Bangkok

bloomiey

Cassis I took from Airport to Arnoma only cost around 180baht. No Toll charge for me, probably it was saturday evening.

Btw, Arnoma hotel isn't that good. Only good thing its beside Big C and Central World. The hotel does not provide toothbrush and toothpaste, toilet facilities no good, bath tub dirty, toilet bowl dripping water flooding my toilet floor. Door card
was not electronic type, it was the punch hole card which makes me feel abit insecure.
If you can afford to take cab around, would suggest you to take Baiyoke sky, room facilities are slightly much better compared to Arnoma. Breakfast is definitely marvellous!!!

noscon

yanling

im horrified to hear that arnoma's condition.... a bit disappointed cos tot that for the px range shd still be ok... i used to stay at pathumwan princess and enjoyed the room a lot... i think i might get culture shock when i stay at arnoma....anyway thanks for your inputs...

tinkybell

ur comment on Arnoma make me wori... cos i wil be staying there for 4 nights...

and the security is my main concern....

and based on the price i am paying, i thinking that was not too worth it... except for the malls nearby

hi tinkybell,

if arnoma is that sucky, i think the hotel will not have so many positive ratings.. yes its not as nice as prathumwan princess, novotel or intercon, but its definitely decent... the key may be abit 'orbit' but i dun think security is compromised.. no worries.. chill!

http://www.asiarooms.com/thailand/bangkok/arnoma-hotel-reviews.html

noscon

i also heard that the best parts are the staff friendliness, opp shopping ctrs and the breakfast!! But the rooms and bathrooms bit bit small...

noscon

ok minssy

anyway anyone taken jetstar before? does our fare cover the airport tax from thailand? cos i heard it does include....

bloomiey

Yeah minssy i read through the reviews in asiarooms before i booked, thought it was good. But its abit over rated too good.
The rooms doesn't seems small to me. Its an average hotel room size, neither is bathroom small.

icebaby0

noscon,

What ever airline you take out of BKK...airport tax will be included in the airticket. It is their policy. You can read up from internet. =)

hi noscon,

its included since feb 07.. no worries.

hi yanling,

yeah its average decent size.. can't expect much from a 16 year old hotel cos its not as modern.. hee.... but at least its better than asia.. but the pple there are really lovely.. location's excellent too...

ngfifi

Hi C

In fact, will be staying at Centrepoint Petchuburi this coming Oct (had changed frm Baiyoke Boutique to Centrepoint coz of negative feedback on BB)

Will update u when im back but heard frm my BIL that Centrepoint rm is very big n spacious (he just went in Jun) and nt forgetting, a lot of positive feedbk frm asiarooms.com

The only minus pt is u need to pay a deposit of 2000 baht/rm when u chk in

bloomiey

I just saw this hotel in Bangkok beside Chit Lom station. I think its called Holiday Inn.. BTS is just beside it, but too bad they don't include breakfast. But its a good alternative hotel than Pathunwan Princess.

Btw many hotels need you to pay a security deposit before you check in. Otherwise they would request you for your credit card as a deposit. Not only that particular hotel. Most of the world hotels are practising that to prevent user from taking hotel properties without their knowledge...

babykhoo

has anyone stayed at Grand Hyatt Erawan or Four Seasons before? Would like to know if its a convenient location? Especially to the BTS station

bien

i got a good fare for Swiss airline to travel on 6Dec depart at 920pm and come back spore time on monday 10 dc 2008 at 745pm at 420 per pax. and hotel i stay is Asia. Actually if say haunted.. think most hotel also have.. and i been staying at Asia for 3 times and i find is ok. the best thing abt Asia hotel is becos of its good location and is not expensive consider the location there and is near mrt.

Anyone can reconmend me any good place to buy clothes at wholesale price as my sis want to buy alot of clothes to bring back spore to sell.

I know Platium plaza, chatuchack, Suan Lam can shop?

Anyone can intro me good wholesales fashion wear to buy at good price at bkk and also anyone can intro me good shopping centre to shop at bkk also?

pigsinc

Great! When in Oct are u going? My only concern is the renovation (if it's still going on) and the noise from the traffic.

ngfifi

Hi C

Im travelling frm 19-22 Oct. Dun tink the renovation are still gg on as my BIL did nt complain abt the noise level

Hi Yanling

Thx for ur info. I didnt kw this is the rules n regulations frm BKK hotel as this is my 1st time there. Ive nt encountered anything like that b4 when i travelled to other parts of the world

bien

As i be travel on dec 6 to bangkok and i heard Thailand got election on mid dec or end dec?

Wonder can someone able to give me advise is it really v dangerous to go during early dec to bangkok and will be by chance is to chaotic till shops are closed?

please advise

ytanhn

I'm looking for a resturant in BKK which serves seafood buffet. We choose the fresh seafood ourselves (like supermarket) & indicate to them how we like it to be cooked. There is one at Gayson Plaza basement (if i rmb the name correctly, the building opp world trade centre) but 2 years ago when i went, it's no longer there. Anyone can advise something similar?

ngfifi

Does anyone knows if this is a safe period to travel to BKK since yday news reported that there are bombs explosion?

noscon

yvonne

you are talking about the seafood market along suvimit(dun know spelling) road... you can read there by bts and then walk to the restaurant. it can sit like 1500 people or something like that...

we wanna go but no $$$. spent too much on shopping

noscon

hey gals

i just came back from bkk. great trip and quite hot. surprisingly very little rain tho its suppose to be rainy season....

nice new airport...

ngfifi

Hi noscon,

Its cfm BKK but tink its confined to the military head quarters or something like that

My mum is very worried n very reluctant in gg but yet cant find anyone to take over her package

Tats y i wanna find out more

noscon

jen

o ic. i just returned from bkk yesterday and I didnt notice anything unusual. hotel staff did not mention anything too... but then i did not watch newspapers or news during my time in bkk... everything seems normal too...

nowadays so chaotic cos there were some explosions in maldives and nepal too...

ngfifi

Hi noscon

Thx for the information. Tink will try to persuade mum to go again, if nt my $ will be gg dwn the drain

Haha...

ma22

Fyi, pls.

I've just made my reservation @ Novotel @ Siam Square on d internet. Afterwhich realised that this Axxxxxxxs website offers a beta rate. An substantial difference of $24 for a twin & $31 for a triple ! For a total of 2 nights for 7 ppl, I hv to spend extra $158. Of course I'm angry. So I send an email asking for a decent explanation on the price difference since the site that i booked guarantees that their rate is competitive. This was wat I'm told :-

<Dear xx,

Could you tell whcih website you found ?
Some site nouw have offer fake rate , price not coming form hotel and they only want customer to make booking. Then they offer other hotel that they have contract .

And please take a look at this site http://www.dmahotel.com/blacklist/

Should you have any enquiries, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime.>

Horrible isn't it ? So pls, don't use Axxxxxxxs o those under d blacklisted list. Just my 2 cents worth.

ma22

Guess this site's tactic is to post rock bottom cheap prices. Once u've input ur credit card details, they'll tell u rooms not available, choose alternative hotels. Then delay their credit card refund process. Unscrupulous ppl !

sereneli

so far I have been using Axxxxxxxs for my booking of hotels, be it in Thailand or anywhere else and it has always been satisfactory and recognised/honoured by the hotel.

icebaby0

so far i have used asiarooms for my booking for BKK. So far no issue with them either.
I think before you book, u have to do ur own search for the best price. Cos each company will price their items differently. You can't expect them to price the same as their "commission" or "contract" with the hotel might be different.

It's like us buying a package tour. Each company price differently.

JMHO

s__h

SZ (preciousmoments) mentioned that she / he used this accor hotel card...and planning use it again for tokyo trip

ma22

Aiyah, nowadays ppl will sure source 4 d cheapest be4 booking one mah. I also did that that's y i settled for Hotels2Thailand. So far so gd &amp; service also very prompt. They even hv an on-line chat which I complained abt d px diff. Not sure if they r trying to slam A agent since both r competitors.

Anyway, tot i shd share in case others get into sticky situation. I'm just unlucky to encounter it, not everyone is so unlucky one lah.

thinking_gal

Need some advise..will be staying in arnoma hotel with a gal friend also. main purpose of the trip is cheap shopping of clothes, bags, shoes, accessories, massage and pedi/mani. However, its our first time at bkk so really need some detailed advise on the nearest train station, and how to move from there to the major shopping ctrs like MBK, Siam Paragon, Pratunam, Chatuchak &amp; massage places...eg. how many train stops to take, alight where, or how to walk etc. Thanks for your help!!

noscon

oayne

FOR MBK, walk to chit lom station, u can take the BTS from chit lom station to the stadium station. in bet u need to change train at siam station.

for pratunam, u can walk there, just like 10-15mins walk from the hotel. across the road to central world and start walking towards a traffic junction. the junction will have a big signpost over it saying pratunum centre.

anyway if you need more info, u can go to airport or hotel, get a map and ask the porter boy who sent up your luggage or the reception for directions. they are really friendly and helpful. Will also give detailed directions. They will advise u to use bts whenever possible to avoid being "con" by taxi drivers or tuk tuk drivers...

you can walk to siam paragon from siam bts station...

noscon

if u want some aircon while shopping for cheap clothes, u can go to platinium shopping centre across pratunum market...

icebaby0

jani,

as mentioned several times in this forum and also in newspapers...airport tax of 700 baht is now included in airticket price when you leave BKK.

If u are still sceptical, please call your agent or surf the web for BKK airport.

icebaby0

meiting,

never stayed at diamond city hotel but I read some reviews ain't that good. Location is abit "off". If you want a budget hotel, u might wish to try Samran Place.

happinessbliss

Dear Oayne,

I just came back from BKK last week and stayed in Arnoma too... What hubby and myself did was we to take the train from Siam Paragon station... to Stadium stn (MBK)...only 1 stop... Its walking distance to Pratunam, and abt 50-60 baht to take a "Meter Taxi" to patpong... Unfortunately as we there on weekdays, chacuchak was not open so i miss the place. But went to Suan Lum Nite bazaar instead. And outside Arnoma and opp (which is CentralWorld), there is already many stalls selling clothes and stuff...

icebaby0

mrswang,

Dun know. I dun normally do mani n pedi. But I know beside the hotel got a massage place...my fren who went in Mar say not to go there. Massage not so good.

Happiness&amp;BLiss...suan lum nitz bazaar still around meh? I tot they say closing down? If have, I would love to go there in Nov.
Is the ferris wheel still there?