Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

hehehehhehe i kept laughing when i read your emails....babu for one, thinking of luring hubby to bed hehehehe so cute. i think thats shldn't be difficult for you right? *wink*. tell us if you successful ah??!!! but hor, if u want baby, tot should do it on the right time right day one right?

heheheh i like your wacky style of writing so pls dun stop! hahahaha aiyah fernvale veri active mneh? actually i never noticed their thread. oh yar hor where is fernvale huh? dun cry dun cry kae? hehehe i think most of us have irregular hours of posting.

hi wise! wah, u so many hobbies, but i same same very san fen zhong ri du one leh! until my mum always give cold reaction to something i interested in, coz she say i sure wun last hahaha... u took up piano too? me and hubby feel like learning that! whats folkart, issit dancing?

maybe next time ur that manager friend said something like that, u shld say "you mean they just moved from _____ (his neighbourhood)??"

hippos, yes coronation got such a shop. perhaps its the one u mentioned. its opp a doggie shop.
yes u can do it the way u said, hacking only one part of the wall, leaving the other to cover the pipe.

hey, i really like your thoughts about a place being zen is more than just the furniture. very true... zen is an art of living and mental attitude, their approach towards life and health right? ...... but well, for us singaporeeans, how to have time to play with sand or really tend to plants when we come back busy from work hor? or to practice yoga for that matter...sigh....but i do know of ppl who can do this, so i beri pei fu them.

for me, our house is resort theme. i duno if i can say we live by the theme or not, but i do love spas a lot! i am a spa freak, and our house is filled of spa essential oils, scrubs, goodies, bath salts, herbal bags and so many things for me to enjoy in bath.
hehehe i love my bathtub where i can slowly enjoy my strawberry scrub, to the sounds of spa music, sipping hot herbal tea. and i do use my cosy corner to occasional massages for my hubby. i will lay a huge beach towel there and apply what strokes i know. hehehhee...dunno if i live up to the theme lah but i know i love our home hahahhaa...

babu, ur westie so CUTE!!!! *wave back* heheheee.... next time we MUST have gathering with doggies hor?

Matka, do go down to made with love.
the girls there are nice, and they will help you along.
yah i also din choose segar flats coz there are SUCH a distance from the station hor. imagine late at night u gotta walk that stretch of road.

yes i saw the black dog a lot of times. that is a friendly dog, owned by an indian if i not wrong. but there are 4 stray dogs that are not friendly around our area. one of them is black too. just be careful kae?

wah binbin your "spa" sounds very nice!!! how you have music in your bathroom? just a mini hifi on a shelf or really install speaker up on the walls? Maybe you can rent out your spa to others in the estate and charge hourly rates!

wise,
no milkie does not look like me, he look like my hb, cos they had same color hair White!! kekekeke.. but hor my hb actually is the step-father cos milkie is a gift from my ex.. so my hb wu hua! buy one get one free..wahahaha..
TGIF long time nvr hear liao, now not working so everyday is weekend, even thou last time i oso work on weekends one, so no effect to me lay..

binbin,
ok ok, i go lure him next week after the lomatic dinner, will let u know the outcome.. but only sucessful or not huh, not the details of XXXX huh..wahahaha..
cannot lose to Fernvale thread one, cos a few of my kaki there and i sometime go and ka jiao them, they asked me to go and find my own neighbour thread la!! *shi lan tao*
278239.gif
but b4 i decided to shift to BP,there are no one stay somewhere near my present house ma..

... I spoke too soon. Guess what! I just got back from work! After working overnight... *pant pant*

Am downloading mails now so just dropping by.

Hi Binbin, I thought the black dog I saw was a stray. He didn't seem like he had an owner tho, and was really friendly with me. I felt very bad that I couldn't entertain him then cos I was actually trying to flag a cab to go for a meeting!

Hey, a personal home spa is cool.

Babu, ohh.. Fernvale is at Sengkang? Didn't know that. Btw, all the best in your baby quest! ;)

helo heloo! hippos, no lah my bathroom not that high tech. i play cheat use the hifi in the bedroom, but leave the bathroom door open so i can hear music loh.
hehehe anyway relaxing music dun need too loud mah. hahahaha no lah i can't charge, not pro enough hehehee... :P just for me myself and sometimes my hubby to use onie...

babu! of course lah, dun need tell me details of xxxx, me juust kaypoh u successful a not hahahaha.. :P aiyoh, why your kakis at fernvale so tao one ah? ask u go find own thread, bery bad leh. so before you come this thread u were active where? okie okie dun so angry, scold bad words not pretty liaoz hehehehee!!

hi Matka, do you bring your doggie to west coast do run every weekend? which day huh? is it always busy? i wld like prince to make more friends.

hihi binbin

Used to bring on Sunday mornings but been lagging for a while. heh heh. I have a friend who goes on Saturday evenings. Think it's quite a popular time too. The people who go there on Sunday mornings are pretty friendly and I think they're pretty regular. There's always a lot of space

morning BinBin

Would love to head down this Sunday but chances are, I won't be able to cos of a 'logistics' issue. heheh.

So wassup? How was everyone's weekend?

Hi Ceila,
Thank u for yr understanding.

Hi BinBin,
Folkart are some ranges of tradition art & painting. the one which i did was painting on some woody furniture.

BTW, BinBin, can ask u how much u spend on yr resort theme? izzit diff to maintain? actually, we might b doing a resort theme. but lazy on the maintence etc.

Hi Matka & BinBin,
did u install a gallion or instant heater? understand that HDB olreadi provide hot & cold piping for our area.

Good morning Babu & hippos.

good the morning all, and esp to wise..kekekeke..
huh??? who who??? who walk dog at west coast??? *pick nose*

278847.gif

hahahahahaha helo morning BABU!!!!! dun pick too much or else nostril big big...
278988.gif

me hoping to walk dog with matka, but matka got logistics issue so prob this sunday cant meet her liaoz. :P

Matka!! okie, its okie. perhaps next time.
anyway we also not confirmed going ah.....but prince need socialisatioN!!! soon soon.....
i spend my saturday bringing prince to grooming and back home, finally! had fun watching him play with our groomers two sheltie pups! eeerrr....or rather, they playing with him. coz he was very shy, kept moving away when they tried jumping and irritating him hehehee....

sunday did my scrapbooking, did 3 pages. hahaha......u must think "huh? only 3 in one whole afternoon??" yah loh, but scrapbookinh takes so much time. like i told you, really hope i can finish my wedding album before baby comes... :P

helo Wise!!! oooh....forkart...sounds very ethnic....u must be artistic....so who's furniture have u painted so far? or u supposed to paint on special pieces of wood and not furniture? pardon me for ignorance hehehe.....

my resort theme reno came up to $60K. we did a lot of build in.....even our tv console and study table. and also asked our ID to do the coffee table to match it, plus cosy corner seatee etc and aircon (2+3). and we mostly use veneer and not laminate. thats why not cheap. actually i also hear its diff to maintain. but seriously, i dun find the wood part difficult. just try to keep your place dry. as long as use good quality wood, shld be alright. if u using veneer, then have to be careful about scratches. if laminate its alright. the only diff part is my bathroom! hahahaa...coz we have a new basin, and a bathtub. so need to clear the drainage net every once in a while. duno what thats called, the drainage that water flows into in the bathtub and basin.if dun clear, will stuck easily. and also, i din buy panels to prevent splashing when i bath mah. so after a shower, floor sure wet.
but my bathroom dries quite easily, so okie. so i try to open the door wide wide to let it dry. if at night, then i make sure i close the bathroom door so the wardrobe outside (connected)wun get damp.

i installed a heater, not the instant kind. mine is ariston. forgot how much litres though....

binbin,
afternoon liao la, still morning??? i oso wanna to walk my dog with alot of dog.. but after my license kanna gan tong liao, it pretty inconvenience for me to walk him anymore..except my house downstair lor.. sian.. did u gals know where can dog swim?? east coast too far..

*pick nose and share with bin bin*
279008.gif

hi Girls

Wise, we installed a heater and not the instant one. It's a Joven, and like BinBin, I can't remember how many litres. LOL.

BinBin, there was once I actually wrote to Nparks suggesting that they build a dog run around our area... but no reply. Not even a sniff of "thank you for your email". Grr...

When is baby coming??? How many pages does a normal scrapbook usually comprise?

Babu, for dog swimming... a good place to go to is Tanjong Beach at Sentosa. It's generally a quieter spot than the rest of the beaches there, and much cleaner than ECP.

Gd morning everyone! Or rather gd afternoon!

binbin: wah... $60K!!! Must be very nice!! I'm aiming for only about 1/5 of your costs!! If you don't mind, could my FW and I visit your place some time to get ideas?? And I think 3 pages in an afternoon for scrapbooking is ok lah cuz I guess the whole pt of it is in the scrapbook-ing and not the scrapbook-ed, rite? ie. doing it is more meaningful and enjoyable than finished product.

babu: how about BP park, got big pond there rite?

helo helo! me having lunch now, colleague ta bao for me. have not fully recovered, been eating fish slice bee hoon for eons!!!! aarrrggghhhhhh.....

orh hehehee babu, i just now work til forget time liaoz. quite surprised it was lunch. i dunno where else can swim for dogs, matka just suggested tanjong beach.....

eeeee.....see! you made my face green liaoz! naughty babu!
279061.gif
hehehe...

matka, oh urs is joven. i rem somewhere a thread comparing joven and ariston, and some say joven better. u know hor, sometimes my bathtub
279062.gif
water when drained, got bits of grey black stuff lying at the bottom. its white base so very obvious. i really dunno whats that. our ID said can't be from heater coz its not rust. said could be our water supply, somemore i high flr got the blast of it. had tot of changing water heater to joven, but since he said not heater problem, now dunno how.

nparks in charge of dog run one ah? ooohhh......is it under their purview? aiyah, they stuck up lah...not surprising..
anyway, our area dun warrant one, so they wun build one. think must satisfy this and that criteria b4 they will consider.

no lah, baby not so soon. but still, not much time to finish leh.....a usual album usually comes with either 20 or 10 slots. 20 slots means can have 40 pieces of scrapbook. for mine, the wedding one is 20 i think. but not enough. going to buy refill. some books can refill some cannot. my prague journal got 50 hahahaa....so until i siao....but i enjoy it...

matka,
ya i heard about that place.. but abit too far too lay..sg sibei sian unlike other countries..

hopping,
BP park?? got pond meh??? dirty or not?? my dog white lay.. sicaly came out instead of milkie became blackie..

hi hippos, wah u serious a not?? the pond??? hehehhee..... hhhhmmm.....how to climb out? yes you are right, the fun is in the scrapbooking. but after all the effort, if the page turns out nice, u get a deep sense of satisfaction too.

hehe spend more on reno does not necessarily equate to nice ah.
we dun mind you visiting our place.....we love having friends over. but hor.....hehehee...just got to know you mah, so a bit funny. when are you collecting your keys? lets have a meet up after you and wise collect your keys? i usually feel more comfortable after meeting up....hope you dun mind leh......
279083.gif

babu!!! aiyoh why u say so sian......which other country u referring to? ask ur hubby to fetch u there? u can't drive but he can drive right?

Hi babu,
still nose picking.... got so many gold huh...
Is there any place where "dog & human" can dine together? is there any resturants/place liked that?

Hi matka,
tks for the info. so u r using Joven... hmmm. r u living in high level or low level? does that affect the speed of the water etc? how is yr elect bill liked?

Hi BinBin,
60K$! wow! no wonder everyone said u hse look liked condo. got foto to see see look look boh? mi kpo. if not convin then ok. mi olso liked woody furniture too tat y scared of the maintence lah. oh, btw, yr bathtub are those build in type or buy out the rack? so what abt the shower screen?

hey, u confuse mi leh. so r u preggy??

helo wise i just noted down two restaurants that serve doggie and human food (i hope). so ciao that you asked! heres the loci:

1. Muchies Cafe #01-07 Sin Ming Plaza Tower 1
2. Urban Pooch Manville Mansion #01-07.

Saw the menu and specialty before, quite yummy for doggies leh! eh how come both same unit ah..hope i din copy wrongly hehehee...the urban pooch one hear the specialty is some pie i think. its in the pets magazine, forgot liaoz.

eh....where did you hear that my house look like condo huh? my bathtub is build in. bought off the rack but built in lah heheheee..... i din put shower screen yet...thats why so wet.

no i am not preggy now. hehehe...what i meant to matka is, i wish to finish my wedding album before even getting preggy. coz when i preggy i wanna do an album for baby from day one of pregnancy...

Binbin, is Joven supposedly better than Ariston? I'm surprised! haha. We didn't do any research. Just went to the shop... and saw and our contractor just said "buy this one". Then we "ok" and paid for the stuff.

Must ask Nparks what satisfies their criteria for a dog run. hehe

That's quite a no of pages for a scrapbook. Do you type the words or do you handwrite them?

Methinks our pond has a strange name. LOL

Babu, haha. Some people complain that Singapore is too small and have no where to go. Some say that Bt Panjang is too far away. kekeek. I think other countries are even further... what with having to drive an hour to the next town or so. Sentosa isn't too bad, esp now that we can drive in. Think it costs only $5 per car right... regardless of the no of passengers (i think!).

Hi Wise, sorry cldn't provide much info. I live on the 19th floor and our Singapore Power bill ranges from $90 - $120. Speed of water? Erm... I have no basis for comparison, but I shld think it's pretty fast? heh heh

Hi BinBin,
oic. tks for the info.

Oh e other time. U mentioned pple visiting yr hse & commend that yr hse looked liked condo.... :p

Oh... mi thot u r preggy... then will b fun... since got new member.... so now u got to take care of the other 2 BB (HB & prince) lah.

Hi Matka,
tks tks. this info is really useful.

am currently, renting a 3rm flat. PUB bills olreadi 70-90 w/o air-con. exp right?

coz the unit is quite dark. even sunny day o/side mi still got to switch on light.

Hi Wise

no worries. Yah, it sometimes depends on the unit and the no of windows you have. If I'm not wrong, the current place you're at has a common corridor? Which probably explains the lack of natural light into your home because of the constraints in your windows.

It's a good thing that you're soon moving over then! The windows here are huge... so you get plenty of natural light into your home! The only place that's not so well lit is the kitchen and the bathrooms.

When you buy your fridges and washer, you might want to take into consideration their electricity consumption as well. Some fridges might cost more when you purchase it, but in the long run, their electricity consumption is less. It's the same for the aircon. For example, when we calculated if we got a dryer, each time we used it, would cost us $1. Amazingly, all these little things do add up.

Hi matka,
u beli smart. yeap, current flat beli near lift lobby & at the corridor. so ppl can peek in when pass by. so got to closed door & window. but once these 2 r closed. need to switch on light & fan. coz dark & warm...

hope so the new place got more natural lights yah. coz mi facing another block... cannot hv best of everything lah. mi mom place everywhere olso bright & airy. then in summer time... super hot liked oven... ha haaa. no where to hide.

tks for the tips on the elect goods. yeap, got to think long term. so what brand u r u using for air-con & fridges?... yah lor all these little cost add up can be a bomb. currently, mi elec kettle. so every morning only need to boil once for kopi.

Hi Wise,

I am new to this forum... finally bought a resale flat at BP... at blk 177.... anyone staying anywhere near there?

very excited about my new house... hehe... =P But got some problem need to seek some advice from all the brides here...

I would be getting the 40k grant but my wedding and ROM is next Mar which is about 9 months away (by the time i finish all the procedures).... but i think hdb wans us to give the marriage cert within 3 mths if taking the 'staying near parents grant'.... so any idea how we can persuade hdb to give us more allowance?? cos my agent say might have to ROM earlier cos 9 mths too long liao.,.. he says the longest he has done is 6 mths....

anyone had done this kind of appeal b4??... cos i really hope to have my ROM and wedding on the same day leh

Hi Wise

No lah... not smart. When I was younger, I used to play at my relatives' homes and their main windows were along the common corridor, so it tended to be darker then. One of the solutions was for them to leave their main door open. Like you, I'm uncomfortable with people looking into my private sanctuary... so when we were looking for a place, I specifically told hubby "no common corridors!"

hehe.. it also tends to be noisier that way. You can be sleeping soundly one minute, and the next, there's someone else walking past your window over the other side of the wall. For me, I don't like that creepy feeling. hee hee.

For aircon, we're using Sanyo... 3+2. But we're having problems with our system. It's not as cool as we'd like it to be. For our fridge and washing machine, we bought Ariston. Ya I use an electric kettle too... for its convenience. I tend to be quite forgetful so better get one that switches off by itself. Sekali forget, and whole house burn down before you know it! heheheheh. Same for iron!

Hiya Shelyn

The good news is... it's possible. But my situation was a WIS flat. So not sure if resale applies. I sent in a letter and deferred the submission of the marriage cert by 10 months. Well, actually I sent in my letter only when the deadline of the cert was up (3 months after I got my keys)... so essentially it was another 6 months before my wedding date.

Are you planning to get married in a church? If you are, you can say that you hope to solemnise in church for its significance and everything has been arranged. Give them the dates and the venue of your wedding to give them the assurance of your seriousness. Hope this helps!

Hi matka

wahh.... very surprised with your efficiency =P din expect pple to reply so fast...

i'm not getting married in a church leh.... i think the WIS is diff from the grant. Last time my sis also went for WIS and they din even ask... so she also din submit... for more than 1 yr!!!!.....

but this one cos the govt got to give us 40k.... and it's handled at the HQ (i think), so it's more 'by the rules' i think.... not too sure also. Or is there anyway we can delay the process of getting the key... maybe if can delay by about 2 more mths.... then it wld be easier to appeal....

hi shelyn

I just happened to see your post and just rattled off... well, I'm not sure if you could use your verbal skills to just speak to the officer in charge and ask them very, very nicely if there is any way you can defer the submission of the marriage cert. Sometimes it helps to be personal and they will be more inclined to help you.

I'm not sure if you can delay the key... afterall, what abt the seller? Can they wait? Or will they have to ensure that the transaction is completed before they can move into their new home? Cos sometimes for them, cashflow can be a problem.

Just a thought... that if you have close relatives who are foreign guests, then maybe you have a better reason to tell HDB that you'd like to do the whole ROM thingy at the same time.

helo helo!! taking a break from work.

wise, i got mention my friends said my unit looks like condo meh?? *scratch head very hard*....i seriously dun remember leh...oh dear.......anyway, no lah, its just cosy...good enough for two of us can liaoz. who cares what it looks like!?? hahahaa....

wise and matka, yah i agree. i dun like corridor flats leh. last time my 3-room is corridor and our flat next to highway. that plus the sound of ppl walking by at night hard to sleep. and hor, got creepy ppl peeping into my room during the last few yrs i stayed there!!! wierd lah. they actually tiptoed and look in, i got a shock when i saw that guy! lucky i moved out soon.

wise, my parents plc 4-room, pub bills $90-$100 a mth, they on aircon in bedroom at night. so urs quite okie lah, considering u on your lights in the day? about the speed of water, many said high floors low pressure. but actually, unless you are going for those gigantic shower heads, not much different. my masterbathroom one is not very strong, coz the head quite big. but its enough, used to it liaoz. the one in the common bath is okie. so it depends.
just dun invest a bomb in one huge expensive rainshower than find out no power...hehehee... test it first. agar agar...

like what matka said, when u buy electric goods take note of their economic feature. some aircon like mitsubishi starmex is exp but saves u elec bills every month esp if u use it frequently. if u dun intend to use aircon frequently, then dun need invest in starmex. coz u will pay less for another good brand, just that everytime use more exp. as for fridge, me no yan jiu. my fridge is fisher & pykel.

matka, yah loh yah loh, i keep forgetting to switch off lights and iron one leh! very forgetful..... quite worried, so always try to make sure everything is off.

as for my scrapbook, some of the text i write myself, most of it is typed out. thats why need so much time, need to make sure the text aligned , right size, can fit into page....quite tedious. and i like to experiment with fonts.

Hi shelyn! my parents stay there.
i did hear of ppl delaying their rom for a year, after writing in to appeal. that was the longest, not due to grant, but due to other reasons. why not try it? I guess hdb should reply u on your success status pretty soon? if they can't accomodate, then u can think about having rom first. i understand your feelings abt not wanting it on separate days. seriously, i don't think hdb can do anything about ppl who delays their rom cert. they have a surplus of flats. even if hdb only agree to grant u a 6 mth postponement, by then u oredi renovate and collect keys liaoz. just wait another 3 mths they can't do anything. just try to cite reasons by cashflow problem lah, elders want good dates lah....etc.....no harm trying....

Hi Hi everyone...

thanx for all your kind and prompt replies.... i was actually quite confident of asking hdb to delay.... from wat my sis had done.... but the way my agent put it.. sounds like very slim chance leh.. Maybe i try first and see how lah.

Hi BinBin,
Which floor your parents staying? mi staying at 6th floor.... i've seen the view of the pond from the 25th floor... so spectacular!!! mine only 6th floor.... see the tree branches and leaves only....
haha....

helo shelyn, ur agent would understandably tell u its difficult. the earlier you rom, the earlier you pay, the earlier he gets his commision. agents are realistic no matter how nice or sincere they are..... matka has very good suggestion of citing church and foreign guests as a reason... since u not havg wedding at church, the foreign guests one can try. say they stay very far like europe or US, so they know airfare very exp. :P my parents stay 15th flr, my old room can see the pond. like it bery much hehee.. :P its a good plc. central and very convenient.
how much u bought urs and how many rooms?

Hi binbin,

i bought mine at 303k , 5 room..... feel very heartache.... cos our initial budget was only 220k when we started out searching but that was for 4 room.... How do u think? is this price the avg price for that area?

my unit also facing the pond... maybe same facing as urs... mine is facing the carpark. I feel the unit is rather ex... but the reno is very nicely done.... actually no need to do anything else if dun mind using back everything.... only need to paint and buy furniture so can save quite a lot of reno.

Now still waiting for valuation... hopefully no need to pay out too much cash. And my agent hor... valuation not out already asking mi to quickly fax him my ic etc all the documents for him to submit the resale application liao.

hey binbin

scrapbooking sounds fun. but i don't think i have the determination to complete it... unfortunately. haha. Even a simple cross stitch is left lying in the drawer.

Ya! For my iron, I bought this Tefal one... recently. Bought a slightly more expensive one that has an auto-cooling feature if it's left upright and not moved for a few minutes. So even if it's still plugged in and you forget to switch it off, it will remain cool for hours... and will only become warm after you move it. So it's kind of an assurance that it won't suddenly catch fire. Great for absentminded people like me.

Hi Shelyn

As long as you love your flat, I guess the money is considered well-spent

Hi celia

thanx for the info....
now i starting to be worried cos i signed the form b4 valuation out... there was another buyer also interested so we decided to sign b4 he come....
but hopefully the valuation wont be too bad.... can only pray now

I'm so surprise to see the BP thread so actively recently. So much so that my hands itch to type in a few words as well.

I stayed in Senja Link.

In fact, I was quite active in another BP thread 1+ yrs back... then sleeping....and now active again!

hi shelyn, matka is right. its worth it as long as you like your unit and you are happy there. like i said, its a prime location in BP.
not sure how much are the flats there now, but $300K to me sounds like a reasonable amount for a 5rm resale? not sure, din do market research ah.

and u do save on the renovation, since u like how the place is now.
but thing is, u signed on the dotted line before valuation? meaning the $300K is agar agar isit? or is it your old house valuation that is pending? sorry me confused.

matka! yes scrapbooking is indeed fun. i am also a 3-min temperature kinda person. that was why i was kinda surprised this hobby lasted. but perhaps its coz this is archiving of precious memories of wedding, thats why
i never finish my cross stitches or knitting before! oooh theres such an iron!! u really can find stuff! next time i buy things must keep a lookie out for such features yar!

Helo dingdong!
welcomed back then.
279304.gif
. you said u stay in senja link, is it same cluster as most of us here? how long have you been staying in bp? looking at your posting status, u must have been sleeping for beri long ah hehehe..

Hi girls !

visited IKEA today.. was very tempted to take up their kitchen package.. the price is so attractive (its only 1/2 of what a normal ID firm offers)!! But skeptical about its quality, though IKEA has this 10 years warantee. Just wondering, anyone used IKEA products before ? Is it really that terok ??

Met up with the HDB man today... gonna change my tiles to homo tiles.. the ones they showed me sucks...

Hello everyone! Wah suddenly so many posts!!

babu: Its a big pond but its called a canal if I"m not wrong for some reason, but it is part of the BP park.

binbin: I'm collecting my keys earlier than wise I think, in mid-may hence a bit kan chiong. But no probs about the visiting, would you have any pics then to share? I would greatly appreciate kitchen and MBR pics!

bell bell: why don't you get a quote from carpenters to compare? I think ID would have quite a bit of middle man profit built in so obviously more ex than getting from IKEA. And how come HDB man help you change your tiles to homo?

Hi Bell Bell

I tend to be more cautious of Ikea's furniture. Yes, their designs are nicer, but their laminates tend not to last. It happens to their shelves and tables cos they do start peeling. Unless it's something that you don't mind lasting for a couple of years, it might not be such a good idea to get built-in stuff from Ikea.

Then again, it has that 10-year warranty. Check what the warranty it entails!

Hihi Dingdong. Looks like the number of Senja Link/Road residents have risen!

Hey Binbin, i MUST check out the scrapbooking shops some time. The thing abt me is that I'm a 'lazy' buyer. So what I do is that if I go to Tangs, I'll just ask the salesperson "What's the difference between Product A and Product B? Why does it look the same but the price differs?" Yada yada yada.. then I leave it up to them to convince me why I shld buy one product over the other. heheh.

Incidentally, the pond at BP is called Pangsua Pond. Anybody has any idea what it means?????

Haha....

I've been really sleeping for a long long time. In fact, I've forgotten what nick i've used previously.

I've been staying in the blk 65x clusters...yup...same with some of you sui sui gals here
....been here for 1+ years already

someone mentioned about IKEA products? find their design quite nice...but not too sure abt the quality. well...in fact there is a plus side if ikea's furniture wore out sooner than expected - warrants a chance to change the design of your kitchen kekekeke

err...scrapbooking is what?? seems like lots of efforts required....

Pangsua Pond? this a malay or dialect term...sounds like a pond for you to 'fang4 sheng1' fishes.

Hi Shelyn,
Welcome welcome... am so happy to see u here... (^_^). Actually, u shldnt b worried. HDB shld approved one coz: 1) by the time HDB approved your grant etc will take a few weeks (by then will b lesser than 8mths... tryin to buy time from here before u collected yr keys). then from there u will be given (i think) 6mths to provided yr ROM cert so u will be resigter for ROM 3mths before AD. so can used that as a prove that u r applying to be ROM. HDB is more flexible thesedays... as long as no $$$ cost involved.

think wat matka & binbin siad is right... yr agent jus being KS. may b u can call up HDB to check on the safe side think they handle similar cases b4 one lah..

as for the value of yr flat.... check this web:
http://www.8links.com/property_hdb.htm under the "Recent transcation price"

btw, how big is e 5room? 303K okay lah. as long as 1) u really liked the hse 2) really saved on reno cost...

but one thing to note... do wait for the valuation report before u give any go ahead. coz it the buyer mkt now. dont rush. pple are eager to sell off their unit.

helo helo bp-ers!!!

i am the first one to post this morning hahahaaa....

hi bellbell! ikea furniture looks nice, but i will only buy the small items like lamps and accessories and kitchen stuff. will never buy big ticket items like beds or cabinets for my new house. they are known not to last. but for my old plc at parents, i do have their book display shelf that was with me for years. but with the weight of my books and stuff, the centre portion has sagged a bit. still holding lah. and last time when i buy their bedframe for my old guest room, their frame size is diff from usual mattress. so u end up have to buy their mattresses, which sucks big time. matka is right, their laminate is not good quality. for tings like build in kitchen, u sure dun wana to spend money to hack it all out 3 yrs later right? do check out the warranty details and read the fine prints. for our new house, the only thing ikea is the floor mat, small vases, fake flowers, coloured pebbles, storage boxes and my scrapbooking table which dun need to last long. that time i just wanted something cheap and nice.

hippos, thanks for understanding! it will be great to meet up then! mid may issit? me going overseas for one week at that time, lets have a gathering session when i am back???!! i will email you separately about the photos when i am home.

Matka! serious?? pang sua?? wanted to ask you what u mean by funny. but now i hear the name its indeeed...eerrr.....one of a kind. should be malay coz this used ot be malay village? but yet sounds like hokkien. anyone knws what it means? seems like pond and hills?? heheheee...

dingdong, thats long until you forgot your nickname hehehe.. 1+ years! thats same as me! me been living here since march04. hehehe what about you? scarli we met a lot of times before and we dunno.
which eating plc u usually go on weekends?

helo wise! worked late again issit? 11.37pm have not sleep, watched desperate housewives ah?? hehehe i love that show, do you watch? the only bright spark on mondays... :P

Hi shelyn,
Like u i signed on the dotted line before the valuation was out so i know what you are going through now. YOu may want to consider the following factors ....
1) condition of the flat (mine was very well kept and move in condition)
2) which floor is the flat on (mine is considered slightly lower floor)
3) floor area of the flat (mine is 122 sqm)

Luckily it landed up that the valuation price was quite high for my flat so i actually got it below valuation ....