Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

Hi Shakerum

I was told from him that it's only 5% discount and his profit will be the other 5% cause I won't be getting him to provide me with other services.
I will book only the river room which is 4hr block and saving for me is only between $50-$120 so I think it does'nt made a different furthermore due to the bad experience I had with event planner.

Anyway let me keep my fingercross first since I have not decided on anything.

Hi new & michelle

I will be meeting Rasel this weekend to discuss my package and menu. Is there any dishes which you gals has tasted? Please give me some advise!

Hi Peixian,

I also will be meeting Rasel this weekend to touch up my detail and final my menu. Who did you liase with in Rasel? My co-ordinator is Elsie.

The dishes I like at Rasel:

Japanese Mochi
Shepherd's Pie
Roasted Leg Of Lamb
Laksa
French Pasties
Chocolate Fondue and etc.... drool!
kao_drool.gif

To many cannot remember, i tried them in their food sampling session at Arts Museum in April.

Hi Peixian,

ok, the decision is up to you. Cos I saved quite a bit more than 400 by booking through him, you should be able to save about 200 just by booking the river room if it's about 5%. But it's up to you..cos to me the little little amounts all add up. and like I said, don't let your bad experience with event planner deter you cos he has been really trustworthy.

Hi Peixian,

My guest gave good feedback on penang laksa, lamb craving, baked scallop, mutton satay, pastries & cakes.

I tried the pan fried fillet with cream of lime, the taste is nice, but its a pity that its quite cold when i took it. and when i eat the food, its the very start when lunch commence and i ate immediate aft my fren took for me.

so pls stress to rasel to keep the food warm enough for yr guests.

Hi michelle,

wow, u damn kiasu lei. keke. yr wedding is in DEC right ? so fast confirming menu and details liao ? i didnt confirm anything until 3 weeks before my actual day.

Hi New,

Aiya I got more thing to settle mah! December hot month no choice also. I was told from Elsie that afew color has been reserve by other couple so I better act fast.

Hi Shakerum,

Discount won't be so much base on 5% cause the ACM rental only $1500 for 4hrs block or $2600 for full day booking, so discount on 5% will be either $75 or $130. I won't be booking river terrace.

Hi New & Michelle,

It's really a great help from you gals, it's made me drool knowing that their food so well receive.
I will try to request all those food dishes. Anyway thanks so much! I also speak with Elsie regarding about my wedding, so qiao!

Hi peixian n dia,

My in-law's initial reaction was "err...why at museum?" But at least they have not closed their minds against it yet. I would really prefer to have it here or the arts musuem (which is even more radical to them I feel, becos of the use of the chapel/church?) rather than at yet another(albeit more prestigious) hotel ballroom. Waiting with fingers crossed for their opinion of the place.

I left Rasel an email and they have contacted me as well. A very enthusiastic lady named Elsie. I did ask her if she can get a discount if I book ACM through her, but she could not definitely promise me that, as they have not received many orders for 2007 in ACM yet. Shakerum, if it is all right with you, can I call this events guy Ben up as well?

Did any of you ladies check with Lavish? Their wedding package looks quite attractive too, with seat covers, table cloths, service staff and all thrown in. But it's 40 per pax. ouch.

Hey december,

You mean Lavish throws in seat covers etc if you take their buffet? Then it's quite worth it..do they throw in glasswares , seats, tables for you as well? Lavish presentation is really really really nice!

Shakerum,
Thanks for ben's contact!

Yes its quite a comprehensive package and seems to include everything, from porcelain crockery, glasswares, champagne fountain (but sparkling wine), guest sign in table with flower arrgt, bistro tables with linen, 10 seater tables with linen and overlay complete with napkins n table setting, cushion chairs n covers, service staff and manager in charge to be present, and colour themes to choose from.

As far as I can tell, the only thing they haven't got is centerpieces for each table. And they do charge corkage. Rasel doesn't right? Now I don't know if I should just leave it to one caterer to do everything, or get the non-package menu from Rasel and add on the other things. I'm going to sound really lazy, but I can't imagine how I'm going to get help to move those chairs loaned by ACM! Doesn't seem really nice to make my FH's friends do menial work. haha

You can go to www.lavish.com.sg/Promotional_menus.asp to take a look. There's also a $45 menu.

Hi december07,

$40 & $45 sound abit costly to me for Lavish menu. The menu that I'm considering from Rasel start from $30 and $35 with 10 seater tables linen cushion chairs n covers, service staff and colour themes to choose from also and there will be a deduction of $4 per pax due to they are using the chair from ACM. and you don't have to ask your friend to do the arrangement, they will do it for you.

I have seen Lavish set-up before but I think Rasel is better due to the different type of container they are using. Rasel one is round and it look more class than the other.

You can go to http://www.rasel.com.sg/galleries/wedding_gallery.htm to take a look.

Let you know on Monday on what we have discuss. I'm meeting them on Saturday.

Hi Decemember,

If Lavish offer $40 per pax with the bistro , tables , seat and cover, its really worth considering.
But have the make sure they do not compromise on the menu. even u use Rasel, its abt the cost also, and no centrepieces as well.

I paid addtional for tables to have centrepces and flower arch

And for the glassware etc, is it unlimited use ?

Rasel do charge corkage, and for any alcohol its actually sub to another sister company since Rasel is halal, they cant have alcohol. For wine is charge @ $25/bott with corkage included.

Dun worry la, Rasel will be moving the chair themselve when doing the setup, u do not need to get anyone to lay any finger on them

Hi peixian,

the round container u mentioned is what they call the "royal catering set", its really look more classy lo, not so cheap skate.

is available when u book their $25 or more menu.

Think Lavish also have thme u know... decemember may need to chk with lavish on tt

Hi december,

Thanks for the info on Lavish. I think it's really worth it. Gonna call and check..I haven't signed anything with my current caterer yet, so I'm gonna check out Lavish too. Thanks! I've always thought they r super ex, but this package sounds ok.

Hi New,

I compare Lavish and Rasel menu, quite similar in price but the Rasel has the "royal catering set" which Lavish don't and their seat cover cannot fit into ACM chairs. So Rasel package still worth than Lavish and Rasel food not too bad right according to you and Michelle who has tried their food? I ever tried Lavish food for my company function not so nice leh! Afew of my colleage made noise cause it's pretty costly to cater from them.

Hi Peixian,

my package comes with round table, cushion chair, seat cover, fresh floral arrangment for all tables, fresh wedding arch, fresh floral arrangment for buffet table, napkins, uniform staff, proper utensil and not forgetting the "royal catering set" choice of color theme for just $39 per pax. Worth it right? of cos this price exclude invitation card and wedding favors. I will be catering for about 100pax.

Suddenly the two caterers seem quite on par. So Lavish does not have this royal catering set? It does look quite nice from the photos Peixian directed me to. What about flower arrangements and food presentation wise? Any comments on which one looks more high end for the same price? If I didn't remember wrongly, Lavish is the one with the sashimi arranged delicately around silver trays right? That was quite impressive.

New, I don't know if the glassware is one per pax/unlimited. Will need to check on that.

Michelle, does the table cloth for your package come in two layers? That means the underside of each round table is completely covered. I passed by a wedding at Fort Canning and the metal legs of the table were exposed for all to see! Eeeks. Must take note of that. Did you have to bargain for the wedding arch and floral arrangements, or it was automatically included?

Peixian, what kind of menu was served at your company function? Sometimes it is the "lower end" one, so cannot compare apples with oranges. =) I tried Lavish's tea reception before and I was not impressed. There was not a single flower decoration in sight. Very minimal in terms of variety and style. Any one tried the expensive stuff from Lavish before?

Hi peixian/michelle,

Food & presentation fm Rasel is ok, i have not tried Lavish b4.
i tink u maybe right that Rasel still can be cheaper since we can save $400 on the 100 chair that we can use fm ACM.

Jus took a look @ my expense for the catering for my 155 guests, i spent abt 39.8/pax to include tables, chairs, seat cover, food, flora and additional porcelain utensils

But i heard lavish is of higher end than rasel lei, interm of decor, i believe they are better lo. When i booked ACM, jennifer oso told me presentation of purple sage and lavish is beta than rasel.

but for me, rasel is gd enough lo, i oly need nit things to be presentable since i am not looking at a extravagant wedding.

There is once i see the setup for Blue ginger b4 once when i went ACM to view the place, really v nice. food else, i duno ...

Hi december07,

It's a lunch menu and we spent about $20/head for 45 ppls, like what you mention no even a floral centerpiece and very minimal in terms of variety. Really not worth it. At first we thought of spenting abit more to get better food yet this kind of standard really upset us.

This morning when I reach my office, I saw Rasel van parking at our carpark, must be catering from other dept, I need to check it out later during Lunch. Let you gals know k!

Hi michelle & new,

I really like the royal warmer whcih Rasel provide, I don't think I need the fresh wedding arch cause my jia mei say they will help me to decorate the stage area. So my total price will be $35 exclude wedding arch.

Hi December07

Not need to bargain mah! For the price of $39 all in. I told them to tailor a menu which include table, chair cover, fresh wedding arch, flower for dinning table, food, service staff & chef on site that's the package I got from them. The food price of the menu cost about $25 the rest are all logistic. Infact their $25 menu look presentation already which include carving station, half shell scallops, prawns, fish, chicken, dessert, chocolate fondue and etc...... Yummy!

Their tablecloth will be on full drape base which is long enough to cover right to the floor, but Im asking them to lay two color cloth on top for 2 VIPs table so as to see the different between VIP and guest table.

Hi New,

I fully agreed with about decoration for Purplesage. It's really nice but food cannot made it leh! Furthermore I got bad experiene about this company.

Hi peixian,

I ever order Tea from Lavish. I order tea at $15 for 50pax, also got no flower arrangement, and guess what all frozen item and fried stuffs. looks like nothing homemade. Not worth it! Most of the food turn cold and soggy fast. PISSsss!!!
I saw some picture in their website, not very nice mah. Too much green like jingle like that. I prefer more flower like roses than green.

Hi michelle

Yaya! I agreed Lavish food not as nice and very expensive.

Another dept order Rasel lunch at $15 for 50 ppls for today and tomorrow. According to them the food are tasty and got silk floral arrangment, still better than nothing. No chance to try the main food but I tried some pastries, YUMMY!!!
Tomorrow must try abit of their main food item!

I finally got my booking confirm. Glad that rasel can everything in one-stop. I'm getting them to book River room as well. In all I'm spenting about $35 per pax which includes all table, chairs, cover, food, flower and decoration. I saw some picture in their album very sweet looking.

Hi new,

Can I check with you, how many carpark slot does ACM have? Forgot to check with Elsie during the meet-up.

Hi Peixian,

Congrats on finalising the venue and caterer! This should feel like such a relief right? Your package sounds quite attractive, I shall call up Rasel when my in-laws agree to ACM as my wedding venue. The $35 excludes cost of providing chairs right?

Hi Michelle

I printed little maps for the invitation cards for the guests. They love it. You can find the map on ACM website.

hi shakedrum,

i did tt for my guests too,in a little leaflet slotted in the card. we also include the alternative carpark avail, coz parking near ACM is tough.

HI Peixian,

Congrats !

Does yr quote of $35 per pax include table centrepiece for every table and pre-dinner cocktail?

Are u using China Glassware ? I was told additional set cost $2.50....

Hi december07

Ya, my cost $35 exclude the providing of chair cos Rasel chair cover can fit into ACM chair so no need to cater extra unless I have additional guest.

Hi Charmaine,

My package includes table centrepiece for every table and pre-cocktail for 30 mins only. My package comes with melamine ware but I can top up additional $1 for chinaware set.

Hi Shakedrum & New,

Where is the alternative carpark to ACM?

I copied this from ACM website and included it in my invite cards along with the map..cos alot of ppl dont know where ACM is.

"Directions
ACM Empress Place is a 5-minute walk from the Raffles Place MRT station.
Parking
Public parking is available (1) along Empress Place next to the Museum building (2) At the basement carpark of the New Parliament House (3) At Six Battery Road (4) At One Fullerton across from the Fullerton Hotel."

Shakedrum got all of the alternate parking listed. Fullertone parking by entry is not cheap, its abt $5, i verbally informed some of guests to park @ UOB building, coz if its much cheap, tink $2.60 or $3.60 oly, and its quite near to ACM oso.

Hi Peixian,

I also upgraded my Melamine ware to glassware. Did u cater additonal glassware, better do so, coz likely tt alot of the guest may take more than one serving.

Hi Charmaine,

Yap, additonal glassware set fm Rasel cost $2.50 (exclude GST)

Hi New,

I will be getting extra sets for my guest but maybe confirm that later since the booking has been done.

Sign, no need to worried about parking already since so many place can park.

Charmaine

When is your wedding date? R you also looking at Rasel?

if tt time when i engage rwasel we have so many ppl interested @ rasel at the same time, perhaps tt time we shld have done a mass negotiation for a better deal... haha.

Yaya! maybe hah! Buff them say we all friend friend mah than can neg for better deal. I think my deal consider quite good already cos I compare it with afew caterer and their's like most budgeted one and they are willing to neg also. Quite friendly also!

Did u budget in any amount for additional floral arrangement ?

Hi New,

Since ur the one who had done yr wedding ceremony @ACM, do we need to decor up the room much ? Does Rasel floral arrangement nice enough ?

What abt costs for beer & wine & cocktails table ness ?

Hi Charmaine,

Rasel flora is quite nice. But if oly depends on the flora @ buffet line fm Rasel, not enough(my view), its will look quite plain in the room

Mine is a sitdown buffet, so i cater for centrepieces with candles for every tables & a flora arch for aisle.

Rasel oso line the aisle with petal & tealight @ the foyer area of river rm.

And coz i have 17 tables, i dun hv anymore space to cater additonal flora stand along the aisle too. And anyway, i tink the flora i had is quite enough.

Charges for Beer, i am not sure, coz i didnt cater that. I oly cater for wine.

Wine is charges @ $25/bottle including corkage.
MOQ is 24 bottles, & Rasel dun have any wine on consignment basis. They charge any return of wine @ $5/bottle.

Cocktail table is $20/piece.

Hi new,

Still need further decor meh? I tot tat good enough with fresh arch, flower for all dinning table and aisle with tealight. I think it looks quite nice already lah. It will look messy if over do it.

michelle,

Aiyo. Read properly la.

i wrote "if oly depends on the flora @ buffet line fm Rasel, not enough(my view), its will look quite plain in the room"

so if u have centrepiece & arch, it shld be gd enough.

But i remember that i tot u having flora stand too ??

Haha!!!

Blur sotong! I never read properly mah!!!

I haven confirm the number of flora stand yet. I tot of getting 6 stand in the first place, but looks like by putting the aisle with tealight and petals looks sweet also. Headache leh!!! Mayb take 2 stands will do put on the stage or just beside the VIPs table.

What do you think? Can Imaging?

Rasel will oly line the aisle with petals and tealight @ the foyer area, (the wooden plaform area as u enter river room),

If u wan the whole aisle along the river room to be line up too, Rasel will charge. And the short coming to do that is that , yr guests tend to kick on it & mess up since its place on the floor.

How many tables do u have ? if u have more than 16 tables or so, i tink beta not have the flora std along the aisle, not much space left.

U may consider to have the 2 flora std on/near the stage if u like.

Juz my suggestions

happy to find this threads, hope I'm not too late to join now. I also hope to hold my wedding in ACM still waiting for In law side to approve.

M new here..looking at ACM. Got a quote from Elsie and just wondering what are the things i should negotiate for.

Michelle & Peixian - Would you mind sharing with me what's included in your package? My email is [email protected].

Also, how any idea how much the card printing comes up to and the price of a wedding cake? Trying to factor all the costs in before making a decision...