Bangkok

zenn

oh for those who wanna buy Lin Zhen Xiang goodies, beside chinatown you can get form MBK or Suan Lum too. MBK and Suan Lum dun ve their own shops but some stores do carry this brand. I found Suan Lum selling slightly cheaper than MBK

zenn

S, lin zhen xiang is popular for pork floss and dried BBQ pork, etc. You can find coca and MK (especially) in most of the shopping centre

peiyi

S, where is Budget terminal location?

Thank you. I'm so suprise budget terminal, i never heard b4 this Terminal. But anywhere i booked my air ticket alrealy.

worry

Hi Peggy,

When will you be going BKK?

Budget Terminal, you can take a free shuttle bus from the Terminal 2 bus interchange.

peiyi

S, i will be going on Christmas period, 7D6N. by tiger air book PJ watergate hotel. Last year, i booked there and feel everything alright. Important is very convience loh. I pefer go Pratunam mkt. MBK and siam area sell quite expensive, so i dun really shopping at there but dinner will walkng to there.

We plaining go to look "BAI LONG WANG" near pattaya. Wan to ask hotel arrange for us.

bloomiey

S: Can consider Baiyoke sky rooms since its cheap and rooms are big. Try getting a twin-sharing junior suite room can squeeze quite a number of people in. If u lucky, they dont upgrade that room, you will get 3 Super Single Bed. if they upgrade yours to Superior Suite, you will only get 2 Super Single Bed, then 2 person would hve to sleep on sofa, the other on chair.
Btw, a junior suite room would approx be 2.5 bedroom size. and superious suite would be approx a HDB flat 3.5 bedroom size.

feifei

Zenn,
we can bring bk bbq pork hor? cos will be goign next wk so need to raki abit..hee

Which resturant u went to have for your meals? Nam Sing at MBK?

stacy

S(Worry)..MK can be found at many shopping malls...eg: MBK (1 @ L7, 1 @ L2), Siam discovery centre. COCA, I had mine at Siam discovery centre. For jap food, try Fuji jap rest...cheap n good.

chendol

S,

Thanks for answering on my behalf, haven't logged on since then...

Peggy,

Budget terminal has been opened for quite long.. any taxi driver will be able to bring you there too. just abt 5-10 mins away from T1.

Everafter,

Healthland Sathorn is the one that is accessible via BTS (as mentioned in my earlier post above). No shopping nearby though. but someone mentioned suan lum night market is nearby via cab.

The rest of Healthland outlets are on outskirts of BKK I think. Thai massage is ok, just tell them not too hard if you're very sensitive to pain. The rooms are so comfortable there and spacious! Not like those spas in Sgp.... one tiny room with space for only one bed...

I bought pretty paper flowers for making corsages from Chatuchak... didn't buy any shoes though. bought some earrings and necklaces too.

feifei

Hi twinkle,
Still rem how much u bought those paper flowers?cos need to help my fren to get soem there too...Do they hv those sponagy type of flowers there?Do they sell nice ribbons with xi word there?

zenn

<font color="ff6000">feifei</font>, i bought pork floss cookies back. they nv check leh. yup ate at nan sing @ MBK

<font color="ff6000">everafter</font> can take taxi to healthland cos not v x. from healthland to suan lum 40 baht only

stacy

Smurfy - yes, u need to make booking if u want to go massage at healthland. Can call them when u are there or get hotel reception to call for you.

dazednconfused

S,
Have you decided on your hotel stay yet??

I'm heading to Phuket with my hubby tomorrow! So happy...

erikbecker

Hi all, actually apart from Patpong and suan lum, is there other places that's worth to go etc nice pub, nite market, cafe that open till late nite....thks for ur input coz i flying next thurs

bloomiey

feifei: there is no restriction for importing of dried pork stuff or BBQ pork. The restriction is mainly for Malaysia - SG. However they did state its for personal consumption so probably mass import is definitely out which i don't think you will.

feifei

smurfy and hazel,
me going on 27th sept til 2nd OCt lor...so both of you will be going aft me...Hope i can provide some interesting places and tips when i am back =)...

Maybe you all should try chatuchak too...

Yanling,
tks for the infor =)...

Wonder if there is any card phone at MBK or hotels where I can call bk to spore as I did not have auto-roam service...

smurfy

Hazel79,

How nice..3rd trip.. its my first trip :p

Always wanted to plan to go but always ended up going somewhere else.

hazel79

smurfy
Actually bkk is a very nice place to go except for the weather and traffic. Sometimes i wish i can stay there for their good food and shopping..haha...

Oh, i am sure you will enjoy yourself a lot. I did when i went there the 1st time...very excited....hee

worry

Hi Smurfy,

I'm considering to stay in Arnoma Hotel as well. Let me know your experience with the hotel when you are back in SG ok? If possible, can show some photo? THanks.

zenn

Hi S,

I just back from Arnoma but didnt take photos of the hotel. Think they ve refurnished the room (compared to my visit in feb 06). The room is spacious and clean and location is convenient. You can actually walk to pratnum and siam area.

worry

Hi Zenn and smurfy,

Glad that it's refurbished, cos i heard other comments that the room is old and wallpaper is torn, etc.

bloomiey

feifei: There are card phones as well as coin phones available. You can purchase those prepaid cards for overseas call in many places like MBK or Pantip Plaza. Anyway using coin phone is cheap, abt 25baht can last you 3mins worth of overseas call from BKK to SG.

andreal

Hey gerls,
mi, hubby &amp; frens will be travelling to BKK on 23rd Sep. Be taking JetstarAsia, however noticed that it will be landing at the new aiport Suvarnabhumi International Airport since Jetstar is the 1st airline to head run on this new airport fr 15th Sep. Not sure anyone here oso taking JetstarAsia fr 15th onwards? As i heard there will not be any taxi stand avail at the new terminal, nids to take shuttle bus to a nearby transport terminal to take taxi, bus, limo etc. Rest of the airlines will be moving to it officially by 28th Sep. Mayb those going BKK after above dates can take note. (info fr web)

Below links abt the new airport:

http://www.bangkokairportonline.com/
http://www.airport-technology.com/projects/bangkok/

Anyone wana share with me regarding this, esp. on the transport facilities fr new airport to city.

Hv a nice day!
Andreal

jus_1mee

Hi people!
im planning for a trip to Thailand end year. thinking of Arnoma or Baiyoke sky - which one is better? i initially wanted to go for Baiyoke sky.. but i heard it is hard to get cabs there.. and its far from train station... what about arnoma - is it in a more conv location? in terms of rooms.. which is better?

zenn

jus, unless you likes shopping at pratnum otherwise arnoma is definately better location. they ve just refurnished, room is spacious and clean.

trixter

Date: Sept 20 to Sept 23

Flight: Tiger Airways
TR118 Depart Sin 1305 Arrive Bkk 1415
TR117 Depart Bkk 2010 Arrive Sin 2330
Price: SGD184.50 (for 2 adult air tickets)
I got the $2 promo in Aug. This includes all the taxes and everything. I have not register our names on the tickets yet.

Hotel: Arnoma Hotel(4 star hotel/Superior Room)
Big C and Gaysorn are beside this hotel and WTC is just opposite. BTS is abt 3-5min walking distance away. This is prime location. I booked thru asiarooms.
Price: SGD312

So total price for this 4D3N Bangkok trip is:
SGD204.50 + SGD312 = SGD516.50

We have no choice but to give up our air tickets and hotel reservation in Bangkok. Details as follow. This is quite a good deal cos I grabbed the $2 air ticket(only to find out he can't take leave).

Interested parties, please email me at [email protected] or call 90309081 soonest. Otherwise, I will be cancelling my reservations on Sept 12 in order to reduce my damages.

guazi

hi friends!

other than asiarooms, precision and asiahotels, wotif , are there any other website which provides us online booking for hotels?

estben

Hi Angie
Alternative if you are doing DIY you might want to book direct from Bangkok. They provide excellent service.
The agency is :Saen Sanuk Tour Co, Ltd
You can look for Ms Paad. Tel : (662)650-0033 or Fax : (662)650-0363 or e-mail : [email protected]
Their agency is located at Eastin Hotel 1st floor.