Bangkok

feifei

L.S,
tks for the infor... Me booking tonite and going end next mth lor...Now still waiting for their confirmation =D.

feifei

L.S,

Just got an email from them that there are rooms available and require me to pay deposit by 13th Aug , then the rest by next mth lor...Will they email to me a receipt to state taht i have paid the deposit and the balance amount? so that i can present to the hotel counter when i am there...

cookie13

hello...THB rate at Suntec is 23.58 today. Soooo low...
kao_sad2.gif

foreverhappy

cookie you should try at chinatown cos at least there is a few of them then u can check which is the best.

HI fei fei mine not the cheapest, there is other who bought at 10 thb. what u intend to get salt and pepper figuring?

Purple i did got to sampeng lane but never see this stuff leh....hmm also shop half way rain so we take cab to other palce with shelter.

cookie13

bo bian gotta do it today...I'm flying on Sun morning liao, tomorrow whole day bz bz.... hope the weather in Bkk will be good! eat shop eat shop, heh...

dazednconfused

feifei,
Not to worry. Sawadee.com will send you an email confirming your stay at the hotel of your choice. You will then need to print out a copy of that email and it will become your hotel voucher.
Which hotel did you book??

cookie13

hi zenn...the changer told me tis week the rates move quite fast,he asked me to wait til next wk as he foresee the rates will be better...I checked out 2 more before changing, the rates are abt the same...bad timing loh..

feifei

L.S,
I booked Samran Place hotel lor...Already paid my deposit liao...got to pay the balance by 14/9 lor... Received a mail stating that they are procssing my application and a email will be sent to me if my deposit went through lor...Guess I have to wait for the email to make sure my application went through lor =D..

Quite excited abt the trip...

Zenn,
Wow, tink 23.8 is the highest hor? that is 23.8baht = 100SGD?

feifei

L.S,
Just receive a mail that cfm my 900 baht has been sucessfully been charged to my card...So will i be receiving any mail from Sawadee ?Or only after I have made the full payment, then I will get teh e-voucher?

zenn

feifei and cookie, not sure but on the same day i asked habour front, the rate was oni 23.4. surprised that suntec offer 23.8 so change lor

feifei

LS,
Din receive any email that my room is cfm lor, but i have paid deposit liao and there states the remaining amt to be paid by next mth lor...

so excited abt the trip...

Now that the airports are quite strict, wonder if we can still hand carry anything hor....hee..

Do you know the operating hrs or days of 1)Chinatown,2)Chatuchak, 3) Pratunum wholesale center?

zenn,
hmm...tink i will try my luck next mth at chinatown...

purple_rain

Hi Feifei,

Chinatown - if u r going to Sampheng Lane, it opens around 9am close at 5-6pm. For those roadside hawkers, they all start business 6-7pm.

Chatuchak - Sat & Sun, 9am - 6pm. Best to go at 9am.

Pratunam - Mon - Sun, 9am - 6pm. Roadside stalls start business in the evening.

feifei

Hi Purple Rain,

Tks for all the infor =D...really appreciate it..now i can carry on with my itineary liao ;p...

Chinatown should be open on wkdays too hor? cos i am reaching on a thurs and want to go chinatown as my 1st stop lor...Chinatown is all roadside stalls?

bloomiey

feifei: Their Chinatown is something like our Chinatown along South Bridge Road. They are open throughout the day, but it depends on what purpose you are going there for. If you going Sampeng Lane then go before 6pm, if you going for roadside hawker, then go after 7pm(SG Time).

Btw Pratunam Roadside stalls are opened on Sunday Morning as well, 10am (SG Time - Fully Open) til night time 9.30pm. Most of the small lane along Pratunam is blocked on sunday by these stalls. Very happening on Sunday morning..

feifei

Hi Yanling,

Tks for all the infor..it will be bery useful to me...tks...

Like that i must go pratunam on sun liao =D...Intend to go get some office clothings there lor =D...

purple_rain

Haha... seems did not buy enough wor...

Spend more time at chatuchak, bought more things using lesser $$ & eat alot of junk food. keke...

trixter

hi ladies...

sorry i've got a silly question to ask..hope you "seniors' can help....hehe..thanks..

which BTS station is nearer to MBK? National Stadium or Central station (Siam)?

One map shows Siam is nearer but another show otherwise...hai, i dunno which one to alight...

bloomiey

Trix: Don't need se map. Map not so accurate. To walk to MBK, you have to alight at the BTS station where Siam Paragon is..Then on the opposite side of Siam Paragon (meaning instead of going to Siam Paragon on the left, you go on the right of the overhead bridge). Then walk down the bridge the cut through the lane then you will reach MBK. Don't walk straight along the road. That means MBK is located PERPENDICULAR to Siam Paragon Shopping Centre. Not Parallel.
I also didn't know how to go there that time til i went to the BTS station and ask them how to go. Then i realise just cutting through the lane would save me alot of time going to MBK. If you cut through it only takes abt 10min or less to reach.

zenn

Yanling, what is the name of the shop at chinatown which sells tu zha like 'ba who'? Do they have a branch at MBK too?

purple_rain

Hi Trix,

You also can take BTS to National Stadium, u have to alight at Siam then go up, only one station away. When u come out from the station, there's a linkbridge to Tokyu. National Stadium is the terminal station of the Silom line.

purple_rain

Their BTS is like our MRT, Siam is the interchange. Sometimes, I lazy to walk from Siam Centre to MBK, i just take BTS to Naional Stadium thou is just walking distance away. Their BTS aircon very strong. keke...

feifei

Purple rain,
wow...u tempted to go BKK again?hee....

L.S,
So means the nearset BTS station to MBK is Siam station hor?hmm...tink should be okie lor, if really duno, then go ask the BTS control ple lor..hopefully they understand english...

trixter

wow, thanks all for your quick reply!

ok, seems like both national stadium and siam also can reach hor....

1) can alight at Siam, cross over the bridge and walk perpendicular from paragon...thanks for being so detailed!

2) if wanna enjoy the aircon, at siam, go up and change to the direction to national stadium, alight and walk to link to tokyu

thank you ladies!!

trixter

aiyo....few more questions...

1) whats there to check out from sukhumwit area? It is a looooooong stretch covering 4-5 BTS stations! What do you go there for?

2) Is it possible to walk from Grand Palace to Sampeng?

3) I heard it is not safe for tourist to just step into any of the shows in Patpong area...is it still true now? I mean the "live shows" are part of the "culture" of bangkok, thought it would be nice to check it out! is it safer to visit them now than before?

purple_rain

Hi feifei,

Tempted only lah, i told mylself unless god free airtickets from budget airline, den i go. keke...

I shld say nearest BTS staion to MBK is National Stadium. If u dun mind walking, u can alight at Siam den walk, else u can inter-change at Siam.

If u r going Siam, Chit Lom, U just take BTS from Rachatewi, route going to On Nut, 1 & 2 stations away from Siam. If u r going to chatuchak, Victory Monument, take route to Mo Chit.

Hi Trix,

Dun worry, their BTS routes easy to understand, when u r at the station just look at the route map, den u will understand.

Btw, which hotel u staying at?

trixter

hi purple rain!

thanks....i think i'll interchange at siam and take to national stadium...no need to walk..hehe..

I'll be staying at Arnoma!! Flying by Tigerairways....even though air ticket is $2 but the tax is about $90!!

bloomiey

Trix: if you are at Siam Station, then forget abt going to National Stadium to go MBK. Frankly speaking i think both are same distance. Anyway if you walk from Siam Station to MBK, along the way there are lotsa shops, That stretch of road is Siam Square, You can find Swensen, HardRockCafe, Watson along the way. So its kinda worth it to walk along there as you will find lotsa food, clothing, meni/padi also.
Sukumwit is a long stretch of road up to 24km i think. Thats why they divided into Soi 1,2,3...

You can't walk from Grand Palace to Sampeng, That will kill you under the hot sun. If you are so enthusiastic about walking, you can walk to Khao San. Didnt try before, neither will i try walking that distance.

trixter

thanks yanling..

wow, thanks for the great tip...i guess walking from Siam station to MBK is ok la hor...okok, i shall walk there then!!

I've read that Sukumwit is for partying yea...

Oh ok, so I'll have to take cab from Grand Palace to Sampeng la....

feifei

Apple,
okie...heehee..but tink there is hardly any free tickets lor...hee

zenn,
thought nam sing is a seafood resturant?

zenn

feifei, they serves birdnest too n was told they sell raw one too. thought of buying back to spore but not sure good or not.

purple_rain

Hi feifei,

Nam Sing sells raw birdnest & sharks fin too, beside these, it is a restaurant too.

Hi Zenn,

Buying raw birdnest has to depend on their grade. Dun worry buying at Nam Sing or Hai Wai Tian, theirs shld be ok de...

Hi Apple,

Ok, will let u know. Hee... Maybe i shld'nt so gan cheong book the 50% off Tigerairway ticket, now the deal is even better.

dazednconfused

Angeline...
Is this your 1st trip to BKK? If so, you're in for a treat! A Spa Treat!!! Healthland gets my vote for best spa chain. Serene and tasteful decor... Competent staff... Reasonable rates... Good location (N Sathorn Rd). My husband and I ALWAYS visit Healthland whenever we're in BKK and we always tell others about it.