Bangkok

meowie

Can anyone tell me where i can find those wooden educational toys in BKK? I'll be flying off on sat morning. Thanks!

mandysst

hahah... saw my name in here and came in to KPO.

i just came back from bangkok early this month.
so much to eat and so much to shop. cant finish them in time.

gals, if you all like steamboat, remember to try MK steamboat. very nice. they are found in almost every single shopping centre.

another thing to add, if you have free time, catch a show there. try their gold class. for 200 baht per tickets, ($8 sin), you get VIP services and the seats are sooo soooo soooo comfortable. it like a bed! or try their normal seating. at $120baht per tickets. the MBK cinema is fantestic. never tried so comfortable seating b4. anotehr thing to add, you have to stand up b4 every single show cos they will their nathional song on the screen. every one stood up. was so lost when it happen but just follow.
try it!

meowie

Mandy,
Yeah i've tried watching movie there too...shiok. But different seating different price one. Thai ppl respect their kings very much...hence all stand in respect to the king

paopei

Thanks Mandy. COnfirm will try the MK steamboat. About the show, must see got show for children or not hehehe if have, yup ... will bring my gal watch the show. ANy other tips or recommendations?

mandysst

hi meow.

yes, notice that as well. will go for another show the next time i am there.

hi paopei,
hm.. try also baskin robbins. nice ice-cream. their kfc also worth trying, better than singapore one. if you like, can also go BK and eat thir pork burger, heard it is really good but i have never try it though.

for children clothings, can try patunuam. i went there and brought some princess clothing for my niece. only cost me $6 (sin) per sets and very nice as well. they love it. think your gal will love it too.

mandysst

yaorowat is the chinatown. you can take MRT (it MRT and not BTS) to hua laphomg station and walk there. abt 10 mins walk. if you have the map, you will know how to walk. hope this help.

paopei

Thanks Mandy, will try it but ice cream ... dun think I will eat cause my gal can't eat ice cream. So pity her if I eat in front of her hehhee will try others food that u recommend. Thanks ...

diamond42

I was looking for 3D 2N F&E package to Bangkok just now and happened to chance upon this travel agent: J3 travel.

And i would like to know anyone have booked with them before because their prices for 3D 2N F&E is a lot lower compared to other agencies.

It cost only $92 per pax at a 3* hotel based on their package price??

paopei

I am really mad now with Airasia. If u want to know, u can read my thread about AIRASIA SUCKS ... Dun take airasia anymore. First and last time I fly with Airasia. LOUSY ... Really mad and wanna explode ....
Can somebody advise me what I can do except wait quietly 3 months for their refund? I feel it's really unreasonable ... it's due to your system error but u penalised ur customer by having to wait 3 months for refund. It's not fair at all to your customer ... Or maybe AIRASIA doesn't know about customer or service at all?

miso_888

Hi Shirley

Option 1 :
===========
Take taxi to Pratunam Market, Pratunam Market have many stalls along the streets very hot and sticky maze. Beware many pickpockets there too.

Option 2 :
----------
You can tell the taxi driver you want to go Baiyoke Suite hotel or the Thai people call it Baiyoke one hotel.
That building has many clothing but is messy. They are wholesaler. Correct as what Vonn had mentioned before is like City Plaza in Sin or "Lai Chi Kok" wholesale in Hongkong. Not easy for you to decide what to buy if you are not a fashion merchandiser.

Option 3 :
==========
I suggest you to go to the newly open building
"Indra Plaza". This building is also wholesaler & retail most important is tidy and clean. Just next to "Indra Regent hotel" These are much cheaper shop you can find. Just 2min walk from Baiyoke Suites hotel.

Option 4 :
==========
Another place to shop is opposite "MBK" Siam Square near Novetel hotel.There are many small shop by some Thailand young designer...cool and unique. From clothes,shoes,bags,and accessory etc... If you are looking for clothing like those selling at "Fast East Plaza" or "Heeren" that's is the best place to shop. Is a happening place on sat like our orchard road. At least you can see people dressed up in Bangkok. Remember those shop close as early at 8pm. Some of the shops are selling pretty expensive stuff but very nice. No matter what it is still cheaper than Sin.

Option 5 :
==========
Go chatuchak weekend market. Most of the fashion buyers bought their stuff there.
For clothing and Accessories go to
(section 5, 6, 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20, 21, 23)
Plan before you walk if not "merry go round" and end up nothing to buy. Lastly, if you are getting more than 3 items from one shop you can ask for wholesale price. The cheapest place to shop.

Hope this info help some shoppers as well.

diamond42

Anyone can recommend me a spa in Bangkok? I would like to go for a spa package if possible during my trip in dec.

Hi mimi,

Other than Indra Plaza, is there any new shopping areas in Bangkok now? It have been 3 years since i last went there.

miso_888

Hi diamond

The new one is "Platinum Fashion Mall" in Pratunam on Phetchaburi Road is still undergo construction, target completion date is by December 2005. There will be 11-storey shopping complex. Just on time you are there for their opening.

Spa Package I tried the one Devarana Spa at The Dusit Thani Bangkok 6th floor, East Wing, Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500 Thailand
tel :+66 (0) 2636-3596, +66 (0) 2236-9999 ext. 2301, 2302
fax : +66 (0) 2636-3597
email : [email protected]
http://www.devaranaspa.com/promotions/index.php?spa_id=spa0001

shirley_htt

Hello mimi,

Thank you for your information.

May I know if all the shops in Suan Lom Market is opened? We went there one year ago......part of the place was empty for rental, I think.

miso_888

Hi Shirley

Suan Lum Night Bazzar
Open 7 days a week from 3:00 PM to midnight
but some spots until 2:00AM – it is so convenient and easy to find. Shopping prices quoted is a bit more than Chaktuchak Market but is cooler, cleaner, organised and less crowded. A good place for food and shopping especially those who are looking for light, table, clock,vintage and ornament etc. all very nice and is cheaper than singapore. Clothing not so attractive for me but can see see look look, maybe you like it.

Usually i go around 8.00pm and leave around 11.30pm. After 12.00am the taxi driver
will ask for rocket high prices eg. normal metre price is 60bht but they ask for 150-200bht.
Anyway, 150bht is around S$6.00 so is still acceptable. I bargain for 100bht around S$4.00 just for the fun of bargaining.

BTW, which airlines are you taking and have you book hotel ?

diamond42

Hi daylight,

Currently i am looking at F&E package to bangkok by travel agencies in Dec and the price is high due to the fuel surcharges etc etc. For a 4D3N F&E package, it cost $390 per pax.

For guided tour package, i think the price will be higher since it includes all meals.

For bangkok, suggest u go F&E as it is more value for money and also it is very safe and easy to go F&E.

shirley_htt

Hi mimi,

I will be taking the Jetstar Asia and staying in Pathumwan Princess with my family. We have already got the ticket yesterday from the agency.

Will be going on 29th Oct. In fact, this is a peak period where everyone is going for a holiday. I'm looking forward to it.

estben

Hi diamond42,
Which airline for your 4D3N at S$ 390/-. I am going too at Dec. Mine is dec23-dec26 by SQ per person is S$270/- exclude tax charges. Mine does not include hotel, cos i am waiting for BBK agency to give me the price for staying at the hotels i wanted.... Hopefully this way it save!!!!
So when are you going to BBK?

diamond42

Hi esther,

I am taking Jetstar asia and staying in First Hotel. Have been staying there every time i go to Bangkok so no issue with the hotel. Near to Pratunam market. Cost me around SGD 40 per night or SGD 50 per night depending on which wing i am going to take.

Going in 16 - 19Dec.

I checked before that for SQ, including tax, it cost around $300++ per pax. So i decided to drop SQ.

ohstrawberry

Hi, diamond42

I also to wish to go to spa for my coming trip, had do a few research, these few not bad, check this out!
1)http://www.bodyrelax.com
2)http://www.bodytune.co.th
3)http://www.divanaspa.com
4)http://www.leelathaispa.com
5)http://www.nibhanaspa.com/lang_suan/index.html
6)http://www.chancespa.com/index.php
7)http://www.healthlandspa.com/location.html
8)http://www.lianspa.com
9)http://www.vareespa.com

Among all these, the most commendable is Nibhana Spa, but quite expensive. I'll be trying out Body Tune, Chance Spa and Healthland Spa this coming trip. You enjoy too.

diamond42

Hi esther,

You are welcome. I just finalized the trip at $307 for 4D 3N including airport tax, surcharges and hotel stay. If you are interested to do it DIY, suggest you act fast as my friend told me airticket is moving very fast and surcharge increasing soon.

Today i checked SQ airfare went up by another $20 for bangkok if i did not see wrongly.

Hi ohstrawberry,
When are you going? If before me, do let me know the feedback on those spas you will be trying.
Thank you very much for the webside. I saw this in Jetstarasia website: www.bloomingspa.com

Like not bad too.

bubble_low

In bangkok, is there any wholesaler for jackets ? Are these jacket suits nice ? what's the price range and where to find ? Thks.

ohstrawberry

Hi, diamond42

I'm going in 28Oct for 6D5N. oh ya, Let's relax is quite popular, must book before you go.
I'll let you know again after i tried them.

peiyi

Hi ohstrawberry,

I'm going in 28Oct for 5D4N too. What air line u take? Which hotel u book?

I'm taking airasia and stay at Pj watergater hotel ( heard it is alomst newly hotel).

diamond42

Hi Ohstrawberry,

Sure! Let me know your feedback on them all. Which hotel are you staying? I still waiting for my hotel confirmation.
Just received that FIRST hotel is fully booked.

Hi Peggy,

Can let me know how is PJ watergate hotel? If really no more rooms in First hotel, then i will take that too.

peiyi

hi, diamond42,

Tis is my 1st time stay Pj watergate hotel. I oso dun know how izzit the hotel. But the rate quite cheap, i book from asiaroom rate is US24 per night. Information to Pj watergate i know, Tis is new hotel, only 3storey. Room quite clean,buffet breakfast offer very varieties. Overeall is reasonable price hotel. Walk a short 1 min alley to pratunam mrk. But taxi drive dun know tis place,so u need mention indra regent.

hope tis information can help u. Thank you

ohstrawberry

Hi, Peggy

I'm taking SQ and staying in Samran Place(3 nights) and Center Point Petchburi (2 nights).
I booked my flight from Zuji when they having promo. Samran place from asiarooms and Center Point Petchburi from sawadee.
What you plan to do on your trip?
I'm counting down the days.....

dawn45

like to check if anyone knows where is papaya restuarnt?

any gd places for massage? and where to get nice bags?

paopei

Hi everybody, just come back from BKK last nite. Stay at Samran Place 6D5N, booked 2 rooms. They gave me the highest floor (8th floor) and big bed. Staff are friendly ... not regret stay at Samran. Shop a lot at Chatucak, MBK and Big C. If u wanna go Suan Lum, make sure u bargain the price more than 50%. I bought wallet only 100 baht in MBK, then at Suan Lum I asked the price (thought wanna buy some more for friends), they quoted me 400 baht. Exactly the same wallet, I dun bother to bargain anymore. For food, didn't try much cause that time was vegetarian time for Thai people so not much choices. I tried MK steamboat (must try) and Black Canyon (the Yap Wun Sen is very spicy and yummy hehhe). I bought a lot of pretty shirts, shoes, slippers for my gal. For myself, I only managed to buy bags, wallets and pants. Will go back again next time with my hubby ...

icebubbles

i am also planning a trip to bangkok in nov or dec. saw from chan bros f & e package from $178
3d 2n. but nv queue to ask for more details cos there were lotsa pple there...
anyone can advise in what's the market rate now?

babywong

I've just returned from BKK last sat. Thanks to the info that were posted here, we had a wonderful shopping trip. Juz wanna give a few pointers though...

1) Exchange rate is better at Singapore than over there. I change at THB24:SG$1 here but over there its THB23.82: SG$1.

2) Macway Tailor is totally overrated. They honeyed u with all the nice words but the shirts were not well measured. My only consol is tat I brought my own shirts there and asked them to make accordingly otherwise the cuts/ measure is totally disasters.

3) Suan Luam is realli a nice n hip place to shop. However pls bargain n bargain over there. They tend to quote higher prices than other places including Chatucak.If u r looking for cheap clothings like shorts/tops/office wear n accessories, pls comb through Pratunam Mkt n the shops near MBK area. If u r keen on chic n cool stuff for house deco, look through Suan Lum mkt. For Chatucak, basically all stuff such as fake flowers, handicrafts, deco, clothings, u name it,its all there.

squidhead

hi dawn,

Papaya Restaurant is in Siam Square. Its at a the row of shophouse next to Novotel Siam Square. If you come out from the hotel lobby, turn right and its at the first row of shophouse, just beside Macways tailor.

The menu is all in Thai and as the place its not very big, it can be quite a wait if you go during the lunch time. I went there around 2plus, close to 3pm so didnt have to wait at all. The guy will recommend you their house speciality, and you must try their chicken wings .. very yummy!