Balloting Exercise July - Jurong West

kevin

ya now can eat ice cream liao.. am plannng to get a tub SOON! haha. ok no prob.. when u wanna go again then let me know. wait for ur dinner cum ice cream 1st la.. hehe.

sy.. ya quite sick of the coffeeshop at 679 so i stock up on cereals n milk, turn to them when i need a meal n am lazy to go out. u can try tat too or some easy to prepare stuffs like spaghetti, juz boil the spag n heat up the sauce, can eat le hehe.

ryan... ya tat route we took was more dangerous. though its quite near but i'm quite lazy to walk there cos no shelter. i tink i'll tend to anyhow eat some light food to tide over lol. shall try the route towards gek poh see if its better. so u got ur fridge.. so far mine is working quite well, no complains.

haha personally no kopi tiam at void deck please.. VERY NOISY & ROWDY and only invite more uncles and foreign workers over to drink and drown themselves...yelling loudly during soccer matches and if any littering and peeing at the void deck. I prefer more peaceful environment.

Hope for a 24 hrs store like 7-11 or something though...coz dun think small owners provision shops sell enough to always provide fresh food.

dun think they will have 7-11.
most likely is mama shop i think.

there is 1 zi char stall at st 90+...near to Juying Sec School, near NTU quite nice leh.

nowadays mama shop can't really survive in void decks imho...

I would rather buy fresh food from NTUC, cold storage than from mama shop and supermarkets could be cheaper than small mama shop too. May only patronise mama shop to buy newspaper only. Or in the event no sugar or salt or oil while cooking or no drinks while entertaining. But that will be once in a blue moon.

Then their survival will depend on the rest of the residents here liao.

sy chen
we prefer ntuc though, keep our grocery-shopping on weekend nights or patronise the outlet at boon lay shopping centre, less crowded

ntuc has more in-house brands, cheaper
and they have further 5% discount till later july
in addition, my wife has this passion card to accumulate link pt, hence we pay less each time
triple reasons for us to get from ntuc, oh and their aunty cashiers definitely friendlier than sheng siong's

sy chen
agree. rather hard to cook when there's only 2 in the family. my wife normally 熬汤 and prepare another dish, there's enuff for us. simply too unhealthy to dine every meals outside cos we rarely go back to parents' place for dinners cos we knock off rather late

angie
quite many options for gd meal at JP, three fd courts & many restaurants, but tend to be crowded leh, esp the food courts, just waiting for the JP extension to complete this yr-end, that JP really congested with so many residents, undergrads, students, foreign workers and army boys ... gosh

val
i have many boxes of cereal too, on top of buns, hk dim sum, dumplings and others, but mainly have them for breakfast & suppers

xesthir
was hoping a kopi thiam which will show champions league football next season since singtel (mio) bought the broadcast rights, so can drop by the void deck

kevin

ur buns, hk dim sum, dumplings.. all are ready made, juz steam then can eat le type? where u get them? supermarts? hear le seems quite convenient..

kevin,

the new food court at Jurong Point, 1st floor near the entrance had TV showing sports channel. My wife thought she saw a notice saying it operating 24 hrs but not so sure. If got then very good .. our nearby all don't have coffeeshop showing football.. i think i will suffer a lot on weekends

Anyone subscribe sports channel? LOL

aiyo.. me not a fan lah of soccer matches leh...
but anyway whether got soccer matches at night or not.. is not very safe for all the ladies here to have to walk past foreign workers and uncles just to walk to their home?

Is really very noisy and scaring people and especially when u have babies sleeping & when u are not watching soccer and suddenly pple screamed and yelled in the middle of the night. We will have enough fighter planes flying in the day time and sometimes night time liao...

peace be with us.. hahah :p

I also think when we move in, we will try to cook light dinner ourselves instead of dine out all the time. Kind of having phobia of having more outside food.

St51 area should be a good choice for food, except it's a little bit far.

Xesthir,

Actually i thought otherwise. I feel it's more safe to have a coffeeshop at the neighbourhood. Those uncles only stares here and there, and they provides secruity. it only gets dangerous when a neighbourhood is too quiet.

hmm i think resale value will drop if ur house is directly over the 24 hrs coffee shop, hahaha. know some friend staying above coffee shop and she complained that every time she walk passed, uncle will stared. is very intimidating for girls! And she said is very noisy, be it any soccer show or not, coz once drunk, the men will tend to get rowdy and get into fights..

anyway there will not be a coffee shop at 678D..& not that i will be staying directly above 678B though my cousin is..

Gd to know that Gek Poh has 24 hrs coffee shop, at least when hungry can walk there. and not too near to where i go back to my abode to have a nice peaceful rest. :p

ryan, confirm the 1st floor food court in jp is 24 hours

kevin, we walk to jp... and go either a bit earlier or later than the normal meal hours... so not that bad ;p btw, which brands of frozen char siew bun is good huh? i tried some really horrible ones and now phobia getting them...

have you tried the frozen roti prata? some of them are actually quite nice

ryan.. impy n my 16th floor neighbour subscribes to sports channel. u can look for them haha. tink kevin does too right? but he's red devil la.. so can watch together o not i duno. lol.

angie.. wad brand of frozen roti prata is nice? recommend! i'll go try them out hehe. other than microwave, can put them in oven toaster ?

justin.. gek poh is quite near, smthing like pioneer mall. it has quite a no of cake shops n provision shops. veri gd to get stuffs for the hse there. u can try looking at the map for it, hard to describe hehe.

i grew up eating St 51 food. Haha, so already used to it le.

maybe we shd have some tingkat business for this estate. Than can mass cook for everyone. Haha

there is fast food at Gek Pok too. If don't want to walk, can take #243 rite?

boiling soup also a good idea. Dump all ingredients inside slow cooker and when u come home from work can drink.

alternatively like what we do, can have steamboat. We bought those small steamboat/grill from NTUC. Than can use it to cook whatever you want. No need to fry/cook, just wash the ingredients can liao

besides the 2 newly added shops at the void deck, believe the present building service centre will be converted to leasing space when they move out after the 1yr defect liability period.

furthermore, kopi thiam in new estate is likely be located away from densely populated blks, ie. the nearby kopi thiam is located at the multi-storey carpark

ya, can get those é¦’å¤´ï¼ŒåŒ…ç‚¹ï¼Œçƒ§å– n many others from the freezing section.

angie
tried the roti prata, quite gd, but reluctant to fry stuff, so mostly pick the steam-able ones, haah

angie, unsure abt char siew baos, cos my wife doesnt take char siew. believe ntuc and chinatown brands should taste alright cos their others buns are not bad

justin
believe gek poh is nearer than pioneer mall.
simply exit our estate main entrance and instead of turning left to JP, go right and continue straight at junction and u'll see the gek poh cc and the shopping mall, abt 12min walk

sy chen
steamboat gd alternative, we add 麻辣cubes to enjoy 麻辣ç«é”… though different from those liang seah street version, but still tasty,

hmm, quite surprised not many subscribed to sports channel leh

with matt and ryan as kop supporters, wont u wanna to enjoy the matches at ur LR

ryan, doubt u wanna to come to my hse for devil matches ah, but big matches like devil slaughtering kop, always welcome, haha

got ma la cudes 1 ah?
Usually i just add the chicken cube.

i want to buy to the zi ma jiang (sesame sauce) but i can't find any in NTUC. Think must go those upmarket supermarket than got.

just finished hsehold chores, maintaining clean windows at JW is really jialat, so dirty after each downpour. wanna close 1 eye also 辛苦

angie, u clean ur windows often, esp the top-hung windows collect dust easily?

hi Angie,

That's a good news. If they are operating on 24 hours, i'm sure we'll be able to watch football from there. They had sports channel on whenever i walked past it.

Never tried the food court at Gek Poh yet. Think Valerie told me before it's not bad, although it's not that far away, the thought of walking for 10 mins to 24 hrs Gek Poh food court (not coffeeshop, it's inside the shopping mall) during midnight is not something you want to do, your body is probably in the state of ZZzz.

Valerie,

I think impy's place would be a better choice for me
Just upstair only heh

Kevin,

I noticed your msg timing is at 2am +, were you watching Euro2008? heh

wa kevin.. u no work again todae ar? do hse work at this time? i had a terrible nite with headache.. wished no need work todae man.

ryan.. ya i tink the open air FC hv sports channel. u can go there see liao hehe. ya the foodcourt at gek poh not bad la.. better than 679 one anytime. though no more car le i don tink i'll go there unless necessary hahahah. next time u wan go, help me ta bao la :P

ryan
partially correct
my LR tv was tuned to few sports channel last night
was at paris at 8pm for french open
then 12am tuned to canada F1 grand prix
before euro08 till 4am at austria/switzerland

*panda eyes*

Kevin,
I missed the French Open final because of my packing. I'll be moving to St64 this month.

I did get to watch the Austria-Croatia game though. I'm supporting Croatia in the Euro'08 as one of their players (Modric) will be joining Spurs next season.

Kevin,

although i had yet to move in, i already had cleaned the window twice liao, also last weekend after the rain. Like you, cannot resist myself from not cleaning it. LOL

I have a bicycle at home, haven't touch in years and already there for collecting dust. Not sure if i will use it cos it's an expensive bike, thief are rampant there i think, once i saw a person loitering suspiciously eyeing an bicycle. Maybe get a cheap bike to use. Always feel irritated when i have to excuse myself to cyclist to bang into my way, now probably do it to others