Bishan Area

hi Hui,

Cancan.. U check the pix i posted in 1 or 2 archives ago, shd show the carvings i had on mine *winks*
God has been gd!! Ur extended family & all do sound very closely knit (fridge.. kekeke)

padi

mehmeh: okok will check it out!

Ya they have been very supportive. Wouldn't know what I'll do without them! *faints* I'll prob have to make my guests sit on the floor! Hahah

doraeoink

So glad that I found such a thread on Bishan Area! Just signed on the OTP for a unit along Bishan St13! Looking fwd to deco up our house with my FH but no idea how to start! Will go take a look at those ID listed here.

hi Hui,

heehee, my mum was also very supportive during the entire reno process *phew* She wanted to sponsor our TV, my MIL wants to sponsor our microwave & some other kitchen appliances.. But HB & I just dun want them to 'spoil' us.. heheh, esp for my HB being the only child

U decided on whether to get ur sofa fr Hommage? They are going to have a 'roadshow' from end Oct till prob the year end.. Next weekend, I'm gonna go down & re-choose my dining chairs. The ones they had ordered fr a certain manufacturer were rejected when E when over to check the goods

hi Oink,

Welcome to Bishan!! Ur block is 15X, 16X or 17X?

padi

Hi Oink!!
Me also at Bishan St 13!
Congrats on your OTP! Where are you at?

Mehmeh:
I hear from your sis that your mom and dad really love you girls! Then again, all parents love their children.
I am just so reminded of so many people who care about us during this period of time. Talking about it makes me so touched I want to cry sometimes.
kao_love.gif
Can't imagine my thank you speech during my wedding. :p

Oh! where's their roadshow?? Finally can see for myself what their stuff are like! E is really nice hor. Whats the other guy's name ah? I thought I connected better with E. :p

oxygen_bar

hey mehmeh,

where's the road show for the hommage at? Do you have their contacts or website? thanks

Oink,
congrats!! Where's your block at?

Hui,
How's your meeting up with the ID?

hi breathe,

the road show wld just be in the area outside their shop
here's the webbie: www.hommage-furniture.com (They have a greater range than what's featured in their webbie, and some there are also no longer available)

hi Hui,

heheh.. yupz, my parents really love us to bits! but they dun demonstrate with words but lotsa of action! heheh

i think u're going to cry buckets? heehee, i always tear when brides/grooms give such touching speeches *ooops*

Roadshow is just outside their shop.. the skinnier fella is Charles.. Both are very nice ppl, but Charles looks more frenly

padi

Mehmeh: You know when they are going to start the roadshow? I can't wait! Hey Mehmeh, do you think the Charles guy is the same Charlespoon guy in the forum who promotes Hommage in the Hommage thread? Strange.

Same same! My parents demonstrate more in action.
Ya lor. I cry easily somemore. Scared ruined my mascara. :p

Btw hor, ask you for your opinion. I saw a sofa set at La Cafa which Hommage is also carrying (but only in catalogue). Do you think if I ask Hommage to bring in the same sofa set it'll be exactly the same cushioning and the same quality?

padi

Breathe: My meeting with Aspect was good.
He drew up my perspective drawings. My FH and I are very satisfied.
Going to choose tiles tmr!!! hehehe
Did you ask for a quote from Aspect too?

hihi Hui,

I suspect next weekend.. Rem my chairs tt are still pending arrival? E deemed tt lousy to be brought & delivered, so he cancelled tt order. Then he mentioned tt there are nice leather chairs which share some semblance to what i liked, so he told me to go down & pick the design (amongst many others he wld be brining in ) next weekend..

Is charles the same guy ah? i dunno leh..

heheheh.. Must ask Corrine to standby with tissue for u
heheh, also must tell ur MUA to use waterproof mascara! kekeke

Shd think the source of the sofa wld be the same.. Most sofas, even those i've seen at Courts & Harvey Norman are now coming in fr China and Malaysia. Cushioning wld the be same, but quality may vary slightly fr piece to piece.. *i think*

Oh do let us in on the outcome of tile selection.. Have lotsa fuN!

oxygen_bar

hui,

not yet. Just got my floor plan on tues. And now busy helping my brother asking around for contractor quotations to do a partition for his flat and calling up many air-con sellers hoping to find the cheapest ahahaha *cheapskate* always believing there's a cheaper one waiting for me other than the cheapest I've found. :p

I met up with a so call ID which one of my agents recommended. Such a disappointment. She was with me for less than 15mins, didnt even make much suggestions, even when I asked her, she just went along with what I said and asked. Didn't even ask what kind of styles I like or things like that. I don't know, is it normally like that? am i expecting too much from ID. If IDs are like her, then I rather go to contractors. Anyway I still have time so taking my time to do research and do alot of reading up on the forum Lotsa information to digest, a little overwhelming hehe.

after I confirm the a/c I want to get, next I think I'll be shopping for hobs. Dear friendly "neighbours", any knowledge to impart me on hobs selection? Hui, you've done your shopping for these items yet?

hi breathe,

i had also visited some IDs, and must say, only 1 of the few i met had really given gd thot & expounded on my idea.. It really got me excited in trying to expect an end result! But the rest were merely listening to all my inputs, not much design inputs too.. Just thinking one reason cld be ours being a resale unit, the focus is still the basic renos.. Design may come in later? (just thinking aloud here

If u settle for an ID, u may want to delay getting a hob? For all u may know, the ID may throw in this freebie
Or he/she may have special dealing with some suppliers and get u one at a better rate

doraeoink

Hi hui, breathe, mehmeh,

Me at blk 17x!
Went down to Expo today to take a look at the home show. Only got the time to listen to 3 ID's package and see some of their deco... they keep talking non-stop! Most of them throw in hob, hood and air-con!

But too bad we didn't have a floor plan. Or else can pass it to them to make them draw us something! Anyone of you going down to Expo too?

Breathe, how do you get the floor plan? Just go down to HDB and can purchase it straight away?

hi oink,

oh.. then ur place shd be pretty near Hui's & mine
must keep in mind the freebies
as for shortlisting IDs, maybe u shd also do a search fr this forum on the IDs u met/meeting.. then u know if they are worth more of ur time *heehee*

u can also fax them ur floorplan.. and get them to send sthg in return.. bur most of the time, can only expect floorplan design, not many give 3D perspectives.. Unless u're almost close to signing the contract

floor plan can be gotten fr HDB.. Same floor as resale counters, or issit one floor above?

padi

Oink: Mine is also at blk 17x! We're possibly neighbours. Hehehehe. Which IDs did you go to? Be careful about signing anything at Expo ok? Cos they always make things sound really good before we sign anything. If you have someone whom you know have engaged the ID before it'll be best.

Can get the floor plan from resale counter, 3rd floor if I am not wrong.

Mehmeh: Will definitely go down to Hommage this weekend. In the end I think I'll just grab some stuff from Hommage. Hopefully can get reasonably priced stuff! :p My tiles search at SBH was really an eye opener man. So MANY different tiles and the branch at Toh Guan is so HUGE!! We took 3.5hrs to select the tiles for our entire house. Almost "fainted" after the visit, but so fun! :p I am so glad my ID finally caught onto what we like. Towards the end of the selection he was selecting tiles which we liked!
And he gave us a discount on our renovation cost too!! *claps with glee* Btw, what did you do with your toilet in the end? Did you do cabinets in your toilets? We got our ID to do up cabinets at the top to cover up the pipes and also to create space to put stuff.

Think my reno will officially start in end Nov or early Dec. Can't wait!!!

hi Hui,

U're up soooo late!! heheh.. I think Hommage is gd to get some stuff, coffee tables, dining table, chairs & sofa.. Since u're doing built-ins, heheh, then no need to kill more brain cells by choosing cabinets

u spent 3.5 hours to pick out the tiles? *faint* u must have several types for diff areas yah? kitchen, toilets, living, dining.. and tt's not even mentioning the diff types for walls & floor.. heehee! ur ID worth recommending, still give u discount *thumbs up*

we did a wall hung cabinet in the MBR with a vanity top, for the basin to sit on. coz my unit is on the top floor, i dun have the overhanging pipes.. so can save money on those cabinets! Hehehh.. i find my toilets rather small, smaller than those at my ILs.. can't afford too much space for cabinets, otherwise too cramp

when's ur 2nd appt?? before tt the owner wld move out rite? i also can't wait for u to start.. then can ogle at ur pix.. heehee

padi

Mehmeh: I stayed up last night to work our wedding and reno budget. Hahaha. :p
Actually I was hoping I would have enough $$ to do built in for my study room. Have to give that up for the moment. *sad sad* Maybe see how lor, after the wedding if have extra $$ then do lor. :p
You bought studyroom cabinets from them?

wall hung cabinet ah. Orrhh..icic. Hehe. If got pics to show can share with me?

My 2nd appt is on 25 Nov. Yes the owner will move out (she didn't say anything so I assume she is moving out.
) Hehe. Can't wait!

hi Hui,

wah, so hardworking.. heheh.. Some stuff for wedding really hard to set a budget, like rings? u may eye a certain design, then so hard to not get hor? *ooops* (teaching u bad things)

wall hung, ie, no legs & no contact with the floor.. i haven't taken pix of the MBR toilet, coz i havent mounted the mirror also.. heheh! but shall take a snapshot of it tonight

u can start counting down oredi!

padi

Mehmeh: hahaha. No choice leh..limited budget so have to set limits lor. Thankfully some designs that my FH and I found are within budget!! :p So not so bad. :D

Ok ok thanks for the snapshot!

Yes!! 5 more weeks to go!

doraeoink

Hi Meh Meh & Hui, Thanks for the advice! Will definitely see see around first before signing up. So how do you find your IDs so far?

Saw this new floor laminating wood that can withstand heat. He put thinner and started a fire on it and the wood still remains ok!

Went to get the floor plan today. Yes! It's at level 3. Thks. Now can pass the floor plan to IDs to ask them to design something for us! haha!

Hi breathe, my unit is not on the 3rd storey.

padi

Mehmeh: Your toilet is pretty neat!
Nicely done cabinets!

Oink: I find my ID approachable and helpful so far. Quite reasonable prices too.
He's a cross between a contractor and an ID.
So I get best of both worlds. Hahaha.

Think you saw Supreme AC5. Did you buy from them? I got mine from Supreme too. AC5 quality plus the rubber layer.

hi Oink,

i went thru a contractor, coz not doing much built-ins
Not bad, quite fast.. but with contractors, u need to do alot of monitoring & legwork.. Thankfully HB is patient enough to go fr place to place to get things etc

hope ur visits to IDs wld be positive & fun!

hi Hui,

neat ah? hahah.. coz i'm not using the toilet yet. waiting to install the correct mirror and other accessories. hopefully ny this weekend!

oh u see the tap? it's fr Bellari
Note the changes to this toilet? no more pink WC & sink.. hahah

dreamdoll

Sorry havent been checking in!

Mehmeh, your toilet is nicely done!
Think your wallhung sink cabinet is good storage!

Hi Hui,

How's everything going for you? :p

asper

I just submitted my OTP for a flat in Bishan. Saw the photos u gals posted. Very nicely done! Can I have ur contacts for the IDs that you gals have used.

Have not started looking but am thinking of getting quotations from a few IDs/contractors first.

padi

Mehmeh: Oh ya hor! No more pink!! What did you do to your toilets? Hehehe
The sink is cute.
How much did you pay for it?

Dreamdoll: I am starting my reno end Nov/early Dec!
My perspective drawings are done and up on my multiply did you see it?
How have you been??

Ade: Welcome to the bishan thread!
Where is your flat? You want my ID's contact? I haven't started my renovations but my ID has been pretty reasonably priced and very friendly. PM me if you want the contact?

hi Hui,

yipppee, no more pink! i changed the WC & basin + vanity. got it fr Rigel, over $100.. HB not very happy, thot we got it at a gd price, but sthg similar at Poh Joo.. *faint*

hi Ade,

Welcome to Bishan!

hi ade,

sounds like u might move in before or slightly after CNY.. things are going to get exciting!
btw, think u've got Hui & I as ur nearest neighbours

asper

Hi meh meh,

Think it will be sometime after CNY cos owner is only vacating in feb next yr.

Where are u gals located again? Nice to have u gals as neighbours.

oxygen_bar

Hi Ade,

welcome to the club! I've just signed otp 2 weeks back! I'm at 13X. I'm hoping to move in before CNY but I think it's going to be abit of a challenge cos even if completion can be by jan, there's renovation. Heard from a lot of pple here and my friends that during the period before CNY a lot of contractors very busy so they either give you slip slop problematic job, or renovation will be held up till after CNY. Also not forgetting that they normally pretty long cny break.

ade,
have fun!! can exchange tips on reno. Dreamdoll amd mehmeh have done up their house so would have valuable advises.
hui is very helpful too. All very nice neihbours.
cheers to all

asper

Breathe,

Thanks! Wow moving in before CNY will be quite a rush. But I suppose if the ID is good, it should be less of a problem.

Yup, lots of tips that we can exchange. Forgot to ask if yours was a 5Rm or 4Rm?

hi ade,

after CNY is better.. Many ppl who in the midst of renos before CNY wld also want their units ready, heard tt, it wld be super bz for those IDs & their workers & QC may not be tt good.. But dunno if tt theory really holds
heehee

i'm at 16X

didn't do total renos.. the bulk went to the flooring.
Hack living + dining + balcony tiles
Hack off a couple of walls
Plastering of a huge wall + 2 BRs walls & ceilings
Laying of tiles in living + dining
Laying of laminate flooring in 3 BRs
Labour for removal & installation of WC, basin in MBR toilet & kitchen sink
Painting
The above came up to about $9k
Electrical works abt $1k

dreamdoll

Sorry for late reply! wow, the thread is moving fast - have to catch up!

Mehmeh,
How are you? Thanks for asking, definitely settling in well!
I can't wake up on time thanks to our new mattress ;p And now still looking at wedding pics...Totally agree on the piping - can't do much unless totally build up walls in the bathrooms...btw, saw your pics and posted comments
hee, wana ask where u got a few items...also, wow great price on your renos! Did the laying of laminate flooring in the 3BRs result in the flooring being higher than living and dining? Any pics of the laminate flooring? How much did it cost for the 3 BRs?

Hi Hui!
Wow very fast! Yes I saw your perspective drawings - you emailed me too
very nice! Will your end product be ready by xmas? Can't wait to see it too! Btw, comfy sofa you got!

Hi ade,
I'm staying at 23X (4rm)...seems like I'm the only one along that area
My ID was I-bridge Design...Total cost (I think) came up to about 6-7k but we didn't do much...Hope this helps!

padi

Mehmeh: $100 not bad leh!! for the sink alone?

Breathe: Do you have multiply account? If you have I can add you then u can view my perspective drawings.
Have you begun looking for IDs? Who have you approached?

Ade: Sent you an email!
Wow you are going to live very near me and Mehmeh! I am at 17X.

Dreamdoll: I don't think my end product will be in time for Christmas! :p Prob end Jan. By then you all can come over to visit!!
How are you doing?

hi dreamdoll,

oooh.. pix of ur wedding? *drools* wanna peek!
as i watch all those home & deco programmes in the AM, i'm so envious tt they have very nicely designed houses. Pipes are mainly concealed & the electrical points are also well located.. So u dun see all the wire conduits.. Heard tt the new flats are increasingly moving twds this direction

after laying the laminates, there wasn't the height difference *phew* Here's a pix of it (Supreme - Oriental Teak)
420126.jpg

In the quotation, it costs $1.7k for the 3BRs (inclusive of skirting)

hi Hui,

eh, i think $100-150 for the sink.. I have poor memory on prices! hahah..

doraeoink

Wow.. this thread is moving fast! Welcome Ade!

Hui: Yah, I saw the Supreme AC5. They said lifetime warranty. Did your ID give you the itemised costing for the laminating of 3 bedrooms?

Brought my floorplan to the Expo Exhibition today. Given it to a 5 IDs for them to help us to come up with something. Gathered some ideas too! Haha! Now waiting for them to call us to take a look at their proposed layout plan and quotation. Hopefully they will call!

Hui & Mei Mei: Possible to email me your perspective drawings too? My email [email protected]
Thks!

asper

Hi Hui,
I got ur email. Thanks for the contact. Will have a look at their website.

mehmeh,
Thanks for the advice. Wow, ur reno looks pretty reasonably priced to me. But I have to do more reno so dont think I can keep to such a good price. Been hearing so many horror stories abt ID/contractor, am really scared now.

Dreamdoll,
can u let me know what u did for reno so that I have an idea how the prices from ur ID were like. I visited their website and like the designs but reviews from other users were not all favourable so am still scouting.

looks like the Bishan-nites are really quite night owls!! heehee

hi Oink,

apologies! i didn't get an ID, so dun have any perspective drawings

hi Ade,

u're welcome.. The items for renos i did were fairly basic, so i think u can still use my quote for a gauge..
If u intend to revamp the whole unit, which prob means lotsa hacking of built-in cabinets & then rebuilding, then u may have to factor in demolishing (abt $100/room's built-in) and then maybe $1-2k for the new cabinets

what are some horror stories u've heard/read of??

dreamdoll

Hi mehmeh,
Love your laminate! Can get your contact?
May consider...when you say Supreme - Oriental Teak - is it the colour?
Ah still uploading pics now...will email you? ;p But there are some up on the conrad thread...

Hi Hui,
Been doing well...days just fly by...i believe it's work ;p yes definitely would love to pop by ur place when it's ready!

Hi ade,
Hmm I did up my 2 bathrooms, changed doors, and painting. I think I engaged I-bridge mainly because a lot of my colleagues went through them and I thought the price fit my budget so I went ahead
In any case, think you should find someone you feel you can rely on...

hi dreamdoll,

i got the Supreme laminates via my contractor.. I think Hui has a direct contact to Supreme. Oriental Teak is the model aka colour
I liked Picasso Walnut & African Black, but wld be too dark for my existing furnishings

Okie dokie, will hang in there for ur pix.. in the meantime, shall peek at ur conrad thread
gd nite!!

oxygen_bar

Hui,

nope, I think I'm a slow coach haha oink has already approached some IDs I'm still doing my research. I've shortlisted some to ask for quotations and ideas though.

But actually, I've started doing some perspective drawings on my own so I can visualise better wat want, how things going to fall into place.. blah blah. Quite tiring, doing everything alone somemore shorthanded at my work place these days. Will be making a trip down to IMM on my next off day. Looks like I really have to learn to squeeze in more time to get the reno preparation going hehe ;P

btw, wat is multiply account?

Also, does anyone of you have ceiling fan? I was told that it's pointless for me to have a/c unit in my hall, might as well fix a ceiling fan but I'm hesitant about it. Any comments? So many things to consider so many decisions to make... headache headache... but somehow I'm still enjoying it haha