Bangkok

wedding9999: if i not wrong, ALL airasia plane depart/arrive from Terminal 1 only. Terminal 2 is reserved for SQ flights mainly and SilkAir (I think). Airasia isn't that bad for budget airline. Can't complain much since its of the cheapest. The usual complains are legrooms, aircon not cool, far from main departure hall

Budget Terminal now only for TigerAirways which you have to go Terminal 2 and take the shuttle bus there.

minssy: when you took a flight from airasia that depart from budget terminal???

apple: Hmmz.. never heard there was a 2 days reservist before. Usually its 1 wk to maybe 3weeks at most. Change flight then have to change hotel date also.. all muz pay $$$.
Tell them he already booked long ago, postpone must pay.. then who gonna pay.. army pay then ok loh.. hee.. They should allow postpone since its booked before he got the date. They can't be that unreasonable..

apple, i agreed with yanling.. instead of going thru the hassle of changing the flight and hotel booking.. might as well postpone..

I'm going to Bkk on 20-23May. Have always stayed at Pathumwan Princess on my previous visits to Bkk. For this trip, i thot of changing the hotel, how's Baiyoke Sky comparatively to Pathumwan? Heard it's the tallest hotel and the scene is nice, plus it's near to Pratunam market and Central World Plaza (previously WTC) I know it's an old hotel, but how is it like? Is it clean?

Also, i heard CWP was under reservation. Has it been completed? If i want to buy Naraya bags, is the shop located inside CWP itself?

lyesha, i contacted the Thai agent that u recommended for the airport transfer. She quoted me S$10 per pax for one way from airport to hotel. Is this rate ok or am i getting ripped off? Can i just book airport transfer with her without booking the hotel from her cos i'm getting the hotel online?

Many thanks!!

hi honesty,
SGD10 is approximately 240baht.. I think it is quite alright. I'm not sure whether you just book the airport transfer. Maybe you can email her to find out.

honestytrustfaith,

Why don't u just take the taxi from the airport rather than book for hotel transfer. Hotel transfer is more expensive leh.

honestytrustfaith: Definitely not as good as Pathumwan Princess.. lol. Some hotel rooms stuff are spoiled so do check it after u check in. things like toilet bowl flush, water dripping from basin, lightings. But overall its cheap and good breakfast. if 1 person take hotel transfer then its cheap, but if a few of you are going then its kinda ex.

Below is a cut and paste from other forum which might benefit some ppl who like to eat n play

<u>Some of the best food in Bangkok </u>
Taling Pling, Harmonique and Yok Yor get my vote (as suggested before). They're all dinner venues and reasonably priced. I forgot to mention Blue Elephant previously, which is divine too. Oh, and if you really want to feast, what about buffets? Top on my buffet list is OISHI Grand in Siam Discovery for lunch. HUGE selection of (wonderful) Japanese, Chinese and Thai food for about 800 baht / person. Worth every baht though. Get a table next to the window that overlooks the garden of Princess Sirindhorn's (modest) palace. And then, if you are in Bangkok on a Sunday, the tea dance in the lobby of the Shangri-La is a MUST (15:00 - 18:00). About the same price, the buffet consists also of Thai, Chinese and Japanese food, but the highlight is a desert buffet that will knock your socks off. The price includes all the tea, (good) coffee and soft drinks / juices you can manage. Oh, and don't forget the brass band and dance floor. (PS: You'd wanna dress up for this one too, and take somebody along who can tango or waltz)
For a cheap and very good lunchtime buffet (if I remember correctly about 250 baht / person), try a place called RETRO at Queen Sirikit National Convention Centre. It's a steal, considering what you get for it.
But if you have a sweet tooth, nothing beats a place called the Terrace Cafe at The Peninsula. Lunch and dinner buffets are fantastic (seafood BBQ at night) and are reasonably priced. Whether I helped or confused you even more, at least you're spoiled for choice.

if you're planning to shop at Suan Lum one night (which should be on your agenda). Oh, they have just installed a MASSIVE big wheel at Suan Lum too... Rides are 100 baht for about 15 minutes. Haven't tried it yet (locals love queuing up for anything that's new and novel), but the views should be FAB. I believe it will remain there for about six months. - dated 11 may 2006

Someone who been there recently can verify the Big Wheel?? Probably a ferris wheel

Has anyone flown to Bangkok by Cathay Pacific or Finair for 4D3N(or any other number of days) recently? Can share how much you paid for your tickets? Thanks.

I'm thinking of going there with HB in June.

Thanks Yanling, lyesha and icebaby for your responses.

Yanling, i am thinking of getting the deluxe room of high floor (54th and above) in Baiyoke Sky. The price is not THAT cheap leh...about THB3050...dats about SGD126. But from your description of Baiyoke Sky, seems quite jialat leh....scared i'll be terribly disappointed.

Lyesha, it's just me and hubby. So do u think SGD20 for a one-way trip from airport to hotel is a rip-off?

Icebaby, how do i take the airport taxi? I'm afraid of taking those illegal taxis, u know as u walk, these drivers always trying to ask where u're going. Any proper taxi stations in Bangkok airport? Can i trouble someone to give me the directions for the cab? Can i request them to run by meter....is it wise to do so?

Sorry gals, previously have always taken a F&amp;E package by local agent, hence everything "pao" inside. Now we bot the tix separately hence the inexperience.
Pls help. Thanks!

Girls, I m leaving for Bangkok on 28th May 06 reaching Bangkok @ 4:35 pm. I have errand till 6, then will be free for the night

On 29th May 06, I will be free for full day. The next day will be heading back to home early so no plans necessary.

Throughout my trip, I have a friend in Thailand as companion. He asked me if I could plan the places I need to go in advance and so he could work with the schedules a bit.

As this is my 1st trip, I do not know what are the good places. If anyone could please help work out a good schedule which includes good and interesting places. I only know that the Grand Palace is quite popular, also interested in Tranversite show and tiger show, how much time can the mentioned occupy?

In addition, heard that they have good and cheap seafood place, but then in fact in forums i read abt their dining experience (Seafood) isnt that reasonably priced. And also, ways of cooking apart from tom Yum etc, any other places which offered alternative? Any good seafood buffet in hotels? Feel free to recommend any good eating places pls.

Thx

hahaha ya, very last minute!

tried directrooms and asiarooms but the hotels i want all fully book liao. Bo bian have to switch hotels. Managed to get 1 night in Asia Hotel and 3 nights at Baiyoke. Just had the confirmation few hrs ago...heng ah! If not got to sleep roadside liao

aiyoh......so chiam!!!! switch hotel abit troublesome leh. but never mind at least got place to stay. u book thru which agent?

hi swingme,

actually there are quite abit of info from this forum. if you have 1 free day, you may like to visit the following places:

1) Siam BTS
- siam square (rows of shophouses)
- siam paragon
- siam centre
- siam discovery centre

2) National stadium BTS
- MBK

Food:
- if you are game for for expensive dining, you can consider 'Sirocco'. its at the 63rd story of the state building. awesome view, mediterranean food...

honestytrustfaith: Frankly speaking, booking a sky zone room is indeed expensive and not worth cos usually they give out rooms on higher floors and its good enough to see alot. Not forgetting those higher floors have dim corridors as mentioned previously. Only lvl 30+ corridors are slightly brighter.

Booking by yourself and thru agent is the same except that agent provide hotel transfer. But you can easily take a cab from DEPARTURE HALL if you don't wished to get ripped outside the ARRIVAL HALL and INSIST on meter. But do take note that some cabs don't wanna on their meter so just forget it. I would rather get a junior suite low zone then a deluxe sky zone considering the price. Junior suite room have a small living rm area with 2/3 seater sofa with TV infront and uplighter beside. Its not that bad, don't worry. Rooms are definitely big.
If you wanna get higher floors close to sky zone, you can try booking from htt://www.asiatravel.com
under Precision Reservation, they have high floor request which is close to sky zone. Booking from there is good too, 24hrs online helpline, slightly priced than asiarooms but booking 100% can be trusted.

Hi minssy..

Remember me?? how have you been ? me have not been checking out on this forum for a long long time.. you still very regular ya?? hehe..
me comes in to check out about the BBk info.. me flying off this coming thurs .. anything to share or I should know ?? hmm.. I just learn somthing posted by Yanling, should take cab from Departure Hall instead ? me will be staying at Eastin Hotel.. saw many posts about not many taxi driver knows the place
and not very near to shopping Malls.. not even near to train stations.. hahahaha.. guess good luck to me !! anyway.. do you know where do get cheap and good massage ?? heard of the heathspa ?? but need advance booking.. I dont think I am able to get slots liow..

I just came back from my shopping trip over the long weekend.... 3D2N is definitely not enough. Worst still, it has been raining around noon time in BKK, so pls remember to bring a foldable umbrella with u.

I stayed at Samran Place as recommneded by some of the girls in this thread. Personally, I did not enjoy my stay there. The distance to the train station is rather far... almost took me 15 mins to walk there. Also, no shops nearby.

I have a BTS train map that shows the various shopping areas at each train station. I find it very useful. Pls PM me if u wish to have a copy.

Enjoy

Hi lyesha ..

Maybe we are on the same flight hor.. hahaha.. mine I think is about 5 plus deaprt reaching BBK at 6plus if I am not wrong la.. hehe I will be coming back on 23rd May..

Drangon..
If you dont mind can send me the map please.. thanks in advance [email protected]

Minssy..
I will be waiting for your mail. hehe thanks ya

me back from BKK as well. almost bring back 1/2 of BKK if not for hubby. yes the ferris wheel at Suam Lum is up but din take it cos it rather new and not many pple took it.

Elaine,

Normally what u shld do is surf the web for the "thai" address of Eastin. At least showing the thai address, they will understand.
If not, tell them it is beside DMA Pavillion. Eastin is just beside it.

Dragon_gal,
I am suprise that it takes u about 15 mins to walk there. My parents (both above 55 yrs old) take less than 10 mins. Even my mom and son (3.5yrs old) who walks super slow take less than 10 mins. LOL.
I guess anyway, samran is reasonable price. And the place depends on each person's own "standard". Instead of Asia hotel which cost abt 1500 baht, each night u save 700 baht. 700 baht can take countless of taxi rides.
So it's pro and cons.

angeldust: How big is the ferris wheel? Same size as those in SG funfair? Any other things beside the ferris wheel ride there?

Elaine Yue: yeah take cab from DEPARTURE HALL... Force them to turn on meter... keep your eyes on the meter to make sure they turned on after you board it cos some of them agree but act blur not to turn on.

hi minssy,

i bought tons of things in BKK. faintz.. tees at Pratunam already 20. ha ha ha ha ha... and i bought this carmex lip balm that MUA reco that TCS artiste uses from MBK. i bought 10 at 80 baht each. went to almost all the malls except the newest Platinum Mall opposite Pratunum Market. The new Pratunum Centre is BORING. With this trip, am gonna concentrate more on Pratunam area. HA HA HA Indra regent and Baiyoke for more gd deals next time. din go chattuchak cos my other half fell sick on Sat mrg. its ok. have shopped enuff lah. i think i ate more than i shop.

Siam Square area is good for makan i feel. I ate at Fuji Rest, Coca, The House by the River (along Chao Phraya) went to a pub at Sathorn Road called Good Evening. Next time will target Thonglor side. Mango Tango. Siam Paragon is rather exp. what I do is sign credit card for meals and then leave the cash for SHOPPING. HA HA HA HA HA HA..

yanling - the ferris wheel like SG fun fair. nothing much. Suam Lum is more household stuff. Nice lamps &amp; home decor stuff. but hubby forbid me to buy them home. *hrmph*.

Guys would love the IT mall next to Grand Mercure Roxy. forget the name liao. That place is 3-4 times larger than Sim Lim Sq. Oh yes, Robinsons at Emporium is next to this building and Guy Laroche there is rather cheap. anyway FYI, i had a thai guide (my god niece) with me during this BKK trip so it was quite fun.

hi angeldust,

hahaahhah! good good... sounds really great fun! u buy so many t shirts for what? hahaha

the IT mall you are referring to is pantip plaza rite?

hi apple,

ya also quite gd cos they help me to bargain for local prices. :p

minssy,

tees including spag tops, racer back tees. wear LOR.. ha ha ha ha i liked the ones i got from Suan Lum, 2 for 199 baht. they are black with sequins sewn on it. ha ha ha ha ha... nope. the IT mall is not called Pantip Plaza. Pantip is nearer to shopping area. This IT mall is nearer to Ratcha something district. further up will be the ikky massage parlours for MEN. and according to my god niece there is a NUDE bar there. FAINTZ.. ha ha ha ha ha..

Pratunam market clothes quality seems much better than those at Chatuchak although price may not be as cheap as Chatuchak...

angeldust: Hmmz.. how big is emporium &amp; Robinson? I hope its abt the same size as MBK cos i don't wanna go there and find 1 small shopping centre like Platinum Mall selling only clothing.. Zzz.. then a waste of time going there. Is the Weather there 35 degree celsius??

icebaby..
Yeah.. I got it done, thanks for the advise

Yanling..
THanks too for your advise regards to the taxi fare. will take note

Anybody knows where to find good nite spot ? friend recommeded , anybody been to these places ?

1) Bed SupperClub

2) Jazz it

3) Q bar Bangko

hi yanling

thanks for the note. Personally, now i am very torn. Dunno if i wan to take Baiyoke Sky or stick to safe Pathumwan. Tot i can save some $$ by staying at Baiyoke and spend it on shopping...but at the same time scared that the Baiyoke hotel rooms are disappointing. Hubby says he wans to relax ma. After reading your comments to him, he also a bit scared the rooms in Baiyoke is old and things are spoilt. Jialat...how? Which one shoud i go for? Time is running out!

Hi Yanling,

Agrees abt Pratunam Mkt. I feel Emporium is more like for Auntie and Uncles. Its definitely much smaller than MBK. I popped by just to check out the Guy Laroche for my god brother cos he swears by the Guy Laroche at Emporium. Dunno why. ha ha ha ha ha since he said so so I go there and buy for him lor. But this Emporium is good for families cos they have children section and supermarket. Its like our Isetan Scotts. Platinum Mall so uninteresting? heng din go there. but Pratunam Center was a disappointment lah for me. din buy anything there. HA HA HA HA HA.. but there sells a lot of OTOP (a promotion on local Thai handicrafts) stuff. same like there is a section on OTOP at Suan Lum. But i feel OTOP at Prat Centre has more things.

Elaine - u looking for pubs or discotheque? Discotheques is near the Rachat district and caters to mostly Thai teenagers. For adult pubs, try Ekkamai district. I went to Good Evening along Sathorn Road cos near god niece's house. Haven visited Thonglor area for the pubs. Ekkamai was recommended by my god niece.

Hi honesty faith, Baiyoke Sky is FANSTASTIC place to stay. cos my mum went during CNY. the rooms are clean and good and near Indra Regent, Pratunum Market for shopping. If u prefer to shop at MBK and Siam Square areas, then Pratunum Princess is a good choice.

Next time if I go BKK again I will choose Baiyoke Sky. cos i probably wun shop much at Siam Paragon, Siam Discovery and Siam centre cos more upmarket. ke ke ke ke.. if only I wanna eat then I go there. FAINTZ... only gripe abt Baiyoke is that its in a small lane so maybe will be unsafe to travel back at nite if go pubbing or wat. and its not near any BTS or Subway. And for Pratunum Princess, if u wanna take cab its easy but when approaching say 4pm or 5pm, the traffic is like MAD. cabbies will try to ketok u then.

Suggestion for BKK, travel on BTS if going to Suhumvit areas during early hours and late evenings because Suhumvit road links to many major roads towards Sathorn Business District and Pratunum Area. So Jams there is like crazy on weekdays.

Elaine: You can find disco and pubs along PatPong area. Its backpackers heaven there
Bedsupper club is rather famous, but kinda ex... Its a designer restaurant build not long ago.

angeldust: Dont worry too much abt hotels. Depend on whether you can spare that amt anot? If you are rich and don't mind then take Pathumwan Princess, otherwise Baiyoke Sky is ok. Not all rooms have spoilt stuff. But mine previously basin dripped water when i use. I put a floor rag to absorb the water. That's all. But it really has good scenary and breakfast
Thinking of it makes you forget the room condition.
I have abt 3 photos of Baiyoke Sky rooms which i took previously.. PM me your email address if you wanna see..

I am new in this thread. Will be flying off to BKK on the 1st. Wanna ask where to get those household deco stuff? I heard Chatuchak Market is gd for that. is that right? Also, i wanna buy those big bulky items. How to bring back ah? cos i will be taking tigerair back and i think their baggage limit 15 kg while hand carried luggage is 7kg. dunno if buying those 4 ft lamps can fit or not..

Any advice? I am staying at Eastin too. Heard that the rooms there are big and clean.

Dragon_gal, u got the BTS map? can send me a copy please? [email protected] Thanks!

hi dragon gal

can u email me the BTS map as well? My email is [email protected]. Thanks

Hi Angeldust, thanks for the info!! It really helps. Thanks also for reminding me of the JAM! Almost forgot the notorious Bangkok jam.

wow so many posting.. I have not plan my iternary will let u yanling and ice see ok a not thanks in advance.

i like shopping but hubby dun like but both get tired when wlaking too much haha