Bishan Area

dreamdoll

Hi mehmeh,

Congrats on getting your keys!
How's everything going?

Hi Hui,

How are you? Hmm in our case, Ally did just 1 drawing on my master bathroom...simple but quite accurate. I think it's difficult to have a specific quote before seeing the unit coz it's not easy to gauge the condition of the unit and how much work exactly needs to be done. I think the best bit about her is how she managed to stay within our budget. I do know our fee is a bit modest and so many quotes I've gotten could not match my fee given I wanted carpentry and full works for both bathrooms save the wall tiles. I guess we were quite aligned in our expectations as well, knowing if we pay more we will get more in return. Hmm, just my two cents worth. One of my friend's unit is being done up by Ally at the moment and he just felt that have to monitor a bit more - which I feel is the case with most reno works. I've had other friends who went with other IDs and did not have to monitor much at all, however, they paid $40k round abouts for massive work to be done. I guess I was also worried about my renos back then since it's also our first place etc, so I went down as much as I could, and main thing if you're doing the bathrooms is to be around when they are fitting the toilet stuff so you can comment on anything and rectify on the spot with the workers. In addition, it might help to communicate all your expectations and ideas across before the reno works and even anytime during the whole process!

That all said, at the end of the day, do find someone you feel comfortable with, and you feel can deliver what you want!

padi

Mehmeh: Wow Eddie is real quick.
You spoke to Eddie right? Yes he's my mom's friend.
My mum says he's very nice and reliable. Just not sure how good his workmanship is. How do your hubby find him? How do you find his quotation in comparison to the others?

It makes me feel a little better that Ally said and showed you the same thing. :p We'll probably try to invite her to our place to have a look. She didn't do up a quote, but we did a rough estimate. Not too bad, within budget. Plus she remembers what we are looking for and the budget we have for our house. So should be quite safe.

padi

Dreamdoll: Thanks for your feedback!
Think we'll prob drop by a lot too, esp when my FH's uncle is living just next block and will drop by during lunch time to help us monitor the workers.

Ally asked about you too. Hehe. Heard she's dropping by your place soon.

hi dreamdoll,

am currently taking a backseat for renos, and HB doing the main job.. When he finally sees the numbers, he jumps into action to make sure the dollar is stretched.. hahah

hi Hui,

I didn't manage to speak to Eddie, but my HB did
Reliable is gd! At least it's a gd headstart.. His quote is fairly reasonable, but like u said, dunno abt his workmanship. What opinions does your mum have?

Ally did however leave out several things for my place.. Maybe coz I've got quite abit, inspite not having tt much to do also.. Just the nitty gritty. But so far hers is the highest quote, prob give her a miss oredi.. *oops*

padi

mehmeh: My mum doesn't have much of an opinion about it cos he never did much for my mom in terms of renovations.
But I've visited Eddie's home. Quite ok. Design wise so so..but not really my type. But you can tell him what u like. I think he maintains his house pretty well.

I think Ally also left out quite a bit for my quote too. I now rely on Eddie's quote to ask abt hidden costs cos Eddie's one is very comprehensive. Hehehe.

hi dreamdoll,

saw ur 'request' via Hui.. I had sent an 'invite' for u to join my contact list. Eh, i tried to re-add u, but it doesn't allow me to. U search ur mailbox to see if u've got tt invite k

hi Hui,

Heheh, design not ur type ah.. Hahah, his house mah. Anyway can still keep in view coz he is reliable, designs u can always let him have an idea of what u & T want, and let him work fr there.. Must not be run-of-the-mill mah

Yupz, Eddie has sthg in his quote tt the other IDs/contractors didn't mention..

padi

Hi mehmeh and dreamdoll:
Got my quote from Decor Options - WAY over our budget. Feel a bit sad cos this firm was really our favourite. But guess no point incurring the extra cost. Maybe when our financial situation improves in the future.
So now down to 3 firms - I-Bridge, Aspect and Intradesign.

How's your situation mehmeh?

hi Hui,

Had a contractor & an ID (colleague's HB) over today for them to better assess our needs & wants. Got a very rough quote earlier & now waiting for the proper quote in the next couple of days. Hope I can tie down finally, coz I'm not doing carpentry work (which gives most of the design of a house). I've got to be very hardworking in getting the right furnishings..

Ally also mentioned tt for my design, it's not the carpentry but the right lights & deco items & the design of the furniture. I shd be able to handle tt, but must be very diligent & willing to run ard.. heheh

padi

Hi mehmeh,
Hope you will be able to secure your contractor/ID soon!
Can give me some feedback about Aspect after your hubby liaised with him? How do you two feel bout his quote and his work? Am considering engaging him.

BTW I visited Dreamdoll's home yesterday. Very nice home! And they got it at a good price and condition!
Ally's work is pretty good looking at their toilets, colour combination and the accessories for the home.

hi Hui,

Aspect's quote is cheaper than I-bridge but he & my HB just exchanged words briefly over the phone. We didn't get to meet up.. So sorry, not very helpful with this hor

hehheh, dreamdoll's home very nice huh? I think Ally's really an ID who is gd with her designs & details, not an contractor per se. Some IDs give the feel of a contractor only.. Must have knowledge of the works & design, otherwise will have to compromise on either

hi Dreamdoll,

Wow, Hui is very impressed with your place! Share more pix if you can

Are u bz tying up loose ends for the wedding?

dreamdoll

Hi Hui,

Thanks for your kind compliments! I think Ally did a pretty decent job with our place
How's your search going? I think Ally will give a more accurate quote after visiting your place...do tell her upfront your fears about hidden costs etc, coz I did just that.

Hi mehmeh,

Sorry haven't got any more pics...actually we had minimal work done at our place...so didn't take as many pics...hmm wedding is in less than a month! I've been quite slack lately but should be busy-ing up soon! I can't wait to see the dinner setup tho
And food-tasting went really well too - I loved their food!

hi dreamdoll,

it's alright.. Really appreciate those pix, affirm tt I can go along with my theme. Our designs are not the most popular amongst many young Singaporeans. Btw I do want to know, issit warm to sit on the sofa u've gotten? I'm contemplating the jacquard fabric and micro-suede, on sofas with curves.. heehee

Haven't seen sofa designs in leather/PVC tt match my theme & have caught my eye. Most of them in the mkt are contemporary, very clean & square.. Doesn't seem to fit too well into my intended theme

Where's ur dinner? Oh yes, u haven't 'accepted' my invite.. Howhow? If not u cannot see my place

dreamdoll

hi mehmeh,

Hmm how to accept your invite - i'm clueless! Would love to see your place, tell me how to accept? Thanks!

Hmm I don't find it warm to sit on the sofa...mine's corduroy...suede is lovely but might be a tad hard to maintain though...

My dinner's at Conrad...

hi dreamdoll,

I just re-sent an invite.. I think it shd reach the email account which u had registered with Multiply

Corduroy sounds lovely.. I think the texture's feels great. I must go look see & test out & see how. Is ur living room airconditioned & u & HB turning it own when u're there? My unit is windy so no plans to instal aircon yet, so hope the fabric sofa wun be uncomfy

Conrad's a lovely place!! I like the layout alot & the gd personable service too.. heehee

dreamdoll

hi mehmeh,

Thanks for the invite - accepted it!

Hmm initially I wanted white, but then I think the practicality bit set in, so beige corduroy...nope our living room is not airconditioned, it will be a waste pulling out the ex-owner's 3 split room units (which are still quite new)...and yep unit is quite windy also...

Thanks thanks...yep Conrad's ballroom is quite nice and I like the food now also heehee

dreamdoll

mehmeh,

Thanks for sharing your pics!
Your place is way bigger than mine I think...and I love the view esp since it's on a high floor
Can't wait to see the end product! Do update me...

hi Dreamdoll,

Beige sounds nice.. I was thinking of going for a red + black combi, i like it bold!!
My aircon units are abt 6+ years old & prob just do servicing & continue to use till they break down. And when they do, I wld consider if i shd install them in the living & dining room
hee

What's the floor area of urs? Mine's 122sqm, and i'm wondering if it looks big of the angles & colours.. heheh! But when i splash with the colours I prefer, maybe the place wld look kind of smaller!

Keep a lookout for the updates on Multiply!
nite~

padi

Hi dreamdoll: Some updates am visiting our first choice (the more ex quote one) to discuss about their quotation again. A bit of misunderstanding with the ID which got me quite worried for a while cos he's a good friend's relative. But we're meeting him tomorrow to sort out some details and see if it is possible to cut cost somewhere. FH is still quite keen on him cos he produces very good work. Its just whether we can afford his good works.

Mehmeh: No worry bt Aspect.
Their quote by far is really the most comprehensive and detailed. I am quite impressed. Just not sure about their workmanship. *sigh* All these is really giving me a headache.

Hi Hui,

Maybe u shd take a breather.. Ur keys wld only be handed over in Nov yah? But if the owner allows u to bring ur ID in, then i think it's real gd, coz then u can get a more accurate quote. There may be things not in the design which can't be inc the quote, things like wiring or odd corners.

So ur side, is Aspect still the top choice?

padi

Hi mehmeh:
Yea we're taking it slow. Its more the IDs are coming back to us that we are meeting them to check out their designs and budgets. Only approached 4 to 5. Hehe. My owner allows us to bring our ID in.
So thats good. Aspect is the top choice now cos Ally and Intradesign has yet to give us her quote and design. We're also renegotiating with Decor Options.

Let us know how yours go ok?

hi Hui,

Do find ways to negotiate with them the prices.. Some items can def lower in a couple of 100s, and as a whole, maybe can save $1k?

It's great tt the owner allows u to bring in the IDs to assess the place. U not checking out Lego Hse as u mentioned in multiply?

Getting Deen fr Lego Hse down this weekend, his is the final we're going to look into. Going to decide between the contractor, my colleague's HB & Lego Hse

dreamdoll

Hi mehmeh,

I've got the same idea about the air-con. Our place is windy too so no hurry...area-wise, definitely smaller than yours at 105sqm
Am definitely a big fan of colours! Nice. And bold colours can also really make a statement!

Hi Hui,

Good luck on your negotiation process!
Update me again!

hi dreamdoll,

Urs is a 4A yah? Too few in the mkt when i was scouting & the gap between 4 & 5 room has narrowed by a huge deal. Hahah, otherwise my HB wld insist on a 4 room..

I do hope to stick to the bold colours & not sway. So far the chandelier & ceiling fan are in black. Thinking of a red wall for the dining room & a gold framed mirror hanging there.. Hope it turns out as i envisioned *cross fingers & toes*

BTB, u shd be starting to sleep in!!

padi

Mehmeh: Yea my present owners are pretty nice so they allow us to visit the home when they are ard.

We'll consult Deen after this first round of IDs/Contractors. We do batch by batch haha. But if we like someone in this first batch we may or may not consult Deen. Actually my main headache comes from attending to IDs that have been recommended by good friends
2 to 3 of them are related so can get a bit complicated. So do take good care when you engage your friend's husband ok?

Btw, bold colours are NICE. :D

Dreamdoll: Agree with Mehmeh! Rest well!

hi Hui,

What do u mean by complicated ah? As in want to bargain & diff to do so, as well as, lateness in the handing-over?
I think possibly can get tricky.. Will try to run thru all the details & not leave any loopholes. If not possible then hope we clear the air amicably

Oh yah, eh u never really mentioned what colour scheme is urs. I rem it's resort type huh?

padi

Mehmeh:
Yea can get tricky. Just gotta tread a bit more with care. Then again if things pull through u know u r in safe hands.

My colour scheme is cream and dark brown - my FH and I like modern contemporary style. Cosy and homey.

dreamdoll

Hey ladies...

Ya work is tiring too, hard to just let work settle...btw Hui, your colours are really nice

mehmeh,

Yep mine's a 4A...the red wall sounds good, and the ceiling mirror enticing as well! Hmm, reminds me of a pic I saw at Home & Decor recently too!
Lovely...

Hope everyone had a good day...gloomy weather now!

hi Hui,

We just did an email negotiation with LegoHse to match the contractor's prices & Deen has acceeded to all the prices. Wow, i wonder why so.. And he has been quite on the ball in calling us & checking when we want to start. But still want to finalise the details with him viewing our unit in Fri afternoon

My colleague's HB has done another colleague's place also.. She's pleased with the workmanship
Gd thing is he doesn't pressure us into doing feature wall or extra built-ins

Cream & dark brown is quite timeless, and fr time to time, u can still infuse some colour in. Already i am thinking red or green wld fit very well into the scheme! heehee

hi Dreamdoll,

4A is a gd size for a small family & eases the cleaning aspect! heheh.. Nono, i am not having a ceiling mirror *faint* too avant garde! The only few places i know with mirrors on ceilings for rooms is - Majestic Hotel & one of the seaside clubs in SGP. Gosh, kinky! hahah

The day was gd.. Urs? Too bad the traffic didn't agree with the nice cool weather though

dreamdoll

hi mehmeh,

Yep, heard traffic was bad today...tiring day for me...

Good to hear that Deen has acceeded to your prices!
Opps, sorry my mistake! I thought the mirror would be suspended from the ceiling...Ahh, your gold-framed mirror to be on the dining wall?

hi dreamdoll,

it's time when the traffic is so bad tt i wldn't mind the MRT.. hahah
U slept late last night & coupled with the cold weather, hahhah, very conducive for sleeping! kekeke

It's okie abt tt.. Yupz, the gold-framed mirror on the dining wall. Need to shop for tt, coz tt size not very easy to spot. Gotta pay attention to Sat's Life to see the ads for such accessories

padi

Hi ladies:
Yea we deliberately chose colours that are quite timeless - also cos my FH and I are very brown and wood kind of people. Hhehehe. Hopefully it'll turn out the way we hope! :p

Mehmeh: Wah sounds like Deen is really negotiable. Heheh.
Have you checked out his workmanship? Your colleague's HB sounds nice too. Ah yo I can feel your "torn" feelings.

hi Hui & dreamdoll,

Seems like the contractor & LegoHse wld be the final contendors.. Tmrw LegoHse wld be popping by to assess the details & creating the final quote. We wld then compare with the contractors.. hahah

I haven't had the opp to check out the workmanship, but seems like wetworks wld be LegoHse's forte. This is gd, coz I'm not doing carpentry..

Btw I went Borders to browse & there's this publication by Renotalk, which has many vendors of like glass, doors, door knobs etc.. Shall post the URLs here, just to share

hihi Hui,

After LegoHse's trip, i think it might go above the price given by the contractor. My concern with LegoHse is the wet works.. Deen mentioned tt the homo tiles in living, dining rm maybe be 10 - 30mm higher than tt of the laminated bedrooms. *faint* While tt means they try to ensure the flooring is done properly for the homo tiles, on the otherhand, i can't accept such an end product

May stick to the contractor, coz i know how i want my unit furnished & not doing carpentary work. Guess w/o much design ideas needed fr the IDs, contractor wld very well stretch my dollar & let my splurge on my furnishings instead.. hahah

padi

Hi Mehmeh:
I agree with you! Sounds like your contractor might be a better bet. But did Deen explain why there will be 10-30mm height difference? Do check with your contractor and hear what he has to say! I went to my FH's uncle's place once and his parquet flooring was higher than the homogenous tiles in the passageway. Very strange and err..to me also unacceptable. *sigh* I better ask my contractors about this too!

So you are changing tiles after all! So in total exceed your budget by a lot or not? Still ok?

Mehmeh and Dreamdoll:
I've met Ally yesterday. She's really interesting and was very sharp. My unit is quite old so may need to change the piping and re-plaster the whole unit - may cost more than $3k extra.
*cries* She also gave me a quotation, which exceeded my budget by a little. Which was ok initially. But now with the extra works to be done...heart pain.
She says she'll add in the items and do a requote, plus show us some perspective drawings.

I guess thats the price we had to pay for buying a unit cheap - spend more on renovations lor.

hihi Hui,

The higher living & dining rm after the re-tiling is to ensure the base is even, otherwise the homo tiles will warp.

I dun mind the bedrooms being at most 10mm higher, but not the other way ard. Too unconventional, def never seen such work, unless the room is specially stepped down

In going with LegoHse or the contractor, both will stay close to $8k. If not re-doing the the flrs at all, think i wld save a gd $5k.. But had better change! The ceramic tiles are badly sratched

I never got down to asking u, how much did u get ur unit at? I only rem it's below valuation.. hahah! I think if u change the pipes & do plastering, the old unit (rem it's abt 18 years old) wld look brand new. But do ask for a 2nd opinion of the pipes must be changed??

padi

Hi mehmeh,
Yea true. Weird to step down. Step up is more acceptable. Wah $8k is really good. Guess its because u are laminating the bedrooms over the present tiles? So not so much hacking cost? I got my flat at $340k. 5th floor.
$10k below valuation. I will probably try to get a 2nd opinion or ask HDB for help. Ya lor, my only consolation is that once we change the pipes and redo plastering everything would look brand new.
18 yrs is a long time!

hi Hui,

Yupz, we are not hacking the BRs to overlay the bedroom.. Oh yes, the $8k doesn't inc electrical aspects. So may go up to max of $10k.

Think if u redo the piping, u can make it neat & run it properly so tt as much as possible can be concealed. Nvm i guess at $340k, can pump in $20-30k to do proper renos & stay for longlong time

Has Aspect viewed the unit? What is the total sum they quoted u?

padi

Hi mehmeh: Yea thats what we were thinking.
Pump in a bit more and stay long long time.

They also quoted me almost same price as Ally - about $2k lesser. But they have not seen my unit so not sure if they wld recommend repiping and replastering too. Am meeting Intradesign in about 2 weeks' time.

hi Hui,

When are u getting Aspect to drop by ur place? Maybe eventually the quotes will even out. Then it does depend if ur fancy the workmanship of either, esp since u're going to do some bit of carpentary.. Oh yes, bargain & bargain!

I picked out tiles today.. Check out my site
Got some WIP pix

padi

Hi Mehmeh,

Probably getting Aspect to drop by only after I've gotten the keys or decided more or less to use him. Will see how first, cos his wife has seen the unit so she is also able to give him an idea.

Saw your site! The cream tiles are very nice!

hihi Hui,

Oh yah huh, his wife is ur agent rite?? (correct anot ah?) With the AD in Jul, and u all having the keys in Nov, i think u shd be in gd time

Cream tiles are nice hor? heheh, when ur turn comes, i shall ogle at ur tiles & renos

padi

HI mehmeh: I think I may be using cream tiles too! Either that or darker tiles for the flooring and cream colour for the walls. I love cream colours. Feel very cosy.
Ya his wife is my agent. Today Eddie's guys came over to my place to paint my mother's home - a 3 room flat. Pretty good job so far. Got have the living room and my room to go.

Hi dreamdoll: Been busy with wedding preps?? Anything outstanding?

hi Dreamdoll!!

How have u been? The last lap to the wedding yah?? All the house stuff are in?

Thanks for affirmation on the tiles.. *phew* We chose the model AA605, then we told our contractor this model. But our very nice contractor says tt actually the newer/updated model is AA605J & more exp than the price we saw tt day.. And the coolest thing, he is going to give us the new model w/o extra charge!

hi Hui,

Darker tiles eh.. How much ah? So far fr the tile shopping, the white & dark ones are often $3.50 & above. Doesn't allow in our budget leh.. If u really like, heehee, go for it!

Eh, why the 'urge' to paint the walls? Think fr the paint job, u can also assess the workmanship

padi

Hi mehmeh: Wah so ex ah!!! Then I'll re-consider! :p Maybe I should go tile shopping one day too. :D The one which you go to, were the staff very pushy? Don't have to buy on the spot right? Can look look first?
There's an Home Elegance Exhibition this weekend at Expo, going there to take a look at furnishings, furnitures and IDs.

The "urge" to paint walls belongs to my mum. *sigh* So much work I have to go back home tonight to pack the ENTIRE house! I cannot imagine the amount of things 4 women can accummulate over the years. *faints* But yea, I thought can assess the workmanship lor. Heheh. So I shall just bear with it and PACK! *faints*

hihi Hui,

Eh, i may not be the most accurate.. heheh! U shd go tile shopping when it's nearer the start of renos, coz new ones may pop up! heehee
Taugres & Hafary are the recommended ones via my contractor.. They are located along Balestier, very near I-bridge. [560A & 560 Balestier Road] They aren't pushy, coz we mentioned our contractor's name.. Maybe Ally & Eddie have their own lobangs elsewhere

Oh since u're going for the Home Elegance Exhibitions, do check out if the laminates [Supreme or Kronotex] has special deals. Coz even if we get laminates via our ID, they also will get Supreme or Kronotex ppl to install.. So it's how much the ID earns. Mkt rate is $1700 for Supreme & $1900 for Kronotex

*ooops* the urge belongs to ur mum.. But it's gd lah, in time for CNY & then ur big day! heehee! Indeed, bear with it

padi

Okok mehmeh. Will ask ard for the laminates.
Let you know after tmr!!

Btw, we spent almost 3 hours cleaning up and packing!! *faints*
But ya..sense of accomplishment! Hehehe.

hi Hui,

Do share the gd news

Wow, 3 hrs to clean & pack.. Sounds like a gd workout & def a great sense of accomplishment! *applause*

hi fellow bishan-dwellers

Renos have gone full-swing.. Floor is hacked, some tiles are laid. This wkend electrician & aircon shd be on the way.. Things are moving veryvery fast!!

Soon to be an official bishan dweller