Bangkok

flipfreak

i think everyone gotta take things in a positive light. songkran is a very impt festival in the life of the thai ppl. we need to learn to respect other ppl's culture when we are there.

kena water won't die right? anyway the water splashing takes place along the rd, not inside buildings.

lingling2

Hi Sunflower,
ya lor, but hor, I won't know which one is you leh...wat time will u reach samran?

designfreak,
You are rite lor =)...Already prepared to be wet there, beta like that more cooling...keke...

yanling,
Good idea leh =)...hee

melon

hey hey,

seems like there are some of u staying at samran too. i jus booked my room last nite, have not rec confirmation yet but think will hv rooms la.

I am taking Jetstar on 13th 12pm flight. Anyone same timing? we can share cab to hotel.

May i know if NamSing and other restaurants generally accepts credit cards?

Where is the place to buy cheap bras and undies. I read somewhere its at Siam Square but 4got which dept store liao.

baby_jo

just came back fm BKK last weekend.
the exchange rate in BKK is much better than here. my suggestion is change abit here, maybe to last you the taxi fare + 1 day expenses. then the rest change there.

bloomiey

Hi melon, nam sing do accept credit card. go chatuchak buy cheap n not branded bra, if u want branded then go isetan buy. Anyway still much cheaper than in sg.

sunflower44

Hi ger2,

I should be reaching Samran abt 3+pm leh, my flight touched down BKK abt 2+pm. I'm taking Jetstar. How abt u, what time will u be at Samran? Ya loh, duno how to identify each other leh...

melon,

Hey so how long is ur stay in BKK? Do update us if u're staying in Samran too k..

U can buy the lingerie in any hsopping centres loh, they're already much cheaper than in Spore! But hor, the quality is not as good though....

baby,
Wah heng ah, i changed only $500 in Spore! Will be changing more in BKK if $$ is not enough hehe.... else will sign card loh, safer this way i guess?

lingling2

melon,
i going on 12th early morning flgiht so can't meetup with you liao...But can see you and sunflower at Samran place...keke... But just take note, they dun hv keetle in their room hor, have to buy mineral water frm 7 eleven..

Baby,
Welcome back! Hows the weather there?

Yanling,
I hope chatucahk will open this wkend cos its their songkran...*keeping my fingers crossed*

mocha_lover

to add on: there is also no hair dryer in the room, if you need, you got to bring your own, those traveling types.

Have a good trip and have fun!!!

lingling2

Sunflower,
hmm....maby u can PM me your hp so that I can sms early in the morning on 12th to let you know wat I am wearing lor...keke... I wear specs, how abt u?

I will be at Samran at 10+am cos I taking 6.30am Tigerair flight lor...so most likely we will only see each other on fri morning during bf...keke...so will try to keep a lookout see if there is another lady who is searching for ple...keke...

True lor, the bra quality not so good lor, abit poky for lace one...

I changed all my notes yest liao =(...rate was only 22.8...hiaz...

U packed your things yet?

Melon,
Rem to set aside 700THB for airport tax when u are going bk ya...

melon

i thot airport tax alr included in airfare? I gotta read the terms again. I'm taking Jetstar.

Yea, my resv at Samran hv been confirmed

I wanna get seamless and thin thin material underwear. Which are the lingerie brand that are cheap at BKK shopping malls? Btw, is Isetan at Siam sq? If not what is the street name and how to get there?

I havent plan my itinery yet. prob will head to siam sq for a hearty meal on first day while i avoid e streets observe situation abt the songkran first.

melon

baby: where did u change Baht at BKK?

I am thinkin of changing at airport. Dun wanna flash $ outside, not safe.

For those also staying at Sanran, maybe we will see each other at the breakfast buffet
I am going with my SO, u all in pair or in groups?

I am thinking of going Suan Lam (not for the shopping since stuf r more ex) to take the ferris wheel ride, read fm some website its only ard for few mths. Those who jus return fm BKK, the ferris wheel still in operation?

baby_jo

The weather was extremely hot. Burning skin type. Bring light clothing there. Spend most of the time in shopping ctr. Don't really dare to walk out in the street esp. between 11.30am to 4pm.

Security @ major shopping ctr tight. must open bag to check.

I change my baht in shopping ctr money changer. Feel safer. Neber change 1 whole shot. Everyday change abit and all @ different money changer. hee!

The ferris wheel still in operation.

mocha_lover

ger2: yah they change the bed sheets and pillow cases everyday too!! i like it there, though walking dist a little far and few amenities, it's really good for $$$.

baby_jo

Jetstar fare is inclusive of BKK airport tax.

I bought a few wacoal fm there. Bought fm Emporium shopping ctr @ Phrom Phong station.
Isetan is @ Central World Plaza.

melon

Hv anyone planned itinerary alr? Can share with me a typical BKK 4day trip?

i got a few places in mind to go but when i start doing my itinerary, dunno if the places i plan in same day are all nearby or not? Afraid i end up wasting time travelling up and down cos not familar with the locations.

For those staying at Samran, where are the shopping places that are within walking distance? Hv u done yr itinerary? If so, can share with me and post here?

Anyone went to the Aquarium at Siam Discovery Ctr (cant rem)? Heard its largest in Asia, is it worth the time to go? Haven read abt in at forum though.

Then for other major shopping places, if u know the BTS name to alight, can post here too

Sorry for my many questions.

sunflower44

gers,

Aiyo u do not accept PM leh....
maybe u can email me ur contact at [email protected]. I'll email u mine too! ;p

I changed mine too, rate is the same as urs leh.. no good... =(

Melon,
Isetan is at Central World Plaza...near the four-faced buddha if im not wrong. Theres a big Naraya outlet there too! The bags and pouches are much much cheaper than when u get in Spore...all the gals go there will grab like crazy hehe....

Btw, saw from news that theres a bomb attach in BKK this morning!
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/afp_asiapacific/view/269492/1/.html

GUess we really have to be careful there, especially in CTC and Suan Lum... u gals bought travel insurance liao?

Baby,
wow so cfm Jetstar includes the BKK airport tax?? Yeah..... =)
I'll be going with FH, FH's guy fren and my gal fren... that means me n FH wun be staying together loh.. haiz...

Havent plan itinerary yet, guess we'll just plan a day at a time hehe....

homeangel120

Hi all, i just came back from bkk too last saturday..stayed at samran place as well. The hotel is indeed quite clean, but the room we booked is superior room, those facing main roads one and it's just besides their housekeeping storeroom, thus it's very noisy day and night, esp early in the morning like 6pm..i never had a good sleep at samran. So, rememeber to request for a room that is not facing the main road...my advice...

Yup, the ferry wheel at suan lum still open, saw ppl riding it. Suan lum is indeed a very expensive place, bought a table runner, short one cost 300baht, after 50baht discount. Then, saw that MBK they sell only 90 baht...

We usually walked form samran to platinum mall...my fav shopping mall, wnet there for 3 times and felt that it's still not enuff....hehe...so fun.

sereneli

for those who have stayed in Samran Place, can I check if there's bathub and also can anybody share photos of the rooms?

flipfreak

fyi for all.

1. ferris wheel and stuff still running in suan lum.
2. i am not a perv but cheap and branded undies can be bought at central world. dunno whether they still having promos or not. but generally only wacoal stuff are cheaper than sg.
3. jetstar tix include return airport tax. tiger tix don't include.
4. if you don't have airport transfer, take a cab at the far end of the airport. they go by meter. don't worry.
5. do try to visit khao san if you want to experience the songkran festival first hand.
6. avoid khaosan if you dun wan to get wet.
7. jj mkt will still be open. songkran starts on fri. jj is not opened anyway.
8. the weather now is really humid. drink more water.
9. shopping centres can be found near erawan shrine or near mbk. either the siam stn or the chidlom stn.
10. exchange rate is ard 23bht to a dollar. differences not tat significant unless u changing alot of money.

deathstar

Bad news people....

Just saw on the news that there's yet another bomb blast in bangkok. Now my family's getting really worried for me. shitty... gonna go there in 2 days time. How?!?!

Should I still proceed?

flipfreak

hi deathstar. i think no one is in a situation to tell u to go or not to go. but in the next few mths, there will be some unrest. so u have to wait for a few mths till the whole thing blows over.

melon

designfreak: May i know where is khaosan and JJ market, how to get there fm Samran. What are the good buys there?

The Splash water activity is till Sunday, although Songkran is 5days rt? If go Khaosan on Monday shld be ok and wun get wet rt?

Can someone share with me yr itinerary with me at :

lingling2

Hi Sunflower,
sent u an email liao =)...hee

melon,
I will be going with my hb lor =)..Both of us wear specs....how abt u? wats SO?

JJ market is chatuchak market at Mo Chit BTS Station..One good thing abt Samran is 5mins walk to the nearest BTS station, bery convenient...

Serene,
Yes, there is a bathtub but I dun tink u wan to soak in it...hee

mocha_lover

Serene: Samran place do have a bathtub, the room i stayed in is the Superior room, queen sized bed, and there is a bathtub.can check out the room at my multiply site:felchew.multiply.com

Shirley: i also stayed facing the road, so far didnt feel it was noisy, and i think u got the superior room right? with bathtub too? My room was also beside the hsekeeping room, but then i guess was disturbed much by them.

homeangel120

Hi felicia, ya..our room is a superior room with bathtub..maybe i prefer a quite sleep, tat's why a little bit of noise can wake me up..anyway, i still think tat samran place is worth the money, as it's a budget hotel, so shouldnt ask for too much, as long as the room is clean and comfortable...then ok liao..

BY the way, for those who is interested to buy bra, maybe can go to siam paragon, i bought 3 bras there, and there's 15% disc, but tourist card no more discount. I went to isetan also, but no discount that time...maybe u gals can check it out...

melon

May i know where to obtain tourist card? Major shopping malls will hv is it?

ger2: I'm going with my bf (SO= Significant Other)
I dun wear specs but he does. I think u recognise him easier, he is tanned and of muscular build, but not v tall though :p

I packed my bubble bath for the bath tub, disappointed to hear that its not in good condition... hopefully the one in my room is ok. I'm bringing a sponge to scrub clean clean b4 use

I read the prev posts abt these places:
1) Plaza 29
2) City Complex
3) Krung Thong Building

Anyone went there b4? Can tell me how to get there and worth visiting?

sereneli

Hi Ger2,
Heehee won't soak in it but sometimes after shopping, when tired and no time to go for massage yet, will like to run the hot water and soak the feet to relax...very shiok kekeke

Thanks Felicia, will check out your webby later

lingling2

melon,
oic...keke....so see ya there ya... =)

I have not been to the places u mention lor...

serene,
heehee...true lor, but so far, I dun dare to soak leh...

Where willu be going for massage?

sunflower44

melon,

WAahh....sooo romantic ah, having bubble bath keke! =p
Too bad i cant have with my FH coz we'll be staying separate rooms.... haiz...

Plaza29 is connected to MBK on the 2nd floor, near Guardian Pharmacy (or Watsons, i cant remember). Theres alot of manicure outlets there... also alot of shoes selling at 199baht! U should go there!

For City Complex and Krung Thong, me not v sure....

Serene,
when u going BKK? Staying where? =)

ger2,
I'm thinking of trying Healthland spa...quite good reviews from many ppl leh...

melon

I have shortlisted a few places i am going to visit. I hv listed them in no particular order. Can someone who is familiar with their location help me to group together so i can better plan my itinerary? thanks

1)Central World Plaza
2)Indra Square
3)KhaoSan
4)Suan Lum Night Bazaa
5)Pratunam Wholesale Market
6)Chatuchak
7)Chinatown and Sampang Lane
8)Platinum Mall
9)Memorial Bridge Night Market
10)Siam Paragon, Siam Square
11)MBK & Plaza 29
12)City Complex & Krung Thong Building
13)Healthland spa -Sathorn

Something to share, i got this fm another forum:
BANGKOK SKY RESTAURANT (at Baiyoke hotel)
on 76th & 78th.,Fl
International Buffet
Dinner ( 17.30 Hrs.-22.30 Hrs.) = 940 Baht.-/person
*Special 50 % Discount after 20.00 Hrs (not sure this promo still on or not)

sereneli

Hi Ger2,
Heehee feet ok lah....sometimes when i too tired, I will also soak inside with some bubble bath salt bought from Body Shop :p. As for massage, just go for whichever is nearby for foot massage, never go for full body massage cos feels wierd :p

Hi SunFlower,
Will only be going on 11th may and it's a super short trip as hubby is there to tailor shirts. Basically, just a weekend getaway. Have booked Samran via Asiaroom.

idono

I'm going on 11th May too. Care to ask your hubby where he's tailoring shirt & how long it takes? My flight is 5+pm on 11th May. Not booked hotel yet. Its my 1st time there

lingling2

melon,sunflower,
me boardin gthe plane in less than 5mins time...so excited...

serene,
good choice to book samrn...keep u updated when i am back....tata

melly

hi serene and idono, sorry to intrude... i am aso going on the 11th may. so excited cos its almost a decade since i last been there!

have u gals read the papers on the new restrictions on hand luggages? i am abit confused. i have this habit of carrying a bag with my cosmetic pouch and water. does it mean now no lip gloss, mascara, water bottle is allowed?

idono

hmm... so many on 11th May, anything special with this date? haha. Which hotel did u book or intend to book melly? Recommendations appreaciated :p

hi melly,

its a public thread

its allowed but you gotta put all these liquid stuff in the ziplog bag that they will provide. water is allowed but only less than 100ml. u might as well finish the drink before you check in. and if you need to, buy when you are inside the transit area.

melly

i am flying by tiger, staying at pathumwan princess. fly budget to counter for better accomodation

nah, its my first trip with bf so we putting up at a better accom. subsequent times will be something cheaper i guess. haha.

mmm... that means i cant have my lip gloss n mascara in my cosmetic pouch? i have to put them in ziplock bag?

sereneli

Hi Idono,
I think he's going to Sukumvhit area, think it's called Peter Armani or Kings' Tailor (dunno him) Will usually take 1 or 2 days, depending on how many pieces and what time you go and do fitting.

I will be flying there night flight, reach BKK at 2230hrs on Swiss Air.

Hi Ger2,
Thanks and have fun!

Hi Melly,
Think you have to buy the ziplock bag if you don't have one. It will be available in the convenience shops in the airport. Basically, only applicable to handcarry luggage, which means you have to put any of such liquid stuff into the ziplock bags and for each container, it cannot exceed 100ml capacity. Maybe you can read up on the link provided by minssy.

hi sweetheart,

yes i do.. nah did not help much what

hi melly,

yes. put in the ziplock bag. its for them to see when they check. if its not in the ziplock bag, they may confiscate it.. so best to put inside.. let them see only mah. no harm...

hi flowy,

boots is damn cool! u can buy anything from there! there are stuff that is not available in singapore at all... they carry botanics, no7 and alot of other brands.. i would say most of the stuff is cheaper...

lingz

Thanks Minssy

Do u noe Boots is located in which dept store? MBK? I dun remember seeing it the last time i was there. But, will be going there in 2wks time

flipfreak

hi melon. khao san is a backpacker paradise. its actually a short street with alot of different things like restaurants, shops, etc. songkran is till sunday but monday is a holiday as well.

no idea hw to take train there cos i always hop on a cab. haha.

flipfreak

if u can find the time, do try out the river cruise. highly recommended by my thai colleague. i didnt have a chance to try riverside dining yet.