Bangkok

foreverhappy

Hmm for $100 then i would recommend there this hotel call the gallery hotel i think each room has each theme but u 'll need to travel in taxi most of the time.

If u don't mind walking and ok hotel, u can consider samran place where u can walk to MBK & Also Pratunam. also near to BTS. But it does not have the ambience of a 5 star hotel.

mayb Yanling can advise u better. cos my search is more on buget hotel so that i can spend more on shopping. Of course the other good hotel is P Princess & Novotel.

dazednconfused

highness...

With that type of budget, you've got plenty of choices!

Chinatown is actually quite interesting. But if you want a more convenient location, nothing beats Novotel and P. Princess! However, the rates there are slightly higher than S$100. It's your honeymoon!! Splurge!

dazednconfused

highness,
If you and your hubby don't mind walking, there're decent hotels in the Pratunam area. Very close to the Pratunam Wholesale Market. Centre Point 15 and Grand Diamond are along Petchburi Rd. I've stayed at both places before. Nice hotels. The breakfast buffet at the Grand Diamond is quite wonderful, actually. And best of all, both these hotels are located only a 20min walk from MBK and Siam Square! Along the way, there're other malls and shops too! Like Central World (World Trade Centre), Big C, Paragon, etc. BKK is a happening city! You're sure to have a great time there!

chendol

I'm also looking for budget hotel. Heard that Pratunam City Inn is ok and 10 mins walk from BTS. But from the internet the rooms look a bit old.

There's also Bangkok City Suites, which is new and around the same price as City Inn, but slightly further away - 18 min walk from BTS station. Someone who stayed there before told me it was really new and clean.

Was thinking that if I am going to walk and lot and shop and carry things, then I should get a hotel that is nearer MBK. Patuwan Princess and Novotel beyond my budget.

Would like a 3 star hotel, but must at least be clean lah... has anyone been to Samran Place b4? Clean?

Maybe I should just stay near Healthland, since I've heard so much about it! Anyone knows if nearby have hotel?

Thanks all.

For those with more budget to spend, I can share that Banyan Tree Bangkok is nice (but it's not a resort feel - smack in the middle of city) and every room is a suite - i.e. living room area. A little dark though, but they will burn new incense sticks everyday - if you like that sort of thing.

Another lovely place with a gorgeous spa is Marriott on the south bank. Large rooms and beautiful huge spa area.

I've also stayed in the Arnoma when there on work... but I feel the shopping centres around there not as interesting as MBK.

zenn

icebaby, ok thanks! i just need a guide.

highness, if you looking for convenient you can consider arnoma. think most likely i will stay there again for coming visit.

bloomiey

Yeah if you are looking for hotels slightly cheaper than Pathumwan Princess or Novotel, you can try Arnoma or Amari Watergate Or Bangkok City Inn too.. Both location requires some walking distance to the main shopping area esp Amari Watergate. These hotels listed aren't budget hotel. Unless you take service apartment at Siam Square, there is a previous posting of service apartment near Siam Square. Its the size of a HDB flat with all the household facilities avail.

Otherwise if you are looking for budget hotel, then you can consider, Asia hotel, Samran, Baiyoke Sky, Indra Regent... These are the favorites budget hotels avail.

highness: Your $100 budget is for how many nites? per room? or per person?

L.S: Chinatown hotels are kinda far from main town area, taking cabs everytime would cost additional $1 or $2 and the worst thing is during peak hours, i doubt any taxi driver would wanna go town.

sunrays

hi highness

i'm going to bkk this week and i'll be staying at Shanghai Inn for 2 nites and then The Davis for next 2 nites. you may chk out The Davis's website::: www.davisbangkok.net ....it looks really good if you have the extra $$ to splurge. I chose the 'Design' room and it's abt $139 per room/per nite.
As for Shanghai Inn, I paid abt $70 per room per nite. Save on Shanghai Inn but splurge on The Davis....hehehhee...

zenn

Gals, I have confirmed my trip 26-29 Aug!

LS, I realised there are 3 branches for Healthlandspa. I am thinking of staying at Arnoma, is the one at north sathorn most convenient? Would taxi driver knows the place or location?

Sunrays, where is Davis near to?

hi highness,

lovely place... romantic.. nice... but not very cheap.. cheapest dinner meal for 2 will cost at least $100....

make reservations online should you are going over the weekends....

sunrays

hi zenn

Davis is near Emporium Dept store(Phrom Pong station). According to travel forums, it's abit far to walk(15mins walk) but the hotel provides free tuk tuk shuttle to Emporium.

Hi highness

Good choice to stay in novotel....i stayed there 3 times so far... really convenient location and u'll surely see alot of s'poreans in tat hotel,hehehe..

pinkygal

Hi Sunray

I wan to book Davis too. But it is full... how did u manage to get your rooms and where did u book from? website ? how much in advance did u book?

dazednconfused

Hello...
Yes. Always make your reservation at Healthland! have the hotel call for you so as to save on phone charges.

Zenn,
Yes. The outlet along North Sathorn will be best.

highness,
You can usually book your massage a day in advance.

feifei

Hi L.S.,

I am looking for budget hotel of less than $70 per nite lor...for twin sharing...Apart from Grand Diamond, Classic Place hotels, is there anymore hotel near pratumum or near to chatuchap market and Pathumum market?

Tink tigerairways is the cheapest hor?

zenn

Queenie & LS, ok thanks. Now trying to find out how much is their pre natal.

Twinkle, yup. You too?

Highless, can you share which website and how much you book novotel?

papermoon

hello to all!
I'm going to BKK from 11-14 Aug, travelling by tiger, stayin@ diamond city hotel. Trying to plan itinery now as main concern is to go to weekend mkt and pattaya. Unsure how to go to the station to catch the bus to pattaya ley, anyone got any pointers ? thanks! Wherelse is worth going for buying home decor stuff?

rains

I've heard that the air in Bangkok is very bad. Is it alright for an asthmatic kid to go? Any place fun for a kid?

For the adults, any place that's a must-go?

Thanks!!!

bloomiey

rains: Streets along 'Town Area' air is bad, Those street along Central World Plaza stretch up to MBK. Kids >> Dreamworld (But not worth it)
Chatuchak & MBK

feifei: Asia Hotel.
Abt $100+ can get Baiyoke Sky/Indra Regent just directly below hotel is Pratunam market.

highness

zenn, i'm still trying to book for notovel.. tried asiarooms.com but can't get the room... not available wor...

will let u know when i manage to confirm a room at novotel..

zenn

highness, i am btw aroma and novotel. thinking of gg back to arnoma cos my hb will be tailoring shirts at big C which is just next to hotel. more convenient...

zenn

Need some advise :

1) Anyone went to khao san and Thong lor area? Its not so popular but I remember someone mentioned this place?

2) Anyone tried Nan Sing and Hai Wai Tian? Which is better?

3) Anyone know beside Healthland spa, any other massage place have pre natal massage? Any idea abt marble house or Chang massage?

icy, where is Tea room & Nana at Erawan bangkok?

yanling, issit worth going to Bann Khanitha? Can we walk from Central dept store?

sputnik

Hi zenn,

I went to Khao San on a previous trip to Bangkok, but spent less than 1 hour there. Quite disappointing. It is mainly a place for caucasians to hang out, there are many restaurants and the caucasians like to sit by the road in groups and drink. Not many shops, most of the shops there are quite touristy and also saw a few silver shops.

But I know some people like that place, probably becos of the laid back atmosphere. Gives me the feeling like a beach resort where people like to hang out.

zenn

Hi sputnik,

Oh so ppl just go there for meals and drinks? Taxi driver will know where is Khao San? It's a stretch of restaurants/pubs like boat quay? sorry ya trying to figure out worth gg or not. Thanks!

dazednconfused

feifei,

Centre Point 15. Stayed there before. Nice place. 5mins walk to the Pratunam Wholesale Centre. You don't even have to cross a major rd. Only small side streets as the hotel is on the side of the Pratunam Wholesale Centre. They've got LARGE rooms. Seriously. Buffet breakfast is so-so. But sufficient lah. Grand Diamond has a better breakfast buffet spread. The going rate at www.sawadee.com is S$80 for both hotels, I think.

dazednconfused

feifei...
Forgot to add this point: If you're indeed going to stay at the Centre Point 15 along Petchburi Rd, you may wish to request for a room on a high floor. We always do that as the noise on Petchburi Rd is rather, well... noisy. Maybe we're just being very particular about noise lah.

feifei

hi L.S,

Thanks for the infor...Hb and i are looking at Samran place now...Read frm the other thread that this hotel is only $42 per nite...we intend to spend more on spa and shopping so want to cut down on hotel charges...Have u heard of this hotel before? any comments? Is it near to BTS or which BTS is it near cos was tinking of going chatuchak and chinatown from this hotel...

Do u tink chatuchak stalls accept credit cards?
Our budget now is less than $50 per nite for hotel lor...

dazednconfused

zenn,
Visit www.healthlandspa.com
I believe the charges are on the site.

feifei,
I can't say that I know much about Samran Place. Never stayed there before. But from what I gather from the forum, it's a pretty basic sort of hotel. Think of the chalets at East Coast Park (Costa Sands). Samran Place is somewhat in that same category. Great price though. Guess I'm the spoilt one... Have to have my comforts!!
Depending on what you buy and how much you're spending, the businesses at Chatuchak may or may not accept credit cards. I've never used credit cards there before.

highness...
When is your trip to BKK? I'm leaving for Phuket in less than 6 weeks. Thinking of booking my accommodation soon...

feifei

L.S,
Thanks for the information... Do u know if there is any shipping company at chatuchak cos we were tinking of sending some of the things back by DHL if possible =)...

U going Puket huh? wow....

Where is this healthland spa? where is it near to?

bloomiey

feifei: I guess they don't accept credit card since its a weekend market and weekdays they don't really open, if they gonna leave their facilities there, it might just get stolen during weekdays. Almost all stalls accept only cash payment.
Only Suan Lum has some credit card facilities but still limited stalls.

zenn: I haven't been there cos i could not make it on time during my last trip cos of the terrible jam along WTC to MBK area.
But seriously if you have the spare time to go Bann Khanitha, you should try it. Their famous specialty is the small soft shell crabs as well as mango sticky rice. Have to make advance booking before you go.
Oh yes, Khao San is mostly pubbing area, happening at night time. Thats why many people say its a backpackers heaven as well as pubbing. So if you love pubbing, you can try

Whichever nam sing/hai wai tian u go, don't go Chinatown Nam Sing. Go MBK Nam Sing. Food standard slightly better and more tasty than Chinatown Nam Sing. Thats all i know. Haven't try Hai Wai Tian.

dazednconfused

fei fei,
There are courier/shipping outlets at chatuchak!!
Not sure which companies... Perhaps TNT. Healthland Spa is along N. Sathorn Rd. Great place to unwind and relax. Prices are VERY competitive and the ambience is classy. Very much like the full service spas here in Singapore! I go there every time I'm in BKK!

Yup... Heading for Phuket. Can't wait. There isn't a Healthland outlet in Phuket though. Guess I'll have to hunt for a spa to visit while in Phuket! Anyone knows of one??

highness

Hi LS,

novotel is full for the period i'm going! arrgh!
now gotta look for other options liao..

me goin phuket before my bkk trip, hee..

feifei

Hi L.S,
Tks.... This Healthland Spa, is it near to any shopping center?cos i was tinking since i intend to stay at Samran place hotel, must find out how to go to the spa lor ..keekee..1st time there, abit mountain turtle...hehe..

Beside, can you post the webpage for this spa cos the other one that you posted earlier, I can't open the link...tks...Does the ladies there know english?

Wow,Puket is a nice place for holiday =D...

Hi highness,
Mayb u want to try Baiyoke Sky? or Arnoma Hotel?

Yan Ling,
Thanks for the infor...What is this MBK Nam Sing huh?A restaurant?

bloomiey

feifei: Ya. Nam Sing Restaurant famous for shark fins and bird nest. Their noodles and pineapple rice are nice too... I think its at 3rd or 4th floor of MBK. Anyway eating bird nest is cheaper in Bangkok, so many travellers usually go eat.

highness: Yeah baiyoke sky or indra regent @ Pratunam market.

bloomiey

zenn: Erawan bangkok is just behind/beside erawan shrine.
Basement 1 has some food retaurant avail. Went crystal jade there. But the food not so good.. ok ok only. Nothing much in there, some branded shops thats all.

dazednconfused

highness...

Grand Diamond and Centre Point 15!! The former is an all-suite hotel that is very reasonably priced and the latter has HUGE rooms. Both will set you back about S$80/night. Good buffet breakfast at the Grand Diamond!
And both are situated close to the Pratunam Wholesale Market. Walking distance to malls!

purple_rain

I'm back!

Stayed in Samran Place, is a basic hotel which i booked at 850baht per night. Room is quite spacious with bathtub but no electric kettle & hair dryer. Breakfast - 6 sets to choose from American to Asian breakfast. Walking distance of 5 mins to Ratchatewi BTS station. Try not to stay in room facing main road, very noisy...

Weather is hot throughout my 4 days there, no rain at all :good: Mostly travel by BTS, except to Chinatown & Suan Lum. Did buy the 1 day pass but doesnt seems to fully make use of 100 baht, after travel e whole day, still lugi 5 baht... LOL. So buy single trip better.

Big C by BTS (15baht) - to buy drinking water & toiletries & tons of chewing gums. As Samran place does not have kettle so must buy drinking water. 12 bottle = 48baht. Went to 4th floor to have dinner at Yum Saap, 1 tom yum glass noodle, 1 tom yum stick noodle, 1 chicken salad & 1 wateremelon frosttie only 190baht. As it's very heavy carrying the water, so no choice have to go back hotel to put the things then go out again.

MBK - went to MBK 3 times... haha. Bought shoes only at 199 baht, SO bought adidas apparel at 50% off. Did my nail art at Plaza 29, only 400baht for hand & feet, I simply love it!! So many design to choose from, ranging from 150 - 300 baht. I really cant believe that they can draw the design out free handed & only took 1 hr. I was afraid she cant draw exactly as on the display but she can! Will post the pic later. Had Nam Sing, this is the most luxury meal I had in MBK. You guys muz think that I'm crazy to order so much... keke. Crab with glass noodle, big head prawn with glass noodle, 2 bowls of shark's fin, 1 oyster omelette & 1 kang kong, cost me 1520baht but it's delicious! MacDonald meal is cheap too, only 79 baht for a fillet meal(upsize), 55 baht for McDippers. I like the Japanese style & Thai style crepes only 45baht & 25baht. Tried chocolate fondue on my last day in Thailand, 1st customer at Swensens, so u can imagine, 10.30am eat ice - cream. :p

Chatuchak - Hot! Hot! Hot! walk from 9am - 1.30pm, bought 70% of my things here. Skirt - 89baht, bra - 89baht, knitted cardigan - 199 baht, Puma messnger bag - 200baht & more.... For the wedding favors, i bought those scented candles, in a shot glass filled with colorful sand & with a small figurine inside, only 5 baht.

Chinatown - Earrings are cheap! ranging from 5 baht(studs) - 25baht (dangling), I bought 14 pairs for 150baht... Cute furry handpouch at 10baht each. Hello kitty items are cheap too. Hair accessories like banana & sharks clip, 1 pack only 30baht, buy more even cheaper. Long lacey ribbons which u can use as a belt, hair band or DIY on your bottoms are cheap too.

Pratunam roadside stalls - Imitation stuff are everywhere, but can bargain... If u buy 2 & abv, u can bargain for 50 baht cheaper.

Indra Square, City Complex & Krung Thong - Things selling here are similar, did not spend too much time there.

Platinum Fashion Mall - A heaven for ladies, you will be pampered for choices. Clothes are so pretty & cheap, with 200 baht u can buy a very nice top. Again, buy more cheaper price.

Suan Lum - Things are expensive, when u ask how much? they will look at you, hesitate & quote u the price which is 50% more than Pratunam & Chatuchak. I simply walk away & they will shout 150, 100... :bad: The ferris wheel is magnificient, 100baht per ride but nothing special when u sit on it... just for the sake of trying out.

Oops! i post too long liao... Hope u guys wont fall asleep...

purple_rain

Hi Feifei,

I have map of chatuchak, but i saved in my office's pc, leave down ur email add, i send to u tmr.

but even with a map, u also wont rely on it, cos is too big liao... Once u see something u wana buy, grab it. Try not to do go & compare price then go back again. you will never find it. Just like me, saw 1 nice shoes & i told myself come back later but I cant locate the stall...