Bangkok

babykhoo

hi sunrays,

i staying at siam@siam too, but will only b going on the 9th june. do share ur experience after u come back. hope it's a good choice. think it's still cheaper than novotel and pathumwan princess.

if u try the spa at the hotel do share as well. i already book spa treatment there in advance. hehehe. kia su lah.

tattyteddy

i'll be staying in baiyoke sky.. heard the comments are okie, not too bad.. hopefully, it turns out to be good!

sunrays

hi babykhoo,

i went to a website where real ppl post their review of hotels and so far the only complaint abt siam@siam is that taxi drivers so not know the location...probly bcos the hotel is still new. By the way how much is the spa? dun think i'll be using hotel spa cos i have to finish my vouchers from healthland...expiring 1st week of jun. anyway will keep u posted once i'm back on jun 5.

flipfreak

hi sunrays. i only go bkk for short biz trips or shopping ones. no pt staying in svc apts cos i dun cook at all. only good thing is if more than 1 couple going, we can get a 2 bedroom unit for the fraser ones for a really good price.

on my last trip, i reach bkk at 6pm and the rooms at asia were not ready. i had to wait till 11pm for my room. and they gave me a smoking level.

they oso dun have hot water past midnight so i had to shower with cold water after i came back from clubbing.

the walls are also pretty thin so if u stay near the lift, be prepared to hear alot of traffic.

dreamland

I'm gg BKK on 9 June, staying at Baiyoke suite with 2 day full board to Dreamland and etc.
Anyone stay this hotel before? Any comments?

lattefan

I'm gg on 15th June, 3 days 2 nights over the weekends only... Hope to enjoy fully during my stay and shop shop shop!! *Xcited*

baby_jo

I stayed in Baiyoke Sky during my last trip to BKK (mar'07).
Very inconvenience. Walking to shopping ctr & train station takes abt 20mins.
The lane going into the hotel is quiet and personally I find it dangerous @ night. But in the day time, veri crowded. Alot of shops selling clothes @ a veri cheap price.

Room small and I find it not worth the price u paying. Then room includes breakfast. I stayed there for 1 week and everyday same food. Eat till sian.

But the scenery is very very nice.

joxue

Thanks designfreak.

Did anyone stay in Indra Regent Hotel before? Where is dreamland and what is it all about?

jc79

Hi sunrays and babykhoo...

I've stayed at Siam@Siam before... real great service..:p wonderful staff and ambience but u got to love the modernist style 1st keke

Just stayed there at my previous trip beginning of this month. Location is great, 5-10mins walk to MBK, even nearer than Novotel Siam gog MBK...
Got a Tesco nearby, 5 mins walk... place is like Carrefour, really love it. My friend is gog to stay there end June too...

Mine was the Business Class too, coz my hubby gota use the internet to check office matters :p
The executive lounge has a wonderful view and the service is good too... serves coffee and tea all day...

Yap, cabbies doesn't really noe so i printed from this web site the hotel location, it does help though (remember it's next to Tesco Lotus)

http://www.hotels2thailand.com/bangkok-hotels/siamatsiam-design-hotel-bangkok.asp

1 thing i dun really like is the cement flooring... feels abit strange and gota wear slippers around

jc79

Dear Ribena and LatteFan,

Hehe Bangkok is alright, dun worrie too much, my sis is dere this weekend, everything as per normal.... Hope this helps to settle your worries :p

babykhoo

hi jc79,

thanks for review. i'm really excited abt trip this coming sat. glad made rite choice in trying siam@siam. thanks for map. i'm getting airport transfer fr hotel cos i arriving alone on sat. will print map for hubby who's arriving sunday, he'll b taking taxi lah...he v budget budget.

jc79

Actually taking cab from airport is very safe (Around 400 Baht) coz they will issue you a ticket receipt with you cab nbr.

My cabble for both ways spoke abit english abd was very friendly. The hotel transfer remember to opt for the normal one, think they have one using BMW coz above 1000 Baht... hehehe

Take note & enjoy... I'm a bangkok freak so it's my joy to share :D

jc79

Hi Mousie...

Yes, I always buy from NTUC Income... cheap and comprehensive...$5 per day (Asia Pacific) for bare min ( sometimes even got discount).

But if you are looking for something better, can check out Telnet or AIG insurance not bad too...

ribenaberry

i have been to dreamland. if my memory does not fail me, this is covered in the admission fee. if u wan go to their snow area, u need to decide upon buying the admission ticket cos u need to pay more. personally, nutin much to see/do in the snow area.

dreamland

Coz I bought inland tour from tour agent that include accommodation and 2 way airport transfer with dreamland that covers Fantasy Land, Dream Garden, Dream World Plaza and Adventure Land. So when I ask the tour agent, they give me the answer that I need to purchase individual game inside the dreamland.

vodafone

Just came back from BKK last night. Overall a great trip as i managed to get a lot of stuffs needed for my wedding.

The exchange rate in BKK now is S$100 = 2240Baht.

Ribena: I took the cab from airport to hotel and it costs me 400baht including service charge and toll fee. But for the return trip, I hail a cab from the road side and the driver quoted me 300baht including toll fee and he drives me back to the hotel to pick up my luggages before heading to the airport. The charges for the cab that the hotel arrange for you will be more expensive as i see from the signage outside every hotel.

Very hot weather now. Gals should bring sunblock along if you are going to the wholesale markets. Everything is fine over there. No riots.

ribenaberry

Dericko, i tot i read somewhere that the cabfare should not exceed 300B?

What wedding stuff did u buy? Where did u go for the wedding stuff?

Did anyone try to take cab from dept hall?

jc79

Hi LatteFan,

Enjoy your stay ... maybe I'll try to upload some pics I took of the hotel later :p

Ribena: I took cab from the ground floor taxi stand (50baht charge) but think it's fine coz dey will ensure the cab noes the place you are gog and safer as the cab nbr is registered.

Don't take from those hotel transfer desks, or taxi services desks coz it's very expensive.
I took b4 w my hubby & it costed around $450 baht per pax

lattefan

Thanks jc79! I hv went to their website c c n their design is really modern, looks vy relaxing. U got use their swimming pool?

sunflowerz

when taking taxi, think should ask for meter .
As starting meter is only 35 baht, so actually even with toll charges, we will save a lot (100 baht and more)
I stay at baiyoke sky and the concierge will register the taxi number too and there was no extra charge

jc79

Hi LatteFan

The pool is really beautiful, brought our swimming costumes but i was too busy shopping hehehe, my main motivation in BKK.

Really cool pool design but only thing is not suitable for young children... coz it's on high floor :p
So for couples and ang mohs , all love it.

The check-in area in the same floor as the swimming pool. Check it ou when you do your check in.
Btw, you will realise the occupants are mainly ang mohs and HongKongers (F & E)

Remember to drop by the Tesco nearby, really great place especially to bring goodies for friends or relatives. Got Fuji and MK restuarants there too... my fave !!!

P.s: I was so fascinated by the mega-sized shampoos, household products, nearly tried to bring some home hehehe :D

lattefan

Wahh... U are making me excited!! Can't wait to be there now! :D

1st time heard of Tesco, will go there shop shop, thanks for ur recomm!

jc79

Hehehe...

Here's some pics of Siam@Siam taken with my hubby's handphone. Fyi, mine is the business class room but think the Leisure room looks around the same though :p

490432.jpg
490433.jpg
490434.jpg
490435.jpg

jc79

Leisure class room are around S$136 per nite

Coz when I went in beginning May, it was nearly full, so i took the business room at S$156 per night (Extras mainly the usage of lounge and internet access at lounge which has great svc !!)

Honestly the photos I took was so similar to the web ( except mine was a bit slight adn you can see my kookai bag on the room's chair :p), guess this implies what u see is what u get

lattefan

Yes, ur room is exactly the same as the pic shown in their web. Really nice loh. I mus rem to take pics all ard in the hotel liao, hehe :p

ribenaberry

Anyone stay in Baiyoke Sky who is willing to sell off their breakfast coupons for 2 pax on 17 June? I would like to try their breakfast spread.

vodafone

Ribena : Maybe you should also try their Fruits Buffet when you are at Baiyoke Sky. Costs 150baht per person and you will get to eat Thailand's odourless durians as well.

I stayed in First House Hotel which is kind of the budget type and so sway kana dustmite and now got red spots on my hands and legs....so sian!! Will avoid that hotel next time. Maybe its not really wise to save on the budget for accommodation.

ribenaberry

On top of the breakfast buffet, considering to go for Baiyoke fruit bufffet &/or lunch/dinner buffet. Any recommendation which should i go for?

1) Bangkok Sky Restaurant
* International Lunch Buffet
* International Dinner Buffet

2) Stella Palace Restaurant
* Chinese & Western Dinner Buffet
* Dim-Sum Lunch Buffet

3) Crystal Grill
* Grill & Seafood Buffet Dinner

sunrays

i was in bkk for one whole week and just came back last tues... stayed in siam@siam and it's a really cool hotel. Will definitely stay there next time cos it's really near MBK and getting around is no hassle. I spent the last 2 nites at Asia hotel cos i went to bunk in wif my galfriend. It's the worst hotel i ever stayed in my life!! The moment i stepped in the lobby of Asia hotel, i regretted not extending my stay at siam@siam!

hey jc79, i'm also a bkk freak, hehe... always feel good going to bangkok.. altho i spent one whole week there, still dun feel like coming home...this year itself i went bkk 3 times liao...maybe going there again next month, think my mum is gonna nag non-stop at me...

hazybreeze27

Hi Sunrays

U mentioned that Asia Hotel quite terrible may i know beside the lobby, any other problem? How is the room? Any Bathtub? I will be staying there 2 days later.

sunrays

hi hazy

the room we had was very old...and there's this stale smell all around. I can't blame the hotel cos it's already 38yrs old and dun think they refurbish the hotel at all. THere's a bathtub but it's cracked, so i didnt dare use it.

If you're travelling as a couple, maybe you can tell them in advance it's your honeymoon cos my friend did that and her room was not as 'creepy'. In fact i felt more comfortable in her room tham my own. Honestly, asia hotel's only advantage is that the BTS skytrain is right at their doorstep. Other than that do not expect anything else.

lattefan

As i hv only 3D2N at bangkok, and at the same time wld like to use the facilities at siam@siam hotel, thus, the time to go shopping will be shortened. Can recommend which are the "must go" places? I still haven't plan my itinery yet.