Bishan Area

Hi Hui,

No worries, can leave me your email?

hi tunagirl,

I like ur kitchen, esp the glass doors! Tt must have set u back quite abit?
Oh yes, where did u get ur lights fr? I like the study room light alot. Do u think it can be used in the kitchen or other bedrooms?

hi dreamdoll..

Very pretty house! What sort of a theme wld u classify ur unit to be? Somehow it seems inclined towards the English look?

I'm gearing twd a European/Baroque look.. Ur pix really very timely! Allows me to understand some parts which i might have left out.

Btw, the recessed area in the wall & the downlights there, behind the TV is left by the previous owner?

Hi mehmeh,

Thanks for your compliments. It's definitely a more English look but I don't think I've got a disctinctive theme. I think we were gearing for a look that would be elegant yet comfy and very live-able. No prob, do share your pics when your place is up too
Which parts did you need to understand more? And yep, those were left by previous owner, didn't do much except re-painting...

hi dreamdoll,

heheh, u're welcome!
I think it's elegant & yet with a little touch of the country feel too. I think the topiaries softens the look & makes ur unit quite homely

I think this unit is a really gd buy, coz just giving the unit a fresh coat of paint & renovating the toilets make it look pretty new! Did u also plaster the walls & ceilings, before painting?

In understanding more..I was contemplating hacking the current ceramic tiles & change to homo ones.. Fr ur pix, I think I can keep mine
The condition of my tiles are pretty gd, and to keep them wld save us $3k? Having said tt, if i get a really gd deal, i guess i dun mind going for it

hi mehmeh,

Thanks again, hmm though didn't think it would have a country feel coz I'm not so much into country deco.
But I guess I wanted all the art pieces I had to blend in nicely somehow
The european/baroque feel you're going for can be very nice - Splendor does it really well however, they can be on the higher end

We did not plaster any of the walls and ceilings, it was purely painting.
I think for our case, we tried to keep it within budget also because it might just be an interim property...but definitely I've seen some really nice bathrooms with all the wall and floor tiles hacked for an entirely different feel. On our end we just hacked the floor tiles...will you be starting renos soon?

hi dreamdoll,

Splendor costs so much to engage! But I'm using their designs, as well as Scarlet Hotel's as a guideline. For their looks, it's not so much on feature walls or built-ins, but furnishing.. Dunno if i'm right! *ooops*

Think ur unit must be very well-maintained to not do plastering. I've got some hacking of cabinets & removing of electrical conduits, so better plaster those areas to make it look smooth.

Just received the appt for completion, looking fwd to start renos in late Aug or early Sept. kekeke..

Hi mehmeh,

I think Splendor does a good job as their chief designer is really good with colours and furnishing as you've said

Hmm we bought the unit from a young couple and the lady maintained the unit very well...will you be doing massive renos?

Have you engaged your contractor/ID yet? Renos can be tiring but yet exciting
Do share your pics along the way too!

hi dreamdoll.. [email protected]
Thanks! can't wait to see ur pics.. must b v diff fr mine

Meh meh, thanks.. hehe.. ya, alot of pp say e same thing as u regarding e kitchen. E glass doors were abt 900, almost the same amt if we were to build a wall.

OUr lights were from a shop called Innolux at Balestier Rd. The study lights can b used for rms, but not sure abt kitchen cos may not b bright enough due to the black borders. U ask e guy at Innolux (Jason) n see wat he says lor.

Hi tunagirl! Thanks for sharing your pics!

Can I find out how much it cost you to hack a little "window" into the wall? Am thinking of doing that too for my kitchen.

Thanks Dreamdoll, like ur hse too! warm and cosy. Our hse still quite empty cos hvn't finished buying all e furniture.

Hui, think e window is abt 300, if i rem correctly. u may not need to hack such a big one in e kitchen so shld b cheaper

hi Tuna,

wow, $900 for the door.. Was it via ur ID or directly fr the glass door supplier?
I like the black borders of the lights very much.. heheh! How much was tt light? Was working with Innolux a pleasant experience?

Btw, I forgot to commend the pretty white tiles with the black details in the common toilet. Gives the toilet a different twist

hi Dreamdoll,

They go into 6-figures for renovating a 5-room! gosh, tt can half the price of the flat.. heheh

U're so blessed! Got a unit tt's very well-maintained. I've got some bit of hacking of cabinets to do, thinking abt the flooring & def removing useless wiring conduits (they really make the room quite messy)

So far have approached Lego house for quotes, going to get in touch with urs, then call some sub-contractors which my HB's ex-church's fren has provided (she's a housing agent who takes care of renos sometimes)

Certainly will share pix!

Wow, u gals really got the thread moving fast! I have so much to catch up that I do not know where to start.. :p

tunagirl, so you gona take ur pic soon? Heard Flamingo's gowns very stylish one... Cant wait to see your pic..

dreamdoll, can I see your hse pic as well? [email protected] Thanks! Mine still on-going and in a mess right now.. Headache ah...

hi tunagirl,

Thanks for your compliments...furniture shopping should be quite fun! Take your time
When's your AD? Coming up?

mehmeh, yep their prices are quite astronomical! I guess we were quite lucky, this was actually the first unit we saw and after seeing another 4 units, we bought it in like a day! I think cleaning and maintaining the place is quite important, but that said, it can be a hassle also esp if both are working!

Btw how was Lego house's quote?
You have set a budget? I've come to realise it's very easy to get carried away! And it can be quite intimidating when you actually sit down and think about everything being in thousands!

marchbride,

Sent! How's your renovation progress? Are you doing a lot of renos?

hi marchbride,

heheh, so sorry to make this thread go so zoom-zoom! Gan jiong owner-to-be here

Why r u having headache over ur renos?

hi dreamdoll,

I agree, cleaning's def going to be a hassle. I'm not tt sort who will set aside one day of the week to clean. Hehheh, *oops* I think after meals will prob clean & watch TV at the same time.

I went Lego House once & the guy (boss) didn't quote fully to the items we need. So went to another Lego House guy (Deen), more patient & took down properly the stuff we wanted. Right now waiting for the 2nd quote.. 1st quote didn't inc many things we mentioned in his quote

Tentatively the budget is abt $8-9k. We aren't doing carpentry (built-ins), so tt shd save abit. It is certainly intimdating so far.. HB was moaning tt CPF has dwindled to 3-digits, but told him tt this month's contribution hasn't gone in! heehee

mehmeh,
haha yep I'm not the type who set aside time to clean the place also...Hmm when getting quotes best to try get one without hidden costs...I guess variation order might be expected when you discover you wana do something additional along the way but at least there's an understanding between both parties on the type of costs involved.

Agree that carpentry is expensive, we did up a storage cabinet in our master bathroom and that added up to the costs, but I needed space for all my toiletries and wanted it to look neat
Yep seems to us we have to work everything up from zero all over again...

Hi dreamdoll I just met up with Ally. She's really funny and nice. :D My FH is very impressed by her, and is quite keen to let her do our renovations.
We're waiting now for her to come up with the quotations and the layout, she really does have very unique tastes and designs. Thanks for the recommendation!

Mehmeh are you deciding to check out Ally from I-bridge too? She's really quite an interesting fellow.

Hi Hui,

Wow that's fast
Glad I was of help! Yep Ally has been v reliable and helpful even till now - in fact, to us, she's more like a friend somehow...I like how she managed everything so well for us and most importantly, all within our budget!

hi dreamdoll,

^5!! Will def press for all the quotes to be very clear. Have been doing some homework to various aspects related to the reno works I intend to do. So going to ask in detail as it goes along
Agree tt along the way when I want to do additional stuff, I gotta be flexible & be prepared for the additional costs

The current owner has a simple vanity cabinet with a sink mounted on top of it.. Going to remove tt.. Still considering a clear glass sink which we've eyed or taking a more updated design like tt of the current owner's

hi Hui,

I intend to
Guess what? I misplaced my floorplan, gotta go get another tmrw! *faint*

Hi dreamdoll,
Thanks. Rec your photos already. Your house looks very nice and warm. And I like curtains.. They make the whole house very cosy... And the door (leading to balcony I assume) is like some victorian style house... Nice..
Is yours a 5room flat?

Hi mehmeh,
haha.. good to have so much zest for your new house..

My house is halfway done liao. They finished up the paint work yesterday. So now left with the fittings of wardrobes, dresser, study tables, shoe rack and TV console. But there are things here and there that were not discussed in depth previously and was done up not in the way we like. Will be going thru those that we are not that satisfied with the contractor tmr. Hope to get everything move and done up within 3 weeks... kekeke... cant wait to move into my own place too... :p

hi marchbride..

so exciting to hear ur renos are going on so quickly.. The excitement of the completion shd be building up eh?
U mean u're going to run thru some details of the workmanship today.. Let us know on the outcome

3 weeks will past by so quickly.. Speaking for myself too! hehehh.. Def can't wait!

hi Hui & Dreamdoll,

I met up with Ally oredi.. She laughs alot & i must give her the thumbs up for being frank!! I told her my budget is the max of $8-9k & she says can! But wld be an estimate coz she needs to view the unit & study anything left out fr the floor plan or my description

Dreamdoll: Ally asks me to pop by ur place! hahah, u open ur unit to her for viewing one ah?

Hi mehmeh,

Yep I think you can consider removing the vanity top if you don't like it, for us, before we did our bathrooms when I first saw the bathroom tiles in green and our sink and toiletbowl were in the same green, we knew straight up we had to re-do the bathrooms.

You've met up with Ally? that's fast
haha wah Ally said that? Hmm I got no prob sharing lah...she wants to take pictures of my unit also, just waiting for my tv console to come in...

Hi marchbride,

Thanks for compliments. My unit is a 4-room. And the door leading to the balcony was left by the previous owner...it was one of the items which I loved about the unit too...

Hi Mehmeh! Ally is really nice hor. My FH is really keen to sign her on. Now just waiting for her to come back to us with a quote cos she said she's very busy this period of time hor. Hehehe. Looks like a lot of Bishanites are getting her to do reno. She must charge us Bishan Discount man. hehehee.

Mehmeh, I think Ally thinks that Dreamdoll and us are real life friends, she also asked me to pop by her place to take a look! hahaha. Very cute. I didn't mention to her how we all met. did you?

Dreamdoll: Looks like you really brought more possible business to Ally. :D

Hi Hui,

Yep...haha I think so too unknowingly...but whatever the case, no harm sharing since Ally has done a great job for us
And in any case, no obligations - think it's important you find someone you are comfortable with and can deliver what you want - just so happened that Ally did so for us

hi dreamdoll,

hahah, sounds like i have the same problem u faced! kekeke..
Yeah, met up with Ally today. Initially had wanted to meet her yest afternoon, but gave her too short notice *oops* I thot fr the pix u sent, u already have a tv console? She says ur theme is the 1st for her, so def wants to take pix of it

hi Hui,

Ally is quite nice.. She purposely had an appt with us today, though she doesn't work on a Sunday. Btw, she said she can give me an estimated quote this week.. Maybe it's due to the fact i'm getting my keys pretty soon?

Bishan-nites discount ah? hahah.. I dun mind! But most imptly she can keep to my budget
What's ur budget?

I agree, she thinks 3 of us are frens.. I didn't mention how we got to know each other too! hahah

hi mehmeh,

yep the tv console in the pic was left behind by the previous owners for us...but i ordered a new one which is still being made...haha i was telling her that i'd want a copy of the pics too

Hi Mehmeh,
yap maybe u collecting keys soon tats why. make sense. my budget is abt 25k cos hacking everything. She said she'll try to give it to us this week but may take another week.
Anyway we're in no hurry so its ok. I've heard from a forumer in the I-Bridge thread that their carpentry is not very good leh. Errr..Don't know how leh.

hi dreamdoll & Hui,

Just realised we are all night owls.. hahah

dreamdoll I see, the current console does match quite well with ur theme.. So what are u going to do with the current piece?

Where did u go have ur new console made?

Surely she wld send u a copy of the pix.. Maybe a copy of the magz if it gets featured!

Hui Does make sense hor? Anyway I'm in eager anticipation to see her quote and some drawings. She did sketch a little based on the discussion we had today.. Quite like what i envisioned

I'm not doing any built-ins, so dun have to worry abt the carpentry aspect. Heard fr Ally tt she had a customer who consulted her for design, space planning & colours etc but went to a fren, a contractor, to do up. So if u're really concerned, u can:
1) check out her current units & their workmanship, or
2) get a recommended carpenter sub-contractor

hi mehmeh,

Hmm we got our new console made at Dempsey Road. Current piece might put in bedroom 2 for storage...good that you like what she sketched...any ideas on your baroque theme?

hi hui,

we had ally do up a full length storage unit in our master bathroom and it was well done, but agree with mehmeh that you can get your own recommended carpenter and ally can give you advice accordingly...

hi dreamdoll,

U're going for Teak?? If i had known u earlier, i wld have recommended Teakland Gallery & Helping Hand along Upper Serangoon Rd. My current 2-poster bed is done by the former..

She didn't quite sketch anything on the baroque theme, but her idea of my dining area comes close to mine
heehee

nite!

hi mehmeh,

Yep I quite like teak...

2-poster bed...sounds nice! Can share a pic?

Ah interesting, what's your idea for dining area?

Hi dreamdoll: Ok. So far only 1 person commented that they have bad carpentry. If you think urs is ok so I'll consider them again. Hehe. Will check out their workmanship in their clients' homes.

If not will take mehmeh's idea of subcontracting the carpentry job to someone else.

Hi mehmeh: Do share when Ally gets back to you!

hi dreamdoll,

no probs.. Later i upload. Dun have a soft-copy of it in my work PC..
I want a rectangular dining table, with tall chairs in micro-suede & have a long mirro on the wall.. And the mirror must have a gold or black frame. Very solid looking.. heehee! Ally must have gotten the drift tt i'm not keen on too much areas for display, so she didn't suggest a wall-mounted shelf below the mirror

hi Hui,

Certainly!!! The experience too

Hi girls, this may appear rather random, but did you all notice a signboard along st 22, between block 23x series and 24x series that they are building a condo on that patch?
Wah..I thought Bishan very packed already. Heheh. :P

hi mehmeh,

your idea sounds good! I love the idea of the mirror
btw I think you bed's v interesting, it's custom made right? we got a 4 poster bed from colonial antiques and I love it!

Hi hui,

seems like that sign has been up for quite a while, I'm still keeping my fingers crossed that they won't tender the land out!

hi dreamdoll,

The mirror is gd.. Can let my 'vain' HB admire himself every now & then, even outside the bedroom.. heehee! Importantly it gives the big panel of the wall some feature w/o really having a feature wall

Yupz, it's custom-made, i drew the sketch for them to follow.. Wanted to do a 4-poster, but thot this is rather unique, so went with this instead. Hmm.. I prob have to change the organza drapes to a heavier material, coz it can look a little of a resort theme like tt

Where's Colonial Antiques?? Upload pix of ur bed k? heheheh