Bangkok

lingling2

deathstar,
tks for the info ya =)..

I will keep my spirits high too =D...

Going for any spa? wonder they open anot hor...

Minssy,
Me also aiming to go chinatown, but afriad alot of shops might be closed...

duckyduck,
I will be staying at Samran place too =)...ITs my 2nd time there, cosy and convenient hotel =)..

lingling2

minssy,
tks for the infor...hmm....but the watersplashing festival next wk is their big holiday hor....Their govt already annouced that 17th is also a PH..haiz...

Hopefully the shops are open lor...

hi ger,

no worries lah... there will still be places that are opened

lingling2

Minssy,
heehee....tks for your infor...like that I fang xin to go lor...Hopefully won't gana the water...hee...

Duno pratunum market opens anot cos tinking of getting some office pants and skirts..hmm...

hi ger2,

there are many many many stalls in pratunam lah, platinum fashion mall etc.. the whole bkk will not be closed one lah
fang xin..

flipfreak

those who are going during songkran, dun have to worry. my colleague says 80% of the shops will still be up and running at jj mkt. and unless u are in a car from point to point, u will definitely kana water if u walk ard outdoors.

melon

I'm going BKK next Fri-Tue. I hv not been to chinatown b4. Can someone recommend me nice place for eating sharksfin and birdnest? Also, where are the good n value-for-$ places for massages at ard the shopping belt and major hotels? THANKS

After i read this forum then realised its songkran during my trip

ducky

hi minssy,

Never go to the chinatown b4... i normally go to MBK and the major shopping area... just tell the cab to go chinatown? which part? how to go about it?

And also... from the airport, taking a cab to samran place around how much? cab driver know the place? The last few time i went, i stay at novotel & asia...

hi duckduck,

a... chinatown is abit on the north west part of bkk.... yes tell the driver yaowarat or chinatown should be ok... there is no specific part..once you reach there, you will recognise it

cab to samran is about THB 180 - THB 200 by meter.. this excludes the highway fee and the price is from new airport.

go to samran website itself. you can print out this 'how to go' info.. its specially for tourist to print out and show the driver..

lingling2

Minssy,
keke..tks =)..

designfreak,
thanks for your information...

melon,
i going BKk next thurs lor, also will gana the Songkran..but just have to standby extra clothes in my bag in case i got drenched...REM : Dun wear white lor....

Serene,
its easy to get cab at samran lor..cos its alogn the roadside...Most of the time frm Samran place, we can walk to MBK,Pratunum and other shopping malls...At least can avoid the traffic jams...

hi serene,

not that near.. u gotta walk...

u imagine a rectangle.. if you are on the top left part of the rectangle, platinum will be on the top right.. erawan shrine is on the bottom right
but its all within walking distance.. good training for your legs

sereneli

hi minssy,

thanks. heehee I don't mind the walking. It's my hubby who's lazy...he go BKK, always take cab only cos it's cheap. I wonder if cab will want to fetch him to Platinum or Erawan in this case....Anyway, do you have any idea if there's 24 hrs room service in Samran?

lingling2

Minssy,
heee...tks... =)...i go there cheong for hello kitty items...cheaper there =).

Serene,
when will u be giong bkk? I also staying samran place next wk =)...maybe will see you there....Sunflower also staying there next wk =).

hi serene,

i see... not sure abt short distance but i think its fine..
not sure abt the 24 hour room service. if you all are hungry, there is food just opposite your hotel and also those seafood shops next to your hotel..

hi ger2,

yah heard hello kitty stuff there is good and cheap.. but they are on wholesale means u must buy a min 6 or their min quantity...

melon

I'm going to book my hotel at Samran for next thurs-tue. For those who also going ard this time, how much did u pay and where did u book?

Still considering to take standard or delux room, read from their website seems like the diff is only the room size and a small bedside table

melon

Yanling : NamSing sells what type of food?

When i go BKK i only eat at the jap restaurant and western-thai places, didnt explore others. Can someone recommend me places to eat birdnest?

I read abt a massage place called 'heart-land' or something which hv a branch at Samran area. anyone tried? Where are the value-for-money massage places?

lingling2

melon,
tink i paid $37+ per nite for standard room....Just nice for hb and me...not the super nice and big one but cosy and clean. ...booked throught Sawadee lor..

Nam Sing sells seafood, sharkfins and bird nest.

Minssy,
ya lor, but I intend to buy more back cos my frenz also like HK things =)...keke...

Serene,
Oic...have to depend on your budget lor, if u have tight budget, Samran place is a good choice...If u have higher budget, can try Baiyoke Sky,Anroma lor..

heehee...i goign next thurs lor...its their po1 shui3 jie2...

sereneli

heehee the problem is dunno should I save on accommodation or should i splurge on it.

Have considered Arnoma and Baiyoke. Any comments on Baiyoke Sky?

melon

may i know exactly which day is the po1 shui3 jie2 at BKK? Heard that next week will be their new year, will the stalls at CTC and Platinum etc be open? or only those at malls?

sereneli

Hi Idono,

Usually, they will take about 4 to 6 hours to produce 1 for first fitting, once all it's ok, it takes them about 24 hours to complete the rest, depending on how many shirts you are making. Usually my hubby will fly there for 3D2N and his shirts will be ready within a day or so.

idono

thks for the info. Can u recommend a tailor for me? so means i go on sat, then immed go tailor, latest monday i can collect & fly back?

My email is [email protected] if u hv more info for me. thks!!!

sereneli

Hi Idono,

Yeap, you just have to let them know when you are leaving. My hubby's tailor is King Armani located in Sukhumvit area. Seriously saying, although they are fast, I feel that their workmanship is not that good. Acceptable only. So my hubby was thinking of finding another tailor this time round, hence no good tailor to recommend too
Sorry...can't help on that...

bloomiey

melon: its at MBK 3rd floor. Ya they sell the usual sharkfins, all kinds of birdnest. Usually i eat the 500thb birdnest cos got more birdnest inside than the cheaper 1s. They sell tze char also, quite nice.

flipfreak

hi idono. u can try patrick fashionway at sukhumvit. bargain with the prices when u are there. don't spend more than 1200baht on a shirt.

idono

1200baht on one shirt is expensive as in no pt travel to BKK to do specially tailor unless its really superb quality.

Sorry, my 1st time to BKK, but how much is one tailored shirt of above average quality material?

flipfreak

i made mine at patrick's. i am not sure of the average pricing. tailored shirts are nvr cheap. and it also depends on the material. the ones i made material is quite ok. my friend got rave reviews when he wore them to work.

idono

yupz, in SG i've to spend $100-$200 for tailored shirts. But they fit much better than off-the-rack for me

Thanks. I'll definitely check out patrick's. Hope they can do it within my short stay

melon

I was packing my luggage for BKK 12-17th. When i think of songkran, it kinda spoils my mood. I dread the feeling of getting wet and all my shopping bags getting wet, esp if its drity water.. *tsk tsk*. I booked my tix them found out abt it at forum..

Anyway, i wonder what kind of clothings should i bring? Tentative i put some halter T and singlets. For bottoms, i will wear those type of surfer's thin material type, incase get wet will dry faster. I am soooo disappointed abt going there during the songkran.

I am thinking of buying the disposible raincoat selling at watsons abt 1.99 and wear when i walk on the streets to protect myself fm water.... How? or bring umbrella? Think the thais will laugh at me but i dun care... I am more worried if they will get 'offended' by such avoidance. But i really really dun wish to get wet n dirty. If its water toy guns still ok, but i cant imagine pains of water... then my passport wety how? think everything in my bag hm to put in zip-lock bag liao.

Anyone can advise??

melon

Heard that the exchange rate for Baht is better at BKK than change at SG, anyone knows if its really the case?

read abt the news on political unrest in BKK and significant drop in tourist. Wonder whether i shld cancel my trip and go Ho chi Minh instead. I booked my tex thru' jetstar. .. :S

hi melon,

its almost the same.. change here better....

changing destination involves some $$ as well.. do read jetstar terms properly..

onebigday

idono: my hubby has tried Crown Tailor at Sukhumvit area, near Nana BTS i think - not bad. he tried Macways (www.macways.com) the last time - it was ok - cheaper, but the choice of cloth quite limited. i only remember the price at Macways - we bargained to about 1300B for 2 shirts. it's cheaper if u tailor more. we found both thru recommendations in forums.

something to add for macways.. i think it was mentioned in this forum that macways is over rated and that their workmanship is poor..

lingling2

melon,
Chher up ya...I also flying on 12th , bk on 16th...Since u have booked your tics liao, might as well enjoy it lor...For me, I packed some sports bra, T-back tops lor...ask for tops, I still wear my 3/4 pants lor...Bo bianz..

Booked tics liao, if cancel, no refund lor..I ever called TigerAir to check liao...

As for the riots etc, I feel that sometimes news here abit too over cos when i went BKK last yr Sept, there was this Military Coup...the news here so kua zhang..When i reach there, everything was fine..lots of tourist, thais life as usual etc...so cheerup and enjoy your trip lor...

hmm..REM to bring a small towel and wet tissue with u lor, in case got wet by dirty water, still can clean urself lor...Bring a tshirt whenever u go our walking on the streets...just in case...

sunflower44

Wah gals!

I din come into the thread and so many posts liao! =p

Ger2,
2 more days to BKK...cant wait! Hope to catch u at Samramn ya... =)

Kinda sianz thats its Songkrang festival there...hope wun get wet loh....
How much did u gals change?