Asian Civilisation Museum (ACM)

Hi Idyll,

Oops.. sorry for missing in action! Have been away (not in SG)..

Ya, no problem to share photos buy guess mine will be the last one ( cos shd be in Nov ).. Btw, all the dates which I have checked out are all tentatively booked by someone !! Wow .. ppl really booked 1 year in advance..

Sounds like your Terrace will be so beautifully decorated ya !! Looking forward to yr photos !!

Oh dear me Charmaine. I'm sorry to hear it. What's your options now?

I went to Robinsons tonight Girls with the intention to get their red and orange chrismas beads strings for my wedding and they've kept all their Christmas ornaments! Thought I could save some money and got them...Bleh...not to be.

Hey Charmaine and Idyll!

I am actually planning my wedding at ACM in November too! Jennifer has been a great help. We are only taking the river room, as we onyl have about 100 over guests. I am splitting my reception to 2 nights - one at a hotel and one at ACM for my friends.

Plus we are doing it in November, so if it rains at night, any plans we have on the open-air terrace will blow everything.

Idyll, have you tried The concourse for ideas and some of the materials?

Hi eltgal,

When's yr wedding in Nov? Me still waiting list.. =( so which caterer are u having?

Wow.. u mean u have 100 over friends? Isn't it tiring to do 2 reception? How do u budget? Which caterer r u looking at?

Maybe can exchange some ideas..

Hey Eltgal!
kao_welcome.gif

Ours in April is probably going to a hot one but we wanted to play it safe and just get a marquee anyways.

Thanks re. Concourse but I've decided not to go with the red/old beads as we are now hanging our bridal photos on strings in front of the red/orange swaths fabrics ala museum. Hope that "look" will create the mood.

hi i'm new to this whole forum thingie and looking at ACM as a venue!.. i've read the past threads which are really help esp i'm co-ordinating this from the UK!! We will be in SG for CNY and arranged to have a look at the place with XinYin. really excited and can't wait!

Hey Charmaine and all, Mine is on 11th/ 12th November. We still do not know which caterer to go to yet. Was looking at Purple Sage or Lavish. I heard that these 2 are good - I have met them both - very impressive food and decoration.
Idylly, your ideas are so impressive. I am also planning on having a reception....but more casual...maybe have a popcorn man or something, (LOL)

To answer the question about budgeting for 2 events - one of them is going to be at a hotel (Chinese traditional for my parents)....then the one at ACM I can do it my way, so that both my hubby and I can be happy :-) The thing with hotels is that - all the packages take care of most things, so it's more cost-effective. In places like the art museum or ACM, we have to pay for more things (e.g wedding cards, wedding favors etc)...but it's once in a lifetime, so I guess I will just have to save and skim (no fancy food for the next 10 months. !!!)

Any one has any cool ideas on which caterer is best? I have no money to book the outdoor terrace, plus it might rain in November, so I can only keep my fingers crossed.

Hi Eltgal,

Oh, so u had met w both Purple Sage and Lavish ? So which package is more affordable and nicer ? I read not so nice comments & feedback abt PS on the forum.. But Lavish do not provide food tasting as compared w PS.. but Lavish food variety looks nice..

Aren't u tired to plan 2 locations ? Wow, must have costs a bomb ! So are u having a lunch or dinner reception at ACM ?? Have u booked the ACM River Room ?

If yr guests are not so many, save the $$ .. no need to River Terrace .. the guests can also roam out to the Terrace area.. just that no booking no decoration allowed lo..

Hey there Charmaine,

I found both prices about the same - so far PS's setup looks nicer. but we are not looking at the conventional flowers and all setup. We wanted a fun gathering - for friends. (My guests have to work hard - lots of activities for them to do), so we hope the food and the setup of the buffet spread etc will reflect this.

It is tiring to plan, but i love planning. I used to do events at hotels a few years ago (a previous job) where i had to work with hotels for government officials etc. But because of that, I always associate hotels with seminars etc.

Both the hotel and ACM events are dinner events - we are going to be BROKE. hahaha but I really want my guests to enjoy themselves. but also want a chinese dinner to make my parents happy :-)

I am not booking the river terrace, since I have about 100 - 120 pax for the ACM event, I am hoping to be able to set up something within the room itself for the cocktail. Only thing is we are planning quite a few activities for the guests to do - so really need to split up the room accordingly.

IDYLL, how are you partitioning the room?

Charmaine, you are planning all this from UK? wow! it's been a while since I was in london....fond memories :-)

let me know if you need more ifnormation. I am still scouting for caterers, but ACM really leaves you pretty much on your own, which means that one has to source for the following on your own:
- alcohol supply
-caterer
- florist/ decorator
- wedding invitations
- wedding favors
- entertainers
- wedding cakes etc

-sigh-

Hi!!

Is there any advice for caterer for ACM? I'm looking in Nov... Will it be too early to book venue & caterer now?

Have heard abt Purple Sage too, but not sure hw their package is like....

hey Jas,

purple sage is not too bad - alto i have heard strange stuff...am thinking of going to Blue Ginger to ask around.

Hi Eltgal,

Good for you .. cos I dun like to plan ! Somemore, my FH like everything also leave it to me, he has not much preferences.. By the way, what programmes are u planning for your guests in River Room ? Can you share them with me ? Cos I am now cracking my head as to what to entertain my guests for the night ... cos buffet style is really free & easy.. Im afraid if no programmes.. guests will leave after they makan, then it would be weird lor...

Any place do u know that sells cheap wine ? Lavish provides beer .. think is $350 for 30litres. DO u know if ACM allow us to bring in our own alcohol ?

Hi Hi Charmaine,
Happy Chinese New Year!My progrmmes are still a blank - i worry about the same thing: people leaving early etc. Maybe we need to get a good MC. My fiance wanted a 'game show' idea, he thinks it will be fun. We are still exploring.What about you? What are your plans?

Wine - i am bringing them over from the reception at the hotel (I have the Chinese reception the night before) but i might also go to this place: CELLIER ROUGE at stamford court. It's my friend's friend's shop. The last time I went, he had wine which was pretty good and cost less than $20 a bottle - but I have to check whether the caterer will charge an additional corkage charge on that.

Charmaine, i think it's the caterer that will charge you the corkage for the alcohol. not ACM. BUT i am starting to think it might not be fair, as corkage prices are determined by the place of sale (i.e venue of the banquet), so technically speaking, caterer has no right to impose that charge. I will speak to him, and let you know if he waives mine (So you can also ask yours to waive your corkage charge).

The thing with Purple Sage is that they charge $1.50 for each wine glass (in other words, each person) that they use. If you think about it, it's quite a lot. 1.50 X 120 persons is $180. I assume this is equivalent to the regular corkage charge.

Let me check and let you know. I will keep looking out for wine places and let you know ok?

Hi Eltgal,

Hey.. Thanks alot for yr infor..

Lavish is charging $1 per guest for corkage.. they sure know how to charge! Haven't realy meet them up and discuss.. sigh, having some problems now.. in-laws are concern why we want to have a buffet.. in the 1st place, they said leave it to me & my FH to plan whatever we wants.. sigh..

Anyway, I have this idea of singing a song for my FH.. hee.. having a karaoke thingy also can create some fun.. Games? Hmmm.. must think of those which encourage participation.. wow, come to think of it. it's like planning a night of entertainment for our guests!! like dinner & dance .. i also thought of engaging a band to sing.. at least some backgroud music while the buffet is going on.. only problem is too "ang-mo" will offend my elderly... for u not a problem cos all youngsters!

Will yr family attending the celebration at ACM as well ? We have not source for any JP yet... we want to hv our solemnisation at ACM too.. =)

Jas,
Is NOT early to book yr date if you intend to have it on a weekend at last quarter of 2006! Cos usu it's peak period for weddings as well during year end..

Eltgal,
Oh.. so have u booked yr date w ACM ? Come to think of it, paying $2000++ for the rental is exp.. but cheaper then Burkill which cost $5000.
Me also BROKE cos getting my house keys next month...
kao_scared.gif

hihi, i am thking of having a buffet dinner at ACM too. My prob is the same as Charmaine. Cos i have to invite some relatives too. Scared they dun enjoy the international buffet or dun understand wat's going on as some older relatives doesnt understand english ...

hi Charmaine & Eltgal, have u booked wif ACM yet ?

Happy Chinese New Year Girls!

Sorry haven't logged on here for a bit - been busy with my photoshoot on Friday. Problem with the dress, race to alter it in less than 24 hours. A lot of drama leading up to the shoot but all is well and we enjoyed ourselves. I can now concentrate on other nitty gritty stuff until the CDs of photos come back and I have to put the album together.

Hello to all the newbies in here....Charmaine Lee, Kitty & JasJasLim..

I love the UK Charmaine Lee! How long will you be in the UK? Must be really tough to plan a wedding from outside Singapore cos' can't feel and touch something tangible....I know I'll go nuts. When are you viewing ACM? Bring cameras and papers and pens to write stuff down and roughly sketch out certain ideas as you view the place. To view the place is very difficult as the officers are difficult to pin down!

Eltgal, we're not partitionining the room. The River Room and River Terrace are left like that. The cocktails will be out on the Terrace. The swaths of fabrics will be hung at the end of the terrace to block the view to the hydraulic lift (cos' we are entering the premises through the Terrace and not the Room to include the guests who will be sitting out there on the Terrace) --> a bit of drama and mystery at the same time.

We will have a projector/screen out on the Terrace and in the Room so that what happens in either Room or Terrace can be viewed on the screen (we're having a standalone video to do that).

Your popcorn thing is so cool! I was playing in my head at some point with candy floss and an ice-cream trolley (Singapore style) waiting out front when the guests leave. Nothing is confirmed though...

JasJasLim, it's not too early to book the venue and the caterer now. ACM gets booked way in advance. Cos' they do have their own functions too so it's best to firm up the dates and the time slots, you'd like --> this way, you get your preferred venue on the best date for you.

Hi!!!

Galz, thanks for all your advice... Well, have went to Purple Sage's website with regards to pkgs etc...Really impressed with their website and pics etc.

Well, must say that theirs is quite ex though.... But FH said that quality things comes with quality $$$ wor...

Have checked for corkage for you gals too, Charmaine, you're right, they charge at $1.50/per person. But the wedding sales gal gave a real good advice, that is, you don't have to rent wine glasses for all pple, just roughly calculate the no. of people who drinks and just rent the no. of Wine Glasses. Cool...dun have to spend so much $$ on that. I also heard from my gf that corkage is quite ex, like around $10+ per bottle...Oh my god, imagine you have 30+ bottles!!!!!

Guess, I'll have to put ACM on hold first, cos MIL and parents prefer Hotels, Restaurants to catering. Such a big headache!!!! Have to persuade them first, I guess....Maybe even have to separate my guests, 1 for youngsters and 1 for relatives... Haiz...

Hi Jas,

Haiz... bad news from me .. MIL and parents commented that if we want to have our dinner at ACM, leave the relatives out.. just our friends and colleagues.. see.. waste efforts & headaches! We dun have 100 friends & colleagues cos for catering min headcount is 100.

Now, we really dun kn how to spilt into 2 celebrations.. double efforts & $$.. we intend to arrange a meet the parents lunchie for parents to thrash it out what they prefer etc.. my parents just want us to have a simple buffet at our new house in the afternoon and save all the trouble .. ( that's what my brother is doing too).. but for me, wedding is once a lifetime, I would want to do it memorable lor.. sigh..

If now search for wedding dinner at hotels for year end may not be in time, cos really rush..

Hey Charmaine,

BIG HUGS! Don't worry, hotels can be fun too. My parents and I had an agreement - we will have our dinner and they will have theirs. My future PIL are not Singaporeans, so they have agreed to let us plan what we want, as long as we go back to Canada for the other reception there in Summer of 2007.

To be honest, I am getting so stressed. My mom decided that 11th and 12th Nov were NOT good dates, so we have to shift the dates. -SIGH-

Idyll, we are going for a fun theme - like a ball game. When I was a little girl, I wanted a CARNIVAL as a wedding, so my hubby has agreed to compromise- only thing we cannot have is a carousel.

Charmaine, you need help with more hotel planning? you can email me at [email protected] I will try my best to forward you some hotels' info that I have!

I need help with wedding salons - gowns and all. Any ideas?

(((Charmaine & JasJasLim}}} Don't worry too much. The atmosphere will be as fun and lively as you want it to be, even if you have it in a hotel. My friend had her wedding at Raffles Hotel a couple of months ago and it was one of the most fun and lively weddings I've been to in years!

Eltgal, that is sooo fun...!! Then you can make centrepieces of baseball gloves and have snacks the way the vendors carry them....Way fun!

Well, the gown will very much depend on the venue, the time, and the atmosphere of the whole wedding. Do you like structured dresses or soft drapey ones? Me kaypoh if you don't mind. Cos' hours after hours of pouring over magazines and trawling the 'Net has got me information overload - need to share info.

Hi Eltgal & Idyll,

Thanks for the consoling and reassurance..

Eltgal,

Wow, yr idea sounds fun !! Hmm.. if yrs gonna be fun, so yr dress code must also be casual ya ?SO will u be staying in SG or Canada ?

Hmm, why not good dates... 11th & 12th is actually good dates to wed .. did u go for fortune telling w both yrs & yr hubby's ? Don't worry, all will end well.. but dun give up yr booking yet cos it won't be easy to get weekend booking confirmed for year end..

I haven't even start sourcing for my Bridal Package.. heard good feedback abt Thomson Wedding, Milan .. My good friend had hers w Milan, the photos are well taken, very natural ...

Hi Eltgal,

U can share yr infor with me ? If I wanted something more "Victoria" kind of gown ... which BS are good w that ? =)

Hi Eltgal,

Your wedding sounds grand..which hotel are you looking for as well..popcorn man sounds so unique..If you want to save a bit, cos ur wedding sound so ex..you can contact my events planner..he can give discount on the place if u book thru him. He show me his list of entertainment and he has popcorn man..hehe..but i never tot to use that for wedding..was thinking of a juggler to entertain the kids atthe terrace..but still planning..cos alot of things to choose from but so little money..share with us more unique ideas!

Hi Idyll,

I'm not too sure about that...from my recollection, I think he has..but better u check with him yourself..call him at 92383987. Look for ben.

Hey everyone,

All this talk is so interesting :-) Makes me get more excited about my big day. The popcorn man - we have a contact (Apparently they also have candyfloss)....If you are interested, I can ask my friend. Let you all know next week. I saw them both at her church wedding, so I wanted to book. but cos my dates not confirmed yet.

To be honest, I have alot of wonderful friends to thank. Many of them have volunteered to be 'vendors' or rather help out like give out the popcorn etc. Initially, when I suggested that this to my parents, they did a backflip. That's why hubby and I decided to do 2 separate events.

WEDDING GOWNS - I am still scouting around. I want something really simple. I know Lace (like those Monique Lhuillier gowns) is in fashion this year, but I want something simple, so I can run around in.

CHARMAIINE: I heard that Margaret Brides, Divine Couture and also Graceful Image have very sweet gowns. There are lots of frills, ribbons etc. Quite fairy-tale like.Judy (of graceful image) is the designer. I met her when I went for the bride show. She's very nice....I just didn't think I wanted so much lace and embroidery.

I want something more simple and no fuss though. I cannot tahan lace - it causes me to scratch my skin. HAHAHA...imagine a bride scratching and scratching her arms!

I went to Wedding Present and really like some of their work - very VERA WANG looking. But it's so expensive.....

SHAKERUM: my wedding is not grand at all. It's very small. Both events are only 100-120pax each. We wanted to do it this way also, so that we can mingle with the guests etc. Also, we could do more fun things in each of them.

Will get back to you all about the popcorn thing ok?

Hi Eltgal,

Thanks for hotel infor you had sent me =) ! Btw, where are u having yr dinner banquet ? Alot of places min tables is 15tables.. n 20tables.. we dun have tt many .. < 15tables..

Hi Charmaine,

The only hotels that allow small number of tables are:
- Hyatt (10min)
- Goodwood Park (18 tables min)
- 4 Seasons (12 min)
- Grand Copthorne Waterfront (min 10)
- Shangri-la -- selected ballroom (min 12)
- The Fullerton - min 80pax (Straits Room)
- The Oriental - min 10 tables
- Ritz Carlton - no minimum
- York Hotel - min: 10

My mom was qutie excited (and free) so she actually called alot of hotels to see which could take small numbers. THat is why I have this list. HAHAHA

If you are getting married this year Charmaine, you had better call the catering sales managers to meet up with them. Many dates up to Jan 2007 have been taken up. SO better hurry!

TO be honest, ACM can do sit-down dinners. Have you spoken to Jennifer yet? The 2 caterers I spoke to, told me that there is that option.

I still need help with GOWNS! -BOO HOO-

Hi Eltgal,

Maybe you can try Amanda Lee...Her gowns are feminine and unique and her service is the best..goes out of her way to help u get that special gown in your dreams...

Oooh....thanks Eltgal - you're such a sweetie! I would love to get the contact for the candyfloss....My email is [email protected]

Oh yes....I agree with Eltgal, ACM can accomodate a sit down course dinner. The only thing you have to look into is how the caterer is going to have to set up the "work marquee" at the far end of the terrace and what nots - the caterer may charge you for that. But it is possible.

Charmaine, my friend's recent wedding at Raffles was for about 70 people. I hope you'll be able to recce all the hotels and confirm a venue soon....

Hey Idyll,

sorry I took a while. HTB just moved to Singapore, so we have been really busy. I just emailed you the contact for the popcorn person.

When's your wedding again?

CHARMAINE: what's your plan? are you going to a hotel?

Hey Idyll,

sorry I took a while. HTB just moved to Singapore, so we have been really busy. I just emailed you the contact for the popcorn person.

When's your wedding again?

CHARMAINE: what's your plan? are you going to a hotel?

Hi Eltgal, thanks dearie - got your email! Will have to contact him sometime next week. I expect him to be busy over the weekend or so...that and I've been busy trying to sort out our PS photos.

The wedding's on 15th April. Too close to crunch time and I'm feeling the stress already! Eeeekkk!

Happy happy for you though that your HTB is already here.....great great! It's slowly coming into shape yeah?

Hey Idyll,

what are your plans for decorating? I am still quite far away from our date 17th Nov, so now just planning gowns etc.

Where did you get your gown from?

Hey Grape, I'm a major kpoh and I peeked into your album - VERY Monique Lhuillier..at one point, I wanted that too but realise that my heart was actually for a Alvina Valenta dress instead. Your dress is beautiful though!

Eltgal, I had the gown tailor made and included in the package with my bridal shop - used a malay bridal shop to include the other traditional stuff I intend to wear for the AD.

The decorating is slow but taking shape. My sister is helping me sew the cushions and seam the drapes to complete the moroccon feel. Everything is under control albeit a tad bit slow..Bleh...

Hmm...don't mean to scare you but I thought some 10 months away is still far away until I look at the calendar and gulp at the many outstanding stuff still to do. Now, it's 52 days to the mo. Eeeek!

Dear ladies, took me abt 1hr to read thru all postings hah... I'm looking ard for venues for my solemnization cum dinner (supposedly AD dinner). ACM was my 1st choice 1yr back hah! But shelf it cos we tot it's rather ex n in fact could end up more ex tat hotels. But having 2nd thots now keke...

Idyll, eltgal, charmaine or Shakerum, if u all hav the budget listing for the entire event, possibly to email me: [email protected]?? Many thanks in advance...i gotta plan alone cos FH is working overseas.

Hey Grape, You looked LOVELY. I just signed up with Wedding present too. Who was your designer?

My friend had a gown somewhat similar to yours and she had hers done at Silhouette. Also, your pictures were so beautiful...If you don't mind me asking, who was your photographer?

Idyll, if you need help with contacts let me know.

Tansy, I only have the rental costs for now - $2600. everything else is still quite standard. Grape's wedding at the Arts museum is really nice too. Very picturesque.

Hi eltgal

Thanks for your compliments!!
I was the designer for my gown in Q42002=D
yeah, I know that many brides now have similar multi-piece gowns complete with the fur shrug and coloured ribbons.
My photoshoot was by Kelvin, from Chris Ling.

QUESTION ABOUT ANG PAO BOXES

Hey lovely brides who are having/ had weddings at ACM,

Does anyone know where to put the angpao box after the all the guests have arrived? There isn't a room which can be locked right? So where do we put the money after the guests have arrived and dinner commences?

Anyone has done chinese sit down dinner at ACM before and what caterer did you use?

Am at quite a loss after looking at kriston's and several other web sites. Some seem pretty expensive.

Eltgal, they have a VIP room which the wedding couple can use for changing and stuff. I suppose you can lock the room after and hold on to the keys or get your trusted bridesmaid to hang on to the keys - I would most likely to go with that.

Hi GCY. Have not seen any Chinese banquet dinners at ACM before. But Jennifer (the ACM's officer) did tell me that you have to erect a small tent right at the end of the terrace for the caterers to serve out and prepare the dishes ahead of time as the kitchen in the River Room is very very small.

Hey Idyll,

How is your preparation going? We finally got the order for our wedding favors (part of it) delivered to my HTB's home in the states. So now it's all about getting it here.

GCY, did you come up with anything? I understand that Hyatt does catering for ACM too!

Hi Eltgal, oh goodie! If I may so kaypoh as to ask what you're getting for favours? Shipping them to Singapore will be trickky. What's the no. you're talking about?

My prep is coming together - feeling the heat now that the wedding is but 40 days away. Things are getting crazy. I gave out my wedding invites earlier this afternoon - feels strangely grown up.
Just now putting together the reception schedule and seeing to last minute details like transport and all. All in all, everything is ah ok. Ask me again in 2 weeks though and I may be lucky if I still have my full set of hair still on my scalp!

How's your wedding prep coming along?

Hey Idyll,

WE are not sure what we want in there yet. Initially we wanted to put in some Baseball memoria, but it's Chinese takeout boxes so it won't work. HAHAH. Still tihnking.

I saw a favor that was candy (with the name of the bride and groom on it), but my HTB does not really like it.

you will be fine. TRUST ME!

Hi Eltgal, thanks for the vote of confidence : trying not to hyperventilate as much. We've got stuff sorted out. Just that Jennifer has been so busy, we have not been able to get the confirmation on the request for equipment - and I'm getting edgy...

Re. your favours, put something that reflect both of you. Chinese takeout boxes is a very Chinese "symbol". How about incorporating something of your fiance's culture? Like if he's Italian American, stuff pasta. Or put something totally American, like twinkies or Hersheys?

BREATHE Idyll Breathe...your big day is coming :-)

thanks for your ideas. We are thinking of sports stuff - he's a big big fan! And we had a few ideas from the ice hockey games we used to go to.

The whole concept for the wedding is fusion - so we are going to keep trying to put the 2 cultures together.

Hey, what did you do for wedding invitation cards?

Oooh...."sports culture" is fun anytime! A ballgame theme for the favours sounds smashing. I can imagine the tag on the box reading "..take me out to a ballgame.." (corny I know..but it's so cute!)

Good for you Eltgal. Ours is also a mix of both our cultures. His Bangladeshi culture and my malay roots. And a dash of western. So there's a lot of choices for food, that I can tell you! But it's been fun ensuring our guests will have a wide range of different foods for the evening.

Oh! Re. the wedding invites. We opted to print ourselves as we have quite a few stuff to print especially for our overseas guests. You can take a peek at my invites here

What do you have in mind for your invites - don't mind me being kaypoh but paper is my favourite medium for craft.

Hey Marnie,

it's so sweet of you to share the link. I wanted a fun baseball cutout at first. But am still not sure. Will have to keep thinking....

To be honest, I have always wanted a carnival and I am really glad that FH has been really supportive - popcorn and candy floss man and all....but now that I am really getting the opportunity, I am a loss for ideas. I just have to do more research.

I read in a Martha Stewart's magazine about wedding where couches were used, rather than chairs. I wish I had that luxury.

*See my crazy ideas?*

I think I will still stick to the ballgame idea. You are right about the "Take me out to the ball game" -- FH wants it to be our march-in song. He really truly loves Baseball.

You must be so excited....and I am just beaming with enthusiasm, for you. Just a few more weeks.....to your wedding :-)

Eltgal, can you believe I actually wrote to an Events management co. here for that sort of loungey concept where the indoors are brought outdoors. That would set us back at least a cool S$10K! I gasped in horror to say the least and I never heard from them again when I told them of my (miserly) budget...

Ah yes.....just about a month now. All tingly yet a bit worried that I'm not finishing my tasks..the ink ran out of my printer so couldn't print the programs so would have to traipse down to get a box today. Wish me luck!