Bangkok

trixter

Hi CC2!
Mine is Sept 20-23 but my departure time is 13:05.............aiyo, not the same flight!!

FYI, I've booked Arnoma for $309.50 for 3 nights.. se-car-ly we become "neighbors"...hehe..

cc2

Trix,

U booked your rooms thr where?I'm staying in BKK on nite of 20 but going to Hua Hin on 21. Will be back in BKK again on 23.

highness

LS, i got the confirmation email from sawadee liao, so happy, haha..
hope my trip will goes well!

zenn

Help!!! Seems like end aug is peak in BKK? 2 website get back saying Arnoma superior room fully booked and offer me delux which cost 3100 baht (us83) which is almost same price as Novotel
393582.gif
One of them told me even Pathumwan Princess also fully booked.

Any other recommendation??? Will prefer somewhere convenient. Thanks!

dazednconfused

zenn,
Why not try Grand Diamond? You can walk to Central World and then take a tuktuk or cab to the other malls. The BTS station (Rachathewi) is also a 10min walk from Grand Diamond. YOu can take the BTS from Rachathewi to Siam (only 1 station away) and be at MBK and other shopping areas.

A lower price alternative is Asia Hotel.

zenn

Yeah I have got my room at arnoma thro Precision Reservations. Paid abit more but at least it's instant confirmation!!!
393676.gif

purple rain, thanks for sharing!! where u had ur prawn tang hoon???

zenn

yanling and the rest, can i check is there a signboard showing its pratnum market? cos i went few times but not sure did i actually go to the rite place.

also, for nam xing @ MBK, beside sharkfin n birdnest, do they sell other food also?

jennie

hi, those who had been to pratunam market, can u pls tell me whether they just sell clothes there or it is a veriety of things?
N who had been to cabbages n condoms?

zenn

jenny, i read from past thread and the gals commented papaya restaurant (next to macway tailor) at siam square is better than cabbages n condoms

anyone tried the seafood @ suan lum?

hi zenn,

yes... the food is very good! cabbage & condoms caters more to tourist.. the food there is so so only.. the amt you spent in C & C can let you eat 2 good meals at least in nua papaya restaurant

if you go there, please go early... its a small place.. and very very crowded!

bloomiey

zenn: As far as i have been a few times, I have yet to seen any signboard saying Pratunam Market. Those street stalls along/beside the road are considered Pratunam Market. Thats why i usually recommend people who are going to Pratunam Market to start your journey at Baiyoke Sky, you should be able to see almost all the stuff along the road. Thats Pratunam Market i guess.
Ya NamSing MBK has the same type of food as Chinatown MBK. Prob MBK branch doesn't have BBQ. Anyway their BBQ stuff aren't worth eating. If you wanna eat BBQ stuff go Chinatown Roadside Stalls eat, cheaper and same standard. But for other stuff like noodles, fried rice, BirdNest, Abalone, you can eat at MBK Nam Sing. Almost all of their food is nice. I haven't heard anyone complaining of any of their food not nice.
Btw Precision Reservation don't really give instant confirmation. They only deduct the amt when the date is near. Prob 1mth or 2 weeks before departure then they deduct from credit card. Their service is good. Moreover when you come back, you fill in the feedback form, they give you credits, then you can use the credits to offset your next trip.

Jenny: What kind of stuff are you expecting to buy at Pratunam Market?

feifei

Highness,
so excited for you lor...have u work out an itinery for your trip?

Hi Purple rain,
How much you paid for your favours? looks nice leh...do they wrapped up for you too? u bought at chatuchak huh?

trixter

hi there....

anybody buying customary items in Bangkok?

Gosh....i wonder what are the customary items we need to buy (besides the small lamps)..haha..

anybody has a list of the customary items??

purple_rain

5 baht each. It is a candle in small shot glass, with figurine inside.

I bought abt 100 at chatuchak, wanted to buy more but it is damn heavy.

wedding9999

Any feedback on the following hotels ard Pratunam Mkt ? Or any recommendation for budget of not more than S$50/rm nite (twin sharing).

I was thinking of staying very near Pratunam Mkt so that I shop shop & rest at my hotel rm as & when I like.

Btw, is Pratunam Mkt gd & cheap place to buy household accessories/display, e.g. vases, fake flowers, hse display items, etc ? Thks !

- Baiyoke Suite (heard hotel is old & rms not very clean)

- PJ Watergate ? location ? feedback ?

- Bangkok Palace ? Any feedback ?

- Eastin ? Any feedback ?

- Samran Place ? Near Pratunam Mkt ? Location ? Heard near Asia Hotel.

- Ibis Siam hotel ? Any feedback ? location ?

Btw, which hotels hv their personal safe box in their room ?

Thks so much !

purple_rain

Hi Wedding999

I can help u on Samran Place.

It's not near to Pratunam market at all, walking distance 20-25 mins. If take cab, is just a straight road down, will not exceed 40 baht.

The plus point is near to BTS Rachatewi, 5 mins walk. Other than this, nothing to hoo haa abt this hotel. If u need just a place to bath & rest, it will be a good choice only $35 per night. Breakfast limited choice with 6 sets to choose from.

faultgal

anyone can recommend good and cheap agency for bKK trip ???? by the way wedding9999 (wedding9999) asia hotel have safe box.....

dazednconfused

ping,
Have you considered planning your BKK trip on your own? That's means DIY booking of air tickets and hotel. Usually less costly compared to getting an agent to do it for you.

zenn

Hi minssy, noted. Thanks!

Hi Yanling, oh ok. Cos from the map they have a box up for pratnum market. I tried walking from Baiyoke Sky but I find that area very messy leh. Precision Reservation happened to have 1 room wif instant confirmation thats y it cost slight more.

Hi wedding, I stayed at Eastin b4. Quite near to pratnum. The room is clean and spacious.

bloomiey

wedding9999: Pratunam Market dont sell household stuff and interior stuff as you have listed.

zenn: You went Pratunam Market on weekend? Cos weekend morning alot more stalls setup than weekdays and there are lotsa street food.

zenn

Ping, you can try calling Evon @ Combat 91089972

Yanling, err cant remember. oni remember v dirty n messy hee

feifei

Hi wedding9999,
Its alot cheaper to plan your own trip lor =)..

Me also intending to stay at Samran place =D..

Purplerain,
haiz...now got to book tickets from tigerair lor.. u went by tigerair too? Are the seats allocated to you?

purple_rain

Hi feifei,

I went by TigerAir, no seat allocation. Landing quite smooth but it keep flying in the air for abt 20 mins before it get a spot to land, cos the pilot annouce it over tha PA system. The flying off time is very punctual.

They are having $2 promotion now (T&C apply), think is one way & fly from Sep to Nov.

wedding9999

Thks everyone!

I stayed at Asia hotel b4. They dun hv a safe box in their rm, must come down & deposit yr stuff with the safe deposit counter.

I am planning my own F & E BK trip. But dunno which hotel to stay at Pratunam mkt area....;p

Which hotel rm is slightly better than Asia hotel but not too expensive ?

Btw, where to get cheap & nice household pdts & display ?

Thks !

bloomiey

wedding9999: Household produts n display cheapest you can find is Chatuchak. Suan Lum has also, but not recommended to buy unless you really can't find it at Chatuchak. I think there are some decor stuff which Suan Lum has but not in Chatuchak

Purple Rain: Thats the minus point of budget plane. No priority landing/parking for plane. Landing is only confirmed upon reaching Thai Sky. I have heard many people saying about this and experienced it too. Even when you fly budget to HongKong also has the same problem. Singapore is one of the place where most budget plane doesn't have to fly round and round in the sky due to our fast handling. My last trip, the plane only fly 1 round.. lucky didn't wander in the air too long.

foreverhappy

Hi purple u are back wow so cheap your favour. Did not see it leh....

End up i bought the salt and pepper caremic ut ifeel that this is more pratical as pple still can use it.. keke.... But not cheap lor......

Samran place u book st 35 per night so cheap i book at 39 per night leh.....

where else did u got this time?

Wedding9999 if u want to be near to pretunam market u can try grand diamond hotel amari water gate

foreverhappy

wow purple nice pedi & mani where did u did it as well where did u got the pouch?

Aiyo yours seems intereswting leh.

Me planning to go again but have not decide when...going early next year or see how.

The food that u order izzit from nam sing wow look delicious leh.. me hungry now by looking at the food. haha

For the last few photos is ice cream where u had them?

feifei

Hi Apple,
do u still rem how much you bought your favour?

Hi purple rain,
tink the $2 gone lor, no more liao..now go tnew promo, 2 for 1 lor...

All,
Anyone knows what time does the stalls in Chinatown opens? are they open on wkdays?

purple_rain

Hi Apple,

I did my nail art at Plaza 29, 150 baht for hand, 250 baht for feet. The pouch is from Sampheng Lane, 10 baht each.

I booked samran place at asiatravel website.

Same lor, go to the usual place, but spend more time in chatuchak & MBK.

The ice cream is at swensens MBK, 239 baht.

The meal at nam sing is most luxury & expensive meal I had in BKK, 1520 baht. haha... but very delicious, eat to my heart content. keke...

feifei

L.S,
I have just send an equiry to sawadee to see if any rooms is available next mth lor...So once the confirmation comes bk, i would have to pay in full or just soem deposit only huh? Just gave them my credit card no huh?

dazednconfused

HI fei fei,
It depends on when next month you intend to check-in at the hotel. The times when I booked thru sawadee.com, they only charged to my credit card a deposit first. Then, when it came closer to my check-in date, the unpaid portion was charged to my credit card. But, I'm not so sure about the time-line. Ya... just have to provide them with your credit card info: card no., name, exp. date and security code no.