Bishan Area

lee

hi cinder

i just moved to bishan about a year ago... what can i help u or what u want to know??

lee

rk

i bought bishan half a year ago and my renovation is 90% completed

Im getting the keys in May. Will start to renovate in June.
Agree that renovation is very high as a lot of hacking to do.

cinder

Hi rk/3377,

great to know u all have also bought..as seems like resale area very seldom got young couple...

where do u all stay at? st22 or st 12 there?

cinder

Hi rk,

where did u have yr reno done by?

is teh price ok?
as soem contractors really quote us very high prices where soem so much lower..then the higher quotation contractor told us dont believe in those super low one...really so headache..donno who to believe

jo

I have bought a resale at Bishan st 22 3yrs ago.

renovated my house 1.5yrs ago. Done lots of hacking.

Welcome to Bishan, all.

rk

my is done by image creative, basically i have to redo the whole house. pricing wise is quite reasonable. anyway i in st 22

Im staying at st23. currently still sourcing for contractor. Big headache as budget quite tight.
Most contractor quote are above 30k

cinder

Hi 3377,

me too. But i need to rush as my wedding is in June n i need to get it done.
the quotes i got is even higher...all more than 35kto ard 45k.
Our budget also very tight.

When u need to shift in?

mango

Why lots of hacking in Bishan area??
is it 'cos the way the flat is constructed?

maybe the contractor think pple in bishan is richer and hence quote higher :p

cheers.

jo

rk, which part of st 22 you live?? I in Blk 26+.

I spend $25K on reno including a MTM sofa, Tv console and wardrobe, hacking toilets (tiles plus accessories), hacking the whole kitchen and rebuild, changing all doors, changing some doors direction from point A to point B,

rk

hi jo
i stay in blk 23+. spend 39k on hacking away the orginal tiles, changing the windows, construct
a study room, table, platform bed, warobe,hacking toilets (tiles plus accessories), hacking the whole kitchen and rebuild, changing all doors, tv console, etc. basically is to remove all the stuff
left behind by the previous owner and rebuild it

jo

Peace,
If you can just take out the map of singapore and try to find Bishan vs Woodland/Sengkang/CCK, you would know why Bishan is more expensive - We are right in the central of Singapore. This means we are nearer to the big circle of CBD/Orchard. Furthermore, all the branded schools are within the 2km of Bishan like Catholic, Ai Tong, Raffles Institutions, St Nicholas, etc.

RK, you really rebuild your whole place except the main door! $39K for so much is quite a steal already. By the way I save lots of money in reno cos I buy my own tiles. Anyone wants to do that, I got tiles supplier contacts.

Hi Cinder

I will be shifting in December 2003 after my customary. WIll start renovation in June.
Have already sign on with a contractor.
40k, including hacking of kitchen and living floor, whole of bathroom, laminates in 3 bedroom, walk in wardrobe, grilles, windows... everything lah.... is that expensive??
Burst my budget already but no choice since will be staying there for at least 5 years.

rk

jo,
yeah, i did manage all in 39k but that exclude the cost of accessories such as lighting, stove, bathtub, bathroom accessories and floor tile is ceramic. also my main door was also change. only thing no change is the door frame.

RK

jo

3377 and RK,
Both of you very she-de on reno. Me pai-seh cos very budget.

May be shifting again next year but also within Bishan. May look for houses nearer to MRT this time.

rk

can't be help since my wife is such a perfectionist on decoration. All my life long
saving all throw in the house lucky got some subsidies from both side parent

bishanresident

I bought a unit at Blk 192 abt a yr ago, its the pt block beside the CC, opp Junction 8.

V convenient to amenities & MRT station.

The ex owner stayed here for the ast 14 yrs. so i took out everything of the house, including the wirings & etc.

What i did for my reno was

- Hacking floor, wall, toilet tiles & all toilet accessories, and all existing furniture & cabinets
- Full floor tiles thru living & kitchen
- 3 bedrooms laminate
- fill up the balcony to be part of living
- Windows & partial grilles (some without grilles)
- Redo whole toilet + tempered glass shower screen
- Hack down the kitchen wall for open kitchen concept
- Washing machine bases & separating wall..
- Full kitchen cabinet (up & down) as well as a
'bar counter' as mine is open concept. But i didnt do a bar counter cos i tot its old era, so mine is table top style.
- Other customised furniture incluses a wall hung 120 cm modern altar w tempered class, masterbed wardrobe, bedhead, bed side table/drawer, simple drawer dresser, shoe rack that gels in with kitchen cabinet
- Cornings, doors, painting & some boxing of unsightly pipings.
- Full re-wiring & boxing for the whole house as my hubby was having some networking ideas.
- FOC labour for fixing of all lights, accessories, etc

In short, i tore the house apart. i even took before after pic shots cos i tot it was fun!

My bill for reno contractor was abt $ 27K only. of course that excludes things like aircon - $2k (i got from outside), other furniture like sofa, book racks, accessories like basin, toilet bowl, cooker/hob, etc.

but i save on major expensive items like L-box cornings, mine is like basic cornings, plastering of the whole house wall (only plaster some), unnecc wall tiles, etc. cos i was thinking no pt spend so much on reno, i rather spend on 'movable' items, say like nice fridge, tv, hi-fi, etc, cos u can never get back reno money.

many friends who came to my place thot it was quite a steal for such a reno at this price. one thing my contractor is not Radac certified, so there is some risk involved. He was recommended by a neigbour of mine. I also agree that i bargain quite a fair bit.

For those who are keen to have a peep, leave your email, i can send you some pics of my flat for your comparison.

Hi Jo,

Its not that i she-de to spend so much on the reno. The flat is already 13+years and everything is old. We have no choice but to do renovation on the whole house.
the 40k is cost of renovation + acessories +aircon + electrician. So if add in furniture and electrical, it can easily come out to 50k.
Me and my husband also 'lao-gua' but bo-pian... go on loan lor..

cinder

Hi 3377,

i just signed up n it cost ard 42k. it includes hacking the whole hse, flooring. I am using Spanish Homegenous, parquet for 3 bedrooms, doing kitchen cabinet, walk in wardrobe, false ceiling at balcony, L-box at living n dining n master bedroom, simple cornices with curtain pelmet at 2 bedroom, includes rewiring teh whole hse plus teh power point, scv point. Will be doing my access balcony area as well. N do some of the window.
i think yrs n mine more or less the same. What kind of flooring r u using for yr living?

BishanResident : wow urs is really cheap. mine cant never get this price at all leh. as i will be buying up access balcony which is 12sqm, n need to do window, reshifting of the main gate n the power switch thingy.
can send me some of the photos?

bishan st13

hi friends of bishan...

if u need a second quote or opinion, i could get my friend husband to assist you cos he is working in this line.

What i know is that he could quote according to your budget and pretty decend pricing too.. cos i had a friend that went through him too..

Of course that would depends what u want to do and the kind of tiles u want..

u can't simply asked for peanuts in price and best stuff in material. Right
Yes i can understand the renovotion that will cost alot cos Bishan estate had been there for quite sometime already... so most money will go into re-renovation.

cream

My new house is not at Bishan but juz reno mine @ woodlands. Juz an advise from me, try to ask your contractors to show you the jobs which they have done for other house which is still undergoing reno by them before signing the dotted line. There are many contractors in Singapore whose work may not be good. So make sure you make the right selection. As for the contractor I'm using, he is actually recommended by my FH as his parents, cousins & sister flats are done by him. So far so good.

Hope this will help you in your selection.

rk

finally, my house renovation finished, furniture
came in yesterday though the whole reno exceed my inital 30k budget by a whopping 10k. nevertheless i am pretty satisfied with the result.

Hi Cinder,

I will be using Homegenous tiles for living room. I specifically request the contractor to give me the big ones instead of the regular size.
My 40k also include cooker hood and hob, toilet bowl and basin, kitchen sink ...
Everything bao by my contractor. He also give us a fridge that worth 1.3k!!
To all just shift to Bishan, may i know how much is your valuation and how much additional cash did the owner ask for??

jo

I also very interested in the valuation/Blk and addition cash part cos I intend to shift next year within Bishan.

Let me start first :

Which area have you bought?
Bishan St 22, near Catholic School/24hrs Kopitiam

How big is your unit / Which floor
4A Corridor / 3rd floor

Valuation value / Cash on top?
$322,000 / $2500 cash on top

bishan resident

i will only get back my digital camera this weekend & I will email the pics to those who have requested.

Hi Jo,

Mine is also 4A, 103m2,
Corridor, 6th Floor (Lift level)
Valuation done in February 2003, $300k. No cash top up.
Its at street 23. very near to the market and bus stop.

Bishan resident,
Don't mind fwd the photo to [email protected]

jo

You live very near me lehz, any chance to visit your new nest???

Wow, you got a good catch. 300K only and 6th floor.

Hi Jo,

I have yet to start the reno. The reno will start in June. By the time everything is ready it will be around Oct. No prob if you like to view in Oct. Mine is not the few newer tall blocks, so i guess not that ex.

cinder

Hi 3377,

wow yrs not bad woh...btw my one cost 42K is becos my is a 5room Improved...i didnt have hook n hob, basin..i only got vanity top, kitchen sink..I am also using homegenous..very big piece one..800 x 800, wat abt urs? n its from Spain.
n my bedroom is paraquet..my flr area is 133sqm.

The renovator very fast..i sign on Sun n they already started work. Yesterday went to choose my tiles...

mine is at st 13..those 100series one..
my valuation is at 390k but we buy below valuation :p

anyone lso living near there?

mimosa

Hi all Bishan dwellers,

I'm staying at Bishan St.13 too! My reno was completed end of Jan 2003. Looks like the price have dropped quite a bit. I bought my flat end of 2001 and during that time it was valued at 402K.

It took us many months to look for a suitable designer and in the end, we engaged the services of Image Creative. The contract we signed was 52K, but adding other costs like changing doors and door frames, WCs, lightings, air-con, kitchen sinks, basin, main door grilles etc, it amount to quite a hefty sum. And these doesn't include the cost of our furniture!

Since we have not gone through customary wedding, we only bought the essential items like TV, sofa, coffee table, TV console, fridge and washing machine. We have not ordered the dining table and our bed and intend to only get it done closer to the wedding date.

I think Image Creative gave us quite a reasonable quote and the contractors who did the work have done a pretty good job!

dk

Hi Bishan neighbours,
Bought a resale at Bishan St 22 Park facing high floor, 4A in 2001. It was turn into our weekend & frens garthering place cos we're waiting for after the customary wedding which is end of the year to shift in. Since everything is still very new when we bought it which includes the built-in wardrobe & cabinets...we might take the opportunity to do only minimium reno...

We'll be only doing the reno after our wedding...
Any highly recommended contractors to consider or lousy contractors to avoid ?

mimosa

Hi DK,

The first contractor whom we met was Image Creative during an exhibition in 2001. But since it's the first one, we didn't really pay much attention as we thought we might want to ask for a few more quotations before we signed the contract. After that, we got 3 more quotes, one of them was Picket & Rail. We were rather disappointed as we expected more out of a big and established firm like them. Our designers kept on changing and I think their sales and customer service really need improvement. When we asked them to find out certain material prices or to change the design on certain areas, they didn't really take it seriously, and they didn't really keep to the deadlines which they promised. In the end, we got so mad that we changed contractor straight away and surprisingly, they still didn't even bother to call us to ask why.

freesia

Hi, all,
M shifting to Bishan in Jun after my customary. Hey, DK, I also bought my 4A flat at St.22 in 2001, high floor too

Reno will also take place after wedding cos too much things to look into at this point, like wedding planning & coming honeymoon. Don't wanna stress ourselves too much.

Bishan is a beautiful place, especially the blks facing the park.

lee

hi cinder

sorry didnt reply u... cos miss this posting
i also stay at bishan st 13.. blk 196 so how's reno going on? still hv 2mths b4 yr big day, should be able to make it. dont rush contractor as it'll affect workmanship, sometimes.

i moved in 1 yr liao, just customery 2weeks ago..

hi mimosa
i also spent abt 50k to 60k on reno only.. think spent abt 100k everything in..quite ex. sometimes feel a little xin1 tong4. so u satisfied with reno? so when's yr big day?

lee

seraphim1970

Wow wow wow, I am sooooooooo happy to see a thread on Bishan, my home town in Singapore. I am currently residing in New York City with my hubby but I own a flat in Bishan St 23, Blk 22+. We moved in 2.5 years ago with my mom and we simply love this area, even my hubby who is ang mo like it here especially the bubble tea store behind the bus-stop at St 22! Our flat is 4A with a big balcony which we built up and made it into a TV room. Since we bought it 2nd hand, it was at a high price at the time we took over and we actually did an overall renovation which cost almost $100K incl. furnishing and appliances. Our contractor did a great job and we have even become good friends.

To those of you moving to Bishan or just moved in, I wanna say 'WELCOME!!!'

Those of you living at North Bishan, go check out the cool market over there, fruits very fresh, food also yummy especially the 'Tiong Bahru Chwee Kuay' at the Kosma coffeeshop, the fried chicken at the 24hr kopitiam also pretty good but must wait lah cos alot of people buy, however now with SARs going around Singapore, I am not sure how the place is now.

Well, I hope some of us can keep in contact and when I go back in August, we can have a Bishan gang gathering. So far I have met a girl from another thread and we have become such good friends, almost like sisters and she lives in Ang Mo Kio which is cool.

Feel free to email me at [email protected]

dk

freesia,
Oooppss! We might be neighbours....
Which blk? Oh, this might be to confidential.
Perhaps U would like to email me at [email protected].

Real glad to have someone in the thread to stay near....

mimosa

Yeah, that's right! Reno can be very ex at times. We haven't fully furnished the whole house and already it's almost 80k. But we are not xin tong, coz we are very pleased with the end result. It's money well spent. As I've said, my interior designer did a good job, and all our concepts and ideas are materialised through his work.

Both hubby and myself love beach resorts a lot, so right from the beginning we wanted a place that resembles the ones which we have been, perhaps not an exact replicate, but should have the feel of a resort when we step into it. Our designer used a lot of teak wood in the house, and for the balcony he used trellis on the ceiling for a more Balinese style. Slate tiles and pebbles are used on the floor to have a more earthy and natural feel. To bring out the effect better, he even gave us a water feature out of goodwill to match the design of the balcony. Actually we came across the water feature at Thomson Plaza and wanted to buy it out of our own pocket, but after talking to our designer, he decided to give it to us for free. Isn't that a good deal?

We had our furniture custom made at Dempsey Road near Holland Road. There are a lot of shops selling Persian Carpets, Antiques and Teak wood furniture. I think there are only 2-3 shops selling Burmese teak, and the rest are Indonesian teak. We didn't plan to customise our furniture initially, but for a better ensemble of the furniture and to fit the layout of the house better, we decided to have them custom made. Afterall, the price difference isn't that great. Anyone interested in teak furniture, I can recommend a shop which we think is really value for money, and their after sales services is fantastic.

jo

Wow never know we have so many Bishan residents here. Maybe we can consider having some gathering at BISHAN!!!! Some house gathering like Tupperware party concept.

DK, the descriptions that you have sounds like my place leh.

>> Bishan St 22 facing Park - I am facing Park too, the small running park right.
\

Freesia, welcome to St 22

Seraphim1970, ya boy, I stay here for 4yrs liao and this place really is convenient. We have a couple of meat stalls, veg stall, fish stalls, fruits stalls and a breakfast noodle stall who forever having long queues. I think I know your floor layout cos I have a relative also having a big balcony type at St 23.

dk

jo,
Which blk?! Hee! seem tat many frens lei! MAybe U would like to send me email : [email protected] .
Yeap i agree it's very convenient esp. if U 're working. The vegetable & fruit stall opens quite late so good for people working late but whens to buy some vege. Plus the small but wonderful Prime supermarket.
Me & my hubby tot for upgrading to a bigger 5-room but now we decided to stay put in our 4A flat cos we like Bishan alot.

angelbella

Hi DK, freesia and Jo,
I've also bought a flat in St 22!!! So happy to know so many of us staying around that area!