Bangkok

sunflower44

Hi designfreak,

Halo!
Me still in BKK.. just went to Somboo last night... at Bandathong (duno how to spell)... food is good and affordable! W ordered, curry crab, kangkong, dep fried garoupa, grilled sotong and drink...1018baht! BUT.....be careful that the taxi drivers dun bring u to the fake one loh....

Ger2,
u back at work? Me going to Central Chidlom today, to see if i can make full use of ur coupons hehe.... Nice to meet u, although its th last dy... =p

lingling2

Hi sunflower,
wow, sound so nice hor...

Nice to meet you yset...keke..u so meimei leh...

Me back to work liao....where u log in frm huh? Samran? =)...

When u coming bk?Got gana water?hee

Ya lor, go lor, its a nice shopping center =)...heehee...

lingling2

Hi melon and sharon,
Me back frm Bangkok liao..managed to escape frm being splashed with water until the last day =(...But was quite fun to see most of the thias taking water gun and bucket with water, splashing around...keke...

karen07

can anyone advice me... is booking hotel thro internet cheaper or through travel agent? By the way, do you book your own flight as well?

ducky

Can i check in boxes with luggage when i come back from bangkok? I tot buying things and put in big box and check in... can? I flying by jetstar.... thanks!

sereneli

Hi Ger2,
Guess it's quite interesting to see the thai tradition of splashing water

babykhoo

i'm going to bangkok in June on Thai Airways. Wondering if the flight landing at their old airport (Don Muang) or new airport (Sub...).

oso has anyone here tried this Bangkok Oasis Spa? Looks really nice on website. I usually go to Let's Relax spa.

melon

Hi Gal2: Me back fm BKK on 17th too. The Songkran wasnt too bad, i think they know we're tourist and see us try to 'siam' and they didnt splash water on us, jus use water gun.

I have a comment regarding Samran Place which was highly recommended. I strongly feel that it hv been over-rated in this forum. I stayed at First Hotel on my prev trip (at their new extension). The rates of these 2 hotels are same, but First Hotel is a lot better :

1)Location : Samran Place is so ulu, the 8 times we took cab, 5 didnt know the place and we hv to direct them instead fm Pratunam Street. First Hotel is walking dist to Pratunam Mkt, Samran hv to walk a loooong dist. First Hotel is on the Map, a lot of cab know where it is.

Breakfast : Samran offers one order per person set menu, First Hotel is buffet with wider spread.

Room Condition : The bath towels of Samran STINKS, smell of incense and stale. The bed sheets have stains too.. yeeks! Although Samran changes towels n sheets daily, its in terrible state. I didnt dare to zzz on the pillow without covering it with my own towel. First Hotel provide not only bath towels, but oso face towels too. Their sheets are cleaner, thicker and of better material.

Room Size : For same price, the rooms are of similar size. I prefer First Hotel. I stayed at Samran at the room face the road n pub. So noisy.

Overall : I prefer First Hotel over Samran.

sunflower44

Hi ger2,

Haha me back! =)
Logged in from a dental clinic i went loh... can use free internet when im waiting for my turn keke... ;p

Haha thanks for ur compliments hor! =p We kena water when we went Chatuchak loh...inevitable lah... but quite fun coz the weather was scorching hot there! Abit of water will cool us down hehe....

Central Chidlom is big! And thanks to u, i saved quite a fair bit on the lingerie...

Cant imagine u spending sooo much on Hello Kitty products there... ;p

duckyduck,
u can check in boxes, no worries. Just make sure the things u put there isnt fragile loh...

I stayed in Samran during my trip...for that price, i think it's reasonably clean for a budget hotel. The staff are friendly, especially this guy who helps us with the luggage. Whenever we tried to hail a cab outside the hotel, he'll come out and assist us, inform the driver where we are heading to... I wun mind staying in Samran Place again if im going for more than 4 days loh...although i find its not within walking distance to shopping malls.

flipfreak

hi babykhoo. only chartered flights will land at don muang. all others will go to suvarnabhumi airport.

i went to bkk oasis in feb. great place. it costs us abt 130 per head to do a 4 hr body scrub, massage and facial. well worth it. i will try post pics of the place.

lingling2

Hi sunflower,
heehee...u are welcome =)...so in the end, u bot alot of things? Found your Naraya bags? hee

When do u intend to go again?heehee ...

i go there especially for the HK items mah..kee..

Melon,
I was busy recognising u and sunflower lor, throughout bf, I will look here and there, then my hb told me ,"why, looking at guys huh??"...haha...I told him I looking at gers lah...hee...Saw one couple which resmebles the description which u gave me, your bf wears sungalsses hor? hee...duno i got see wrongly anot..hee

sunflower44

ger2,

Ahh...if i dare to mention BKK trip to FH again, i thnk hes gona kill me ar! Better stay "low" for 1 year liao... =p
Now busy preparing for our AD and house reno...at least got things to keep me occupied to thnk abt BKK! Heehee..

Din buy alot of Naraya though...heng ah, save $$....

So when u intend to go again ah?

melon

Hi ger2,
i was oso trying to look out for u all. As me and bf wake up v late everyday, we were always last, even missed our breakfast once cos over-slept ;p

I only saw a couple who looked like S'porean, both wear specs, the gal tie hair.

My bf dun wear sunglass, he wears his specs. Throughout my stay at BKK, i wore a dark purple bikini inside my shirt. So if u saw a gal with the bikini string on neck, its me.

I bot quite a not of Naraya stuff, thanks 4 reccommendations fm this forum
Regret not buying more! I got black and dark blue bags cos easier to match, regret not getting a light pink one
I got the tissue bags for my colleagues, bought all the colours they love it too.

babykhoo

Hi designfreak.

how's davis? was really considering davis. but later decided to stay at the new hotel Siam@Siam in front of National Stadium BTS cos more convenient. afraid that davis too out the way then must walk alot to get to BTS...i going alone lah.

flipfreak

not bad. i got the industry rate for staying there. it was a hassle to walk but most of the time i hailed a cab so no worries for me. and for the price i paid, i doubt i can get rooms at a 5 star nearer to the shopping centres. siam@siam is cool. i am aiming to stay at dream the next time round.

polo

Those who stay in Bangkok City Inn, First Hotel, Residence Rajtavee before please advise me which hotel is better? Thanks.

I tried to book samran but fully booked liao leh!

Also, any idea where to go for massage, pedi and tailor? I'm going on the 28 Apr and is my first trip to bangkok... appreciate your help!

lingling2

melon,
which branch of naraya did u go to? at 1st I duno wat is naraya leh, only when i came bk then know =(...

Oic...no leh, i tie up my hair lor..hmm....

Sunflower,
heehee...so u bot alot of things at BKK? AD in aug hor? so fast..tink u must be a meimei bride lor =)...

hmm...maybe go again in oct *winks* for more hello kitty..keke

baby_jo

sigh!
regret never get 1 of the bag fm BKK. saw pple carry it @ the airport.
hopefully hubby going bkk for business trip soon.

taurus

good news!! read fr newspapers that suan lum night market will not be closing for the time being. So for those who will be goin bangkok in the near future, u still have a chance to go there

hadoe

1. Any recommendations on cheap and good hotels near MBK??
I am trying to book reno hotel but it is full...
(Budget SGD50-70 for a double room with breakfast)

2. Want to buy nice "Le Sportsac" bags in Chatuchak, where to go?

3. Which is better to shop, Chatuchak, Suan Lum, Platinum, Chinatown wholesales street?

4. Where to go to buy clothes for size 12-14??

hadoe

Thanks, Obaesom!

Anyone bought the SQ $60 promo tickets?
I bot mine a t$368 for 2 pax including all taxes!
Going on 12, back on 16th!!

lattefan

Can anyone here tell me where is Pratunam Market? The previous time I went, I can't seem to find the market thou I know is somewhere near Platinum Mall. I will be going bangkok again next mth, so hope to go shop shop at pratunam market as I heard can find many nice office and maternity wears there. Many thanks!

bloomiey

Pratunam market is around baiyoke sky hotel/baiyoke 2. Just tell the taxi u want to go there. The whole of the area there is pratunam market. Not really that near to platinum mall as platinum mall is along main road while pratunam is inside.

lattefan

Thanks so much!

The previous time when I was at BKK, I walked from Samran to Platinum Mall, aft that, was searching for Pratunam Market but can't find, haiz... Walked until my legs are so tired.

hadoe

Yippee, Reno Hotel has rooms for me!
Can't wait to stay this weekend, shall give a review after my stay there!

BTW, did anyone suspend/cancel their flights due to the recent bombing?

lattefan

Hi LKG, there seems to be alot of bombing incidents this year. Hope we are all safe and sound during our stay there. Do post ur review here aft u're back to sg! Enjoy ur coming trip!!

hadoe

I recalled when I went to BKk 2 yrs ago, my fren took me to the departure hall to take cab, and we managed to persuage the taxi driver to charge us by the meter...

Can we do that at the new airport???

Also, where can I find the taxi Q at the new airport that charges by the meter?

flipfreak

ya. need to find the normal cabs. its at the other end. need to go to the ground floor. just one floor down from arrival. at the other end of the customs.

hadoe

More questions....

Is Sampeng Lane open on weekdays?

Where is the 4-faced Buddha located?
How to get there from MBK?

christane

personally, i find the platinum mall more interesting and cheap..they usu have two different prices..retail and wholesale...

wholesale can be a lot cheaper, and their wholesale is probably like 3 pieces...an e.g. 250bht for one piece(retail pricing) vs 170bht each for 3 pieces and above. quite a fair amount of difference in the long..

platinum mall is like far east...except that it is bigger and a lot more shops...and also the wacoal shop there is cheaper than the one at MBK as they offer 5% discount, and the bras are already almost half the price in singapore..

the cabs in BKK generally go by meter..but do tell them before hand that you wanna go by meter..and at the new airport, they have staff at the taxi queues to translate your location into Thai to the taxi driver and all go by meter..of cuz there are also pple soliciting for business at the arrival area with the pretext of limousines...not sure how true they are, but joining the taxi queue is safer..the queues may be long, but they move very fast..so just hang in there..

chatuchak is no longer as cheap as it used to be and they are not very willing to lower their prices. i feel this is mainly due to the ang mohs spoiling the market..

Pratunam market is also not bad, and it is just across the road from platinum mall...u can either walk or take cab..but during peak hours, cab drivers are reluctant to go to these places as the jam is horrendous...

enjoy yourselves! shop loads!

hadoe

Hello, Back from the land of Smiles!
Sigh, personally I hope to spend longer time there, if I can!!

Anyway, I had 3 full days of shopping to my heart's content!!! We can lay out all our stuff in 2 beds each nite after our shopping! Keke!

FYI, toll fee from airport to city area - 65 bahts. Taxi fare from Reno hotel to airport about 250 baht excluding toll, about 20-30 min.

Review of Reno Hotel
The place is quite easy to access to National Stadium BTS, 2 min walk, nearby there is 7-11, the lobby and cafe is new and nice, the pool is good to cool down after shopping at CTC! The room is ok for me, though no elevator, but rooms are located on 2nd floor, the aircon is cool, 2 bottles of water foc daily, Has BBC channel and star movie, Double Room for 1080baht per nite. The only thing that I dun like is the toilet paper comes out from a box, not the normal toilet roll.... I paid the 1st nite by cash, the rest was paid by card.
Website = www.hotelname.co.th

Shopping
Platinum is a nice place to shop, more things for ladies up to size 8-10, there is a nice accessory store at 3 level, close to escalator, if you really like something there, just bargain and buy cos you most likely won't see in another store... Massage is available at Basement, thai massage 1 hr 300 bahts, foot massage 250bahts.

MBK is good to buy shoes and bags, especially if you like the LeS----Sac ones, selling at 199 bahts each....

For nail art, you can go to Plaza 29 linked to MBK, the 2nd store on yr left does nice nail arts, look out for this young, sweet looking slim lady, she is very very good in drawing! $$ range from 200 - 400 bahts!

Shall post some pics later!!

bloomiey

LKG: Sampeng Lane open everyday from morning til 6pm only. 4-face Buddha is located at Erawan Shrine at the junction across Big C.
To go MBK, you can either walk from BTS National Stadium or Siam Station.

taurus: Dreamworld is kinda far away from City Central. Taking a cab there won't be cheap. Definitely more than 300baht cos its further than airport distance. SOme hotels do provide transfer to Dreamworld which would be much worth it. Otherwise you might have to take bus there if you are looking for more cheaper alternative.

flipfreak

hi tattybear. your nick is my wife's fav bear. haha. i hate it though. :D

no updates for bkk. everything is the same. hot like hell. dress light. im going for the thai travel mart in the first week of june.

will extend my trip after work is done. i will be staying at dream. where will u be staying?

i shld be doing some shopping for the wife again at jj mkt and maybe pratunam. asking my friend to show us around the area.

sunrays

hi design freak,

u stayed in siam@siam before? Cos i'm going there nxt week and booked their biz class rate...kinda expensive(SGD155/nite) but just wanted to check out the hotel...looks kinda cool.

u staying at dream?? Cool! saw the website and maybe next trip can consider....pls let me knw how is the hotel like....

I always enjoy staying in different hotels in bkk...so far stayed in conrad,bangkok boutique, citadines sukhumvit, the davis, pathumwan princess, novotel siam sq, shanghai inn...

this coming trip i'll stay in siam at siam with my hubby then later extend with galfriend at asia hotel....much to my displeasure!! but no choice cos she on budget so asia hotel is her best choice...

flipfreak

hi sunrays. no chance to stay at siam@siam yet. looking forward to staying there next time round. i stayed in davis before too. nice hotel. out of place though but i like the quietness of the area.

im not stepping into asia ever again. bad experience last trip. first n last time for me.

hw did u find bkk boutique? im looking forward to novotel kingpower opening in a few mths time.

sunrays

hi designfreak,

bangkok boutique is nice,cosy and modern...only downside is the location...was quite frustrated cos most taxi drivers can't find the hotel.

Maybe next time you can try Citadines sukhumvit 16, it's a 'apart-hotel', got a kitchenette altho in bkk not necessary lah...cos u will not cook ...so much food and shopping where got time to use kitchen?! Citadines is under the Ascott group, really not bad and i chked out their website and 3 more opening in sukhumvit in 2008!!

Mind sharing wat the bad experience at asia was about?