Bangkok

yanling, i think sld be quite hot in BKK.. temperature here is already quite humid..

Hi Apple

Looked thru their website but most of them offered promotion prices for one way ticket only. Like JetstarAsia, they have $8 daily special. Tigerairways have fares as low as $36+, bit all are one way...

I might be going in Aug or Sep.=)

Purple_Rain:
Tiger Airways have both way to BKK but most of the available flights are night flights. I saw them on Sep 5 -
10 2006
SG(1805) - BKK(1925) $36.98
SG(1305) - BKK(1415) $41.98

BKK(2010hr) - SG(2325) $36.98
BKK(1450hr) - SG(1815) $36.98

July 5 to 9 also have some good rates which you might be interested.

Jetstar Asia Website is abit outdated. Some info not accurate. Call them and check with them better.

hi lyesha,

i'm thinking of going to Marble House Spa & Massage, behind Novotel. Heard quite good reviews about this spa. Another one I was thinking of trying is Tantara Spa in Pathumwan Princess itself. If for convenience I'd go for Tantara Spa, but if talk about cost then I might go to Marble House. Not sure leh. You can check out the Marble House website: http://www.marblehousespa.com/

Actually I a little bit regret booking hotel leh. Cos I realised that there are alot more spas around Sukhumvit area.........so should have booked a hotel in that area instead.

Let me know which spa u go to in the end. Thanks

babykhoo,
Most prob I will just look ard for spa when I'm there.

Anyway, just to recommend this travel agency in Bangkok. Really nice of her to help me with the booking of the accomodation and cheaper. Transfer from and to the airport is also arranged.

Saen Sanuk Tour Co Ltd
Tel : (662)650-0033
Fax : (662)650-0363
Look for Ms Paad ([email protected])
She will definitely reply to your email. Give her 1 day to revert back to you.

hi babykhoo,

do you know how much do the massages at marblehouse cost? i usu go to another one at sukhumvit called bloomingspa which offer really cheap packages! www.bloomingspa.com
but it's abit out of the way.. since i'll be staying at novotel, i think marblehouse will be a better choice, provided the prices are cheap!

Hi moninet,

Here's what they quote me for the treatments I booked:

crystal body treatment 2hrs.=2,500baht.Aromatherapy facial
massage 1hr=1,500 baht,Aromatherapy massage 1hr=1,200 baht.

U can go to their website and send them email request to find out how much their treatments cost. That's what I did. I also booked my appointments in advance..........for July....abit kia su lah.

I've to the bloomingspa in Phuket. Loved their massages too. Not too exp like u said. oso think abit out of the way.....otherwise I'd like to go back to bloomingspa cos their quality is more or less guaranteed.

no lah. got cheaper tix from swiss air. u stay at pp? so what's ur plan for the trip? u have a longer stay than me. some more i only arriving on thurs nite abt 10+. so the 1st nite gone already. maybe if got strength will go patpong walk walk.

u planning any spa sessions in bkk?

pp is? No lah that quite ex lor cos me thinking to spent money on shopping and food rather. keke.

See how lor cos my FH don't really like leh. mayb go eat more but i must be careful cannot gain weight haha

thnks babykhoo... guez i'll try marblehouse & compare it wif bloomingspa.. another option is oso chang which is outside my hotel.. i love the foot massages there..but a bit expensive la, compared to some other pl..

apple,

u mean FH dont like spa?? my hubby oso the same. last time force him to go with me in phuket but end up he was counting the minutes for the massage to end....so waste money. so this time, i'm going alone. while i go spa he cn go walk walk on his own.

moninet,

when u going to bangkok? if u come back before i go can u let me know how good is marblehouse? cos if it's got good massages i don't mind walking there but if the service so-so only then may reconsider.

Just checking if anyone knows what's the SG taxes for :

1) Fly from Sin to Bangkok &
2) Fly back from Bangkok to Sin

Does diff budget airlines hv diff SG taxes or all airlines r the sames ?

Heard that u still hv to pay additional 500 baht tax when u fly out from BKK ?

Thks !

Btw,

Anyone knows roughly how much for taxi fare (THB or SG ?) from airport to Pathumwan Princess & from the hotel to airport ?

Thks so much !

hi babykhoo,
i'm gg tis vesak day weekend.. will check out & update u! my FH oso hates spa/massage.. good if i go marblehouse so he can "rot" in front of tv in novotel whilst i'm across the road!

hi wedding9999,
bkk to sg airport tax is 500thb, u pay it at the auto ticket machine b4 u enter customs & it's not extra cos usu u do not pay any to the tour agt / airline in sg. u only pay sg's airport tax to them, which is sg to bkk tax depends on the airline u take..

I will be going to BKK on the 4th August till 9th August (holiday) flying by Tiger airways too.
air tic for 2persons =$84.96
Total tax and surcharges doe 2 persons=$166.50
Grand total is $251.

I booked with Baiyoke sky hotel for 5 nights.Hear that is one of the best hotels there..

Mmm....how come tiger airways told me that Sin to BKK tax is $47.25/pax & BKK back to Sin is $36/pax + another 500baht ????

Total tax per pax is $83.25/pax + another 500baht ?

Blur blur, u know that u need to pay another 500baht when u exit from BKK ?

Then in total already need to pay >$100 tax just to travel to BKK. Isn't it a bit expensive ?

i see tat alot of u are taking taxi from airport to hotel. wish i was so brave. me arriving at nite 10+ so dont dare to hail a cab from airport. have arranged with pathumwan princess to provide transport....it cost an gastronomical 1300THB. but i dont feel safe at nite lah..........so bo pian lah!!!! lucky hubby dont know the cost.....but guess he'll find out when he receives the credit card bill :p

hi wedding9999,
cld the $36 be for fuel surcharge & security tax?

hi babykhoo
shld be ok to tk cab at nite if u r not travelling alone cos route fr airport to city uses all major roads & expressways.. when i go to the nite mkts or go clubbing til aft midnite, i oso tk cab back to my hotel.. but then again maybe the new airport will be in use in july & i dunno the routes fr the new airport ..

Babykhoo,
I was quoted 1300 baht per car per way by Pathumwan Princess. Too ex le cos the taxi fare from airport to the hotel is ard 300 baht. Anyway, the travel agent has helped me to arrange for airport transfer (to and fro).

for the air port tax and surcharge

It cost me $124 for 2 pax therefore per pax is abt $62. Not sure whether u all consider this is expensive

So if i travel from airport to samran place how much will the taxi fare cost?

hi wedding9999,

every body who leaves bkk need to pay the 500B departure tax, just before you go into the customs. this amt is self paid and is never included in any of the tour packages..

hi apple forever,

tax is about $60 - $80 in general.. really depends on airline and time that you book the tickets....

basically if you follow the 'norm' of queuing for a taxi at the airport at the ARRIVAL hall, gotta go to the counter whereby the pple will ask you where you wanna go, and then assign a cab driver for you. its about 350B including the whatever taxi tax. its already very very very ex. some taxi drivers will ketuk u more.. so make sure you pay no more than 350B. in fact, good bargainers will take a cab from the DEPARTURE hall at level 3 and insist by meter..

blurblur: Baiyoke sky not 1 of the best hotel. But its 1 of the tallest, biggest room and longest breakfast buffet hotel. Your flight is rather cheap.. so i guess your departure is either late noon/evening or night time, right?

lyesha: When your departure date? next week?

hi apple,

FH side: say trip already booked. ask your FH whether he wanna defer or not. cos once defer, he will not be with his same group of friends mah...

hi ugly duckling,

changing with air asia, from my frd, is very troublesome. budget airline sucks in this area.. quickly go call up first...

apply: So many guys on reservist these coming May & Jun... Ask him defer if he don't mind making more "new army khakis"... hee. I thought reservist letter is sent in advance half a yr or 3mths. How come he receive so late???

Ugly_duckling: There is a surcharge impose for date/time/name changing but must be done prior to 48hrs before departure i think or 1 week.

i tried to call them at 6733 9933 but always cannot get thru....

Har if defer then will change his kahkis how har. he say his reservist is on OCt but all of sudden he received a sms to say there is 2 daysof training. If its training will not be changing team right. Any ones FH or hubby defer and change team before.

Can check where u depart for airasia ? Changi Airport Terminal wat ? Need to take shuttle bus or not ?

How abt Tiger airways ? U arrive back at which airport ? Need to take shuttle bus too ?

Heard that there r some bad remarks abt AirAsia ?

Yes, airasia tel no always can't call thru wan.....;p

have wow finally can get thru le but if i will to change the flight must pay penalty of 75 ringgit.
and of course the difference of the flight cost.

hi wedding9999,

airasia departs from budget terminal.. once u confirmed the booking, there will be instructions... yes yes more negative comments than good ones.. gotta bear with some frustrations..

i called them le . They say depart from terminal one

Cannot change the name for my case therefore the only option is to change flight time or to go ahead and defer the training.. So sad but i dun want my hubby to change team.