Bangkok

sereneli

Hi Jade,

You cannot compare in this manner cos the agency will earn a fee on top of what jetstar price is

hi jade,

agree with serene. agencies will earn on top of the jetstar price. if you really really cant find, then use that for airfare and treat that as a lesson. next time, dun ever get from natas okie?

hi jade,

agree with serene. agencies will earn on top of the jetstar price. if you really really cant find, then use that for airfare and treat that as a lesson. next time, dun ever get from natas okie?

sereneli

gals,

just a note too. NATAS doesn't offer good price for Free & Easy packages one...cos I was there to find out more for a taipei F&E trip but all agency told me no point getting there cos price is the same as normal days.

sereneli

gals,

just a note too. NATAS doesn't offer good price for Free & Easy packages one...cos I was there to find out more for a taipei F&E trip but all agency told me no point getting there cos price is the same as normal days.

wedding9999

Thks BatuBata !

U know roughly how much per pax for Crepes & Co & Cabbage & Condom ? Any other gd & cheap restaurant to eat at Sol ?

Any gd suggestions to eat for gd food ? Not too expensive. Ard S$12/pax & less than S$20/pax. Prefer restaurant. Any nice & cheap buffet ?

Thks so much !

wedding9999

Thks BatuBata !

U know roughly how much per pax for Crepes & Co & Cabbage & Condom ? Any other gd & cheap restaurant to eat at Sol ?

Any gd suggestions to eat for gd food ? Not too expensive. Ard S$12/pax & less than S$20/pax. Prefer restaurant. Any nice & cheap buffet ?

Thks so much !

sinkor

Hi Batubata,

I saw the Swiss Park Hotel look not bad and any advise on the service and stay in this hotel? Is it near Nana Station? Near Manhattan Hotel? Near Robinson Shopping Centre? Thanks

happytea

Wedding 9999,
the Grand canyon cafe is a good choice for cheap meals, there is one at this Central mall, (previously world trade centre), and MK restaurant at MBK, try their duck, very delicious.

Jade,
you can try hotels at Sukhumvit, along the the BTS routes. there are many hotels along the ASOKE and NANA stations, the prices are comparable to Asia Hotel.
search at website for prices before you go to the agency for their choices for you. worst come to worst, book your own hotel online.
i used mainly http://www.gothailand.com/ and http://www.asiarooms.com/

elchwong

Batubata: Thx alot!

Jade Chee: I'll suggest tat u go ahead wif the trip n 'waste' a bit rather than forgo the whole deposit which is alot...I'll be staying at Samran Place(http://www.samran.com) which is just 5mins away fr Asia Hotel...so it's nt too bad....sorry for wat happened to u...jus take it a lesson learnt...n make the best out of it...cheer up!

I'll be flying off 2nite at 9.25pm...so excited...hehe...

slog

Hi all, has anyone ever done teeth whitening at any of the hospitals/dentist clinics in BKK?

Or has recommendations?

batubata

wedding9999: regretfully,I am not a great foodie coz my diet mainly consists of vegetables & simple foods but I still eat meat occasionally so what I think is nice may not be to another person - anyway, the food there is like chiak boi liao, not like here, so uncreative or is it the people???
If I can recall at Cabbage & Condoms, dishes start above 300B & I think a course meal from 1000B - must do booking, ask ur hotel.
Over at Crepes & Co, depending on your choice most starts abt 300B coz I like crepes but get headache in choosing. have a look @ http://www.crepes.co.th/
Go Sky Bar for a drink on the 63/fl@ Silom for THE experience, itz fantastic & exhiliarating! but cannot wear too casual.

elchwong: U r welcome! Have Fun.....!!!

Jade Chee:Yup, I agree with elchwong, take it as a lesson to study the place up, so that u can do DIY on ur next trip!

meowie

Hi everyone, i'll be flying to BKK on 1st Oct. Want to find out more places beside the usual place i go like Chaptuchak and MBK.
Can someone tell me where Yaorowat is? I intend to buy childrens (6-12months)clothes. Will i be able to find them from Pratunam market?

Elchwong,
Can you do me a favor? Do you know what babysafe latex kids pillow and the brand baby first wardrobe(selling pillow case)is? If you do, can help me check where got sell and the price as you go shopping? Your help is greatly appreciated.

meowie

Jade,
I book with Alvista. I'm flying with tiger air and stay in Novotel paying $380 for 4D3N. It may not be cheap too. Initially when i ask and paid for Novotel, the agent called and found out to be fully booked. We were so scared as we are afraid we dun have a place to stay. So he gave us another option thats Pratuwan Princess but jus top up another $20. Why dun you try to change to another hotel? I've not stay in Novotel before but my colleagues told me its not bad. Its very near to their BTS, HRC and MBK. Why not consider top up a little if they have slot there?

vonn

Hi Meow,

I jus came back this monday and I bought a few sets of children shop at Pratunam market, very cheap 2 piece set at S$4 and those 5 pieces set at S$7+, the prices i quoted are in 3pieces above purchase(they call it wholesale price). But to me pratunam is not fun at all!
FYI, chatuchak is not tat cheap like last time, partial of the stores wont give us much discount wan. But i would highly recomend suan lam night bazaar, the decor there and clothing are better than chatuchak though smaller than chatuchak
From asia hotel to suan lam by taxi is only about 50-60 bahts (depends on the traffic flow).
Do let me know if u have more queries.

vonn

Jade,

Dnt feel too sad, i paid $350 per pax by jetstar and stay at asia hotel. I find it ex too!! Next time i go...i will jus book directly from airline and hotel.

dear_dear

I book online directly going on 29 Oct - 1 Nov. SIN-Bangkok by Tiger Airway & Return by Airasia. Staying @ Asia Hotel with one day free BTS tickets each person. Each person $298.

meowie

Thanks Von,
But i recall Pratunam close pretty early right? They open everyday? The places you bought was at night, those hawkers or daytime in the market itself? Still need to bargain or not huh?

The very first time i went to Suan Lam night market was very empty. It was 2years back then when it was newly opened. Any idea how much is the cost if i were to take taxi to Chaptuchak?

inlove

Hi Jade,

I'm going on 24th Sep for 4D3N and staying at Pathuwan Princess cost us $378 per pax excluding tax of $123 by Thai Airline. When I booked with CTC, they assured me 100% refund if my choice of hotel is not available. I told them I only want Pathumwan Princess and they came back to me yesterday saying the standard room fully book so I top up for delux room. So you might consider choosing another hotel maybe in the range of 4 to 5 star or upgrade to delux room.

vonn

Hi Meow,

Pratunam from the info i gather its open 24hrs, but when i go there on a morning, the shops were just opening up for biz (so i think its not 24hrs).
I went chatuchak on sat and sunday mornings at abt 9am and left for shopping centres at about 12+noon to avoid the heat.
i stayed at asia and the train station is at the 2nd level, so we took a direct train to "mo chit" and walking distance to chatuchak is only 10mins. So most of the time, we took train and if most of the time u will be taking train, u can buy the 100bahts ticket for a day travel.
Suan Lam is much established now.....most of the stalls filled up....to me and hubby, we prefer suan lam....
both markets can bargain wan...but mus chop chop them, especially if u r the 1st customer.
BTW, the taxis there very cheap..pls note dnt get con by tuk tuk. Once i wanted to go suan lam, the driver quote me 150bahts and we find it ex and took a taxi instead...and its was only 60bahts...(for taxi, they will round up the fare wan....lets say fare is 63bahts and u give them 70bahts, they wont give u change wan(but anyway 7bahts is only S$0.20+.
And the food court system there is by coupon wan, if u have bought excess, its refunable.
I went to most of the shopping centres...if u need more info can ask me...hee

meowie

Thanks vonn,
wat if i take taxi and cost 60baht but dun have enough change and only got 100baht? Will they return the change? Thats the fare from aisa hotel to Mo chit?

wedding9999

Thks happytea, batu & obaeson !

Any other gd places to eat at MBK, Siam, WTC & Sukhumvit area ?

So now no more WTC ? Now is called Central Mall ?

Where is Gaysorn Plaza ?

vonn

Meow,

that is the fare from asia to suan lam...i encounter once was the fare was 69B and i gave him 100B and he only return me 20!!! Fedup! his tips was 11B! I think for yr scenerio, they will return u either 40B if not 30B, different driver different behaviour.
If u staying at asia, jus take a direct train to mo chit, 5 stops only.

wedding9999,

If u dont mind, the food over at MBK foodcourt is not bad,coupon system.
Gayson Plaza is opp central, its look like paragon to me cos LV, burberrys etc are there...nearby to the famous 4 face budha.
World Trade Plaza is now called central world plaza,there is a shop that sells thai made bag,alot of sizes.........very cheap....its called wat nara wan

peiyi

Hi alls,
i find out this hotel " PJ Watergate Hotel" near by asia hotel, is a new hotel.

Anyone know tis hotel? Any comment? Think wan book tis hotel.

batubata

Hi Peggy, if am not mistaken, this hotel is so much nearer to Amari Watergate & Pratunam market than Asia & since its less than a year old, things should be new. I suppose no harm in giving it a try & remember to pull along your empty trolley bag across the road for your shopping ....... the nearest station wld be Chidlom

ublur

hey gals, i will be going to BKK soon and stayingin D'ma. Where is exactly D'Ma? can anyone enlighten me? I was given as choice of Asia and D'Ma, but heard that D'Ma is better than Asia. In addition, heard that there are many night markets near D'Ma. is it true? TIA

peiyi

Hi batubata, i go to internet view that hotel pic of room, very ncie and very new. I think i wan change to tis hotel via booking internet only $45.07 per night inc breakfast. But 1 thing no good is, many taxi drive dun know the hotel b'cos tis is quite new hotel. Can give me more about ur feeling when u pass by the hotel? it is location at back alley, so the alley clean, safe?

bellebelle

blur blur,
D'ma is quite far from the sky train. If you intend to take the sky train often then I would recommend Asia as it's linked to the sky train.

ublur

aspiration, but where is it exactly located? I might not want to take sky train. most of the time will be taking Taxi i think.

Oh ya, I have yet to thank you for the map. You are such a dearie.. Thank thanks

312847.gif

vonn

Hi Hallie,

Alot of stall in bkk sell cushion cover,table runners, so they might have pillow cases that u wan.

batubata

Peggy: I only know this boutique hotel is in one of the lanes(Soi) opposite Amari Watergate & Pratunam Hotels on Rachprarop Road. I wanted to book also during my last trip but then I wasnt going shopping in that area. Most taxis should know & can speak broken English, look for the sticker 'I love farangs' Tell him u want to go Pratunam,Rachprarop Road, soi .......,PJ Watergate hotel. Always check with the driver first if he knows the hotel before getting into his cab.

blur blur: D'ma Pavilion is in Pratunam but a distance away from Pratunam market & itz neighbour hotel is Eastin which we can see from the expressway on the way into the city. A friend once told me it is cleaner & brighter than Asia with a great buffet BF.The ambience is good. If your main transport is taxi then ur location is not a problem, afterall u are still in the city & well-connected.

ublur

BatuBata, thanks so much for your advise. I have only about 2.5 days in BKK, so want to fully utilise my days there. Since I do not have much time, Most prob will head down to chatuchuk,MBK siam square and suan lum
Anyone here know where I can tailormade cheap and good CS and Suit?? Since I am there, might as well tailor made one...

icy_ger

hi vonn
at u manage to stay at asia
me prefer asia cos onli my bf n i goin plus traffic jams there(skytrain better)
rite now im planning how to iterinary in bkk
cos there is a half day tour in the 2nd day plus i hope the transfer to n fro airport to hotel will not take alot of time...

icy_ger

Hi, thank everyone for the advise.my bf n i decide to go on with it...since we not familiar with bkk, we will take packages from agent...next time then we DIY...i find that agent alway say it is fully bked for hotel rooms...but we bk early...like sept for nov vacation...
nvm..luckily the agent decide not to charge us addition after i tell samran place although is new but is two star compare to asia three....

dear_dear

After sawing the post here abt PJ Watergate Hotel. Hb asked me to cancel asia hotel & book PJ Watergate. Wondering anyone stayed there before?

peiyi

Hi, dear

I oso booked PJ watergate Hotel. When is your check in date? How much? Booking from where?

I heard my friend said, he stayed there, good and clean b'cos it is new hotel but 1 thing no good is many taxi drive dun know tis hotel, so b4 u take cab must check with driver know how to go tis hotel or not.

cookie_baby

hi hi gers,

i b gg bkk dis coming weekend. heard dat its rainy over there now. any one can comment?

aso, need advice on how to get to pratunman mkt from bkk city inn. i noe its wifin waking distance....but any kind souls here can gibe directions?? :D

TIA :D

peiyi

Hi dme check in 28 octber...24US per room per nite. Are u booking from sawadee? i book from asiarooms, cheaper than 1100 bath per room. At fist, i oso book from sawadee but haven give deposit. So, i check other website, i found asiarooms cheaper than sawadee, so i book from asiarooms and confirm.

dear_dear

Hi Peggy,

I booked from gothailand.com. U remind me I haven't give deposit hor. Then I can change also. Thanks. Which mean we are staying in the same hotel just that you check in one day earlier than me.

meowie

cookie,
Pratunam market is very near to Baiyoke sky hotel. If i didn't remember wrongly, you just walk the direction away from the Central World Plaza(Past WTC). That means you'll passby Big C shopping centre then cross diagonally and you'll also passby a very 'old' kind of supermarket. Try search the map in the web. You should be able to find your way there. Else search for baiyoke sky hotel and walk towards the direction will do.

vonn

Cookie,

When i was there last weekend, it only rain one in the evening and once in the afternoon.
Dont worry, still manageable.....when it rains, u can jus shop inside the mall