Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

kevin.. haha todae stay home ar.. then got prepare nice dinner? me n ryan will be installing our spray guns after work todae.. after tt go ur place eat dinner? wahhahahaha :P

haha, val~
wife oredi preparing dinner (got 枸æžé¸¡æ±¤) now
we have sth on in the evening, be going out so will have early dinner @ 5.30pm
if u can make it then, welcome, haha

I went to take a look at the HDB website just now, apparently most of the units unsold in the previous balloting exercise is fast selling in last month balloting.

up to today, i think only left 40 units in our estate! Maybe by this month will be completed sold!

More renovations to come

Val, I think can try Chinatown brand... you will need to kind of fry them on the stove top... but only with a little oil if using non-stick pan... I think I tried one brand before which does not need to use oil at all... even better ;p

kevin.... ha ha.... we are lazy ppl... close both eyes... the top hung windows are very difficult to clean leh... how do you do it? we mostly clean the bottom ones, i think three times so far... ;p should do more... but weekends too precious to spend doing housework! ;p

we got bicycles ... cheap ones at Giant... we locked them to the stair landing near our place and it was stolen after one month! *sob* both bikes... lucky, cheap ones.. but still heartache...

there you go ... evidence of bicycle stealer out there.. i should had stall that person i saw loitering and watching a bicycle, he might be the one doing all the stealing

Angie, maybe you can lock it in your bomb shelter
i think that's what i'm going to do.

angie.. if u recall the brand which don need frying with oil, let me know hehe. i'm interested in that

ya so far we didn wash the windows at all after my ID got his workers to wash them. got other more impt hse work to do inside and we didn hv time to look out the window too lol.. so didn notice the window dirty o not. and i agree! wkends are so precious!

poor bicycles.. r u planning to get new ones? lock them at home if u do ya

frying pan = utensil
tefal = french brand = famous for non-stick cookware
however there are other brandnames with similar non-stick frying pans

eh... it is so troublesome to lock them in the house... and the bomb shelter has enough junk ;p I guess we will not buy any bikes in the mean time... although it was fun riding them around Chinese Garden...

the foldable bikes are very expensive!

i think there are different grades of "non-stickiness"... for the lower grades, the teflon will come off... so not that good in the long run... especially for pregnant woman... that's what I hear from friends... ;p but the higher grade ones are quite expensive without discounts...

That's right Angie.

Those $20 to $30 + saucepan will see their skin peel off after some time of using, i think the decent one would be those going for $100+.

I bought a meyer wok recently.

I just wrote in to POSB to suggest a new ATM at our area. It happens that today i was looking for one and i could not found any nearby. I have to walk to Gek Poh, anyone knows if there is a ATM that is closer?

I used to stay near Gek pok and this 24 hr food court is a joke!! as most of the stall will close after 10pm!!! sometime after 9.30pm, eating mcdonald at the 2nd level is my only choice..As for those plamsma tv mounted on the food court showing football channel,i noticed that the images kept on freezing,so it is a really eyesore to watch.Anyway i got subscrible sport channel, now waiting for the Italy vs holland match.If u got a HD ready tv which i feel most of them here already purchased their LCD tv rather than the old bulky CRT,i suggest u go for the HD package,watching soccer in HD (1080i)is a hell alot better than the awfully channel 30. U will never go back!!

Back to the 24 h food court at gek poh, there is a ban mian stall which also selling fried fish soup and minced pork is highly recommanded !!

i also bought a meyer wok.. it is not bad...

i bought one of those cheap small pots from Giant and somehow there is always white "deposits" at the bottom of the pot after drying...

btw have you people checked the hdb website? our estate is getting sold out soon

my block only left with 4 units unsold

shawn

Angie,

Pioneeer Mall is further leh..

Corrine,

Yay, that means more renovation lor ... the next unit next to me was sold during this balloting. I hope he gets the keys early and renovate before i move in. At the look at the progress, it's probably difficult.

Corrine,

I just checked HDB. Only 3 units left in my blocks. The take up units are even more than during our balloting exercise. MORE DUST.

valerie...
hmm... hokkien mee at koufu,but tend to dry easily and u have to eat it fast and try not to pack home to eat.Western food also not bad, better than KFC, just that they increased price recently,i prefer the packet chili rather than those they provided from the bottle.

Ryan..the food court i refer to is the one at gek poh ..so called the 24hr wan.it horrible to watch soccer there but ok for those channel 8 programme.Maybe who knows ..it is better now?

Ryan
Believe the hdb’s revised policy ( that this round of bi-monthly sales is going to be the final one before BTO takes over as main source of flats ) has sth to do with causing anxiety among the genuine and anxious buyers to be less choosy abt the flats, remember the no. of applications was few thousands. Those who don’t want and can’t wait would need to make their selection now, or go into the property mkt for resale

val~
does it irk u if I say I’ll be resting (again) this fri, haha
have plans for afternoon karaoke, before going down to the pc show, and end my day with joo chiat black pepper crabs

hey guys.. need some help here.
anyone know if we need to engage PE if we are intending to change the toilet-paper holder in both our toilets?

whyme
no need for a PE
why would changing toilet-paper holder in toilets affect the structure elements in our flat? can simply remove the original holder by cutting away the edge-silicon.

wa liao kevin.. u so gd life la.. always not working. still go to joo chiat eat crabs sia.. envious. the crabs there v nice? famous one? where exactly? share leh.. got chance i wan go eat also.

val
it’s at Eng Seng Coffeeshop (joo chiat)
their queue starts as early as 5pm
the last time I went, had to queue from the bus stop nearby to enjoy their black pepper crabs
I have a copy of makansultra, all gd fd in Singapore
U can borrow to see see where to find gd fd

wa not bad leh. ur makansutra is a book u bought or u compile urself? can i borrow it tonite? cos we're driving till this sun and wld like to find nice places to go, run out of ideas at the moment le. ur book will be handy

joo chiat veri far from our area.. how u go and how u go home frm there?

Matt can drop by to pick up the book. Is an official makan guidebook compiled by some celebrity. But tonight likely to leave office after 9, so perhaps matt can come over tmr night instead.

oh ok.. sure tks ar. how much is the crabs? really v nice ar? hv u tried the butter crabs at amk which is veri famous also? tat one also long queue.. abt 1-2hrs at least

u mean the (Melben) crab bee hoon at amk blk 233?
u should try the geylang sin huat version, easily up to 2-3hrs wait cos they have only 1 chef, and the chef takes order as well!!

hmm i tink its blk 232, duno the name of the crab stall. don tink they sell beehoon? not sure leh. i only saw the recommendation on the tv channel n i took the add down nia. haven go try yet cos too far.

sy chen.. is this teh same crab stall u know? isist nice?

wa geylang also hv nice crab ar.. must take the address from u liao. then i go try. i love crabs. so far i only tried places like jumbo, long beach n no signboard. n i like long beach's best.

are the ones at amk, joo chiat, geylang much nicer? how much by the way?

val
prefer those kopi thiam-style crabs, n not a/c restaurant like no signboard, jumbo, long beach
as for which place for crab, dep wat crab u wan
black pepper crab – I’ll go for joo chiat Eng Seng
crab bee hoon (dry version) – geylang sin huat
crab bee hoon (soup version ) – AMK melben
flower crab – Thomson crab shack
cold crab – upper bt timah

recently found 1 not bad place for crab vermicelli at ghim moh crab master

anyway u’ll find many recommendations in the makansultra book

wa!! once a fortnight! how much do u spend on each session like tat?? eh lets go eat together someday, i also love crabs a lot. can travel back together too!

i like chilli crab where can eat the sauce with the man tous. where for chilli crab is gd for kopi tiam style? i go to those aircon ones cos easy to go to. those places like amk, joo chiat, geylang.. v hard to go for me..

Val,

Yeap, the place is at Blk 232, AMK ave 3. You can make reservations prior to going down to avoid the crazy queue...