand, but can't rem offhand, they had jacquard designs which wld suit ur theme quite well too

^5, got tons of clothes, shoes & bags too.. Prob move them lot by lot, still returning to ILs place for dinners now & then

HI mehmeh! Yea I read your update! You can countdown liao!! So fun!!
Do help me hint hint to Ally about my quotation when you meet her first ok. Hehehe. My FH is still quite keen to engage her if she can work within our budget.

1.2k to 1.3k is quite reasonable.
I love your bed.

Hi mehmeh,

Yep Jacquard sounds nice
I got another Sheridan set from the sale...think I've got too many sheets now hehe...can share your site with me?

Agree with Hui, 1.2 - 1.3k is reasonable for a custom-made bed

Hi Hui,

Wedding preps are going slow...now down with the flu so taking a break and planning for trip instead

hi Hui,

Cancan.. I'm going to double-check tt my appt with Ally is confirmed for tmrw.. Will help u ask, very subtly!

What kind of a theme are u looking at? Teak goes well with a resort feel or a English feel.. Can def go Teakland gallery to customise one

hi Dreamdoll,

Sheridan is another nice brand.. U've got too many sheets ah? So now is to focus in getting the matching duvet covers? Press on!

Do u have a Multiply account? My site is on Multiply, has my wedding pix, wedding e-journals, home preps etcetc.. Can sign up & u can seesee Hui & my stuff!!

Hope u're feeling better now!!

Hi mehmeh,

Haha yep too many sets got the duvet covers also...
I get carried away when it comes to bedlinen!

Yep I have a multiply account but I hardly go on...do share with me!

Hehe...thanks for asking. Hope my flu goes away soon...can't believe I'm getting a year older next week!

hi dreamdoll..

Okie, i send an email to u with my ID then u go add me k?
Happy birthday (in advance!!) Make sure ur flu goes away so then u can thoroughly enjoy ur bday!!

Hi mehmeh! My FH and I are looking at contemporary modern theme, with dash of brown and cream colour.
So teak bed would be great! Think I will ask my FH to consider going Teakland gallery. hehehe.

Hi dreamdoll! Happy birthday in advance!! Do rest well!

hi mehmeh,

Thanks for sharing your site! It's really good and I left a comment

And thanks again for your well wishes! Heh I feel old somehow...maybe it's due to work!

Hi Hui,

Thanks also for your well wishes!
Am feeling slightly better...regards to the bed, you can consider taking a look at Colonial Antiques also! We got our bed at around 1k

hi Hui,

heheh.. Teak is quite gd, solid enough & u need not worry abt scratches, unlike laminates. Can design one tt's modern enough, but yet not too resort looking

Oh yah, confirmed with Ally tt i'm meeting her tmrw evening

hi dreamdoll,

No probs.. Hmm, i think ur comment hasn't been loaded yet? I dun see it leh. Email me ur ID?

Guess work + wedding preps makes u tired yah? Try to get as much rest.. U need it

Must say, ur bed at $1k is super worth it! Will consider going Colonial Antiques if i want other furniture, in future

Will update on my session with Ally

Hi mehmeh...

Yep I think I made a comment on your perth pics

Email sent!

Haha yep I think I'm getting worn out!
Thanks, look for Jenny at Colonial Antiques - she's really nice and no obligations! They are like a warehouse and they supply to many teak shops in spore

And, do update me on your session tmw

hi Hui,

Suresure.. Anyway today i was supposed to go to my unit for final inspection after meeting Ally, but seems like owners changed their mind abt today. *shake head* Gotta get 1 set of keys fr them & go & check out on Sat, on our own

hi Dreamdoll,

U've been there & done tt.. What needs to be checked on final inspection?

Oh yes, i finally saw the comment.. Prob a time lag
heheh! Anyway I also added u as one of my contacts

To confirm, Colonial Antiques is located at Balestier yah? Since i-bridge is there too, can def check them out

hi Hui,

I met Ally oredi.. Seems like quite hard to stick to the initial budget. HB doesn't mind going with her inspite the $2-3k above initial plans, but i find it hard to part with tt.. Must really pray abt it man

Oh yah, asked her abt urs, she said coz u just made some changes abt MBR & a BR, so she must re-think some plans.. hahah, she said she will get back to u, hopefully next week

hi dreamdoll,

Ally is def quite nice & not pushy, just tt i find it hard to part with my hard-earned money. I think i'm a diff customer, coz i want gd stuff & feel the pinch.. Argh, God help me!

Hi Mehmeh,
Thanks for asking.
We asked her about the possibility of changing a 2nd BR to MBR, cos the MBR faces the road. Hehe. I hope she gets back to us soon.

Mehmeh: Have you checked out the quotes of other IDs/contractors? I'm meeting this guy from Aspect tomorrow for my first quote. Hopefully it'll be good...

Hi gals! Ally gave me a call just now! My FH and I are meeting her next Wed.
So exciting! Hehehe.
I'm so stressed at work its good to hear such good news.

wah biang.. i damn lazy to read every thread, i'll juz read those with my nick.. hehe'

meh meh,
$900 is ok cos my door is actually quire big, abt 4 times the size of normal door, so there're 4 panels of glass. Done by my ID. E black light is ard 160 i think.. cant really rem. Its slightly more ex than e normal ones. Innolux was really nice. Jason was v patient and service is gd too, took time to explain and educate us. Usually we will go down v late, and talk till past their closing time but he didn't mind.

The black mosiac ar? its actually to realise my desire to hv mosiac cos i really love but will be too hard to maintain... hehe

Marchbride,
my photoshoot's Sept 18, by Eugene fr Chris Ling. Ya..flamingo's gowns r v nice, mine's OTR, but SHirley din mind adding some details and designs for me. Will show u e pics when its done.. hehe. hopefully ok.

Dreamdoll,
my AD is Dec 10. Hvn't started preparing yet! super relac sia! hehe

hi Hui,

No probs.. Great to hear u can look fwd to ur trip to I-bridge!! Must share how the appt goes yah?
I've sent my scanned floorplan to LegoHse, and Deen returned call with the details to be inc the quote. So now just waiting for his quote.. HB doesn't mind going with Ally, coz he feels she knows what she's doing & is more of an ID over LegoHse staff.. This time, i am the ngiao one! Usually it's him

hi dreamdoll..

hahah, i must say, i dun think i want to have the luxury of time to decide, but yet not want to rush into a decision.. Staying with ILs can be quite tricky & really lack of privacy. Though i dun mind staying in my bedroom, i feel paiseh to always stay inside. At the same time i dun watch programmes tt ILs watch, so no pt hanging outside.. *pouts*

hi tunagirl,

tt's true ah..$900 for 4 panels seems quite a gd deal

Sorry ah, everytime u check the thread we have caused it to go zoomzoomzoom! U've been so patient answering our posts.. *thanks*

Hi gals:
I spoke to Aspect D'Interior and they gave me a fair quote. Quite reasonable since I'll be hacking everything. Just very heart pain cos we are doing all the flooring and ceiling, balcony, kitchen and toilets...

Will see what Ally has in store for us. Tomorrow we're checking out another firm.

hi Hui,

Can u email me Aspect's contact? Looking fwd to getting the keys tmrw, but am concerned abt which ID/contractor to engage.. Dun want to put in so much with someone who doesn't give me results.. argh, headache

Hi mehmeh!
Sent u via sms.
Yea I am also feeling the same way, don't want to put in so much with someone who may be unreliable hor.
Let me know when Eddie from Aspect respond to you. Do let him know you'll need the quote asap since u r getting ur keys tmr!! If you need help from me to *ahem* talk to him let me know! :P

hi Hui,

Arigato, received the SMS but didn't have time to digest.. Shall do it this afternoon, on the way home
kekeke

Btw, i just found out tt my colleague's HB is in the renovations line.. So can be quite sure quality is gd, coz he wld be paiseh to shortchange his wife's frens yah?

Will find out more & share with u.. HB was just saying both of us shd go to the same contractor/ID and bargain, coz got more bargaining power

hi meh meh how much you paid for your poster bed can give me the contact like yours sososo much... btw your comforter look exactly like mine is it the jean perry one??? really look the same!! like the cornices in your room too.. whos the renovator> can email me the details to [email protected]
thanks so much..

hi nwc,

I think the poster bed costs abt $1.2-1.3k.. Can't rem offhand. Custom made at Teakland Gallery, along Upper Seragoon Rd, abt 5 min fr Potong Pasir MRT station

Jean Perry comforter ah? Hahah, i really am getting old.. Got this a year back, so def dun rem! Ooops..

The cornices in the room actually belong to the full-height cabinet. So they aren't cornices per se, but design of the cabinet. This is my ILs place, I am not sure who their contractor is.. *apologies*

hi hui,

how r u?
thanks for asking, flu is subsiding...haha i totally forgot abt my birthday but prob just a small dinner with loved ones

hi nwc,

Yupz tt's right.. U might also want to check out Dreamdoll's recommendation, sounds pretty comparable. Hers is dreamy too!

hi dreamdoll,

gdgd.. A small dinner is nice!

hi Hui,

Off later to get my keys!! *yeahyeah*

Dreamdoll: I am ok. Just received a layout from Decor Options and really like it.
Very excited about meeting IDs and contractors. Heheh. A dinner with love ones sounds good!
Happy birthday to you!

Mehmeh: Yea yea!! The day has come! You are officially the owner of a Bishan flat!

hi Hui,

Hahah, finally the day has come
quite a simple process.. Now must really start to narrow down the ID/contractor oredi. Look out for my updates (none today!)

I did pay A&D a visit. A little disappointed with the guy i spoke to, Rm. He sounds drowsy, but he was focused, but i got more & more tired discussing with him.. *tsktsk*

Hi mehmeh,

Congrats on being owners of a Bishan flat!
Have you contacted Eddie? Is he gg to give u a quote?

Did you check out the showflat at A&D? How was it? I think someone from the bishan thread use A&D. Think it was Marchbride. did they give u a quote? Ah yo pai seh so many questions. :P

hi Hui,

I haven't.. HB is supposed to do it. I'm exhausted & got to attend a 4-hour workshop later. And today is supposed to be my lightest workload day

Go showflat at A&D? I didn't know tt & RM didn't inform me to.. No quotes yet, but hopefully by end of the week. Dun worry abt the questions, reno partner *wink*

Hi mehmeh: They have a showflat at upper serangoon. Hmm..Ask RM abt it?
Ally asked about you today, I said I knew you because of ur sister and Jess. Hehehe.

Hi Dreamdoll and Mehmeh: Met Ally today. She didn't do much with us leh. Just did a 2D drawing on our layout, nothing fanciful. We had a chat and then she asked to see our unit. My FH was a little disappointed, thought she was still a little vague about her ideas about our house plus there was no specific quote. But the looks of it is that she shld be able to stay within our budget. Just not so sure about the workmanship.

Dreamdoll: What do your friends say about Ally's services?? any advice or pros and cons?

hi Hui,

oic, prob keep tt in mind when RM drops me an email quotation. I did however get a very quick reply fr Aspect today
But need to clarify, coz some item weren't itemised. Did u say he is ur mum's fren??

Same here, Ally showed us only the 2D layout. She was saying tt her ideas may change when she actually views a unit, so tt's gd also, coz she's versatile & can incorporate diff areas of a unit we may not expect

Did she do up a quote for u? Hmm, hang in there & email her to remind her to give you a specific quote