Bangkok

Hi tomatoes,
can try MBK. there are plenty of shops there. should have maternity wear. I didn't really notice cos me not the lookout for such things... haha!

heard from my fren that chatuchuk is realli humongous.. She took 2 days to finish shopping that mkt!! My god, I realli cannot believe tat!! Anyway is it true that its realli tat BIG??

mint,

ok thanks for the info. Anyway, i will drop by the levis factory to take a look. But i doubt they have my size lah... Hahhaha.. :-)

sugarbabe,

countdown.. 4 days left!!! I'm sooooo excited abt the trip!!

i went to the money changer at suntec city, opp Giordano. The exchange rate is 23.92... Before that I went to some money changer ard, the rate is ard 23.8... Quite a good deal for us @ 23.92 huh!!

Hi serrich,
Ya, chatuchak is really that big but a lot of repeated type of shops. For me, I took half a day only cos to me it's just rows and rows of the same stuff. Also, if you see something that you like, bargain till you're happy with the price and get it straight away cos if you walk around and think about going back later, you'll never be able to find the shop again. The exchange rate that you got is really good! Next time, I will change money there liao.

thanks to poohy for sharing a good deal with us.. otherwise we wont know that the money changer at suntec gives such a good rate huh!

but its realli a small shop and the queue can get quite long huh... I went on sun and the queue was pretty long lei... :-)

hi serrich, ya heard from my frds that the market is realliiii BIG!! haha.... ya excited huh.. 4 more days!!!! oh 23.92!! we exchanged at golden mile, onli 23.7!!

sugarbabe,

if u did not change a lot then still ok cos nt realli a big amt lah... I went with frens to change.. they change 1500SG.. I think they want to shop till drop!!!
140344.gif
I onli change 500SG! I think when I come back, I should have shed at least 2 kilos.. Hahahha...
140345.gif

u gals have any idea where to get cheap airfare tics this last min huh?? Suddenly one of our frens say wanna join us. I went to SQ website, the airfare promo over liao.. We got the tics at 200 now selling at 476.. We are desparately trying to help her get cheap airfare..

Have tried Airasia, the flight is abt the same timing but different service provider and she dun feel comfortable travelling on the plabe alone lei...

sugarbabe,

hmmm.. since alreadi change liao, then no choice lor! Wat to do?! Next time remember to go suntec check out their good rates then change lor...

me soooo happy..... looking forward to the trip but cannot make bb wf hubbi liao... Hahahhaha... ast min, i fren joining us then wanna share our room so no choice lor! Got to disappoint my hubbi liao!

Hi, read that some of you bought kitchen stuff like plates and bowls... can I check how you transport back these breakable stuffs? Thanks!

Hi norish,

we couriered it back. it was 31kg worth of plates and bowls. cheap. Overall, including freight cost, cheaper than buy in SG. however, you'll have to ensure that the courier put FRAGILE stickers all over.

the stuff arrived one day after we returned from BKK. It was all in good shape!! PHEW!! My friend got a supposedly non-breakble stuff broken when it arrive. Long story...

ST Law - how you ship? Is is true there's a DHL counter at chatuchak? You carry everything to the counter, or the stall do it for you?

Sorry ah many questions, going to BKK this Sept, and intend to buy lots of stuff for new home which I just got the keys to

wld like to join in your discussion as I'm starting to plan for my nov bkk trip,,,understand tat e rate offered by mustafa is also gd, & saw from other thread sometimes bck tat we can call to query to get a feel of e rate before gtg dwn(of course hope tat e rate does nt derive too far fr e time u query for e rate) but i dun have e no. with mi now.

Morning ladies!
For 1st timer go Chatuchak, it loks huge to ya(esp. w/o map)..most likely wana go bk the nxt day hehe. Subsequently when u go again & familarised w/ the place...then will spend lesser time there liao. BTW near Chatuchak, there's a spice market oso.

MTDT,
there's no food or shops near Twin Tower.
For Pratunam night market (till 8-9pm)
Patpong bazaar(till 1am or slightly over)
Suan Lum bazaar(3pm-midnite)

For Pratunam wholesales, is fr early morn till ard 6pm only. Most of the makan places close at 10pm. There are some dat do open quite late...er let mi check if i still got the food list in BKK.

mint,
hw much u bought the nancy chandler map ah? :P
thks for telling us the location of levi factory, i will take note of it in future trip.

Sugarbabe,
adoi..nw den i know u so slim ley!!!*envy* kaka...really a bonus pt for u to get clothes there. Tho i wearing m size in SG, its consider almost XL/XXL in BKK which v. seldom even hv oso.

serrich,
u got try zuji.com.sg? er..cant tink of others liao *S*

win,
u going in nov? im planning in dec. u be taking package fr agent or arrange on yr own? The last time i went in dec, the package rate was v.ex..so i decided to do some early preparation.

hi andreal,

yes, tentatively in nov, where there 2 pub hols on e 11 & 15, hope to travel on e 10 & continued into tis period. The last time to bkk/pattaya was on tour, now juz wan to go bkk, so will arrange on my own. hotel + flight + metered taxis.

Andreal,
Thanks! My fren managed to get her tics via airasia..

sugarbabe,
me realli excited abt it!! My fren told me that she is only bringing 2 sets of clothing. 1 for outdoor and another one is her nitegown! She intends to buy clothes there and wear.. Wahhh.... Damn siao on!!!

serrich, bonjour!

clothing, I cant confirm you like it or not, but I'm sure bags, bras, shoes.....ai ya, everything cheap cheap lah...

must try the bird nest and sharkfins...yum yum..

just remember, if 1 goes in the cab, make sure, all of you go in at the same time, there is one incident where the daughter went in, the driver zoom off, adn the mother was chasing the cab, so only this, you must be careful, and if you all gals going, try not to go out too late lor....

Especially Patong area k....

me would like to join this siao on bkk thread..

getting excited for all of u..me going on oct 30 also..does any1 of u know if there is weight limitation for luggage???

soli one more qn, is pratunam nite market n whole sale market same?

Managed to secure my book for 4day3nites for Arnoma Hotel during mid-sep. Phew! Really has a hard time getting a good hotel as next month has alot of conventions going on...

Hi Andreal,
I got the nancy chandler's map at the hotel lobby gift shop. Got it for 180 baht. I think I kenna kotok already cos buy from such place. Should be able to get it cheaper elsewhere.

tomatoes,
good for you... let us know what the hotel is like when you get back, ya?

norish,
Wrap the breakable items in newspapers and then put between clothings. Also, bring those type of hard case luggage so your fragile stuff are protected.

serrich and sugababe,
wah you gals change so much money ah? I only changed 400 sg for both me and my hubby to spend leh... but when we shop at dept store, we pay by credit card. Only pay cash at market areas.

Mint - intend to buy many many kitchen stuff, so maybe can't put all in suitcases. Now doing research of how else to transport back.

Anyone have any other info on courier etc of breakable stuffs?

serrich, my hubby same as ur frd.. he even more siao, juz 1 set of clothin onli!! haha then buy frm bkk n wear!! haha.... i change more juz in case lo, cos feel nt v safe abt using my credit card.. hehe.... ah 1 more dae!! haha

Hi Norish,

I had to lugged everything together with my partner around the whole of Chat market as we couldn't take short cut with so much things. Boy, it was so heavy and tough.

We went to this Fedex place near Section 8. There is also DHL, I think....

No time to walk the whole of the place. Definitely need more than 1 day. Furthermore, they have a new area opened. I also don't know where it is...sigh.

haha so farnie when i read abt the set of clothing bring to BKK, er..cos the recent trip all of us brought only 2 sets. Simply wore the new ones we bought over BKK (this is nt adviseable to bigger size ppl). I saw some ang mohs lagi best, they wore the t-shirts inside out to reduce the smell..ehhh :P
*Sugarbabe & serrich - yo enjoy ur trip k!!

win,
Eh dats a gd one! hotel + flight + metered taxis. Intend to do dat oso.

My hubby wanted to go on tos dates u mentioned but too bad both of us can't get leave so gota look in other mths.

Sugarbabe,
oh mi ah...cant sleep ah, working leh so dats why i normally post so late ;P

Princessjen,
maxi check-in baggage wgt is 20kg for most airlines, hand baggage wgt shd be ard 7kg.
The night market is something like pasar malam which will open ard 6-9+pm only. The wholesalers open in the morn till 5-6pm only, u can find em at Baiyok Tower and another area near Baiyok Tower.

tomatoes,
wow..at last ur hotel confirmed, happy for u leh.

mint,
okie in dat case i beta lok out ard Siam Sq etc.

ST Law,
hey the new area u mentioned issit extension or another new location? cos under Nancy Chanlder's website did said that there is a new Jatujak Pharam 3 / Chatuchak Rama III located next to Rama III (Pharam 3) Soi 30 (I3).

Hi Andreal
Yah, can set my mind at ease now. Does anyone know the tel no. of the money changer at Suntec City? I thinking of changing $1K for makan and shopping there. Hee!

norish,
oh I see... then like what the other gals said, can transport it back via courier service.
Enjoy shopping!

if u think Suntec rate is good, wait till you go to the Siam City Bank Exchange Counter in the WTC. The rate is definately much higher than Singapore side. We been there 2x this year and the rate is good...

So if your baht run low, you know where to go ya.. " )

Hi Pipakao
Thanks for your tips. I am staying directly opp WTC. So will probably change half in WTC and half in Singapore if I do go suntec. If not, I will just everything in WTC. Hee!

do any1 of u have known of pretty gd agency tat offer gd F&E pkg to bkk? seemed tat nov schedule is nt out yet but some regular agency tat u pples usually bought pkg from shld be pretty consistent.

wat I lookout is agency(mostly nt those big ones) that have competitive pkg, early morning flight, noon/evening return flight, bundled with gd hotels(even for topup), honest agency,bla bla bla,,,or
can I say bkk pkg is veri standard irregardless of any agency? I'm trying to consider tis option if I find tat flight + hotel + metered taxis route is nt tat competitive after all. thnks

Hi Win
You can try Wingo Travel: 65357337. I find their rate pretty cheap compare to other agencies who are more expensive by at least $20 on the same package. Do look for Shi Ching. I find her very friendly and helpful.

Hi tomatoes,

thnks. I'll call her to be on their notify list once nov pkg is out. I alreadi on e list from Holiday Bagus from Tanjong Katong Complex recommended from another sb forum fren here.

for money exchange, it is always better in bangkok itself. there is now a few machine in bangkok airport which does currecy xchange. u just have to put in $50 Sin notes and they will exchange it. for instance, the day b4 i left, sg rates was 23.15, when i was there, the machine rate was 23.65. for $1k i get 500 baht more which is a lot of money cos for 500 baht, u can buy 2 pairs of shoes there liao!

the machinese has a big sigh exchange and is located where the belt are. or exchange at the money changers in bangkok airport, also a lot better.

mandy,

u mean the airport also gives such a good rate arh??? Haiyah, if i know should have change a little here in SG then go there check out the rate hor?!

will see how lah.. If nt enuf to spend then change at Siam City Bank at WTC lor... :-)

Anyone been there for hair cut or treatment?? Is it cheaper there??

mandy,

for my case, i m not too sure abt if the airport rate is better. cos the 1st time i went, i compare the airport and Singapore side, it was competitive. 2nd time decided to change at BKK airport but the rate was really disppointing.

after scouting around a few bank rates in town, found that the SIAM CITY BANK (not SIAM COmmercial BANK) offer really good rates. It is located at the basement, at the entrance opposite Gayson.

Moreover, they allow u to use ur credit card to draw Thai Baht. But must bring passport lah.

" )

Thanks for all the tips carrying/couriering back heavy and fragile stuffs. Hmmm...looks like must check out where the DHL counter at CTC is before making any bulk purchases.

Hi Pipakao,
I just came back from Bkk and I changed my money at Siam City Bank at WTC. The rate was 23.7 only.

hi mint,

so sorry, if my info mislead you, cos that was my encounter for April and July. btw, what was the rate compare to Singapore?

maybe we should have pple update us on the latest rate on both side daily. so if any ladies is in BKK now, can update us, then those in Spore can decide if they want to change here or in BKK

Hi Pipakao,
it's ok...
the rate was not much of difference from Singapore (at airport) but the other gals here have said that the rate at suntec is 23.9 which is quite good. Heehee! I guess the ladies in BKK will be busy shopping that no time to post the exchange rate here.

I juz came back from People Park Centre to change $. The rate there is 24.0! I immediately change S$1K. Dun know if it is the best rate around now.