Bangkok

peiyi

hi dear,

wat airline u take? i boughtairasia, and tis is my 1st time take budget airline, abit worry about the budget airline. Should be prepare that budget airline not so comfortable. Check wif u, do u know airasia is at terminal 1 or 2 ?

How many days u stay at bkk? i stay 5D4N in bkk.

dear_dear

Hi Peggy,

SIN-Bangkok I took Tiger Airway, Back to SIN I take Airasia. I dunno airasia terminal 1 or 2 leh. I have taken Tiger Airway before quite ok lor but I never take Airasia before.

I stay there 4D3N...29 Oct - 1 Nov...Maybe we can meet for breakfast hor...U going with who?

peiyi

hi dear, i go with my hubby. I oso back on Nov, wat time ur flight?
My time is 1645, fligt is FD3505. How abour u?
i request hotel give me high floor room.

yup, we can meet for breakfast. hehe

estben

Hi all, just to share my experience.
For those who want to really save cost, u might want to try booking from BBK agencies, which i posted some time back ago, rather cheap, all u do in sg is to book airline.
For those who stay at D'ma, not bad opposite cafe sell very good coffee. Its next to Eastin Hotel, umm not bad. Night market is everywhere actually depending on a big or small scale. Its also within walking distance to Pratunam Market which is next to Baiyoke Sky.
Pratunam Market is not open 24hrs it start early at 8am and close at 730pm. Following after the night market. Average scale which stretch to Baiyoke until 2am. At abt 11pm the man will push the trolley selling fried grasshopper, worms etc... ha ha berry nice ok

Baiyoke Sky is a nice and spacious hotel, quite classy and the breakfast is rated the best from tourist as compared. The night buffet spree is mouth watering...... Again voted best by tourist!
For those who like to eat meat, might want to try Zhu Jiao Fan at MBK located on the foodcourt 7th floor. I tell you its berry nice must try, almost every trip there my husband and i will eat. The san chen rou is fatty yet berry soft and juicy don feel like its fattening.... At the extreme end sell the thai appetizer as well must try...
In fact Chatuchap sell alot of fantasy items which require bulk purchase inorder to get gd discount. The items in BBK more or less is duplicate means u can buy it anywhere just that the pricing...
MBK, Siam Sq, Big C, Zen all must visit if u ppl got the time. many practical items like office wear, causal, naraya bag (must buy for lady.. maybe not all) shoes, bags.... CHEAP. At those Siam Sq little shop is another heaven paradise for all ladies oout there, i tell u all the IN clothes-office, dinner, clubbing and pregnant clothes all nice and cheap, alternative place to shop.
Well BBK is another paradise for us to buy things, eat things buy things eat things until u drop dead at hotel, not forgetting to stop for foot reflex and spa......Infact many more other deals.........

bellebelle

cookie,
my HB just came back from BKK, he mentioned that it was raining for the past 4 days. As I mentioned earlier, it was also raining everyday for 4 days when I was there 2 weeks ago .

elchwong

Meow: Sorry I read ur post too late...but I did c some v.nice kids clothes at Siam Discovery Centre...if I'm nt wrong the brand's 'Mini Me'...

Me n my bf jus got back on Mon after a 5D4N trip to BKK...considering us being 1st timers I tink we covered quite a number of places tat ppl have mentioned in the BKK threads of forums I've visited...its a pity I've missed out Big C, Patpong, Kao San n Sukhumvit...

My ankles were so sore each day after endless hrs of shopping tat I've to buy a small tube of 'Counterpain' to massage my ankles each nite b4 I slp...there's nt enuff time for me to visit the places I want to visit therefore we din wanna spend time going to massage parlours or spa centres...

Taking the BTS is easier, more convenient n cheaper than expected...it's so much better than taking a cab or tuk tuk if the place where u wanna go is accessible by BTS...jus get dwn at stns like 'Siam', 'Mochit', 'Chidlom', 'National Stadium' n etc n there r many places(e.g MBK, Siam Sq, Siam Discovery Ctr, JJ Market & etc) for u to shop the whole day...

Most things u c in major shopping ctrs can be found in JJ Market n Suan Lum Night Bazaar n at a much cheaper price...my bf n I bought 2 ninja weapons (aka 'fei biao) for 300BHT each after bargaining at MBK...at nite we went to Suan Lum Night Bazaar n saw the same item selling at jus 190BHT b4 bargain...feel so conned...haiz...if u r nt in a hurry...do visit the mkt n bazaar 1st b4 making any purchases at the shopping ctrs...

Jus my 2 cents worth...

hallie

Hi vonn,

Thanks. I will look out for it.

Aspiration,
Oh no......must pray hard it dun rain for this coming wkend. I'll be gog to BKK this fri....11/2 days to go......;p

tamarind

I will be bringing my 2.5 year old daughter to Bangkok in Nov. Are there indoor playgrounds in the shopping centers ? Can someone let me know which shopping center ? I can't afford the time to go around looking for them.

batubata

Sinkor: Where r u? esther & elchwong have given their latest updates, so u better be prepared to shop more, leh........
"Bangkok IS a shopping paradise"
It would be fun identifying Singaporeans shopping in BKK........ & looking at their faces, full of glee!!!

Peggy: all budget airlines are at T1 for the moment - a budget building is on d way

tamarind: didnt bring kids so cannot recall seeing any indoor playgrounds, but hope someone out there does, otherwise either they left the kids behind or hv no kids!

elchwong

Hi tamarind,

I dun rmb c-ing any indoor playground for kids during my recent trip there...tink u gotta jus bring ur kid along n shop n shop n shop...

sinkor

Hihi Batubata,

Ya, I have been reading the updates info that they provide! Thanks! But I dun think I will buy alot of things in BK as after BK, I will be flying straight to Korea.... so scare my luggage will be too heavy and kena charges for overweight luggage!

Hi tamarind,

From my past 3 trips to BK, I also can't see any indoor playground for kids...... seem that you have to bring your kid along.....

yamiyogurt

hi pple,

maybe u can search for thai embassy using google n send in an request online. I did and they sent me brouchure,maps n tourist disc cards ! very helpful... jus tot of sharing with u girls here

meowie

Elchwong,
Can tell me where is JJ market? Never heard of this place before leh.

What's there to shop at 'Chidlom', 'National Stadium' BTS station. Is National stadium the one jus infront of MBK?

racherlle

hi gals!

i'm going to BKK again in Oct! hehe
i will be stayin at Baiyoke Sky.. for those who hav stayed there before.. is it inconvenient? hmm i took the BTS and saw that the hotel is pretty far away from the nearest train station..

can't wait to go there and shopshopshop til i drop again hehe

any gd recommendations as to where there is gd spa & massage?????

hi yami!
thanks for ur info!

still remember me????? so ur home's done up already? hehe mine too.. remember the other time we are still counting down for the keys to be handed over!

wedding9999

How do I go to pathuwan mkt from MBK ? Take a cab ? No train there ?

Then after pathuwan to go WTC ?

What nice & cheap food to eat ard pathuwan mkt & WTC ?

Thks !

yamiyogurt

hi rach... of course i remember u. how fast time flies. I am going bkk in nov too. we seems to be going to the same places.. think we both went phuket last yr. :p my house reno is completed already

baiyoke sky is not near bts station, but i heard the breadfast is v good. :p u may want to take cabs, pratunam (where baiyoke sky is ) is near shopping areas... :p

bellebelle

meow,
JJ=chatuchak. You can take the BTS to Mo CHit then you can just follow the crowd to JJ market. MBK is just in front of National Stadium BTS.

peiyi

hi, aspiration

Have u post BKK Map for me? B'cos i remember i had email u my staying address, but i never receive until today. So, i check wif u and if u no post to me then i no need waitting u.

bellebelle

Peggy,
I'm sorry i cannot remember if I've posted it to you. I've deleted all the emails with adresses after I've posted the maps out last Tue/Wed. But as I've only 6 maps so not everyone that requested will get it.

racherlle

hi yami!

hehe which hotel are u staying?
i stayed at Novotel Siam Square on the last trip.. it's a SUPER convenient hotel hehehe

yaaaaaaa any home pics to share w me? hehe
u ROM already rite? hehe so hav u decide when is ur Big Day? mine is in May nxt year.. i'm doing my ROM together too hehe

elchwong

Hi meow,

aspiration has answered ur qn...jus to add on...

-Siam Station: Siam Ctr, Siam Discovery Ctr, Siam Square n etc...
-Chidlom Station: Central Chidlom n etc...
-Mochit Station: JJ Market
-National Stadium: MBK

FYI...MBK is actually oso accessible fr Siam Station...a big overhead bridge actually link Siam Ctr, Siam Discovery Ctr n MBK 2gether...

Therefore, alighting at Siam Station will be a wise choice...

estben

Hi Racherlle
There is a spa at baiyoke sky, not bad for hotel guest 550B,foot reflex umm around 250-350 if my memory dont fail me.... Infact, travelling in BBK via their tuk-tuk is real fun so maybe can try to replace with tuk tuk or even their taxi very safe. Moreover, u will be berry tired after all the shopping man.... imagine still want to walk from station to hotel.....
Happy shopping everyone...... Don't hesitate to buy more rather cheap if u feel like wasted give to your colleague as a goodwill gesture! Back in april, i bought soo many things which i am so happy and siok, excess items i gave to my colleague they were so happy, the next trip they went to other places they bought me a gift too! Don't broad over what to buy and not to buy feel like buying just buy, anyway u don always fly to BBK, don later in the plane : haiz i should have bought that... this... poor thing!
Ladies out there happy SHOPPING

helenbar

Hello everyone!! Wow! this thread is really big! I am intending to go to Bangkok on 14th Oct. Have yet to buy ticket. I want to just buy the air tickets, not the hotels. Can anyone here tell me where to get the cheapest tickets and how to get them? What are the numbers to call. I hear so much about the cheap cheap tickets but don't know how to buy them. I'm talking about tickets that are less than $50.... are there any? Pls advice. Thank you.

racherlle

hi ester!

yup will be moving ard in taxi in BKK coz it's sooooo cheap there hehehe
dun worrie i always shop hard haha.. make my bf worried.. :p

hi yami!
have u chosen which date in May 06 already? wah excited! scarly we wed on the same day! hehehehe
hav u tot of the destination for ur honeymoon?

hi helenbar!
i tink currently the cheapest tix u can get is from www.jetstarasia.com
gee!! i was intending to leave on the 14th Oct too.. but couldn't get seats on Valuair for my free airtix promo...

tamarind

Hi Helenbar,
Try www.tigerairways.com, they are having $9.98 one way to Bangkok.

Do you mean $50 including all taxes ? That is impossible now. The airport, fuel and service charges all add up to at least $70, so the absolute cheapest that you can get is $70, even when the airline is giving away free tickets. All the airlines will advertise their fares before taxes, which makes you think that it is really so cheap.

shirley_htt

Hello everyone,

May I know how to go to the Bangkok temples (eg: Wat Pho)?

And how to go to Pratunam Market? How to take a train there instead of taxi? Went Bangkok with my hubby the previous time. We thought we went to Pratunam Market, but nothing there....mostly are the older woman clothings and watches. Everybody posted and say Pratunam Market is good, so I start to doubt that the one we went isn't Pratunam Market.

vonn

Hi Shirley,

Wat Po, u can take either tuk tuk or taxi,i dnt think any train reach there.
Pratuman, i also went but like wat u said...i only saw those like wat u said....to me the clothes there is like wat we see in SG city plaza.

shirley_htt

Hi vonn,

In that case, for Wat Pho, can I go there by river taxi also?

Anyone went to the temples using the river taxi? How much they charge and how long it takes?

helenbar

Wow! Thanks for the info!

Anyone heard of the dentist in Bangkok? I heard that they are good and cheap. Any recommendation?

paopei

U'r welcome, Shirley and Tupper_mum. Actually should thanks to Tupper_mum hehhee explain so details. Wah ... so fast book again the ticket

tamarind

I always heard that bird nest and sharks fin are good are Chinatown. But I don't know exactly where to look for it. Can someone recommend a restaurant ?

tupper_mum

Tamarind,

For real 100% authentic, go to NAM SHING restaurant.

For cheaper variety, lots of it at the CHinatown Street. at the White Orchid Hotel area.

Paopei,
Actually should thanks Amanda (aka Mandy Seet), she is my personal friend and she is the one who spend effort to write to me every single locations for GOOD FOOD!

Though shopping I venture diff location from her, cos she PET LOVER, while I HUMAN LOVER (My daughter)