Bangkok

bloomiey

bear: 4ft lamp seems abit big considering the width. Probably you might have to airmail it back...

apple: Going Grand Palace? Since you spending so many days.. I hope to go there

man_tou_bear

Thanks Icebaby. my frens recommend Eastin cos they said the hotel was nice and clean. Where to buy household deco stuff, other than Chatuchak market? cos i will be there bright and earlier on Thurs morning and dunno wat to do...

I heard must go shop at MBK? me looking for gd buys so those high end shopping centres not really in my list. any suggestions as wat to do there?

Apple, my itinerary is roughly like that.
1st June: reach 1030hrs, eat, check in and then head to MBK. In the evening head to Suam Lum market.
2nd June: I dunno wat to do!!
3rd June: spend the whole day at Chatuchak.
4th June: last min shopping before heading back to S'pore in the aftn...

angeldust

Hi Yanling,

Oh yes Patpong area also have pubs but be careful to select cos Patpong is according to god niece quite a sleazy place. But shld be alright. We just pass by so din really sit there and watch the crowd.

Agrees. No worries abt pictures. My mum stayed at Baiyoke Sky. last time i stayed at Baiyoke suite which is older. also not bad. Prat princess is a great hotel to stay but pricey lor.

Bear Man - u can get quality hsehold stuff at Suan Lum but bargaining is a chore at Suan Lum. Chatuchak also have i heard. but i din have time to drop by chatichak. then Prat centre also have some shops that deals in OTOP (thai handicrafts) so can pop by see look if u like.

If high end shops are not ur type, I suggest for the following itineraary:

Day 1 10.30 am touch down, arrival at hotel after jams will be around 11.30 to 12 noon. cos I also took earliest flight out.
MBK for lunch, Big C shopping and World Trace Centre (if open oredi cos when i went it was under renovations). Suan Lum Market at night and supper at Suan Lum.
Day 2 - Pratunum Area for shopping.
Pratunum Market, Indra Regent Whole sale centre, Baiyoke shopping mall. Drop by Chinatown at Yowarat Road for bird nest and sharks fin

Day 3 - Chatuchak.

Day 4 - Pop by Siam Square area, makan at Mango tango or some small eateries. Walk walk at Siam Paragon, Siam Centre and Siam Discovery for eye opener. Siam Square is an area of small shops which caters to hip and young teenagers but sometimes can find nice flowery dresses there like what we have in Heeren.

apple - grand palace i din go. i went Wat Pho and cost me 50baht for entrance. Thai pple enters FOC. Grand Palace cost 200 baht but tt day raining so we skipped and went to makan. ha ha ha ha ha..

man_tou_bear

Hi Angeldust

Thanks for ur itinerary!! Hrmmm is MBK inclded in there? Heehee... MBK near to Big C shopping and world trade centre? Is there a lot of things at Pratunum to shop for? as u can see i haven't been really looking for places to go.. heard that go BKK must buy bras... where to buy? heehee...

All the same thanks a lot for the itinerary... u have been a great help..

Can anybody advise on how to bring big bulky items back? shd i trust those ppl in BKK to transport stuff back or shd i get DHL to courier back?

icebaby0

Bear,

I guess for me if given the limited time frame and if your main intention is to shop for "cheapo" stuff. MBK, CCK and Pratnum Market is good enough. Those places can take full days.
If u got time in the morning, drop by at Chinatown. You might like to do that on day 4 morning before leaving Singapore. Loads of cute stuff there.

Bras - MBK has a couple of shops. If not, they say emporium and Big C. I went to Emporium, i feel it's useless. Everything is expensive there.

Food wise - food court at Siam Paragon is good, MBK is good, Platinum Fashion Mall (bird nest not bad, their banana pancake crepe is GOOD!)

angeldust

Hi Bear,

Bras. I din manage to go Zen for wacoal at WTC because it was closed for renovations. but MBK has a truimph shop and I bought my bras there.

Icebaby - i din like Emporium as well. I prefer Pratunum Market, MBK and Suan Lum. HA HA HA HA my kind of places. :p

Makan - mainly i ate at restaurants cos i signed cc for them to spare cash for shopping :p. hee hee.

man_tou_bear

Hey ladies, thanks thanks...

Hrmm okok Icebaby, will just go to MBK, CCK, Pratunum Market liao.. one for each day.. heehee... any places gd for makan? Okok will pop by Chinatown too... Dunno wat my hb will say man.. he has to go shopping with me! heehee...

Angeldust, okok will go WTC to look for Wacoal.. hoping to get the non slip bras...

Nobody can advise me abt the big bulky items? shd i trust those ppl at CCK? or get DHL to courier back?

moninet

Honesty,
if u're torn betwn staying at eastin & PP, why not consider novotel siam sq? it's my favourite hotel (i stayed at arnoma & PP b4) cos it's very convenient & it's a nice hotel wif superb service & brekky! & it's a tad cheaper than PP.. so far the 4 times i stay there, 've not been disappointed yet.. & WTC not open yet..

Bear,
chatuchak has a "post office" tt can help u pack & transport back stuff..

Elaine,
if you're adventurous, u can try din & drinks at Bed Supperclub. i dun eat at Bed cos menu there is chef's surprise, which is a big NO NO for me since i'm so fussy abt my food. but there's a nice homestyle italian restaurant called La Piaola abt 5 mins down the road fr the club which sells good food at reasonable prices, aft tt can go Bed for drinks.. (NANA BTS)

Babykhoo,
i didn't go to marblehouse eventually cos the prices r the same as Chang, wh is my usual place for foot reflx, so i went back to Chang, customer loyalty.. hee hee.. but i did recee marblehouse, so if compare bloomingspa & marblehouse, i will go to bloomingspa if i want a true spa experience but if i wan a convenient, no frills massage then prob marblehouse will be a better choice. it's like our FIL vs hdb facial..

bloomiey

Bear: 1st day you can consider going to Siam Paragon (B1 UnderwaterWorld - Takes at least 1hr+ slow walk inside 450Baht), Siam Square and MBK. Isetan to Siam Paragon abt 15mins normal walk. Siam Paragon to MBK another 15mins walk. No BTS at Siam Paragon if i am not wrong.
Siam Square opp MBK has alot of nice food/restaurants

Probably you could shift your MBK/Siam Square to 2nd day after Chatuchak for dinner and further shopping then 1st day you could have longer time ard WTC, Isetan, BigC, Siam Paragon.
Best to go Chinatown ard 6.30pm+, not so warm and there are steet hawkers with nice average priced food (BBQ Stingrays, Crabs, Big BBQ Prawns, Tom Yum Soup, etc.) too just outside NamSing...

If you have some free time, you can consider dropping over at Baiyoke Sky during lunch time on WEEKENDS only for Tim Sum buffet. Average priced, Great Scenary, After that you could walk along Pratunam Market and make some last min shopping. Pratunam market has some great clothing, belts, bags/wallets for sale..

icebaby0

Angeldust,

Win liao. Eat at restaurant somemore.
But I kinda enjoy eating their food court food...all very nice!

Bear,

At MBK also got a wacoal outlet. But not many designs. I like wacoal there..the designs there are so much more trendy than the ones in Singapore. Sin ones very "ah soh" kind leh.

Yanling,

The Underwater world worth going meh? I heard from pple it's not so good and nothing to see. Compared to Sentosa, sentosa beats it hands down...

bloomiey

icebaby: U heard the wrong side of story already. Sentosa underwaterworld nothing to see. Whatever you can see there, you can see even more at Siam Paragon, The underwaterworld there is much bigger and alot of sea creatures. They even allow you to use hand to touch and carry the starfish of different textures and design. Real 1s hor... Moreover they have a huge fish tank which allow their divers to dive in and do live feeding and chatting with people.

Sentosa underwaterworld, u walk 15mins come out already. The underwaterworld there takes abt 1hr walk. Its definitely worth going if you like sea creatures otherwise nothing would appeal to you..

probably you heard from those who didn't went into Siam Paragon Underwaterworld and make a negative comment. If you really did go in, you will know its definitely way much better than Singapore. Alot of things they have but not in SG

moninet

yeah! i agree wif yanling.. think the underwater world at siam paragon is worth a go.. i didn't manage to go in cos i was busy shopping for my wedding stuff but tt place will definitely be on my agenda for my next trip! from the outside already looked so interesting, can even take a glass bottom boat to be amongst the sharks!

icebaby0

yanling,

i was standing outside the place. Then my dad said his fren (who lives in BKK) went with the kids, so not good. Advise us not to go. Hmm...maybe next year will go if i bring my kids there.

angeldust

hi Bearman,

u are welcome. some shops in Suan Lum also offers freighting but I am unsure cos I din buy any bulky items.

Yanling, moninet, icebaby,
Underwater world cost 1000 baht per entry. I din go in cos 1000 baht i wanan SHOP lah. HA HA HA HA HA.. skipped the FISH TANK since my aim was shopping and eating. MAI DONG XI CHI DONG XI.. ha ha ha ha ha *YAY* *wink* God niece went to our S'pore underwater world before and she said that perhaps S'pore one nicer. I dunno anyway I not interested in FISHES. :D

man_tou_bear

Yanling and Icebaby, thanks thanks!! heehee... i m gonna print all ur posts so that i got reference! gonna make my hb read them too...

Yanling the underwater world sounds gd!! i will go there then.. haven't dive for a long time too so miss the sea creatures...

Okok aft considering ur kind advice, here is my itinerary!
Day 1: MBK, Siam Sq, Siam Paragon, Isetan, WTC,Big C and Suan Lum
Day 2: Pratunum area
Day 3: CCK
Day 4: last min shopping around Pratunum area..

Wat u guys think?

Moninet, thank's for the CCK post office tip! me will check it out... thanks thanks..

moninet

Hi Bear
Isetan is in WTC but WTC still under reno.. if u (or any of the rest) wanna buy lingerie, price kinda std in all the major dept stores, can get it fr siam paragon (SIAM BTS), huge & very pretty range + 5% tourist disc (remb to bring ur passport wif u) & if u spend enuf, u may claim the 7% VAT.. btw, triumph t-shirt bra costs 1690 bht ..*gulp*.. so i settled for wacoal..

Hi Angeldust
it was 500bht last weekend, inclds the ride on the glassbottom boat! 1000bht for those who wanted to dive! hope they wun raise prices back to 1000bht too soon cos i wanna visit it the next time i go!

foreverhappy

hi moninet

Can i check where did u go to buy for your wedding stuff me also thinking of looking for wedding stuff what did u bought? any picture to show me thanks.

hpyue

Hi.

Wow.. so many many posts !! must catch whatever I can before I fly off this coming thurs.. hehe
anybody know how to book the massage for healthland ? coz I email them but it bouch back lei.. any other spa to recommend ? the Bloom very ex lei .. hmmm.....

Moninet.
Thank you very much for italian Rest you mentioned I will sure to go there as I love Italian food, then maybe to bed for a drink, as Yanling mentioned as quite ex.. hehehe just wanna see how the bed place look like, friend said damn good lei.. oh yeah, you mentioned WTC under reno, does that mean that I can go in to zen and Naraya ??
and is it only wacoal bra are cheap compared to triumph and the rest?

angeldust.
Thanks ya.. I am looking for pub, just to listen some jazz or blue, something slow paste la.. me too old to dance liow.. hahahaha.. later bone crack and cannot come back to Sing !! haha

man_tou_bear

Hey Moninet, thanks for the tip.. will head over to Siam Paragon to take a look..

Heard abt the massages there.. any place u guys recommend to go for massage?

angeldust

Hi Moninet,

really? 500baht? maybe next time then I go see but then I still dun like fishes. :p

Elaine - i went to bloomingspa aka Let's Relax. its really a nice environment. they have a package thai + foot + hands for 600 baht for 1.5hrs. I feel its ok cos other spas at hotels like Devarana @ Dusit Thani and Tantara lagi more exp. I feel blooming is rather mid range but I heard there are some spas that are like 260 baht for 2 hrs. dunno where tho. U also emailed healthland and kanna bounce? same here lo. that's why i emailed Let's Relax by bloomingspa instead.

bloomiey

angeldust: i paid 450baht per entry for underwater world 3months back. I dont think they raise the price to 1000baht. They have small cafe inside there too.

apple: Forget abt that dreamworld. I heard it sucks, more for kids ride. So no thrill.

Elaine: Call them and ask for some info/booking first before going to bedsupper club. They said booking might be required but some went there without booking.

little_a

Spas located along the BTS Sukhumvit Line
-------
BTS Saphan Khwai station

Samsara Spa, 1575/53-54 Paholyothin Road, Phayathai, Bangkok 10400. Tel: (02) 278-4054. Located near the Saphan Kwai BTS Skytrain station, offers hydrotherapy, Ayurvedic massage, aromatherapy.
----
BTS Asok station

Divana Massage & Spa, 7 Sukhumvit Soi 25, Bangkok 10110. Tel: (02) 661 6784. Located near the BTS Asok skytrain station, just behind the Glass Haus Bldg, 50 meters off Sukhumvit. Offers body scrubs and green tea detox. www.divanaspa.com
King and I Spa & Massage, Sukhumvit Soi 12, Bangkok, 10110. Tel: (02) 252-5248, (02) 252-7955. Located 5 minutes’ walking distance from Asoke BTS Skytrain station, at corner of Sukhumvit and Soi 12, in Sukhumit Plaza (where you’ll also find great Korean and Japanese restaurants). Look for the small sign. Offers Thai, oil, foot, and aromatherapy massage. Also facial and body scrub treatments. Nice atmosphere and affordably priced. Open 10 am - midnight.
My Spa, 2nd Floor, Times Square Building, Soi Sukhumvit 12-14, Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110. Tel: (02)653-0905. Offers skin therapy, body wraps, etc. www.my-spa.com/body.html
----
BTS Thong Lo station
Bua Spa, 81 Sukhumvit Soi 53, Bangkok 10110. Tel: (02)260-7304. Located near the BTS Thong Lo skytrain station, Bua offers aromatherapy, steam, and massage. www.buaspa.com/menu/index_en.html
-----
BTS Ekkamai station
Grand Spa, 359 Ekkamai Complex (between Ekkamai sois 21-23, Sukhumvit soi 63, Bangkok 10110. tel: (02) 381-6529. Located 10 minutes’ walking distance from Sukhumvit, near the Ekkamai BTS skytrain station. Offers massage, and body and facial treatments. www.grandspa.co.th/index.htm
-------------------------
Spas located along the BTS Silom Line

BTS Sala Daeng station
Varee Spa, 3/6 Soi Saladaeng, Silom Road, Bangkok. Tel: (02) 266-8399. Owner Wanlee Sao offers aromatherapy, body scrubs, waxing, and a romantic couples package. Spa is located six walking minutes south of Silom Road, on Saladaeng. www.vareespa.com
Varee Spa GPS Coordinates: N13°43.666’ E100°32.168’
--------
BTS Surasak station
Healthland Spa and Massage, North Sathorn Road, Bangkok. tel: (02) 637- 8883. Located near the BTS Surasak skytrain station, in a teak house. It’s on the same side of the street as the Dao Vien Vietnamese Restaurant, and opposite from the Bank of Asia. Healthland offers a two hour Thai massage, a Thai Herbal Compress, and Japanese Tourmaline Sauna. Open from 9 am – midnight.

moninet

Apple,
if u self print ur cards, u can get nice & cheap paper, one is at siam paragon's paper section & the other is MBK 3rd floor. CTC & Suam Lum have lotsa of wedding favours but i dun really know how to tell u where exactly cos both places r like a maze but i'm sure if u walk arnd, u will come across those same stuff tt the wedding favour shops in singapore sell..but cheaper of course! & can oso consider tailoring shirts..

Elaine,
u can go to the naraya at asia hotel, or how abt checking out the jim thompson factory outlet @ sukhumvit soi 93? no zen nvm, can go siam paragon instd! =) i was quite apalled at the prices of triumph but so far wacoal still seems pretty reasonable.. the range at siam paragon is really amazing, go check them out! =)

Angeldust,
i oso think bloomingspa is worth a go, the packages r considered quite cheap & nice spa feel inside..=)

little_a

Places to shop :
The Sukhumvit Line

- BTS Ratchathewi station

Pantip Plaza
Pantip plaza is a 5-10 minute walk from the Ratchathewi station.

For electronic exotica, including software, hardware gizmos, and inexpensive, good binoculars, taxi a few blocks north to the amazing Pantip Plaza, a five-story electronic shopping emporium that sells everything under the electronic sun, including items being offered in the shady realm of the barely legal.

Do note that many items will cost more than in your own country. Digital cameras, for instance, will cost you considerably less over the internet through shops in New York City. Caveat emptor applies here. A charger we obtained for our camera battery heated up like the dickens, even though it was a branded name. It’s probably a very good-looking counterfeit, but we paid the going rate. Still, if it’s electronic and isn’t here, it’s probably not to be found anywhere else in Bangkok.

- BTS Siam Square station
BTS National Stadium station (Silom Line, but adjacent to Sukhumvit Siam interchange station)

MBK

MBK is a glitzy, newer center, with offerings similar to those found in the Siam Discovery Center, located diagonally across the street. MBK does have a fairly decent group of electronics stores, although its not in the Pantip Plaza class (see above). The northern end of MBK houses the multi-storied Tokyu Japanese department store.

Siam Centre
Siam Center has older shops, and tends to have cheaper prices than either MBK or Siam Discovery center, located to the immediate west.

Siam Discovery Center
More upscale than Siam Centre next door, shops are trendier. Siam Discovery is located immediately to the west of Siam Centre

- BTS Chitlom station

Without a doubt, Chitlom has the largest number of multi-storied shopping plazas as anywhere in Bangkok. The choices are extraordinary. In alphabetical order, they are:

Amarind Plaza
Located to the south of BTS Chitlom, Amarind Plaza is accessible by elevated walkway.
Amarind is best differentiated by the numbers of business selling Thai silk clothing to women, including several custom tailors (House of Siam was one), mostly on the second floor. In addition, there are a number of textile shops, and stores specializing in Thai crafts. There is a food court on the 5th floor. You may want to go up one more floor to the little-marked 6th floor, and eat at cheaper Thai food stalls catering to Amarind’s Thai workers.

- BTS Chitlom station

Big C Supercenter
Sitting immediately to the north of the Narayana Phand Pavilion, Big C has cinemas, a huge supermarket, and a monstrous discount floor, the 3rd, with great deals on everything from luggage to sportswear. The 3rd floor also has a UPS-Mailboxes Etc. kiosk, as you enter the floor from the escalator.

Central Department Store Chitlom
East of Gaysorn, one block away, same side of street, is the Central Department Store (one of many in the Bangkok area). Considered by many to be the most comprehensive department store in Bangkok. Central offers a 5% tourist discount card. See the information counter on the first floor, and show your passport to receive the card. The card is also good for expats, who may use it for the ensuing twelve months.

Central World Plaza
West of Gaysorn, across the street, Central World Plaza is an unbelievably large series of shops, with cinemas, and a skating rink. The building also encompasses the Isetan and Zen stores. The building resembles Chernobyl, and there’s a noisy, huge LED screen out front that blasts television commercials up and down the street, with speakers placed along the sidewalk ever few meters.

Central World Plaza has just about everything, in a frenetically-paced environment. You could easily make this complex an all-day experience. There’s a lot going on here, and the building includes the Tokyu, Isetan, and Zen department stores:

1) Isetan, which occupies the northern end of Central World Plaza, is a Japanese-designed, orderly, quiet, and most welcome experience. Sightlines in the stores are designed to allow the visitor to see, at a glance, everything else on the floor, impossible in most other Bangkok complexes. Isetan’s 4th floor is our favorite, with a stationery department loaded with interesting Japanese-designed items, and a personal service center which will make 100 instant business name cards, from your computer-designed files, or theirs, for 400 baht. There is a good Kinokuniya bookstore, and a Japanese noodle shop, on the 6th floor.

2) Tokyu is an average, pedestrian multilevel department store, and includes a small supermarket.

3) Zen, which occupies the southern end of Central World Plaza, is a branch of the Central Department store, specializing in housewares and women’s clothing and accessories

Gaysorn
Gaysorn occupies the northeast corner of Rama I/Ploenchit and Ratchadamri. It positions itself as the highest-end shopping complex in Bangkok, with high-design flagships stores such as Porsche design and Louis Vuitton.

Its top two floors, however, are a must for any shopper wishing to see the work of top-notch contemporary Thai design. There are a number of other good shops, featuring Thai-designed products, and a nice tea room on the top floor.

- BTS Chitlom station

Narayana Phand Pavilion
Narayana Phand Pavilion, sandwiched between Gaysorn and Big C on Ratchadamri, encompasses the enclosed Narai Phand, a two-story government-sponsored crafts emporium, and other non-affiliated shops on the top floor, and around its perimeter.

If you’ll be doing shopping for any Thai crafts, you’d be well-advised to go here first, see what’s available, note the prices, and use those for comparison when shopping at the weekend Chatuchak market, or elsewhere. Prices aren’t always cheap here; the khaen (Thai musical instrument) we saw was, at 1,800 baht, double what we’d paid elsewhere. On the other hand, Narai Phand carries spirit houses (san phra phoum), and sells them for prices we’ve seen elsewhere. Of special note are the wonderful bone china Thai-designed tea sets of remarkable craftsmanship.

Narai Phand was initiated by the Thai government in 1937, and represents crafts from all over Thailand.

Peninsula Plaza
Peninsula Plaza is located south of Gaysorn, across Ploenchit, and down several hundred meters, between the Hyatt and Regency hotels. Here, you’ll find high-end boutiques such as Davidoff’s, a number of high-design shoe shores, and jewelry shops. There is also, somewhat incongruously, an antique shop with a stuffed, two-headed goat as part of the window display.

President Tower
There is a two-story “Thai Craft Villageâ€, occupying the lobby and ground floors of the President Tower building, attached to the Intercontinental Hotel, and by walkway to Gaysorn. Of particular interest is the store called “Tribal crafts†on the Lobby level, which features some nice indigenous headgear from northern hill tribes.

- BTS Ploenchit station

Ploenchit Centre is a combination of mostly lower-priced clothing stores, outlets, jewelry shops, and a Villa Market.

- BTS Nana station

The brand-new Nana Square complex features designer clothing and accessory shops, with a Starbucks on the ground floor.

The area around Nana, particularly along the Sukhumvit-Soi 4 nexus, has dozens of predominantly Indian-owned tailoring shops, specializing in custom suits for men. While most display offers of two or more suits for under $100 USD, you get what you pay for. In our experience, buying high quality suits at these stores is worth the additional money you’ll pay, and will be far less than you’d pay in any western country. Discuss quality before price, and you’ll end up with the best of both worlds.

- BTS Asok station

Robinson’s Department Store

Robinson’s Department Store Asok is part of the large Thai chain. Each Robinson’s has general merchandise you’d ordinarily find in a department store. We found their stationery department to be above average, by Thai standards.

- BTS Phrom Phong station

The Emporium
The Emporium complex (not associated with the venerable U.S. marque) is largely upscale, and is surrounded in the complex itself with internationally-known luxury goods stores. There are at least two decent restaurant-coffee shops (Oriental and Greyhound), a babyware store, bookstores, food court, and cinema.

The Silom Line

- BTS Sala Daeng station

Central Department Store
See the Central Department Store entry under BTS Chitlom, above, for the kind of merchandise it carries.

Robinson’s
See the Robinson’s Department Store entry under BTS Asok, above, for the kind of merchandise it carries.

little_a

1. Wat Phra Kaew and the Grand Palace complex

If you’re only in Bangkok for one day, this is the place not to miss. The Grand Palace complex, which includes the ornate Wat Phra Kaew, is a walled enclosure approximately 500 x 300 meters. Although the King no longer resides there, it is still used for formal occasions. You cannot go inside of the palace itself, but the exteriors of the buildings are beautiful, and several of the other buildings are open.

Don’t miss the Abhorn Phimok Prasad Pavilion, the Dusit Maha Prasat, and the Temple Museum. Dress code strictly enforced! As with all other royal and sacred properties, shorts and sleeveless shirts are not allowed.

Wat Phra Kaew, which is the home of the famed Emerald Buddha, encompasses more than 100 buildings. It is a rich architectural gem, with orange and green roofs, stunning facades, and splendid statuary. To get to the complex, take the Chao Phraya river taxi to the Ta Chang pier, and walk east. Cross the intersection at Thanon Maharat, and enter the complex on the southern side of Thanon Na Phra Lan. Open 8:30 am – 11:30 am, and 1 pm – 3:30 pm.

Your entry ticket to the Grand Palace Complex is also good for the remarkable Vimanmek teak mansion, and the Atana Samakorn Throne Hall, located 4 km to the northwest of the Palace, adjacent to the nearby zoo. Vimanmek, a beautiful three-story mansion, is considered the largest golden teak building in the world, with some 80-odd rooms. It houses a magnificent collection of royal artifacts and furniture. Vimanmek is open from 9:30 am – 4 pm. A few hundred meters south of Vimanmek is the Throne Hall, boasting ornate Victorian-Moorish architecture, and housing an exhibition of regional crafts. Open 10 am – 4 pm.

2. Wat Arun

Wat Arun, the 19th century Temple of the Dawn, sits majestically on the western bank of the Chao Phraya River. Its exterior is adorned with porcelain mosaics, filling every conceivable nook, cranny, and wall, brilliantly creative and visually stunning. The statuary is also replete with mosaic adornment.
A fine lookout point up a tall stairway offers great views of river culture.

To get there, take the Chao Phraya ferry to Tha Tien pier, then cross the river via the cross-river ferry. Open 8:30 am – 5:30 pm.

3. Khlong Tours and the Royal Barges Museum

Taking a tour of the khlongs (canals) can be a refreshing way to beat the heat in the afternoon, and you should ensure that you stop at the Royal Barges Museum. Here, you can see the magnificent boats that are used for royal river processions. The largest barge, at over 50 meters long, boasts a crew including 50 rowers, plus umbrella-bearers, and helmsmen. The Museum is located on the north bank of the Bangkok Noi Canal. You can also take a river taxi to the Tha Rot Fai pier, then walk across the khlong to the museum.

Khlong tours can be arranged at many places, including the River City pier, at the Boat Tour Centre. You can also hire your own long-tail boat, but do bargain, as rates can be from 400-1000 baht per hour. A well-known tour goes to the Wat Sai floating market, with tours leaving from the Tha Chan pier, near the Grand Palace, starting at 7 am. Be sure to ask if your tour will include the Royal Barges Museum, and Wat Arun.

4. Erawan Shrine

Located a few steps west of the BTS Chit Lom skytrain station, stands Erawan Shrine, a large Brahmanic shrine built to placate the spirits displaced by the building of the old Erawan Hotel. It’s an active shrine, with constant performances of Thai music and dance, and several stalls selling garlands, incense, and spirit house statuettes. The shrine is located at the southeast corner of Thanon Ploen Chit and Thanon Ratchadamri.

5. Morlam Music at Tawan Daeng

You’ll hear Morlam music, the infectious, upbeat, rocking country music from northeast (Isaan) Thailand, virtually everywhere you go in the city. A fine Morlam music venue in Bangkok called Tawan Daeng (Red Sun), rocks the house down, and westerners are welcomed with smiles and upcountry Isaan hospitality. Here, you’ll see local acts and the occasional headliner, backed up by the exceptional house band. Headliners usually play Friday nights, and if you're lucky, you'll catch stars like Jintara, Siriporn, Ponsak Sorngsaeng, and Daeng Jidtakon. Each singer is accompanied by elaborately costumed stage dancers.

The exceptionally friendly staff doesn’t speak much English, but “beer†is universal in any language, and the food menu is printed in English. This is a unique way to experience the rich culture of Isaan, and hear great music, too. Things really get going around 10 pm, and the club closes at 2 am.

To get there, you can take the BTS skytrain to the Pra Khanong station, then a taxi (approx. 55 baht, on the meter) to the club. You may also print the following map, which you can give to your taxi driver. Tawan Daeng, 484 Pattanakarn Road, Bangkok.

6. Muay Thai Boxing
There are two main venues for Muay Thai in Bangkok, and the pageantry and music are a large part of the show.

6. Chatuchak Weekend Market

The large weekend market at Chatuchak Park is a magnet for virtually every visitor to Bangkok. Here you’ll find antiquities, crafts, books, flip-flops, pots and pans, every manner of sundry, and food stalls and small restaurants. Naturalists at heart will love the stunning selections of orchids and tropical fish. There is also a bank, and ATM machines. A favorite antiquities shop of ours is that of Maem Yong, who specializes in Burmese lacquerware, and who can be found in Section 26, Soi 2, tel: (03) 345-6346.

The place is so large (an estimated 10,000 stalls), that you’ll need a map to navigate, but billboard maps are in front of every entrance, and it’s laid out so like businesses are generally congregated around each other. Chatuchak opens at 7am and closes officially at 6 pm. We advise you to go early, when it’s cooler and less crowded, as an estimated 200,000 people attend each weekend.

To get there, take the BTS skytrain to the Mo Chit station, and exit southwest. Chatuchak is a five minute walk.

7. Suan Lum Night Bazaar and Joe Louis Puppet Theatre

We like Suan Lum because, although extensive (3,700 stalls), it’s less crowded than Chatuchak, and better laid-out. Prices will be slightly higher here, but there are airy restaurants, and the atmosphere is relaxed. Maem Yong (who we mentioned in our Chatuchak notes) also has a shop here offering good Burmese antiquities, at Zone C-55.

While you’re here, plan to attend a traditional Thai puppet show at the Joe Louis Theatre, located within the grounds of the Night Bazaar. The Night Bazaar opens at 6 pm, and closes at midnight.

It’s located at the corner of Wireless Road and Rama IV, and directly across the street (to the west) of the new Lumphini MRT subway station.

8. Segway Tours: a Unique, Unforgettable Bangkok Experience

Floating through the backstreets of old Chinese Bangkok, it’s hard to believe that you’re gliding along on a silent, two-wheeled electrical transportation device, and not on a magic carpet, hovering inches above the ground. We’d read about the Segway transporter, but nothing could have prepared us for the sense of freedom that is part and parcel to the Segway. Seeing a city like Bangkok off the main routes and into the back neighborhoods is something the Segway does better than anything else on wheels. We particularly enjoyed the interaction with the people of backroads Bangkok, who were always delighted at seeing us gliding atop what looks like a push-style manual lawnmower. Bangkok’s full of things to look at, but becoming part of the experience isn’t always that easy to do. It is on the Segway.

Jeff Jarvis, a California landscaper who fell in love with Thailand, opened Thailand Segway Tours, near the southern tip of Sukhumvit Soi 4, in October of 2003. Jeff starts the trip by teaching you how to steer and accelerate the Segway, which takes no longer than 30 seconds. Within two minutes, you’re off for a fascinating 90 minute tour through the beautiful old Tobacco Monopoly complex (soon to be turned into a park), then into a wonderful Chinese neighborhood of traditional wooden houses and shops.

The wonder of this experience is twofold: experiencing a hidden side of Thailand’s largest city, and learning to drive one of the more remarkable means of transport to come along in the past 50 years. We found the 1800 baht fee to be well worth the experience.

Thailand Segway Tours, Woraburi Inn, 128/1 Sukhumvit Soi 4, Bangkok. Tel: (02) 253-6379. Located near BTS Nana skytrain station. www.thailandsegwaytours.com
Segway Tours GPS Coordinates: N13°44.130’ E100°33.202’

9. Mahachai Prison Corrections Museum

If you’re in for something really different, try this, one of the most extraordinary museums we’ve ever seen. Probably the most horrifying book we’ve read on Thai subjects is convicted drug felon Warren Fellows’ ‘Damage Done,’ the brutal story of his years behind Thai prison bars. Fellows spent time in the now-closed Mahachai prison, where only guard towers and several cells remain. Most of the prison was leveled to form the beautiful Rommani Nart Park.

At the eastern side of the park, you’ll find a small museum, consisting of two yellow buildings on either side of the old prison gate. The northernmost building features impressive architectural elements, furniture, and office machines saved from destruction. Immediately south, the next building houses torture instruments, exhibits depicting the beheading and machine gunning of prisoners, and other tools of the trade.

If you’re fortunate, you’ll run into guide and former prison guard Khun Sommai Ninaram, who will tell you fascinating tales of the history of punishment, death, and Thai prison life as he describes the exhibits. Sommai was friends with the executioner responsible for 55 executions by machine gun, and is enthusiastic about the museum. Do sign the guest book.

To get there: The museum is located on the eastern end of Rommani Nart Park on Thanon Maha Chai, opposite Thanon Luang. It’s a 5 minute walk north of the intersection of Thanon Charoen Krung and Thanon Maha Chai. Closest BTS is National Stadium, and if traffic is good, you’ll get to the museum in 10 minutes. The closest river ferry is Tha Sapan Phut pier, and the museum is a twelve-minute walk, following Chak Phet and Maha Chai roads. Walking around the bridge entrances is dicey, and you’ll have to run fast during breaks in traffic. Open M-F 8:30 am – 4 pm, admission free.

Note: The Mahachai Prison Museum is too tame for you? Then you’re ready for the Museum of the Department of Forensic Medicine, Siriraj Hospital.

iluvpopcorn

Anyone know where the tiger and transversite shows are? WHere is it located? And also, any way we can know showtimes thru the internet?

I have a fren who told me these are at patpong, another Thai fren says its one hour drive from Bangkok? Seems like a lot of shows around everywhere?

Pls advise

honesty

moninet, i'm torn between PP and Baiyoke. Not Eastin. Anyway, hubby confirmed take PP liao. I think next time i will take Baiyoke.

Gals, thanks for your help. Btw, another question. My flight will reach Bkk at nite around 9pm. Tink by the time we check in, it's gonna be pretty late. Without wanting to waste any minute, is there any place we can go to at the eleventh hour (literally speaking, hehe) for makan, or drinks or shop like HK? Pls help, tks!

bloomiey

honestytrustfaith: Suan Lum Nite Bazaar.. Open til 1am (Sg Time)

PatPong and siam Square probably has some food n drinks avail depending on individual. Hee. Siam Sq juz opp PP, so very good.

Swing_me: I heard tiger shows are charged by per entry and they allow you to stay there and watch the repeated shows.. Not too sure.
Anyway as previously mentioned in this thread, I have a contact of a taxi driver who can bring you there, of course taxi running by meter. You can call him up check if you are interested. Hes a nice guy.. Dont worry. His name is Tong, Hp 07-0451458. Call him only where u reach BKK.

honesty

Thanks Yanling. Erm...how do i get to Suan Lum nite Bazaar? Are there alot of things to buy there? Is it worth going? Do i jus hop onto a cab and tell the driver Suan Lum?

bloomiey

honestytrustfaith: Thats provided that hes nearby or free then he would be happy to ferry you to Tiger Show by meter. He doesn't know my name, he only gave us his name and contact to call him if we need taxi to go Tigershows. He can understand and speak simple english.

Suan Lum Night Bazaar is cooler cos its a night market. Go there after 7+pm (SG Time) otherwise many shops are still closed. Its slightly smaller than Chatuchak however still take quite some time to finish all. Probably 3hrs?
It is located very near to Lumpini Subway Station (MRT), not BTS. Distance from MBK to Suam Lum cost abt 70baht by metered taxi. Taking taxi would be better since its cheap otherwise you would have to take BTS and change MRT which is so troublesome and it doesn't save you much...

babykhoo

hi yanling,

ur contact Tong bring to which area for Tigershow? i've not seen Tigershow yet, would be interesting to go see this time. everytime go Patpong dont dare go in with hubby leh, scared i'm the only woman inside....hehehe hubby scared the other men think i'm one of the "tiger".

dinner cruise
any of u tried dinner cruises before? i thinking of going on my 2nd nite in bkk. think worth it or not? tot would be easy way of seeing river area and eating good food. oso if got free transport to and fro.

iluvpopcorn

The problem is i have a friend who is bringing me there but he doesnt really know where the location is. Is it okay if i just ring Tong to just ask for the tiger show location?

And what about the transversite show? Any idea?

garcia

Hi Lyesha,

Thanks for all your BK tips! One other thing, any idea where I can tailor make curtains in BK? I am currently working in BK and looking to make some curtains for the home.

If you have contacts, you can email me at [email protected]

honesty

hi yanling

thanks again for the tips. Oh, so this Tong guy ONLY takes us to Tigershows?? I tot i can call him to fetch us to other places as well...

bloomiey

FYI: i got his contact abt 5mths ago. so not sure whether did he change his hp no. If you really interested in going, probably have to inform him advance or something like that as taxi driver are usually driving ard and theres alot of empty cabs on the street.

honestytrustfaith: Not really to Tigershows. But to other places but provided he is free or nearby i guess. Cos that time we went suam lum then he said he wanted to have his dinner and could fetch us to Tigershow 1hr later after Suan Lum but we rejected as we weren't interested in Tigershow. Cost abt S$20 - S$30 i think..

babykhoo: I guess he knows quite alot of Tigershows probably otherwise he wouldn't have recommended that to us.

Swing_me: I dont think thats kinda nice to ring someone up for checking of location. You could easily get these info either from internet or from hotel reception.

foreverhappy

Hi Yan ling can i check with u whether there is a need to buy a prepaid card?
Do we need to pay hotel the usage of the phone is we call the prepaid card. Is the prepaid card for calling back to spore or call in BKK. Sorry i don't know abt this so ask u. How much it cost?

bloomiey

apple: What kind of prepaid card you referring to? International Dial prepaid card? Prepaid Sim Card? I assume you referring to those International Calling Prepaid Card. Of course you still have to pay the hotel for the local call charges even if you use International Calling Prepaid Card to dial overseas.
I think the other alternative and cheap way is to buy a prepaid sim card, then send a international SMS.
That way can communicate cheaper and convenient. Cost abt S$30. As you know, International SMS cost at least 65cents and above, using prepaid thai sim card cost definitely is cheap.

foreverhappy

that day i rem u are selling some prepaid card what is that?

Cos me thinking if we were to call tong to pick us up then need a phone also mah keke if not use the airport phone har?

bloomiey

apple: oO ya.. can use airport phone or hotel phone. Since its local to local charge then it would be cheap. yeah i am selling that time cos have some leftover credits but i think its more than 3mths so it should have expired now. That was a prepaid sim card which i wanted to sell off cheaply but nobody wants. I used it for sms mainly cos its cheap to sms local - international. No roaming therefore can only use in BKK.