Bangkok

rc123

Hi Zenn,
I didn't take a taxi within bangkok cos the first day we took from airport to hotel, think got chop by driver, we paid 350b for the trip... think it's quite ex...

The MRT is very near to Suan Lum (they call it Lumpini). You will need to take BTS to Salang Daeing (this is the stop where Patpong nite mkt is) and transfer to MRT. In 1 stop away (can't rem the name) u alight and u'll be able to find the nite market.

There's some open cafe/restaurant. Not very sure cos didn't check out the food. It is quite happening there...

Chatuchak opens at 8am. I'm not sure about Fri...

Hi Peggy,
I took BTS to Mo Chit to go chatuchak. You will be able to see the market from the train.

I didn't manage to get a map from airport cos all taken up. If you can get it from here, it saves you the trouble. The map given by the hotel not very useful.

Your itinery looks ok... quite similar to mine, just that if you plan to buy things esp. in MBK, you need to give yourself more time. In the afternoon when we go, it's quite crowded and makes it difficult to shop and find your way. Same for chatuchak, it's like a maze, sometimes we also forgot which section we have being. If you go with a motive, wanting to buy something but can't find, it can be quite frustrating cos too many shops and the market too big...

sereneli

Hi Little Lamb,

I heard from those travel agents that the taxi fare will cost about 350 to 400bht to reach the town centre. So I guess you didn't kena chop lah.

sugarbabe

hi Zenn, Try nt to go to Chatuchak on friday as nt all the shops r open! I went there on a friday morning n v disappointed to find that nt all shops r opened

And may I noe whether Thai ppl celebrate CNY?? Me thinking of gg there on third day of CNY!!

dear_dear

hi sugarbabe,

according to my mum, at bkk they do celebrate CNY but dunno which day then they will open the shopping. my mum always go there during cny. I helped u to check with her

zenn

Hi gals..

Thanks thanks!

Sugarbabe,
You were at chatuchak till what time on fri?

Little lamb,
Chatuchak opens at 8am on weekends but whats the best time to go? 10am?

Someone mentioned that there is a massage centre outside Eastin hotel. Anyone tried b4?

sugarbabe

i reached chatuchak abt 9+am on friday but most of the shops r closed.. but althought nt all shops r opened, we walked ard the area n leave abt 11=am.. heehee

Hi dear, I called up a travel agency n chked, they say the shops will be open.. but dun mind u help me chk with ur mum!! thks!!!!

zenn

Hi sugar,

Thanks but I am leaving this afternoon hee Heard half of the stores will open on fri afternoon...

Anyone know what time does the shop at Sampeng Lane close?

dear_dear

hi sugarbabe, i check with my mum only on day 6 of the cny then all the shops open. my mum was staying at chinatown area.

hi zenn, i reached chatuchak abt 9plus on sat most of the shops are already open n shop till 2pm n give up walking bcoz its so hot, packed n stuffy and we had already bought lots of things already. remember bring water there bcoz u will feel very thirsty.

hadoe

Hi, strawberry! My trip is arnd the Hari Raya Haji period... It has been like ten years since I last visited BKK and reading this forum with so many valuable experiences and tips from everyone simply gets me so excited about my trip!!!

I was kinda worried abt the hotel cos it is only 2 star, I'm not too sure abt the quality... heard their standard machiam our Hotel 81... wonder how true???

Trying to plan my itinerary now (7D6N), could anyone share yr own itinerary with us?? Thx!!

zenn

Hi sugar,
Thanks thanks!

Hi dear,
Any idea what time does the shops at Sampeng Lane close?

Wow looks I ve to wake up v early if going to chatuchak!

dear_dear

hi sugarbabe, i guess so bah. i try to check more information for u with my colleagues in bkk.

hi zenn, i remember first day in bkk i forgotten i had only adjusted the time on my watch not hp so i set my hp alarm at 7.30am (s'pore time) which mean 6.30am (bkk time). I wake up my hubby, parents, sister n cousin for breakfast and still tell them its late already. When I was cleaning up my face in the toilet n look at my watch how come only 7am? kekeke blur queen right?

I got no time to go Sampeng Lane so dunno what time the shops close over there. sorry can't help you on this.

hadoe

Err. Hello, positive me!
I bought the SQ Promo at S$198 per pax and I am booking BKK City Inn for accomo...
Not too sure if the promo is still avail now...
Wish you good luck!!
Try checking with the tour agencies too!!!

andreal

for tos who plan to go Sampeng can consider going after hving meal @Chinatown, Yaowarat. If ure eating sharkfin at Nam Sing or Hai Wai Tia, then walk to Sampeng is ard 15-20min. If wana take cab, just tell cabby go Sampeng, Yaowarat (best to show the map to cabby, incase they kay kay act blur cheat u to other places.)

Bery impt, most of shops in Sampeng close ard 5-6pm, so go there either morn or lunchtime!!

hi zenn,
yesh u need to make appt with em, esp on wkends *S*

blueblue,
eh mi too like going Sampeng. Can get cheap watches, bags, esp. hello kitty, mashimaro, walts disney stuffs bery bery cheap.

Sugarbabe,
i remember u said wana plan go BKK ard CNY *wink wink* im going 1wk b4 CNY, oso scare whether those chn shops got open anot. hubby was telling me scarely some of em need to go bk their hometown to celebrate? ahh...hehehe

dear_dear!
can oso help mi ask whether the chn shops close even b4 CNY (eg days)?? cos my hubby lor said mayb some of em need to go bk hometown might close early. I guess if its true, its shd be affected to tos shops in Yaowarat.
Ohh btw abt the time diff. my hubby that time oso like you go wake all of us up at 6am+ after his hp beeped, my fren even go wash up then lok at the clock...then realised. End up we went for bkfast cos cant slp aldy hahaha

berry

near Baiyoke Sky Hotel there's another hotel called Baiyoke Suite Hotel. But FYI i oso got heard of a hotel called Pratunam Hotel which a tour agent shown mi the pic of it b4, err..loks more like a 2star hotel..i cant remember if Pratunam Hotel near Baiyoke Sky anot.
Ask agent again the hotel's name? cos i definitely don't see any Pratunam Hotel near Baiyoke Sky in all the BKK maps i hv.

andreal

hi LKG,
for bigger sizes of clothes i dun see much, but still can find some shops at MBK & Pratunam and casual wears at Chatuchak oso but must walk alot to look for em *smile*.

destiny

Hi LKG, Im also going to BKK during Hari Raya period next mth (7D6N). What do you plan to do there - our trip kind of many days rite???

How much you book the Bangkok City Inn? I haven book yet but have sort of decided on Ambassador.. still waiting for one of my travel companions to cfm.

abay

Hi Jo(Milan),

I have juz cancelled my 2 nites stay at Baiyoke Sky Hotel and staying at Bangkok Palace. Saw a posting in another forum, during the earthquake the Baiyoke Sky hotel is swaying and the house guests can hear the cracking sound.

sugarbabe

hi andreal, think those shops (family business type) ard chinatown might closed during CNY but b4 CNY, nt very sure leh.. Wow, I so happy leh gg BKK again!!!!!! haha behaving like a siao woman even my hubby cant tahan me!! haha

Me staying at Eastin tis time cos heard that Baiyoke gt cracks in their building, but dono hw true lah but better play safe lah.. Btw Andreal, is Eastin ok??

hadoe

I am planning to shop, eat, massage/spa, meet up with friends, clubbing and make a short trip to Pattaya as well...
Hotel not too sure booked liao or not, my friend is doing the arrangement...
Think it is abt S$36 for a twin room with breakfast....

BTW, just heard from the news that Tiger Airways are offering cheap tickets to BKK, one way @ $50 or less... Keen parties, please go check out!!!

princessjen

Dear Gals,

Here's the direction to King & I..
<font color="0000ff">Take BTS to Asok Station. Get out from e Times Sq exit. Continue walking until u pass an overhead bridge. Turn left at the next small lane &amp; u will see e big signage Massage &amp; Spa, just 1-2 mins walk(Refer to restaurant section,meal at Cabbages &amp; Condoms)</font>

Hi Andreal,

Caught u again going to BKK...me din vist blooming spa the last trip..as u said too far leh..wan to trip King&amp;I tis time bt duno got time anot cos ILs going joining me n hubby leh..
me going next fri..

Hi gers,
I just came back from my Bangkok trip....
Had fun there and did lots of shopping...

Hi Andreal,
I think you are referring to Pratunam Palace (hotel). It's pretty near Baiyoke Suite and Baiyoke Sky... My tuh-tuh went pass that hotel... well, it looks quite okie from the outside...

Hi celtricia,
Nice seeing you here...
I also heard that Baiyoke Sky got cracks and was shaking when the Tsunami hit Phuket... But I think it should be safe now...
Have fun shopping...

celtricia

Hi butter..

nice to hear u had fun during ur trip.. any thing or pics to share? thankz for ur reassurance as i've emailed the hotel abt the cracklines and they say there isn't any... so me juz got to pray hard everything will be well.. heh..

andreal

Angeline,
wah..loks like Baiyoke Sky definitely not safe ley :p BTW which forum u read huh? FB or?

berry,
see butter reply, the hotel u mentioned name is Pratunam Palace *smile*
Are u going to book there? if so, can u update us of the stay at this hotel after ur trip...heheh wana know if its fine then can consider in future.

Sugerbabe!
hanor hanor, so excited..the 1st person to plan itinery lar, pack luggage. i noticed this time round my agent ask mi to collect the air tics bery early (3wk+ b4 trip).last time fr other agents, only collect a wk b4 trip. Am i been sensitive or issit bcos of the tidal wave so u know....
Eastin's room+bathrm, svc, deco, overall consider very good. Most memorable is the lounge for bkfast! u can find the lounge pic in eastin website, mayb to some ppl might not take it as not near bts..haha but im sure u will like it.
http://www.eastinbangkokhotel.com/fac.html

pjen,
haha nw i caught u going too!*winkz* yup blooming spa like outa way, if u manage to go King&amp;I let mi know hw issit hor. Hope u enjoy yr trip!

butter,
Wow..so u got gd harvest for BKK la.
Oh so the name is Pratunam Palace, hehe hv re-route yr info to berry liao. Thks!

littlefoot

I'll be going to Bangkok on 20 Jan for the first time and i'm rather worried and excited too.

Decided to cancel my booking for Baiyoke Sky hotel after reading the postings.. therefore, i am still waiting for confirmation from Arnoma Hotel or Eastin Hotel..

I am trying to plan my itinerary now.. is it possible for anyone to share your own itinerary with me so that I can have an idea of how to plan?

Thanks a lot!!

ohstrawberry

There also another massage place Body Tune near Emporium, exit from the side door, it's situated in front of the seafood market.
Heard not bad, in fact they also got another branch st Silom BTS station.
You all can try it out after shopping at Emporium.

abay

Hi Andreal,

The post is from the Yahoo Travel's forum, the topic is 'Anyone staying in Baiyoke Sky recently'.

littlefoot

i need some help here.. i am trying to plan for my itinerary..

my flight leaves bangkok at 8.30pm. therefore, i have to reach the airport by 6.30 right? if that is the case, what time do i have to leave bangkok for the airport?

ohstrawberry

Hi, littlefoot

you can refer to my attachment on how to go to Wat Pho, I'm going by the boat cause can sightseeing the river at the same time. U also can take cab there, but it's quite far, so need longer travelling time.
As for leaving for Airport, i'll suggest 1.5hr to 2hr earlier cause ard that time is their peak hour, better to leave earlier just in case.

littlefoot

My trip to Bangkok is only 4 days 3 nights.. trying to squeeze everything into these days.. seems to be rather cramp..

my plan works out to be something like tis..

Day 1 - Sogo, Zen, WTC, Isetan, Big C, Gayson Plaza, Narayana Phand, Pratunam

Day 2 - MBK, Siam Square, Siam Discovery Center, Siam Center, Sukhumvit Robinson, Phong Prong Emporium

Day 3 - Jatujak, Suan Lum Night Bazzaar

Day 4 - Chinatown

trying to squeeze some time in for massage at Wat Pho.. but seems to be rather pack liao leh.. can someone tell me if my plan is ok?

andreal

littlefoot,
act ur itinery loks ok
noticed u add in more of tos shopping ctr hor.hehe

Just an example of itinery 4 my coming trip on 27-31st Jan :

27th, Thurs Night - Since i taking even flight @8.55pm shd reach Eastin Hotel only ard 11pm. put down thing go to Patpong OR take massage &amp; supper nearby hotel. Slp early since nxt day got tour.

28th, Fri - Prepare 4 Chao Phraya River &amp; City Tour arranged by agent (8-10/11am), skip city tour to go Wat Pho (11-1pm), Go Yaowarat for lunch and head to Sampeng 4 shopping (1-4pm), MBK/Siam Sq/Discovery Ctr etc (4-10pm incld dinner), bk to hotel. If nvr go Patpong on Thurs then can add in here. Go 4 massage and supper.

29th, Sat - Erawan Shrine (8-9am), Chatuchak (9-5pm),
Suan Lum Bazaar (6-10/11pm) *Other plan after dat will decide on the day itself*

30th, Sun - Chatuchak again but shorter time (9-1pm), bk to hotel. Go WTC/Big C/Gaysorn/Central Chit Lom (2-6pm incld lunch) *Other plan after dat will decide on the day itself*

31st, Mon - Go Erawan Shrine to pray again since last day in BKK. Relac &amp; start to pack up. Can go for a swim/suana @Eastin Hotel. Make last min shopping if need to. Then bring bk all the sweet memory on plane bk to SG!! :p

Note - Places like Pratunam/ King&amp;I/ Cabbage&amp;Condoms/ Emporium/ Robinsons/ Khao San/ Wat Trimitr etc fall under *Other plan..* on Sat &amp; Sun