Bangkok

Hi Liwen & Peggy
Its in the archive dated Dec18..

Frens told me that its arn 70+ for Levis.. But there might be different designs there..

Where in Pratuname shall I go? Is there a shopping centre name? Also, any recommendations on where to go for massage at good price?

Hi Cookies,

I only managed to go to the Pratunum Market as for massage can refer to the archive which I have posted the prices n namecard of Chang Foot Massage but if you are staying at Asia Hotel beside there is a shop call Gold Hand Massage not bad slightly cheaper than Chang Foot but Chang Foot shop look for relax style...

Andreal not to worry other hotels are safe! Why we felt the tremor, was due to the height too tall and maybe the pilling was not as stablised as SG.

We downgraded to Eastin Hotel, not very convenient but no choice for the sake of our safety. Given a choice Baiyoke is still the best, nice ambience, huge rooms, service excellent!!

Peggy,
Medicine could be found at most of the shops prices are cheap too can further bargain dont buy 1 or 2 but in dozens like what dear dear mention in the list. They are very friendly and mostly teochew selling the medicine so not a problem in communication. As for dog shit, pratunam market area is the cheapest.

Went to survey the first day realised MBK, Big C, Zen, Central these places sell exactly what Chatuchap and Pratunam is selling only thing the price difference. Certain things are cheap depending on what you are looking for. I agree with trazz certain things are real cheap at Pratunam market, market itself close at abt 7.45pm but there will be stalls outside closing at 2-3am along the market all the way to outside Baiyoke sky hotel. Clothes at those night stalls are cheap. 100B for shirt nice one like simple design or zen not uncle type k, Polo tee 150B quality not bad leh not those cheap cheap material. Dog shit must buy here very cheap 1 packet 100B but if you buy 5 packet 1 70B whereas MBK and the rest 150-180B less only 20B the most.
Chatuchap must go and really stop for plenty of water berry crowded cannot cover too big i went at 10am and go back at 6pm still cannot cover real big bring along a bag to put your stuff,casual bag cheap 49B photo frame also 49B i saw at bugis same design same packing bag $39.9 frame $29.9 look at the difference, watch 100B nett all design, T-shirt 69B nett quality good be it BBK T-shirt as sourvenir or those nice one pattern i ever saw at bugis too.Jeans all types of brand range from 199B to 299B depends, Buy really alot ya dont just go there buy a few, i mean flew there must really spend than siok mah, but must agar agar lah. Mu hubby and i drop dead when we reach hotel, but looking at the items make us damp berry happy. Da Feng Shou!!!!!
We also went to pray 4-face buddha and big buddha and went to donate coffin and build buddha cos thats what my hubby's wish of going there. Many SG names and address we saw at the list as well met many SG ppl at the temples. 1 thing i like was that they dont force or preach us its all willing party.

Sorry too long winded, but last ok remember to take map at airport instead of hotel, airport more updated and different than hotels we compare and realise the difference some road and buildings not updated. Will update more, meanwhile pls bless those missing to be safe ya...

Hi esther,
So how is the situation at baiyoke sky? I am going to BKK next week and staying at baiyoke sky.Thinking to switch my hotel stay after reading your post that there are cracks appearing on the room wall.
Appreciate for your comments, Thanx

Hi esther,
Wow u really bought a lot of things... u must have gained lots of satisfaction out of it... Thanks for your sharing on the things to buy, it's really useful. Did u buy any underwear and where is the cheapest? Did your hubby buy any office shirts and where is the best place to get?

hi esther,

afte reading u post, i 'm clear where i need go to shopping at BKK.

I think i can buy wat i wan to buy at Pratunam Mkt. Did u went Suan lum night mkt, patpong mkt?? Can tell me how is ur schedule in bkk shopping Free and easy?

In situation now, my familys ask me dun go bkk.

Morn everyone,
wah i also wana checkout the addidas factory!! for the levi one, dun tink will go down cos might not get the size and design i want *sigh*
Act.Pratunam mainly are ready wears eg. office wear, pyjamas, children wears, jerseys, etc etc. Price are cheaper as that's the place where wholesalers can be found. But in term of other varieties..not as much as chatuchak, Suan Lum, Sampeng (ard Yaowarat)..my view lor.
If anyone of u can speak teowchew (hubby or fren)is beta, cos most chn there belong to this dialect...they felt much closer if u speak in teowchew and will give u a much beta price. I remembered a teowchew lady selling shoes, shop near Temple of Dawn act bought us mineral water the last trip we went, cos the previous times we went there spoke to her in teowchew so she regconised us easily.

Anyone know where to buy those fried insects?

hi esther!
thks 4 that assurance...phew.

For mi, every trip to BKk will not miss visiting Erawan Shrine, Wat Arun (Temple of Dawn)..they are very 'ling' There is oso one well-known temple within chatuchak market itself which many ppl pray, the buddha will bless the person or child to be more itelligent something like our chn god.

hi peggy,
Suan Lum is worth goin..lotsa craft works, accesories..stalls are much cleaner and tidier. There is a huge open space whereby u can sit down for some drinking & food with a big entertainment stage in front, quite relax. Things in Patpong are marked up sky-high price, nvr buy there cos wait kena chopped hee. ppl there are not so friendly and v.agressive in sales. But! will be an eye opening experience to see the nite life at Patpong. esp. the pubs, pole dancing, restaurants. Its definitely a happening place, good atmosphere etc..u'll catch alot of foreigners there.

My fren oso told mi beta dun go bkk. Well..we decided that the trip will still go ahead lor *smile*.

Hi Kaed

The situation normal there now, its normal parents advised us not to go. Cos they worried mah with the tidal waves but i always believe in fate if things are going to happen nothing can be done to change it. Baiyoke Sky is a No 1 hotel esp the buffet and the service thumbs up!!! Its location very convenient.
Hi RC123
As for underwear can go Pratunam complex just opp Baiyoke Sky, all kinds of design and brands Wacoal triump many lah prices almost 30-40% from what i see the design i bought in SG and compare same thing in BBK. At tokyu in MBK the $ also about there, maybe when u go MBK can just buy there too. Office wear for both mens and ladies cheap, quality not bad my hubby bought 8 shirt at 135B/- cheap hor

Hi Peggy,
like what Andreal mention, patpong cannot go lah! Their attitude dam one kind, we saw a tourist fr HK ask the price for the local BBK T-Shirt, 1 pcs 150B the tourist ask for dis, they like how many u 1 2 buy, the tourist said gd price will buy cause they mentioned pratunam cheap he straight away tell them off and shouted then u go there buy y come here, after they left come into the centre of the street and curse and scold them, see also scald damp rude i tell u. The price there all kill ppl put fire CANNOT BUY! Can go and experience their night life berry happening and its diff loh.
Hi Andreal fried insect can be found after 11pm at pratunam night bazzar, 1st day i don know until 3rd day i ask they tell me to come later the man will push the cart and sell, i only dare to eat the grasshopper very crispy and tasty they don know season with what lah, at first i dare not but they let us try a few kind end of the day we never buy, cos they know we dare not eat. Cockroach are so big and scary dare not try!!!!
Buy things, look see look see is very siok and relax, esp when things are so fancy and cheap. But maybe let the tidal waves matter rest and decide to go later if there is hesitation. If not just proceed with the trip and be extra caution ya....

Hi esther,
Wow thks so much, must go tell my dat hubby esp. the grasshopper. eh u bery daring ley!!!hehehe...yeah yeah esp. cockroach, they got tos bigger species ones *fainted*

hi pple, can i juz check if anyone of u noe if i can book budget airline that includes airport transfer, accomodation for a F&E trip?

Hi magix_wand,

U can...When u approach the agency, they will ask u which airline you want...Normally include airport transfer, 1/2 day city tour, accomodation...

HI Esther,

May i know what time does pratunam open until? i heard from some friends that most of the clothing shops there close around 5pm bangkok time? Is there a night market or bazaar which starts and closes later?

Happy New Year to all,

Hi sunjade pratunam open from 8am and close at around 7.45pm. But not to worry, the night bazzar outside the market open till late night at about 2am depends sometime 1.30 am they start packing liao. The stretch is from outside the market unitl baiyoke sky hotel.

i wonder this help, like i mentioned my hubby and i were affected by the earthquake we called up the agency in BBK and they arranged us to stay in Eastin Hotel. After chatting they told us that in future should we go BBK for holiday we can book the air tikcet in SG and they arrange the hotel for us rather cheaper than through SG agency.

Can I check how many nite shopping are there? Is there one known as Suan Lum (lumphini) and where exactly is this place located?

Esther, when are you going?

Going to Bangkok during CNY and stay in Baiyoke Sky. Feel very worry after I read Easther's posting. Is there anyone going to Bangkok and stay in Baiyoke Sky? Anyone change Hotel?

Hi zenn

Suan Lum is a more expensive version of Chatuchak minus the heat and crowded-ness!! Nice to go, interesting food to eat there.

Have to take the BTS to Asoke (I think), then change to the underground train. Get out of Asoke and walk to the train station. You can ask around or simply following people. Take the train ride about 15bht per pax to Suan Lum station. Careful about the gates (after dropping in the coin-like tkt), they are quite tricky. Have to walk thru them fast or they will slam on you.

Have fun.

Nelle

Hi Angeline
Don't worry Baiyoke Sky is a good choice! The place is very convenient and the rooms are spacious and buffets are mouth watering. Just to share with u ppl, my boss and family went there to eat and there was a couple who died at the restaurant cos the food is so delicious! Can you imagine? We changed hotel because we were afraid as we feel the shake inside the room, moreover the chaotic there made us feel worried that we decided to change hotel.At night when my husband and i went to pratunam night bazzar the hotel still look intact and there ppl staying at the hotel. My boss told me if there is an earthquake quickly hide under the table and not run even if you run the building collapse it will also hit us. If you are afraid just stay at lower floor.
Hi cookies&Crm
The agency is :Saen Sanuk Tour Co, Ltd
You can look for Ms Paad. Tel : (662)650-0033 or Fax : (662)650-0363 or e-mail : [email protected]
Their agency is located at Eastin Hotel 1st floor.
Hi zenn
I came back already. If everything is smooth might go again in nov/dec. BBK nice place, ppl are so friendly and helpful and shopping is paradise ok get what i mean spend to your fullest. Or you will regret inside the plane oh why i never buy this y i never thought of buying more so cheap!!! hee hee
Angeline Baiyoke definately your No 1 choice!

Hi Esther,

Thanks for sharing your experience and view about your stay in Baiyoke Sky. Saw & read alot of news about the demaged and death caused by the tsunami very scare.

Any recommendation of spa in BKK?

Hi nelle,
Thanks! So issit worth going? Wats the operating hr at Suan Lum? Btw issit similar to 'Papong' nite shopping? Sorry for so many questions ya

Hi esther,
Oh ok. I will b staying in Eastin too but when I check up the web, Eastin seems rather wulu? Where is Eastin exactly located and any shopping nearby?

Read from forum that some mentioned "Cabbage & Condoms". Is this a restaurant or ? Where issit located n wat do they serve?

Saen Sanuk Tour Co, Ltd was the agent liaised wif my tour agent on 2 of my previous trips!!! yup their svc not bad.. just under Eastin Hotel.

Suan Lum Nite Bazaar is nxt to Lumpinee Boxing Stadium open fr 3pm - Midnight. Usually ppl go ard 6pm where all shops are open. Beta atmosphere when crowds crawl in wif stage entertainment.

For those who plan to go Chatuchak, Suan Lum etc can get a broucher fr their so-called tourist counter which hv the bazaar map that can help u get ard w/o getting lost! *winkz*

Ppl who dun stay near bts, dun worry lor cos if u are in Siam Sq or Erawan Shrine (by cab)..u can then take bts fr these places to other stations like National Stadium, Phloen Chit, Asok etc. Usually when coming bk, with so many bags of shopping and legs wobbling...many will consider taking cabs bk to hotel

Esther,
haha loks like u too will be going bk BKK for sure. act i ever thot of booking flight and hotel myself which is indeed cheaper. But one thing not sure is the transport fr airport to hotel...eg. a grp of 4 person with 4 meduim/big luggages, will hv to separate into 2 cabs rite? Dats our prob cos we got 1 guy, 3 ladies. We scare of the safety for the 2 ladies which is in another cab. I will checkout fr Saen Sanuk if they got a small van which can take up 4 or more ppl together to hotel, and oso the price. I really dun feel safe with the cabbies in BKK

zenn,
mi staying at Eastin tis coming trip on 27th Jan (eastin, d'ma & bangkok palace hotel all in a row). I've stayed there b4, hmm just that its not near BTS aka MRT..nt near to any shopping ctr. However within the same area, u can find Big C, WTC, Erawan Shrine, Pantip Plaza (IT stuffs) etc but nid to take cab unless u a gd walker(20min++) Will be a walking distance to Pratunam Market. BTW Eastin is along New Phetburi Rd, ard the hotel got many shop houses cheap & gd!- chn medicine shops, tailors, cafes, restaurants, massage, 2 7-11 etc even street hawkers..esp for tos ppl lok for supper & daily needs after coming bk fr late shopping, then its really convenient. There tis street hawker outside 7-11 selling pad thai, osyster omelette bery yummy (jus dun eat to much)

I guess many tourists keep coming bk to Eastin is bcos of the professional staff svc as well the hotel interior deco..even i was surprised cos the outlook of Eastin is like a simple old hotel heheh...

Hi Hi
Anyone has booked air tickets to BKK recently for Jan tour? I saw in the earlier posting that the tickets is at $98 for SQ in Jan....
Planning to go for some shopping...

Does anyone have the address of the adidas warehouse in BKK? I was talking to some fellow flight passengers when I flew back from BKK in Nov. They went there by tuk tuks but the the person who have the address is seated quite far away therefore I didn't ask.
I was told that the apparels etc are cheap but shoes are not.

nelle

Hi Andreal_Lee
Will try to make it a point to go BBK every year for praying purpose. By the way i check with the agency if you booked hotel through them they will include 2 way transfer from airport to hotel. Don't worry, personally i feel service is important, on that day when the quake happened, after checking out from the hotel, i called the agency and they immediately arranged me to change another hotel without hesitation. Service was there loh. At first i went to Eastin without knowing the agency was there it was like i went to check D'ma and eastin price for the last night they quoted me 2200B but when i tell them they arrange for me only 1500B (although end of the day we didn't pay cos it was consider a downgrade of hotel so....
Yah talking about street hawker eat moderately ya cos our eating habit and theirs is abit different. Staying at Eastin 1 problem i face is the location, not very convenient and its distance away from those prominent shopping that we are going requires alot of walking. But its ok walking with your goodies at hand is siok!!! ha ha still i prefer Baiyoke Sky the feel is there how i wish i am still at BBK shopping and eating walking and buying .......looking and bargaining

wana check wif anyone know where got tackle shops sell fishing rods, reels etc?

esther,
just to share wif u, there's tis temple very very famous in pattaya called 'Bai Long Gong' haha u so cute but true leh only can hv that shiok feeling in bkk. i heard many ppl commented Baiyoke Sky breakfast bery sumptous.
If only there are more budget hotels ard bts like siam,chit lom then it will be so much more convenient.

zenn,
ure welcome *S*...enjoy yr trip and remember hor get the hotel namecard b4 u go shopping k.

Abt spa, u can checkout this one -> www.bloomingspa.com
i haven been there but aldy heard gd comments abt it fr forum members.

I just came back from BKK trip. Regretted never stay longer. I went there with the mentality nothing much to buy but to my surprise, the things can be quite classy and hip. I stayed in Asia hotel for 3 days 2 nite. Went to Pratunum, Zen, Suan Lum, MBK, Siam Discovery, Siam Square, Chatuchak. Shop till my leg almost broken...

I didn't buy anything from Pratunum, it's too crowded and there's no fitting room in the shops so didn't really shop for clothes. I bought lots of underwear from Zen. They have 5% discount for tourist and if you spend more than 800b, can receive 10%-50%discount for subsequent purchase.

Suan Lum is really a nice place to go. U need to take a MRT to reach there. Lots of interesting things to see and the variety is a lot. Bought some wooden coaster, wooden puzzle and a t-shirt there. But actually some of the things can be found in Chatuchak and its even cheaper there.

Chatuchak must go in the morning. By noon, it's very hot. We only spend one morning there cos we dare not take the food there so need to travel out for lunch. Bought some mugs and chopsticks. Very cheap. Very tempted to buy their porcelain tableware but dun wan to take the risk to bring them back...

In MBK, the shoes are cheap... no time to shop for clothes and other things. Bought a pair of jeans. The service is good, they provide alteration FOC and collect within 30min. There's sales in Tokyu, things on sales can be quite cheap.

The best thing I bought is a pair of wedding shoe from Siam Sq. I'll show u the photos when I've time... There's this shop that sells shoes for dinner occasion. Very nice and cheap. Bought mine for only 600b.

Food wise, we like the jap food at Fuji Restaurant. 2 set meal with drinks cost us about 400b. Went to the papaya restaurant. The food can be quite spicy. They recommend us this fried noodles very spicy. The fried fish is good but dun order this salad with crab, very fishy. The food is cheap and good.

That's all for my review... happy planning for those who's going to BKK...

Hi there, seems like there're a group of pro shoppers here.... Just wondering if you could tell me where to shop for L-size clothes (tops/blouses/dresses etc) in BKK...
It seems like most of their clothes, the largest size there is the M size here....
Also, is it easy to buy shoes/heels for pple like me who wear size 8?
Thanks a lot!!!!!

Hihi...

Little lamb,
You are making me very excited hee

Hey issit very x to take taxi to suan lum? Any nice makan area there?

I heard that half of Chatuchak stores open in fri afternoon? Issit true? If going on weekends morn, how early would b gd?

Andreal,
Oh thanks for reminding! Hey the spa looks gd. Any idea do I ve to make adv appt?

Anyone heard of http://www.spaburi.com/ ? I found it from the forum and looks not bad too. Anyone tried b4?

hi little lamb,

Can u teach me how to take mrt to suam lum?? i heard if take mrt by walking very far to suam lum, izzit?

And how u went chatuchak?? by taxi or by mrt? if by taxi, how much u paid?

Where is the Zen? how to go there? U jus come back from bkk, do u have take bkk map at airport? have u keep it? if yes, can attach with email to me?? [email protected]

two weeks more, i will go bkk. i oso 3D2N at bkk. After reading your review, i wan planning those shopping place how to go. Dun wan waste too much time to find those place i wan go shopping.

Do u have went Sampeng lane in chinatown? Thinking planning go, but i scared no enough time to go, and chinatwon quite far from anoma hotel.

little lamd,i reach hotel about 1pm, so i think i go pratunam mkt 1st, evening go suam lun till night. 2nd day morning, i go chatuchak till noon. Lunch at MBK, Siam sq, Siam Discovery, go world trade... at evening after dinner, i go pratunam night mkt. 3rd morning go chinatown. noon go bk hotel 4pm go airport.

Wat do u think about my planning for bkk trip? Can give some comments?

Sampeng is a nice place for shopping. Alot of the things are at wholesale price. The last time I went there...wow....it's amazing. I saw a lot of things that I see at Molecule.
Worth going...I am planning to go again...

Hi, blueblue

How to go to sampeng lane? If by taxi, how to tell the driver? Is it near Yaowarat?
Thank you in advance. So pai seh to ask so many questions, dun mind ya.

Hi, LKG

Me also planning to stay at Bangkok City Inn this coming March. Didn't stay there before, but read some reviews, quite ok lor. Although it situated in some kind of back lane, it's quite near to Central World Plaza.
Anyway it's a budget stay to me, thus i dun expect too much though.
When you going to BKK?

Hi Peggy, I don't know what time sampeng market will close. I went there in the early afternoon after bird nest at Nan Sing I think. It was recommended by the shop assistant and to our surprise, it turned out to be a fruitful trip. I guess late morning should be good time.

HHi ohstrawberry,
I walked there from the Birdnest restaurant in chinatown.It's a straight road down from the shop. So I din take cab.

I want to go again leh. Din buy enough. Still so tempting to go. anyone got good deals for package?

blueblue,
ok thanks.
Actually I DIY my trip in march, quite cheap.
I booked valuair Earlybird @$138 + Bangkok City Inn Hotel(5nites) @$165 = Total only S$303.
However no transfer from airport, got to take taxi ourselves. But the taxi cheap la, so no worry for me.