Anyone staying in Bukit Panjang

binbin

helo taurus, Different TasteS? is that a restaurant or a little cafe? what they sell? i wld like to try that soon....pls let me know thanks.

me been staying in BP since 5 yrs ago with parents. but moved to my new home (also in BP) for about a yr now...
what abt you?

taurus033

Hi Binbin,

Different Taste is a restaurant not those grand ones just a simple eating house serving somehow like zhi cha food. I like their penang kuay teow and Te Wei Fried rice. Cost about $4.50 (if I remember correctly). A lot of people go there for dinner during the weekends.

I am staying here for about a year. At first couldn't get used to here as my previous home is near town so rather accessible.

So you got married last year?

binbin

helo taurus, oh ten mile got restaurant ah??? okie, then i must check it out ah...hehehe...i like small eating houses, esp those old style ones, they usually serve the best food.
wah u stay near town last time? ur parents still staying there lah? so u got used to bp liaoz? its very nice here, i find the transportation quite convenient. some ppl always exclaimed "wah, bp so far". i feel like telling them off for being shallow. just coz bp is far to them dun mean its inconvenient. i prob reach town faster than them from their home. hahahaa...

yep i got married last year...
my 1st yr anni coming very very soon hehehee...time flies leh....

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,

Not sure if u r the same BinBin who show mi her wedding foto... :p

BTW, got a flat at Blk 654. now waiting for keys. jus wanna to say hi to u. BTW, how do u find living there so far?

noscon

I got a flat at blk 652 too.... moving in soon...

anyone knows whether there is any chartered buses we can take everyday to work at ard that area?

wise and hoppinghippos

so when do you guys plan to move in there?

noscon

hi wise

im abt to move in first wk of May after my AD. My AD is on 6th May so will move in after that.

I didn't do much renov. just kitchen cabinets, some lightbox, wardrobes and a partition at the door...

the living rm area is quite big so for my renov, only the lighting for this area is more of an issue can only be taken care by lightbox (for my personal opinion). There shd be some other mtds but becos i want to put a fan at the living rm area so to make it bright bright, my personal choice is fault ceiling with down lights.

hoppinghippos

Hi noscon, the area seems super windy to me, I'm also thinking whether there's a need for fan in the living room, can any others staying at Senja share on this?

noscon

hi hoppinghippos

depends on which block u r staying.... maybe mine is surrounded on 4 sides by unit and blocks so for me is ok.... also depending on which level u r staying... higher levels will be more windy...

binbin

helo hoppinghippos, think we are neighbours too.
my plc is super windy, at the right season, even the things on the tv console can fall down. it did once and hit my console. so heart pain.
i have a fan in the living room but its the standing fan, the long rectagular kind. but seldom use it coz our whole house aircon. but when feel like saving money then will use lah hehee.. and also when we mopping the floor. coz the fan helps to dry it fast.

hi noscon, congrats on your coming wedding.
there used to be a contact in this thread who offers private bus services in BP and CCK area. i called him before, but its been so long dun have the number liaoz. that time din need him so i din follow up.

binbin

helo wise(harmony)! sorry i think i missed your posting. issit the same person? ehhh....dun rem sending wedding photos to you, were you ever in the divine thread? but i did rem there was another binbin in the forum once hehehee..
i love staying here. never regretted buying this place. its great and window and spacious and green.
no other new town can provide me such things. hehehehe..... the only thing is theres like not enough food here, esp for supper. so end up now usually venture out to bkt timah to eat hehehee..... so when's ur wedding?? nice to have so many neighbours......

hoppinghippos

Hi bin bin, which block do you stay in? Were you the one who's flat I visited a few weeks back? I stay in 654, fourth floor. What kind of aircon setup do you have that can cover the entire place?

binbin

helo helo hoppinghippos, no u din visit my flat.
was your host from the forum too? i stay in the same cluster as you. hhhmm.....not comfortable mentioning the block coz i had bad experience with some idiotic wierdo the last time i revealed it in the forum, hope u dun mind. i wun say it here but i can tell u through other means like emailing hehehee...
i stay on 19th flr, and my aircon is with 2 compressors, system 2 and 3. total 5 sets of aircon units as mine is EA.
yours also right?

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,
hmmm... cannot remember izzit the same BinBin... ke kee... anyway, got married last year. currently renting a flat @ BT batok. so waiting for keys... so excitied.

Wow, yr is 19th flr of coz windy lah. envy leh.

Well, tell mi abt wierdo man! ... mi meet a couple before too. so anyway, now also very careful wif whom mi tolk to....

hoppinghippos

Hi Binbin, wah yours so high flr!! when did you get it? right from the start with BTO? How much was it? yep mine's an EA too, and gosh it'll be terrible to meet weirdo stalkers!

Wise, our side's pretty windy so maybe you should decide again on having a fan when you get the keys and check it out for yourself?

binbin

helo wise and hoppinghippos, yah man, theres wierd ppl around in this forum. i always say its a double edged sword. u can find good friends, share info, and also encounter bad things. thats why i very careful now...... i now only share photos with ppl whom i have chat with for a while, or ppl i have meet....hehehe.... scary loh....

yah some ceiling fans are so nice, those bronze colour ones, very rustic looking. good choice and more economical esp if u like fans. for me, i duno why, i dun like fan blowing directly at me one, esp when i am eating food. i have this guai pi. if i am in direct impact of the fan, i will feel very irritated and feel like falling sick.....been this way bery long, so hubby is the one who can enjoy the fan himself hehehee...

i din get it from BTO, i got it through WIS too. but it was during the very first WIS for BP, in Sept 02 (we got the keys in nov 02, rom-ed in 03, wedding in 04). we eyed this cluster for quite some time, and we kept our eyes peeled for any upcoming WIS. when it came, we flew down to join the queue. we were so early we end up #8 in queue hehehee..that time still gotta queue overnight. but i din stay, hubby and his good friend stayed for us.... its worth it coz the front 7 couple all got senja grand 5rm, so we got our first choice.

u girls same block right? yes its super windy there hehee..
dun have to worry about clothes not drying, except on rainy days like nov/dec...

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,
Wow.. yr hubby friend so gang-ho & Q-ed for u too. U got married olso last year? when huh? mi married Dec'04.

Hi Hoppinghippos,
hmmm u r right. may b should wait till get the keys then decided. BTW, when is your AD? but, i think yr side is better coz facing the forest. at least got lotsa green to c. mi is facing the opp block.

binbin

helo wise, i got married in march 04.
we are both 04 brides then. perhaps we did chat before in the 04 thread and i showed u the photos then? hehehee.... you missed your wedding? i miss mine beri much leh......yours is still 5 mths ago, so the memory must be beri fresh.
time flies, esp the first yr after wedding. in the blink of an eye we have been husband and wife for more than a yr liaoz, but the wedding day memories still so vivid in my mind...

its his good buddy, so he came and join us. i rem that night was my D&D, so i had to go. his friend q-ed whole afternoon with my mum, and my mum made herbal tea for him hehehee.... he stayed overnight at WIS one of the nights only lah, the other night only my hubby.....

yah hoppinhhippos side will be real windy...

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,

Good time are short... esp wedding is only a day affair... before u knew it, it over. all the preparation & hard work, fights etc just for that day... then suddenly became so "empty" ha haaa... luckily got video the whole "event" else cannot remember all the details...

wah... really buddy huh... these days how to find good friends liked tat... yr mommy must b touch too... did u "reward" him??? find him a wife ... ha haa.

hoppinghippos

Dear binbin, wow I think you really deserved your flat! You put in so much effort and its great to see it really paid off. And I"m not a girl!!

Dear wise, actually, my side also has pros and cons. I donno if the forest will be developed, if so it'll be very jialat, no scenery, noisy dusty and neighbours who will look into my room. Plus the trees next to the block outside may grow taller and block my view. Your side at least opens out to empty space betwn blocks and will stay that way forever! I saw your unit but a few floors above and its not bad and windy so don't worry! And our floor should be ok where neighbours are concerned too!

I've a suggestion tho, maybe the estate folks can petition the school to arrange some kind of deal where we get to use the rock climbing wall there? heh....

binbin

helo wise and hoppinghippo! ooooh din know hippo is a guy ah hehehe sollie.
anyway, to tell you something, that patch of land most likely will not be developed. have inside news. ;P but if it still happens then i must go and scold my that friend lah, dun blame me. but as far as we know, it will stay that way....

u two staying same floor?? why did you say "our floor should be okie?". just kaypoh-ing.

wise, yes u are right, its a one day affair. i did do my best to cherish each moment that day as I savour it. but after that day, did feel the heavy sweet feeling of missing...
yep very glad for the video, but also cannot watch too many times. must savour it...
find that friend a wife? hehehehe hard to be matchmakers nowadays ah.
oh our pub bills ah? i dun mind sharing....ehh...let me recall. at a very high time last time, it shocked us with around $180. but nowadays around $120 if i am not wrong. coz we used to on living room aircon every day the moment we reach home, and we on aircon to sleep EVERYDAY. we have two units in the living room, one 9K BTU, the other 18K BTU. for now, we seldom use living room aircon unless friends came over or we watching dvds at home. but masterbedroom aircon always on overnight lah.

hoppinghippos

wise, I selected about 2 months ago but postponed key collection.

binbin, when you come home after work won't it be very cooling at nite when the living room windows are open already without aircon? Could I just check on one thing too, for the MBR, the aircon ledge access, what is it like? Is it a door, window or something? Must it be left unhindered? Cuz I"m wondering if its ok to place the bed against it or a wardrobe against it. thanks!

And it appears wise is my neighbour!

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,
Tks for sharing. tks for still coming in to visit & advise on the new-comers... :p so how did u celebrate your 1st anni? where did u hold yr banquet?

Hi hoppinghippos,
OIC. delaying the keys yah. u got the house b'coz gg to get married? when is yr AD? so tat can avoid my housewarming wif yr AD.... ke keee.

wiseharmony

Hi hoppinghippos,

Congratz!!!

ok, here goes:
AD= actual day
WG= Wedding grown
EG= Evening gown
PS= Photo Shoot
MIL=mother in law......
HM= honeymoon

got so much more.... learned these from this web...

binbin

helo helo! sollie been beri busy din manage to reply you...
me at home just finished tea (hahaha so late)...got egg tarts yum yum...

hoppinghippos, yes u are right, its super windy at night when we open the windows. the strongest winds is during year end. if you open both main door and windows the wind just gushes in....

the aircon ledge is accessed through a window that opens outwards. its to facilitate aircon compressor maintenance, so its better you dun build anything onto that part of the wall. u intend to have aircons? even if you don't, doing that may reduce your unit's resale value as buyers usually dun like too much build-in furniture...(hehe but my place got a lot :p) if you have to put a bed against it, u may have to push the bed aside to access the window. compressors are heavy, so may spoilt your bed if workers have to climb or brace against the nearest piece of furniture.

hehehe u sound new on the forum coz you were asking about "AD".

Helo wise! heheh we celebrated by spending two nights at our wedding venue hotel. our wedding was at Conrad, really love it there. and this anniversary stay was memorable and i really love their service.
they sent an anniversary cake to our room. what about you? where was your wedding dinner?

our refuse removal ah....eeeehh....let me ask my hubby.....just checked the bill, its $7.58! why leh? so much charging hor? still got the $75 scc too...

i do love coming to this forum, it helped me a lot during the wedding preps days, dun you agree?
and i always keep a lookie out for this thread or the Senja one..

hope we can keep this thread alive!

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin,
yeap. agreed wif u... i liked coming into this web too. there is so many info in this web that we can used.

Oh. our wedd bqt is @ Raffles Town club. tink will b there celebrating our anni too. i luv their suite. got jazucci & the room is super big & lomatic. they deco their room wif lotsa red roses... how i missed their suite...

S$75 for scc.... wah!... EA throw more rubbish than other unit??? kekeee...

u got foto on yr love nest to show us?

Hi Senja-ers & Bukit Panjangers

I have a huge gripe here. Bear with me please, and do take note as well.

I was at Kopitiam at Greenridge for lunch today and wanted to try out the rojak/pohpiah stall at the corner. The lady started preparing the rojak first and halfway while cutting the cucumber, she accidentally cut her finger.

She was wearing cellophane gloves (ie. plastic bag material) and it must have cut through the gloves enough to have her bleeding non-stop. I only realised that she cut herself when she started dabbing her bloodstained finger on the piece of wet cleaning cloth on the table. So out of concern, I asked her to go wash her hands to avoid any infection. I was even prepared to go get a plaster for her.

But she ignored me! And continued cutting the food while tolerating the pain and dabbing her finger on the cloth. In the meantime, I told her repeatedly, "Please go wash your hands. I can wait for the food."

I got really frustrated when she picked up a piece of tau pok and started holding it on her bloody finger! This time, I was concerned about the food I was about to consume, and again, reminded her to wash her hands ... telling her that it was unhygienic. She realised that i was getting irritated and decided to take out the gloves and changed it to a new one! All the while, not bothering to go to the back to wash her hands. Her bleeding was bad, because while she was wearing the pair of new gloves, I could see the blood just dripping inside the gloves.

In the end, after gritting my teeth for what I felt was eternity, I told her that I'd pay for the food but I didn't want the order anymore. I told her to throw away the food (which I certainly hope she did and not sell it to the next customer).

I was angry at the thought of her lack of hygiene during food preparation. Blood on food is no laughing matter - and on raw food at that. It wouldn't have been as bad if the food was to be cooked and all the bacteria killed.

Whilst I am tempted to lodge a complaint with the NEA, I also realise that it would affect her livelihood. So I'm hoping that she learns her lesson from today's episode. But I also hope that in future, where possible, we should pay attention to stallholders who handle uncooked food.

*still seething from this afternoon's lunch*

wiseharmony

Hi... got this fm an email...

I chllenge u to try this, makes me really laugh out loud!

This will boggle your mind. And you will keep trying at least 50 more
times to see if you can outsmart your foot, but you can't.

1. While sitting at your desk, lift your right foot off the floor and
make clockwise circles.

2. Now, while doing this, draw the number "6" in the air with your right
hand. Your foot will change direction.

.........And there's nothing you can do about it

binbin

helo matka!! its been so long since i see you here. oh my goodness, i can understand your fustration! that wld turn me off right away! its so irresponsible of her, she prob din have any sense about hygeine and thought that she is being nice ignoring her pain and continuing with your food. and the fact that she ignored you totally! what was her reaction when you told her you are not eating? i too hope she din sell it to the next customer! i din eat from that stall before, but i think hubby bought their popiah back before. eeeeeee......never going there again!

if i rem correctly, were u the one who did resort style theme for your home?
rem us chatting before?

hi wise! eeehhh....i tried your instructions, i could do it leh.... counterclockwise with foot then 6 with right hand right? hehehehhee took some concentration but surprisingly can. maybe i am wierd, like my right brain not connected to left like that hahahahhah!!!

wow, red roses, beri romantic ah...
you must be a member or ur hubby a member then? it would be nice to stay there for your anni...
actually hor i think the $75 scc does not include rubbish leh. the rubbish and clearance is $7.58 per mth like what i mentioned above. the $75 is a fixed amount that we have to pay every month from giro. you dun need meh??

Hi Wise, tried it! First time i succeeded. 2nd circle, I succumbed. LOL. It is indeed quite funny.

Hey BinBin

Yup! We've spoken before. I remember where roughly you live. I didn't do resort style, just a contemporary theme with light-medium shaded woods. You also have a doggie right? Is it with you right now or with your in-laws? Think our estate has a number of dog lovers, which is nice to know.

Ya... I can imagine she was trying to be nice by tahaning the pain and preparing the food quickly. But food handlers should know better... what with SARS and all, and blood at that. Am never going back there again. Urgh. When I told her I didn't want, she just kept asking me "You really don't want ah?" and I said "no, throw it away". Later she just kept saying "Sorry, sorry" in a meek voice.

Btw, you mentioned earlier abt some strange incident when disclosed the blk no you live in... what happened?

wiseharmony

Hi BinBin & matka,

Wah.... both of u beli smart leh to get the "game" right @ 1st try.

Think the hawker was doing a good intention wrong. But, Matka it was beli kind of u to ask her to "heal" her hand 1st.

hoppinghippos

wise, no leh, I can do the game also leh...

binbin, thanks for your tips on the MBR aircon window! That'll help a lot in my planning!

matka, yep I think while it was gross and wrong but I think the lady also did "sacrifice" in a sense, I"m sure she must be hurting when she perservered to fin up your food. Hopefully she learns from this!

Hi Wise & Hoppinghippos

Yup! I hope she learns from that episode too. Well, for one thing, I hope she doesn't ever have to cut her finger again!

Btw, does anyone have any contacts for part-time housekeepers around our area? My friend who lives around in area is thinking of engaging a new one because her current one is not doing as good a job anymore.

binbin

helo helo!!!

matka, think we stayed in the same estate right? yes theres a lot of doggie lovers here! our sheltie is Prince. we brought him back in nov last yr, then brought him back to MIL plc in Feb b4 CNY. but this sat bringing him back again hehehee... sometimes when we bring him downstairs we will meet other dog owners and we got to know 2 of them liaoz. one with a blue merle sheltie and another maltese...

at least that popiah lady said sorry sorry lah hor? i think she REALLY don't know the implications leh, sounds very blur to me. either she has sado masochistic tendencies and thrive on pain, or else she really thinks she is being nice... :p

eh....that incident ah....hehhee dun make it sound so serious. may not be to some ppl, but it just freak me out. but not convenient to say here leh.....want me to email you?

wise! hehehe no lah we not smart. at least for me, i think my brain hemispheres not talking to each other heheeh...*choi touch wood*.. :p hey i tried your second one, its more difficult, my right leg machiam having a fit, jerking and stopping trying to change directions hahahhah!!!

hoppinghippos! u are welcomed! i notice u come in less often than us, u must be busy....

matka, sorry dun have contacts for housekeeping. :p we do everything ourselves.....sometimes my parents insist we bring our piling laundry over let them wash though. if u find good housekeepers i also interested hehehhee..

hihihihi

Binbin, Yup. We live in the same estate. I only bring mine (doggie) down once in a while but they get to travel to our parents' place and sometimes the Dog Run. Do you usually walk Prince at night? Yup, I think there are a couple of Shelties around the area. I even saw a beautiful Collie a few nights ago!

Yah.. at least she eventually apologised, but i was too frustrated from all her ignoring me by then. Haha. Yes it's true... she probably didn't know the implications. But that's what's scary - the blur ones. Imagine if you consumed the food and fell ill... you wouldn't even know what in the world happened.

Hhehe.. sure drop me an email. Do you have my address? Otherwise, can mail to [email protected]

Wise, ya... i'm not smart. Was probably a bit too conscious. Then I cldn't do it during the 2nd revolution already.

Heh heh. Unfortunately, I'm not the one looking for housekeepers, but my friend. I do everything myself too... but i'm sure it takes 4 times longer than what a professional can do. Ah, haha.. one of my friends brings her laundry to her in-laws place to wash and iron too. I have no such luxury tho. Am quite tempted to buy a dryer so that I can just dump my washed clothes into it and not have to bother about hanging them... gee... i'm getting too lazy. If my friend finds a good housekeeper, I'll let you know!

binbin

helo matka! theres a collie?? where where? me bringing prince back and hope to meet more friends hehee. i bring him down for a short while every morning before work for him to pee and poo. then at night once again. at night sometimes twice, depends...

u have more than one doggie??? coz you said "they'....what breed are they??
i know about the west coast dog run, but i have no idea where it is!!! is that the one you go to. i scoured west coast park before but din see it.

i also think dryer wld be better esp during yr end when sun is a luxury. but hubby is flat against it, as his exp with dryer in the uk is bad, said it spoils clothes.
i saw my friends dryer before, it does leave a LOT of lint and min amounts of fabric behind. can imagine how much it is getting out of each piece of clothing, besides the moisture. and i heard it shrinks clothes too? but i sorta made up my mind, next time when i have baby, i can buy dryer. coz babies change their clothes so frequently (hygeine) plus they grow out of them so fast. so spoil fast also neber mind right?? hehehhehe!!!

we beri lazy recently. can go 2-3 weeks without mopping floor! vaccumm only. coz floor not that dirty (or we choose the ignore :p). but hor, when prince was around, we dun have this luxury. a few days only the floor is filled with patches of his saliva liaoz.
i guess u dun have this prob? he drools quite a lot.....thats something we have a problem with loh...

hoppinghippos

wise: hahahah this time I couldn't do it! my foot and hand kept arguing!

binbin: wah I very kaypoh, also want to know what happened to you, partly cuz also if it happened to you it could be someone strange in our estate and hence could be a prob for my fiancee in the future too, so also a bit worrying. could you email me at [email protected]? thanks!

I"m also very lazy, can't imagine mopping and vacuuming every week! so in the future if you notice this strong odour.... it'll prob be from my house... hahahaha

tengteng

Hi people !

I am new to BP .. just got a unit at Senja Link. Just wondering, how do you all deal with the study room? Its too small to be a study and bed room, but if i knock the wall between the study and living room, the living room will be too big ...

*scratch scratch*

Morning BinBin : ) Yup! I saw a Collie around the porch, but for all I know, the Collie cld've been visiting. haha. heheheh... shall drop you a mail about my doggie - which is a miniature schnauzer.

The West Coast Dog Run (WCDR) is on the other end of the park. I think you most likely hunted around the McDonald's end? The WCDR is actually just next to the Pasir Panjang Wholesale Centre. If you drive down from Clementi Road, turn left at the junction on West Coast Highway (right is to McDonald's). The nearest carpark is where the pond is, and you can take a walk down to the Dog Run... shld be abt a 5 - 10 min walk?

Hehe... I tend to agree with your hubby what a dryer does... cos it's shrunk one of my clothes before when i used it as a student! LOL. But I must admit that it's more convenient tho, so maybe if i do get it, I'll have to be very careful what I dump into the dryer. It'll be so much more convenient for bedsheets and towels.

I do have a problem with the floor, esp with the flooring that was provided by HDB, it's very obvious when it's not so clean. SIGH! Have to keep cleaning. Bleah.

Hi bell bell, we maintained our study room. As workspace, it's okay, but there's definitely not enough space on our bookcase that goes up to the ceiling. So we bought another display shelf to place in another room. We hacked the wall between the living room and study and made a window instead so it doesn't seem so claustrophobic. As it is, I think the living + dining room is already very big!

binbin

helo bell bell, we hack the wall down to make it into a cosy corner. with seatees and cushions, for tea and chit chat.
it does make the living room bigger but as its layed with different tiles, the feeling it gives is an area by itself. thats why we call it cosy corner.

helo hoppinghippos! sure, i will email you, but now i go snooze first hor coz i am sick on mc...maybe later today or tmlw i email you kae?
hehehhee i dun think the smell will come out to my flr, but if it does okie now i know the source hehehehe!!

hi Matka! okie now i know ah! no wonder i can't find it!!! alamak. went wrong way hehehee...

yah the collie may be visitin hor, coz they can;t stay in hdb right?

yah i agree the hdb tiles all so white, once got dirt very obvious.
we hack it all away, a but better coz our tiles now are off white. but still, can feel the dust under feet sometimes.

hoppinghippos

dear binbin, no worries lah, you have a good rest first!
) Can email me anytime that's convenient for you! How much did it cost you to hack up all the tiles and lay new ones? That's so nice but the thought of $$ makes it hard for me to tahan!

bellbell: I'm gg to use the small study room as my photography room! maybe if you or your FH (ahem note the astute use of acronyms, heh.. I"m learning) have any particular hobbies you could use that room for it?