Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

apprye
paiseh, mix up with selegie's cold crab (singapura seafood). the one at bt timah (kopi thiam near 6th avenue) is famous for its stir-fried crabs, not cold crabs :p

val
u can find chili crabs, kopi thiam style, almost everywhere around. but for thumb-up chili crabs with golden mantou, following are few tried and trusted choices for ur consideration.
1. old airport rd hawker (matter rd seafood stall)
2. ghim moh crab master (it has another outlet at choa chu kang, think at or near sunshine plaza)
3. no signboard (geylang outlet still best)

others who have tried can add to this list

val
a correction (new yr resolution), once every fortnight when younger
now have to watch cholesterol, haha
hopefully keep it to monthly instead

kevin.. ya i noe everywhere hv chilli crabs but wan to find nice ones
i tried the no sign board chilli crabs at esplanade, not tat nice as long beach's. maybe i'm used to long beach's chilli crabs. haha.

which stall above is cheaper? or all teh same?

i avoid the restaurant cos
1. favour beer cum crab kopi thiam style
2. feel those restaurant too commercialised, hence compromise on crab taste
3. lastly, dun wanna pay 10% + another 7%, haha

val
u should try the no signboard at geylang
1st outlet, still best among the espanade & vivocity

crab price will differ dep on the crab they get

since 2yrs back, fell in love with the 阳澄湖大闸蟹leh, just steam, sweet meat and generous roe, guiltily awesome

What I learnt is to avoid eating crabs around full moon time. Cause what I heard is that the crab's meat will shrink when the full moon approaches..

I'm not sure if it's proven scientifically though.. That's what I learned from the Mellben auntie..

apprye
hmm, not exactly beside 6th ave
the kopi thiam hidden amongst the condos, off holland rd. remember its unique name fortuRe seafood (not fortune seafd)

apprye
this is indeed sth interesting, crab meat shrink ard full moon. luckily this week sees crescent moon, can continue with my fri plan

curiosity got the better of me and went into hdb webpage to check how's our estate faring ... wow, only 12 units left altogether, even after the ~30k increase in selling price for this apr bi-monthly release

Wa, so many crab lovers huh... did i tell you guys i like crab too? It's just that i don't eat often doesn't mean i don't like it

I went to the crab master at ghim moh only 2 weeks ago, 12 of us and we ate 7 medium crabs!! We love the butter crab, and the vermicelli crab is really nice too. The final bill was nearly $500, quite scary for a coffeeshop dinner. The medium size crab is approx. $40 per pc i think. By the way, there are 3 crab master in singapore, not very sure where the other 2 is LOL

I had been thinking of going back there to eat soon, maybe we should gather a few people to go there together? More people can try more types of crabs
It is just 10 mins walk from Bouna Vista MRT.

Yum Yum

I tried the Long Beach famous black pepper crab before but i didn't really like it, not that it's lousy but i don't really like black pepper

Kevin, did you realised nowadays seems that only can find male crabs to eat, cannot find females ones, it's sad when a lot of people like to eat the eggs.

Reply from DBS.

We refer to your email of 9 Jun 08.

Apart from Gek Poh Shopping Centre (Blk 762 Jurong West) and Jurong
Point (1 Jurong West Central 2), you may wish to use our ATMs located at
:

- Blk 731 Jurong West St 72
- Blk 638 Jurong West St 61 (Pioneer Mall)

Please be assured that we are continually reviewing our ATM distribution
network and we place our self-service banking machines at convenient,
high traffic, commercial locations to ensure optimal accessibility and
convenience to more customers.

Thank you for banking with DBS Bank.

i dun like black pepper crab. Too spicy for me le.

haha, any 'hou wu chang long' in the estate that can cook crab well? Than, we can save trips on going ard to eat le.

btw, since we are living in jurong areas, there are many factorys nearby that we can buy at factory prices like meat products, ice-cream, meiji etc. i think the fish port also can get cheaper seafood

quite a no of crab lovers huh.. ya can arrange go eat one day hehe. kevin can suggest places to go eat.

the crab eggs nice ar? i dont eat that, not veri adventurous haha. long beach i only like the chilli crab.. esp the sauce. sure.. one day i'll go try the no signboard at geylang. speaking of it, i tink i 1 yr + no eat crabs le! gonna go soon

aiyo why wait? this weekend we go eat crab lah... keep talking about crabs until i cannot take it off my mind now. heh heh

1 year + is a long time Valerie!

Valerie,

The plumber told me the water pressure at your place is higher than mine. I went back to check the spray gun, indeed the spray power is not as strong as yours

But he did mention to me that the spray gun you got not as good, he knows it once he feel the hose, he says not tension, elasticity or something. (not sure)

Some more you told me recommended by the shop owner, i think everything they sell they will also recommend good one. Heh. The plumber quite good, got a few tips from him.

Now left 4 units available at St64. I think as the number of availability goes down, people starts to gan chiong and explains why the selection numbers went up in the last few days.

People are strange, when things are limited they rush to get it.. when plentiful available, they starts to be fickle and skip it.

ryan
besides the crab master @ ghim moh, which i patronise often. the other 2 outlets are at choa chu kang (not too far) and eunos (very far)

me also la! now got craving for crabs liao. ya la 1yr+ is veri long, no choice.. been bz with wedding so no time go eat n careful of diet also ma heh heh. now can eat already!

fri kevin already gg to joo chiat, how to go this wkend to eat?

ryan.. hmm issit becos u're at a higher level compared to mine so the water pressure is lower? my spray gun not gd ar.. hmm then wait till it spoils then change ba haha. did he says urs is gd? if so next time change to urs. wad tips did u pick up? share leh

val
crab egg = roe = 蟹黄
surely you've seen and eaten this, right
that's nothing adventurous with this, it's a delicacy in fact.
unlike those worms, snakes, tarantula-like spiders and crickets which i tried during my backpacking trips

Ryan, val
U two can go ahead this wkend
Crabbing this fri as less crowd and shorter wait ïŠ
Jio again in late july when return from Cambodia

Ya,

I also want to ask you Valerie. So what's the fault previously? is it the heater? I also got Joven so if it's the heater fault then i have to look out too.

ya my heater is ok liao. the joven ppl came to check n yuan lai is my ID's plumber attached the hot n cold pipes wrongly.

ya i tink i noe wad is crab egg. its the orangish slimy/runny thing near the hard shell? i don't eat that, tastes n looks weird. haha. next time we eat together, u and ryan can have it

Valerie,

The tips is like what he told us, don't get that cleaning ball because it will eat away the rubber. Also he say shut off the valve when not using the spray gun, not sure why.

ryan.. the hot n cold pipes were connected wrongly.. so i don tink its smthing wrong with the heater. so u can relax liao hehe. unless u experience same problem then u know wad went wrong le lor haha. i tink my ID's plumber tat day must be sleep not enough or quarrel with wife.. like tt also can connect wrongly.

Ya thats right, the part near the shell... i dont' eat that either.. just that i heard from my friends that often is male crabs nowadays. It's high in cholesterol!

mon night after u all left we immediately took out the balls le. tink only put it in 1-2 weeks so hopefully not much damage done yet. ya i rem to shut the valve when not using. also duno wads the reason.. ur plumber in such a rush, cant ask him also haha

They are fast and efficient.. heh.. so how did you take it out? He sounded like it's not possible to take it out. I also wonder what's so difficult about it.

Just putting this up for new potential neighbours
noticed only a few people still here ^^ new neighbours do add in your name

Estelle st 64 Blk 675A
toothytooth st 64 Blk 675A
ngel65 st64 Blk 675A
Jiajia st 64 Blk: 675A
Henvye st 64 Blk: 675B
Kevin st 64 Blk: 675B
khy st 64 Blk: 675B
Yen Chern st64 Blk 675B
Justin&Jolin st64 Blk 675B
1118 st64 Blk 676A
Goatie st64 Blk 676A
Li st64 Blk 676B
christine st64 Blk 676B
Valerie st64 Blk 677B
Woonie st64 Blk 677B
Corrine/Shawn St64 Blk 678A
whyme st64 Blk 678A
whiteyling st64 blk 678A
CSY St st64 Blk 678A
Icegin st64 Blk 678A
Meirong st64 Blk 678A
rav3n st64 Blk 678B
Hwee*2 st64 Blk 678C
Impy st 64 Blk 678C
Ryan st64 Blk 678C
Shermaine st64 Blk 678C
Meng & Liz St 64 Blk 678C
Ms_blur St 64 Blk 678C
dar80 st 64 Blk 678D

Yvonne st93 Blk 988C
ckoonyin st93 989A
genwin st93 989A
Eileen st93 Blk 989B
xiao_qing st93 Blk 989B
Plasterbride st93 Blk 989B
Cutie cute st93 Blk 989C
Kopi/pleiades st93 Blk 989C
Purpletulips st93 Blk 989C
Pebblewee st93 Blk 989C
aforahma st93 989C
Hui ny st93 Blk 989D

Shan3 YS Blk 178 #18
Lavender YS Blk 178 #13
Lin & L3x YS Blk 182 #14
Kitty YS Blk 177
Pauline YS Blk 181
Lele YS Blk 180
Mmelody YS Blk 181 #14
Piggy aka Sharon YS Blk 181 #13
Star07dust YS Blk 181 #07
Jam&Jap YS Blk 182 #08
MLR YS Blk 177

believe majority here are from st 64, cos the YS and st 91 frens started another thread elsewhere. perhaps we may need to clean up the list

Tidied the list. Few new neighbours from apr 08 bi-monthly balloting
kao_welcome2.gif

675A Estelle
675A toothytooth
675A ngel65
675A Jiajia

675B Henvye
675B Kevin
675B khy
675B Yen Chern
675B Justin&Jolin

676A 1118
676A Goatie

676B Li
676B christine

677B Valerie
677B Woonie

677C Jolene Low (Apr 08)

678A Corrine/Shawn
678A whyme
678A whiteyling
678A CSY
678A Icegin
678A Meirong

678B rav3n

678C Hwee*2
678C Impy
678C Ryan
678C Shermaine
678C Meng & Liz
678C Ms_blur
678C Faith (Apr 08)
678C Pong & Mi (Apr 08)

678D dar80

anyone here doing something to hide the air-con unit area in the MBR? There's this squarish one meant for window unit or something.. i don't need it anymore and i'm actually thinking of fixing some shelves at that area.. wondering if it's possible!

finally starting my reno.. super slow as compared to all of you! haha. but i think more to come when the new batch of neighbours arrive.

ryan.. hehe i told him liao lor. n the joven ppl charged me $50. i called my ID on the spot, ask him he wan reimburse us or he can get his plumber down tat very day or on sun o not. let him choose. he say ask us to ask joven ppl do, he pay us back n give us a treat someother day lol.

wa kevin.. how u get to know the apr balloting ppl? got another thread issit?

whyme.. don get wad u mean.. u mean u wanna fix some shelves at the aircon window portion of the mbr? slow but at least started liao