Bangkok

dazednconfused

highness...
Congratulations on securing a room in BKK! I've booked via sawadee several times before. Not to worry. What they will do is charge to your credit card a deposit. Then, when it gets closer to the date of your check-in, the unpaid portion is charged to your card. If I recall correctly, that's what happened when we booked from sawadee.

You'll like the convenience of staying at the Grand Diamond! Enjoy the breakfast buffet! Caution: If this is your 1st trip to BKK, be mindful of the tuktuk drivers who may be out to cut your throat. When traveling around BKK, always insist that taxi drivers charge by meter. Have fun!

bloomiey

Cookie13: Pratunam wholesale centre at Pratunam area... hee.. Anyway just tell the taxi driver u wanna go Baiyoke Sky Hotel (Baiyoke 2) / Indra Regent. Both are located closely to each other. From there, you can start walking and shopping around the whole stretch. Best time to go on Sunday morning ard 10am. Otherwise make it morning on other days. There should be some bags avail i think but not much. More on clothes, T-Shirts, baby clothes, bermudas, beach wear etc. Prepare to get them in pces of 2, 3 or 4 for cheaper rate and bargain.
Lao Ji Lin Zheng Xiang at Chinatown. Located about 300metres in front of Hai Wai Tian(right side of road). Left side of the road. I usually frequent the pork pig store. Both shop are same price. Snacks there are good and slightly cheaper. I think i have the namecard for both Nam Sing & Lao Ji Lin Zheng Xiang. They have thai word on it. Prob i scan it when i free.

Highness: Best is don't take tuk tuk cos most of them is kinda ex. Unless you are prepared to spend 10 to 15mins to go gems/jewellery factory with them for a walk then you can get a better rate.

zenn

Highness, remember to try the wantan me opp Grand Diamond. There is a overhead bride outside the hotel, just cross over and on the left side of opp

trixter

Hi highness, do you mind i check how much you paid for Grand Diamond?

My booking with asiarooms for Arnoma has been confirmed. 3 nights is USD192. Gosh.... I hope it is not ex compared to Grand Diamond....

trixter

hi zenn - i book yesterday too...abt 4plus.... jus got the confirmation about an hour ago....

u also booking arnoma thru asiarooms arh??

total for my 3 nights stay is USD192 ($309.5)...

trixter

thanks LS.... wow, so i paid $60 extra for arnoma arh.....aiyo...

i pick arnoma cos tis location is really good....

i thought g.diamond is a little bit far...hai, so looking fwd to the breakfast.....haha..

dazednconfused

highness...
Yes. Zenn is right. The wanton mee opp. Grand Diamond is good. I have a feeling they charge tourists more than they do the locals. Been there to eat twice. Portions are small. I hope you don't mind eating at a roadside stall! Because that's exactly what this it!

zenn

Trix, I booked yest afternoon too. Asiaroom replied there is a unusually high demand which result in delay. Hope to hear from them soon.

zenn

L.S, oh ok. think i better go earlier this time but fm novotel very far leh. must take taxi rite? hotel not cfm yet.

dazednconfused

zenn,
From Novotel, you could take a stroll. Will take about 20-25mins. Otherwise, you could take a taxi or tuktuk. Personally, I prefer walking. I enjoy taking in the sights and sounds of BKK! Besides, lots of shops and malls along the way. I suppose if you don't mind the walk, that'll be the best way to get there.
When did you attempt your hotel booking?

trixter

yes the payment is already thru. I called UOB and found out the actual amount in SGD is 309.50.

hey zenn,
when is your travelling date?
mine is sept 20-23..maybe this is not popular date thus confirmation is faster..... good luck ya.

zenn

LS, i m pregnant now. dun think ve the engery to walk all the way hee. I booked thro asiaroom yest afternoon

dazednconfused

Here's a useful bit of info:

When booking thru sawadee.com, you do not need to confirm with your credit card info till AFTER they have secured a room for you. Meaning... you can inquire if a partcular hotel has available rooms. Sawadee.com will then inform you via email if rooms are available. If one is available at the hotel of your choice, it is only then that you release your credit card info to them so payment can be processed. This is what I like about their service. With other sites (asiarooms.com, hotels2thailand.com, etc), it is the norm that you provide them with your credit card info even before they can secure a reservation for you. I went thru hotels2thailand.com when I booked my hotel stay for my upcoming Phuket trip. Took a risk. But thankfully, we had instant confirmation of our reservation! Phew!

dazednconfused

zenn,
In that case, don't stay on your feet for long periods of time!!
Congratulations! When are you due?

trix,
Well, seeing that BKK is experiencing a high volume of tourists, perhaps it's a good thing that you managed to secure a room at the Arnoma for your vacation! Don't worry too much about it now. I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay in BKK.

zenn

L.S, thanks! Due in jan 07. Going to pray pray n see if can shop around for bb stuff. Any idea beside pratnum, any other places sell bb stuff?

dazednconfused

zenn,
BKK has just about anything you can think of! The malls are a good place to start! From Novotel, you can make your way to MBK. There's a Tokyu outlet there. At Central World (WTC), you can shop at Isetan and Central. Robinsons and Emporium are also good places to shop for baby stuff.

zenn

Thanks LS! Last few trips oni bz shopping for own stuff. Nv keep a look out for bb stuff hehe. Hopefully will know gender soon dan will be easier to shop

trixter

after peeping at zenn-LS postings, i think i have to build in more budget cos I now have extra reasons for more thing to shop now... BABY STUFF! gosh..i'm only getting married next year...haha...

hey, one last question - is that popular fuji japanese restt in MBK or where is it?

wanna compare your exchange rates?
i jus checked out one in bugis 23.6 > gosh, thought i could get 23.9 at least... going to check tampines mall's rate tonight!!

zenn

Trix, haha you are fast!! You planning for bb soon if so can shop for it lah. And maternity clothes too. Spore one very X but dunno BKK one nice or not :p

Yes Fuji is at MBK. Must try!

Huh the rate so low now???

trixter

hey zenn, pick another hotel la.....don't dampen your mood! come come come to Arnoma....pregy dun walk too much...Arnoma is good location lei..haha...

wow, u lagi best...ask me to shop for maternity clothes...i was actually kidding when talking abt the baby stuff...haha!!! cos hor, its not good to "buy first" jus in case humm...you know what i mean.....hehe....

cookie, huh only 23.6? aiyo....so sad....i shall go check out a few more changer later this evening and give u gals a report tomorrow yea.....stay tune!

highness

LS, my stay is juz next week, so sawadee want full payment from me which i gave. but no reservation confirm email hah? oni payment email??
then how i go check in the grand diamond?

Trix, i think mine @ S$300 tho there stated THB7000, depends on bank'sexchange rate bah.. i used uob..

zenn

Trix, ya very high chance I will switch back to Arnoma cos the rest are more X than asia room. meaning i ve to pay S$20-30 more for 3 nites stay

dazednconfused

highness,
How many emails did you recieve from sawadee? In their last email, was it stated that it was only a payment confirmation?? You should receive an email stating that your stay is confirmed. Print out a copy of that email and it'll be your hotel voucher.

zenn,
Oh dear. But, not to worry. Lots of hotels in BKK. Check them out on the numerous hotel booking websites!

zenn

LS, ya but sawadee is slightly more X. Actually the rest of the website are all US5-9 more each day which comes up to S$24-43 more for 3 days stay. Hmm.. you think worth to pay more for novotel? If I choose Arnoma I would save $96. Dilemma dilemma....

highness

LS, total i received 3 emails from sawadee..

1st is they acknowledge my enquiry, 2nd is they found a room in grand diamond for me and request for payment to reserve and confirm, with a reservation #. 3rd is the payment confirmation with a payment tracking # which is simply a # that the payment system uses internally to locate my payment.

i tot after which i shd receive a email from sawadee to confirm my booking??

feifei

All,
Chatuchak market is still open rite? cos heard that the market has been shifted to other places...is it true?

cc2

feifei,

Yes I booked teh $2 ticket

Trix,

Mine is 18.05. haven't book rooms yet. Going on 20th coming back on 26th. U leh? Am asking Hb's thai colleague to help check out if they can help to book cheaper rooms or not.

bloomiey

zenn: those branded bb clothes are ex in bangkok, way more ex than sg. But if you looking for those cheap pasar malam kind of T-shirt for bb. they cost abt 200 to 250 baht for 4 to 5 pce.. Can get them at Pratunam Market... a few store selling.

Check www.asia-travel.com Under Precision Reservation. Slightly ex than asiarooms. but service 100% good.

dazednconfused

highness...
Perhaps you maight want to send sawadee.com an email enquiring about your reservation. In your email, remeber to state your confirmation number. I hope everything goes well for you!

jule

I just got back from Bangkok. Keeps raining the first few days I was there. Shopping was alright and food was still good.

Wanted to go Macway to make some shirts but they were closed for a few days! Decided to try our luck at this Tailor called Country Road in front of Indra Regent Hotel. It was a bad choice! The workmanship is terrible. And even giving them a sample shirt to follow turns out horrible. Those made-to-measure were either too big or too tight. We had to go back thrice for changes.

dazednconfused

zenn,
In your present state, maybe it will be better to pick a hotel that's convenient to just about everything! That would be the Novotel. But, it's really up to you. If you choose to stay at the Arnoma, then Central World (WTC) is just opposite the hotel. MBK is still a 15min walk away. Another issue will be the availability of rooms a these hotels. Did you say that Novotel is full?

zenn

L.S, Asia discovery also revert novotel is fully booked. Wonder should I try another website

Yanling, thanks noted! Ya I like Precision service too but their rate is US10+ more.

zenn

LS, asiaroom and asia discovery. waitin for reply fm direct room. will give discount thai hotel a try. if not will book arnoma.

zenn

Think I have no fate wif Novotel cos even discount thailand hotel also revert novotel fully booked. So Arnoma is the next best option rite??

purple_rain

Hi feifei,

Chatuchak is still open, always heard rumours abt e place will be shifted to somewhere due to their govt wana take back the land, but till now is still there!

Hi Jule,

I just came back on Mon, it was sunny weather thru the 4 days i'm there. When did u go?