Anyone planning a SG wedding but currently in Australia?

sammic

Hope your week has been good, and that all the wedding preps are running smoothly.

Hi ET, thanks for sharing your story and we're all happy to listen. wow, RH service and treatment is absolutely down right appalling, i'm really speechless.

emi, did you see chuckee or not? heh heh...

margiel, i went to your hood for dinner last weekend, had steamed ginger crab on stir fried noodles, the resturant is the new branch of Rock Hung, its opposite the train station. you been there yet?

delux, take care and have a safe trip back! :)

jacq23

I love Rock Hung, maybe we should have next meetup there! Their duck is the best
yumm!!

Cheryl, sorry I just realised that I didn't reply to your earlier post. Yeah both Lala and myself were at Curtin at the same time but obviously didn't know each other then
Only found out when we met up the 2nd time hehe small world. I moved to melb 5 years ago to find work and set up home with my s'pore husband-in-line, less than 4 weeks before we are officially husband and wife. Just typing this feels weird cos i guess we've known each other for more than a decade and i still refer to him as my bf. don't know wheter will get used to calling him hubby...yee...too mushy for me!!

marg-ster, how're you going with your preps? must be very excited...

emilyteo

Hi emilia.... i got an excellent photographer and the photos turend out very nice . u can view it from my multiply account. i will also post some on facebook, but becoz the photos are in very high resolution so cant upload lots on facebook. i'll try to reduce the file size and upload more photos on facebook.

Hi sammic, yes.... the service I received at RH was so unexpected. My husband, family and friends were shock too! Well, it's over anyway and I cant wind back the clock. However, I would like any new bride who will be having their banquet at RH to be wary of what I experienced.... so they will not have such disappointment in the most important day of their life....

margiel

Hello all! Hope you are keeping warm

ET, thank u for sharing your experiences with us, hopefully they will wake up after your feedback. Are you still on your honeymoon
Once again congrates on your wedding & may both of us be blessed with lots of happiness and good luck!

hey hey Jacq, never thought that a small '2nd' wedding can be that busy LOL.. ya getting bits and pieces in place now, last week went to Oakleight to get the noodle boxes (recommended by Emi) with window for cupcakes. Only manage to get the last 30pcs and will have to go down to the shop again to get the balance pcs when stocks arrive... when back to sg have to finalise details and program with Marriott as well as gown fitting again for any alteration needed. Also have to meet up with the cupcake shop owner.. blah blah blah.... Soooo busy like a bee LOL How's urs getting along? Excited too? I am! even tho busy, looking forward to it tho ;)

Sammi, you had a yummy din at there? Not sure that one is newly opened anot cos 4yrs ago when I came here, it was there oredi, but it is surely linked to the other one at Kingsway. I love the roast duck there too!! How was the crab fried noodles? Nice and 'meaty'?

Deluxe, thank u for the sauces, I have yet to collect from Emi heeeee, hopefully Emi wont charge me storage fee ;]

Lala, how was ur Rich Maha prata? Did u like it? We nearly went there on Sat for lunch (would prob meet Jacq there haha) but when i think of my gown, in the end decided not to LOL... must tahan all the sinful food (e.g. Maccas too) for now!!

Emi, how r u? Been busy working working? Yday when I was deleting old sms from my hp, it reminded me that we once used to chat long on the phone & those sms-s for impromptu date hehee.. now busy working oredi, good lah, at least got income.

Hi Kymmie, how are u with your moving here? Hopefully now u know who is who by face from the Facebook invite?
Stay in touch!

Hi Cheryl, im living in Glen Waverley ner train station, not within city area but not that far too (like tampines to clementi?), as long as at the Southeastern suburbs, still able get everything within reach. As for Health Insurance, hmm.. I got Medicare as well as private ins (HBA) under family with my husband and my 2 step sons. Most imptly u need to have ambulance coverage.... it can cost a bomb if situation arises and w/out that coverage. Take ur time to look around private insurance, there's many out there. So when will you be arriving Melb? Time passes fast isnt?

I'll be flying back to Sg on 1/7. Have not even organised things to be packed in.... Wish me good luck

cest_la_vie

Hi hi girls,

How are you all? Have been busy with my family came over and followed by my sis in law back from Japan for 2 months with her kids.

ET, congrats for your wedding. Sorry to hear that you have encountered unpleasant experience with RH. Never expect that their service would be that bad. Hope you enjoy your honeymoon.

Deluxe, welcome back to Spore
You must be exhausted with the packing and unpacking. Take care of yourself.

Margiel, have a pleasant flight back to Spore. All the best

Wishing all a great start to the week

de_luxe

Hello all, from sunny SG! Can't really say it's hot cuz it seems to be quite cool and not too humid today! Survived the packing... the movers were too efficient, packed even the things that we didn't intend to ship, like the kitchen bin, cleaning detergents and Melway!! Only realised that these were gone after the movers left...

Our flight was delayed by 1.5hrs cuz of the Qantas engineers' strike... it's kind of irritating that they dun make the announcement until 30mins or so before the original departure time.

Looking forward to whack the food... already had my fave beef balls for lunch

eminozy

hey hey woman... that was super fast... you're back on sunny island set in the sea. :p

hmmm.... aiyah when will the strikes end? Chris is flying off to austria tomorrow... oh and margie too...hmmmm...

Marge... i will leave the bag of corrine's sauces at your door one of these days!
hehehe
hello to all and have agreat week ahead.

sammeeee.... art deco!!!!!

pinkpony

Hiya ladies! Happy mid-week!!

Margiel and Jacq, congratulations again. All will be well and happy in your wedding trip back Singapore. Enjoy and have fun on your BIG day!

De_luxe, 'settling' in well in Sg? Do you miss Melbourne? Well, enjoy whecking all the food... *jealous*

The wind was so strong for the past few days. We were stuck up in the plane too as they couldn't land. So making turns around and around..

Oh, Melbourne for some reason now feel so quiet... hey, other Melbournians, anyone know if there's any stationary place to do invite cards? I think I gonna start doing my invites and start scouting for favors for the Adelaide wedding.

Ciao!

margiel

Hello all, im back in Sg 'AT LAST".. So much happening from my way to the airport and at the airport. Very close to missing the flight and was on the verge of giving up being able to attend my wedding dinner!!!

It all started well when I woke up at 6am, shower , prepared and left home with hubby at around 6.45 n drove to train station to get a train then sky bus to airport since ralf also heading towards city and will help me with my barangs all the way up the skybus. That morning, all our calculations were wrong. Train line was disrupted at Darling station due to a fallen tree o track from the big wind n rain. We were stranded at Darling with hundred of people? All waiting in rain and big wind for the 'never coming' buses to ferry us to the next station. Of all the time, hubby had diarreoh n had to run back to station loo... My flight was 10.25am n by then it was oredi 7.30am... Managed to call a cab and hop into it n mingleg thru the crawling traffic. The worst is u can see the airpport but yet it took me almost 20mins to reach. By the time i stepped into airport, it was oredi 8.45am, tot i could breath a bit and have breakfast after check in.

Really cant predict wats gonna happen for the next minute. I have never seen the madness crowd and the super super winding snake queue all over the place at the int'l airport. queue for different airlines and worst, with so many people and lugguages all aroound, u cant even figure out where is the Qantas.. Had to lug my barangs, squeezed thru to the furthest end & track back the queue, it started at the extreme end of the airport terminal!!!! Joined in and thank goodness the lady infront of me also on the same flight. Imagine all the tension and unsure-ness of wats gg to happen with the long Q. I was in it for about 1 1/2hr just to reach the 'supposedly qantas check in 'Q' belt. It was 10.05 oredi and flight leaving at 10.25. Then came the announcement for us to go to Biz class counter to check in (pretty he made it up). I was refused for check in, that stupid guy said gate was closed 15mins ago and announcement was made 40mins ago for immediate chk in. I was literally cursing n swearing in my heart tho but told him it wasnt fair cos there were quite a number of us still waiting for check in. Ok got my tickets and started running all the way thru from custom to check in gate. The lady whom we eventually became friends, ran with me too, helping me to grab my laptop after the custom scan . And think we were really 'sua' to kena a gate 15 which is ground level, dashed thru the escalator, then to find out another level down. Saw people getting thru the ticketing machine and finally I was like 'phew', hoped onto a bus that took us to the plane. ALAMAK, we were one of the 1st 20-30 passengers on board and at that time, it was oredi 10.45am! Got to sit on the plane to wait for another 2 buses loadful of passengers b4 flight took off. I was starving, thirsty and aching with all my bags carrying n running, legs oso went jelly when i sat down LOL.... Ok flight took off and reached Adelaide for about 30mins transit b4 taking off back to Sg, dats y still can land in SG on time.

If i missed this flight, there is no more flight available to come back to SG. It took me sooooo much effort, anger, tension to secure this change of flight, really so mad that all my watever words started running everywhere in me LOL

Oh well, blessed in a way for this drama trip, i made 2 friends as well as had a good physical training.

margiel

Ok so much about my story above. How's everyone doing? It is not so sunny now, very cloudy but still very hot for me and I woke up with swollen eyes, too heaty I think. Am at McD now using their free internet, will get my wireless modem this evening or 2moro.
Alright, to the Melbourian girls, do keep warm and have fun

Have a good week everyone!

de_luxe

glad u made it back to sg, margie! it's a bit hotter today, the past days were cooler. when is ralf joining u?

pinkpony

OMG! That's really DRAMA! *patpat Margiel* I always have phobia about late for flights. Just some reason. I don't think I can ever overcome that

Well, for those REALLY soon to be brides soon, enjoy and have LOTS fun on your day!!!!

Looking forward to see the photos and stories when you return to down-under!

Uhm. Its really seems quiet still in Melbourne.

pinkpony

Hiya everyone! Happy Sunday! What's everyone busy with this weekend?

Its a beautiful sunny day isn't it! I woke up yesterday and saw the sun finally, went to my balcony and took a DEEP breath.... hmm.. smell of winter sun. I like it! You know, working in a confined office and the typical gloomy winter weather, I hardly see the sun! And this weekend sun won't be long.. saw the weather forecast, its all rainy and stormy this coming weekdays
If you haven't noticed, here I am, so much to talk about the weather again.

Yesterday I was running around for the invites. Simon has gone travelling again, so Miss Lala got her own map and got ready for the road trip! In summary, I think they're too over-priced for the just card and papers.. well, because I have been doing some research over internet, so thought getting invites in Singapore might be even more well worth! Oh well, I've sent a few emails to Singapore design invites place and hope to hear from them soon!

I was looking back at this thread and find that really, like Margiel said, by end of this year, ALL of us will be MRS!! Haha!! Honestly, like I was telling Simon, I can't wait for X'mas.. not that I am excited for end of the year bonus and festival feeling, but this time is mainly bec. its finally meant that the wedding preparation and drama will be OVER!!!! As sad as it is, sometimes I do get occasionally feeling that the whole wedding thing is like "ticking the box".. hehe. Anyway, talking abt X'mas, this year we get the long weekend! So what do you ladies have plans for Christmas? What do you all normally do?

So Margiel and Jacq, where honeymoon will be? The other Brides to be, any concrete plans yet? We are still thinking... thought of exploring QLD... and some pacific islands.. but also thought of going internationally.. haha.. I know I want to go everywhere

For the married folks, so what's the plan next? Are you all checking out the motherhood.com site already? Hahaha!! I know I always tell you girls I want to eventually go back Singapore. But sometimes as I look at the married with kids people, its very typical and to arrange a 3/4 days work week. I was thinking, that's like perfect arrangements isn't it! You get to work but not the full-on working load. It makes me feel that here is a good place to build a family isn't it. Uhmmm... probably that's also a plus point for more Singaporean migrating to Australia

eminozy

margie.. u are drama...heheheh... at least u dun have to wait for the plane and you got home on time !

Chris was stuck at the airport nearly 4 hours... he nearly miss his connecting flight and he missed his train fr Frankfurt to Innsbruck... He managed to see his family for 30 mins only instead of a couple of hours. he met them at the train station.. hi-bye kinda....

the weekend have gone by and i am still oklah.. at least i have a close fren visiting me fr singapore but then its weird when somehow ,.. after living here, some of your daily habits changed... Its hard to connect with Singaporean habits anymore....I think my fren is also trying her best to understand me too,....*sigh*

Am going to Sydney this weekend to catch up with a couple other friends so I think it will be good! waste time!

Celine.. thanks for the offer to hang out with me last weekend, but it was packful! Hope you are doing ok too.

Sam..Art DECO next wednesday evening?

margiel

Hello, updates from the drama Margie from sunny island *kekkee*

My everyday schedule is soooo packed, go out from morning till 11+pm then reach home, sleep at 1-2am almost everynite and wake up around 7am with my bioclock set in melb time.

Din expect that i have to go thru so many little details (6 tables n 20 tables oso the same stuffs to go thru i guess) with the Marriott staff during the meeting, every time they ask me to choose something out of given choices, I told them to pick for me lah, as long as the theme can match, Im happy. Later gg down to see them again as well as passing them my cupcake boxes + ribbons + stickers, these people are very sweet lor, seeing me one man show, they offered to help me to tie the ribbon etc on the boxes for me n made little tags on the gifts heeeee... they said since mine is a weekday, they dun mind roping in their office team to help out. And even throw in a free 1 kg cake for me after i told them 'see.. i din even use champagne for pouring n toasting leh, can i have a small cake? a tiny one im oso happy lah...' hahahaaa.... i must have sounded cartoon but it works ;) Went to see their cake at the pastry corner, 1kg at least $60-70, happy like kid, asked them to send to my room AFTER the dinner for me n hubby to indulge

Went for gown fitting, me slowing stepping out of my 'denial stage'... Ya man, I cant believe that I couldnt zip it up!! Need alteration now, sigh.. tot after started working in the sch involving lots of physical movement with kids, I always think i am slimmer and fitter... ;] Even asked the lady boss 'u sure this is my gown ah!?'

Well hope to settle n finish meeting with all my helpers by this fri, then when Ralf come, i want to SWITCH OFF oredi.

margiel

Deluxe, how r u doing? Shipment arrv oredi?

Hey Jacq, how's ur preparation gg on? Can adapt back to the weather here? It took me like 2 days for my body to settle down with Sg air n humidity again. So hot for me *kkekeke*

Lala, we have talked abt holiday-ing in one of the pacific island too, but wont be this yr, maybe early next yr bah, he is quite busy with this work and taking further leave seems impossible for now, good oso, can have more time to recover his hole in wallet hehee....

Eh emi, back to singlehood lifestyle huh LOL so packed n busy ;) Have a good trip in sydney!

de_luxe

haha margie u so funny ask for cake instead of champagne. Do they let u choose the type of cake? Are u staying 1 nite or 2 at Marriott? My past experience is better not have the cake sent to room after the dinner, cuz you'll be either full or tired anyway. 1kg is too big to fit into the mini bar fridge and 2 persons cannot finish in 1 go! We stayed 2 nites and our cake wasted, just eat a bit, cannot finish n cannot put in fridge. Better if u collect it upon check out and bring home. Then can slowly enjoy.

My shipment scheduled to arrive end-July but we wouldn't be getting it delivered till end-Aug or early Sept cuz now still staying in temporary apt. Waiting for bigger one to be vacated and then renovated, it's supposed to be vacated this week so we could view but currently no news from the housing office, so just wait lor. This apt too small, no place to dry clothes and kitchen can hardly fit a proper fridge and can only have 1 person inside. I handwash some stuff on Sunday and hung up to dry in the bathroom, until now still not dry.

I dun like the humidity and sticky skin feeling, dun think i'll ever get used to it. Wanted to swim today but woke up to a rainy day.. ended up lazing in bed instead

emi what Singaporean habits have u lost along the way?

Enjoy Sydney!

lala yah Singapore def not the place to be if u wanna work 3-4 day when u have kids unless ur company very family friendly or u work for govt. In this sense, Oz and Europe is a better place. But on the other hand, I think the childcare facilities and education in Oz ain't that great... unless have money to go private school.

sammic

seems like some of you would like to go to pacific islands. i went to Fiji last year and i had an awesome time there! it is indeed a paradise :)
i plan to go there for another holiday some time in the future.

anyone interested to see the art deco exhibition at ngv next wed nite? i think just emi and i going...

Do have fun and hope you're enjoying your time in Sg ladies!

eminozy

hellooo... the thread has stood still for a bit and the starter of it has finally got married last week!
congrats jacq and also to margie who is back for a week already and chomping on any asian food she can.

anyways, its been very cold these few days, so rugged up.

margiel

HELLLLLLOooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!

How's everyone doing?? This thread has been so QUIET leh..

Yea, me been back for almost 2 weeks oredi, everything went well and we had a cosy dinner with families and friends
It's wat i had wanted heee..... Btw do u gals know where to dry clean wedding gown? I brought it back here cos couldnt decide to sell it or not.

Been so cold lately, hey Sam, u are rite, I asked Ralf which winter is colder, last yr or this yr, he said the same thing too, this yr colder bcos of the wind n rain too... Stay warm!

Hear from everyone again SOON!!! Cheers

sammic

Congrats July Sg brides! and also congrats to Deluxe, on her exciting news!

marg, i also plan to dry clean my gown after my wedding, i sort of found some shops online, but dunno whether they are reliable or not. i think the most well-known one is Syndal's. I shall email you the rest of the shops.

yar lor, still so cold and wet, dunno how on the day, i want to go for outdoor photography, think my gown will get soaked and dirty, cos its floor length...hmmm, have to think of backup indoor locations soon (in Melb), do you ladies have any suggestions? Thanks

Have a great week!

margiel

Hey Sam, yes would like to get the contact for the dry cleaning at syndal from u, it's quite near to our place

eminozy

hellooo girls...

i have a proposition. anyone interested to buy from me a $240 worth of Accom/stay at NOOSA AUSTRALIS LAKES http://www.wotif.com/hotels/australis-noosa-lakes.html
on sunshine coast

U can have 2-3 nights depending on the room size.

I am selling it for $100 ( negotiable). Must be used anytime now but last booking is the 31st AUgust and can stay within any 28 days after the last day book weeks

I so hard pain , cant go coz we accidentally double booked our holiday.

pinkpony

Hiya! Its been a seriously 'a-while' since I last check this website and wrote in something.

Ha! Just in time to wish Sammie! Yay! Hope you did receive my text and just read you WERE hunting for indoor venue - hope you manage to find eventually. Regardless, it will be a beautiful day

How's everybody going? Kind of feel quiet since everyone had their turn already and left only the last few hanging... i think I am really the last FEW. Or maybe last one! LOL!

I am just so so so busy.. every moment of me had some thoughts abt the wedding. Every moment. I think I have become a pretty professional 'Paper Lady' - next time, anyone wants to DIY invites, thank you cards, X'mas card, etc etc. I know exactly where to get beads, ribbons, papers, studs, and even have the tools. Gosh!

Emi, just saw your proposition - sorry, no plans to go anywhere. I have 0.5 days leave left till next year. Haha!!

So, what are the rest of the girls busy with? Honeymoon? Work? Life? Hmm... any new girls getting married in Australia?? Haha...

Keep warm!

margiel

Hello all and hello to 'newcomers' (if there's any)
Just want to make some noise to shake this up a bit hehee...

For 'newcomers' (yes even if u have popped in here for peep :p ) Most of us are active and still in close touch. Probably we are linked up more over at facebooks, mulitply
We surely welcome u to join in here

Have a good day everyone!

kymmie

Ladies...

Hope everyone's having a good day... I have a quick question for folks in Melbourne.. where do you ladies go for facials???!?! I'm in desperate need for a good one.. before my face gets buried under all that pimply bumps!!

Kymmie

cheryl_l

me in melbourne oredi, was really really busy since i arrive...finally everything settle, am gonna start work on 1st Oct...

need some advice on the working culture here...can anyone here give me some tips??

btw, where r u ladies staying? all in city area?
anyone staying in eastern suburbs?

margiel

Hi Kymmie,
hmm i was once wondering where to go for facial too but in the end I DIY at home with the facial mask stuff. Dun dare to try their product and services. I find them not as tactful as back home when I did my manicure or rather the service industry here is not so 'service' rated. Hey maybe u want to post ur question over at Facebook, im sure the girls can give u some good advice

Shopping Gal, welcome to melb! Take ur time to settle in and unpack
Not sure where u are working but overall, the pace is surely much slower than in Sg. I find it very networking oriented here too, meaning people relationship is always being emphasized. Well maybe not in all industry perhaps
So where are you staying? Im in the SE suburbs, Glen Waverley. Do you have facebook or multiply? Most of us are in the facebook loop, we can add u in. It's been a tad quiet lately, Samantha in sg for her sg wedding while Emilia is back in Sg too. Meanwhile our dear Celine is in Adelaide for her coming wedding. I guessed prob the next meet up will be in late Oct or so.

Ok, hope u gals have a good week ahead with many more beautiful weather to come!

de_luxe

kymmie & shopping gal enjoy Melbourne!

shopping gal great that you've gotten a job. That's really fast! Who's taking care of your daughter while you're at work?

margie I didn't realise it's already time for Celine's and Sam's weddings... time passes so fast!

Celine and Sam congrats! hope you're not freaking out over the last min preps.

Is anyone going for Singapore Day? Think it's this weekend at Sidney Meyer Music Bowl?

margiel

Deluxe, time flies isnt it? Ya, Sam and hubby prob honeymooning now

How's bb doing? Been kicking alot? Rest rest whenever u feel tired, recently R's ex colleague came over for dinner with her hubby, she's oredi 7mths pregnant but can hardly see her stomach!! She said at her stage, when she feels full after meal, it will be REALLy full like x2 and when she's hungry, will be super hungry and have to eat immediately. Do you feel that too? Okie take care and give bb a warm pat for me

de_luxe

haha kymmie can 'hear' your eagerness... u miss sg food that much?

margie Yah, he's been relatively active. If i'm patient and sit still and stare at my tum, can see it quivering when he moves. It's reassuring to be able to feel the movements, tells me that he's ok. Sometimes on his quiet days, I get gan xiong that something's wrong.

Maybe somebody will come back with a honeymoon baby... hehehe

R's colleague is one of the lucky ones.
I guess she wouldn't have to deal with having to lose weight after birth. Is she the skinny type?

Yah, after a heavy meal, the stomach can feel really heavy, not much fun walking up the stairs
But if I dun overeat, it's still manageable. I'm just so bad at that cuz i hate wasting food, even when full will still force myself to finish the food. And it's true that when I'm hungry, I really can't wait. The stomach just takes over the brain and I can't concentrate on doing anything until I've eaten. Sounds bad, right?

Have fun at Singapore Day! Let me know how it's like.

margiel

Deluxe, that's so sweet to read ur description of bb movement. can u differentiate whether if it is arm or leg movements? Well, suddenly i have this visualisation of mum and bb, ur palm on his but with the skin in between, so heart warming
When my sis was pregnant with my niece, the naughty fellow will kick and turn in the tummy and when she heard my voice, she would stop instantly hehehe Now she is 10yrs old and since young till now, we have a very good aunt and niece relationship but yet she fear me most.
Your eating is alright, remember u have license to eat more and as and when lol

R's friend is not skinny, medium build, but just could hardly see her tummy. She was even wearing tight t-shirt and track pants and walked normally.. It took me awhile to ask her how many months is she in now n was quite taken aback when she said 7mths. Ya maybe doesnt have to deal with weight lost much later hehehe.. Hey u are not that huge, still look good leh

Okie will see if i can meet up with the rest this sat. Jacq is gg but later during noon. Will talk more abt it later ya. Have a good day!

cheryl_l

margiel,
yup yup,i have facebook, my email add is [email protected], can anyone add me in to the loop?
Am working in city area, at South Melbourne, very near to Crown Casino, wat about u?
we r staying very near, me at blackburn.

deluxe,
congrats congrats!! so how many mths r i preggie? hehee...finally there's someone to join me in the motherhood category
hope more to come...
ya, me consider very lucky as i manage to get a job < 1 mth from the day i start to apply for work. my gal is in childcare centre now, wat is your plan after delivery? U working now?

kymmie,
when &amp; where is Singapore Day? wat do they have there? nice yummie food?

de_luxe

shopping gal i'm coming to 25 wks now.. will be SAHM after delivery. I'm on a contract job till dec now. You're indeed very lucky! What industry are you in?

Was it difficult to get a place in the childcare centre? Tot newspaper reports say not enuff places, etc.. are they better / different from sg ones?

margie i know the head is on my right side and legs on my left side from the ultrasound so can roughly differentiate which parts are moving.

Actually I dun really have the licence to eat.. the additional nutritional requirements are only equivalent to 2 glasses of milk - which really isn't much.. must take care not to put on too much, else hard to lose it all later.

So when's ur turn?? LOL!

because

hello ladies!

I'm also planning my Singapore wedding in Aus (Perth). Seems like a lot of us in the same boat.

Any of you also planning a Catholic Church wedding from Aus?

jacq23

Hi Charmaine

I had a church wedding in Singapore in July and had done all planning from Aust. When's your wedding?

We had made a trip to S'pore in the earlier part of the year and met up with the couple who was allocated to help us. They gave us a copy of the wedding mass booklet where we were to select our prayers and hymns and had to get all of this prepared about 2 months before the wedding. The priest will then need to approve this before you can get anything printed.

When we were back for the wedding, we then had a rehearsal in church a few days before the actualy day. Our parents and bridal party attended as well.

Hope this helps and let me know if you need any more info.

Oh one last thing, we designed/printed/bound our mass booklets and our guests had actually kept the booklets after the wedding

because

Hi Jacq!

Ooohh congrats! :D My wedding will be on 26 and 27 Dec 2009 (2 days - 26 is church, and 27 is the banquet).

How far in advance and where did you design/print/bind your mass booklets?

I have a few samples of mass booklets already... but they're just in word format, and not sure what the next step is with regard to the mass booklets.

pinkpony

Hey hey everybody!! This thread finally came alive!!! Hippee! Don't know what trigger, I was just thinking that I wanted to write in this thread to announce that 'everyone' has got married! Now seeing it still going on... that's fantastic!!

Yes yes, we are finally married! I am SO pleased and happy to see all our efforts and little details to the wedding has all being paid off! Its such an amazing feeling isn't it! We fear about the weather up in the hills earlier that week, so having second thoughts abt renting a marquee to stand-by. But the weather turn out to be SO well!! The decorations, alter, chairs, wine barrels all exceeded my expectations!! The first time the guest saw it is also the first time i saw them - I was totally blown away! My flowers! Gosh. They just look SOooo good!! Though I know that I've been *bitc**ng* about their Oz services, but I have to give them the credit that they are REALLY good at what they are doing! Very impressed!

Hehe.. honestly, did anyone of you cried in your ceremony? I was so busy, just before the hour of walking down the aisle.. then, when he started to say his vows, my tears and some liquid started pouring over eyes and nose ;) So drama - I honestly wasn't expecting its such an emotional time as also describe as exciting, happy, joyous and stressful event! But anyway, all paid off. Really enjoy it truly.

Yay! Welcome to Melbourne Kymmie and Cheryl! Hope you ladies are settling alright

Sammie! I didn't twitch when you said abt going back SIN during the Mooncake Festival celebration that you're actually going for SIN wedding! Haha! Thought you'd have only one here in Melbourne since parents here! Oh.. hope everything went well too. Must be pretty relax lah... now the acutal one already over.

Delux!!! Haven't heard from you for long!! So, uhm. Its a boy boy ah!! Got names already? Must have some favourites... heheee. What is SAHM??

So happy to see everyone moving on having a happy and successful wedding! Some of my girlfriends wanted to organise a ex-bridal gathering - ie. everyone wear their gown for drinks! Haha!! Too bad, my gown has to go back SIN.....

Charmaine, welcome to the thread. Actually if you don't mind, you can DIY your booklets. I DIY mine for invitations and the Order of Ceremony. They have really nice art and craft shops that sells REALLY pretty papers and accessories. I save heaps doing that and so much fun personalising it and yes, everyone kept them too

jacq23

Hi Charmaine, I finalised the contents of the mass booklets about 2 months before the wedding but only printed them 2 weeks before (literally when we arrived in SG for the wedding prep). As we had designed and printed our own booklets, it took us about 3 days to finish everything. We bought paper and riboons from popular bookstore and i did the design myself using ms publisher but they turned out pretty nice and i was pleased with the result. I wasn't too fussed about the inserts so just printed a copy on normal white A4 paper and then photocopied the rest of the 50 copies. Because mass booklets can go up to 20 pages, we didn't think it was practical to spend the money on nice paper for the inside. We printed 50 copies for about 100 guests who attended the church wedding, most were happy to share the booklets. I'll go check and see if I can find photos of them if you like

ms lala, congrats!! got photos? i saw a few on facebook. You reminded me so much of myself cutting the ribbon and folding paper hahah. I love your dress, so pretty and the lace looked really delicate.

anyway i think we are due for a catchup soon so where's our little social organiser ms margie?

sammic

haha, miss lala,
your overwhelming joy has indeed triggered your urge to share your amazing experience with us all. Congratulations!

oh, my actual wedding was in melb, the sin one is the obligatory family dinner, (simple gathering, no gown, no vows, no ceremony) since only 2 of my relatives attended the melb one. The sin one, very small-scale, had 5 tables, same venue as Margie (in fact, thanks to her, i used her recommendation, it went very well, good service, food was not bad, nice atmosphere, great perks)

hi kymmie and shopping gal, i used to stay in city area, but recently moved, now in the eastern surburbs. :)

have a good week ladies!

de_luxe

Wow! Certainly lively here since I last clocked in

lala i can literally feel your exuberance..
good.. happy for you that everything turned out fine. Haven't noticed any of your pics on FB, is everything uploaded there already? Is ur SG one over too?

Well i din cry during my ceremony.. was too nervous and stressed, and some of u might remember that i ended up forgetting my vows (guess stage fright too cuz i'm lousy at public speaking).. there's a really gd shot that the photographer took just after the ceremony.. the relief was written all over my face!! Embarrassing but funny lah...

Hope ur tears din ruin your make-up??!! Dun worry lah... you're not the first and won't be the last to cry at ur own wedding

Hmm.. baby wise, have shortlisted names but can't share them yet.. kekeke... SAHM = stay at home mom, dun worry... eventually u'll learn all these acronyms *wink*.. just like how we all learnt BS, MUA, etc etc etc...

Ohh.. you all did a mooncake festival gathering? When was that?

sam how r u adjusting to live in the suburbs? Are u in doncaster or is that just jacq? My memory is failing me... that's what pregnancy does to the brain, seriously!!

because

Hello Ms Lala and Jacq,

Thanks so much for your warm welcome to the thread... I'm still trying to figure out how things will go for the wedding ceremony next year haha.

If its convenient for you, and you don't mind sharing, perhaps you can send me pictures of your mass booklets?? :D I'd love to see them - [email protected]

Congrats to all the ladies who have gone through the nuptials!
Reading your experiences makes me wonder what mine will be like. hehee

pinkpony

Hello ladies. Happy Sunday

Yeah, we're really happy of how things turn out on the Adelaide wedding. Now its only hoping the SG one will turn out equally nice!

Deluxe, so happy for you and B. I just went in Facebook and was hoping to see more pictures of you but not a lot eh... post more! Anyway seems like you're coping well while 'cooking' the little one in you! I always have this thing abt baby names - always ask the name of new born rather than pictures (bec. they all look the same to me.. ha!)

Oh yes, we had a mooncake gathering at Margiel &amp; R backyard. It was great fun, everyone had partner there. Enjoying the twilight makaning!

My previous 'two-street away neighbour' Sam is now living near Boxhill and Jacq in Doncaster. Yeah, now more and more of them are living in the Eastern Suburb. With you gone in Toorak, now, I am the only 'City' girl! Oh yeah, Kymmie stays in Pt Melbourne. Not sure if thats consider close!

It didn't ruin my make up. Just a tissue of foundation stain that I wanted to get rid of later while his sister is doing her reading... latest got from the videographer that he can't have the 'reading' part in the video as it was overcast by our conversation of how to get rid of the tissue!

Charmaine and Jacq - I didn't have mass booklet as I am not a Catholic/Christian. So we have nothing religious in our wedding. Our ceremony is in a winery garden. We had a few traditions walking aisle, give away, asking those kind. We picked some 'Readings' from Marriage Quotes, Poems and had some songs lyrics for our Readers to read aloud. Those we had it in our so called 'booklet'. They call it the Order of Ceremony. And most certainly, I don't have 20 pages long! Had a simple fold out A4 size paper into 3 section, tie it with nice ribbons and Dada!

Do enjoy the preparation process and it WILL be paid off!