Anyone planning a SG wedding but currently in Australia?

echidna

Anybody planning a SG wedding from Sydney?

sammic

deluxe: me now living near box hill. still not used to commuting to work...trains are so over-packed, have to wake up earlier...heh heh. really miss tramming to work while i used to live near miss lala. how have u been? keeping well still?

hi charmaine, i had an Order of Service (Anglican church), it was DIY, just like miss lala's, one single A4, folded into 3 sections.

hi echidna, looking at recent postings... i don't think there's anyone planning from sydney...

de_luxe

sam haha... i can imagine the commute... not unlike me commuting from boon lay to tg pagar everyday.. i miss living in toorak and bkt timah where everything's so convenient.

M well.. just very tired today after my sis' wedding yesterday, was a long day that started at 5.30am. Literally slept the whole way on the MRT to work just now and now slowly waking up after a kopi.

echidna like sam said, dun think there's anyone in sydney... but if u or Charmaine need help with stuff in sg, i'm happy to assist cuz i've moved back to sg in june. (I'm the only one in this thread in SG at the moment.)

jacq edmund was my sis' photographer too.. sent his regards to u.. my mom couldn't recognise him, she said he changed a lot in 2 years n is more pro now.. as far as i can see, he got more "prosperous"!!!

lala are u still left with lots to do for ur SG one? I'm sure it'll be equally nice.. prob can't beat Adelaide's ambiance tho!

Hope you're not too disappointed with not being able to have his sis' reading in ur video.. maybe can have snippets of ur tissue conversation as a joke?

Guess Pt Melb is the closest to u now that everyone's in the east.. i haven't been there b4 but i heard it's nice there..

I haven't had much time to post pics on FB.. will try to upload more. So difficult to get B to take photos of my bump cuz he just hates taking photos and doesn't do it properly.. i'm considering doing a bloom (i.e. pregnancy) photoshoot later on but haven't decided if it's worth the $$$ or not..

So far, things are going fine.. guess I'm one of the lucky ones to have it relatively easy.. the bane of my life is currently leg cramps at night in the calf (a common affliction - something to do with blood circulation.)

because

Hello Ms Lala, Sam, Jacq,

OK thanks - I think folding an A4 into DL size is quite a good idea and I will likely go with that (hope that the mass service will be a short one). hahha

Ms Lala, when is your Singapore ceremony? So exciting!!

De_luxe - congratulations! when is your baby due - don't worry, I think I should be alright (for now, since the wedding is some way away), just got lots of nitty-gritty to get through and expectations to manage on all sides. hahaa

pinkpony

Hi all! Yeah, SIN wedding is easy peasy! The hotel almost taken care of everything. And bridal shop cover the rest of it. So much easier to organise in SIN

De_luxe, how exciting abt taking the pregnancy bloom... how abt one after too? I've seen some work on 'Mother and baby' shots... so magical and beautiful....

We're not really disappointed by the tissue thing YET. Haven't got photos and video back... so, hard to picture.

Charmaine, my SIN is only a smallish gathering (like Margiel and Sam). Its on 23rd Nov.

Hey, just for your reading pleasure, wanted to share our reading with all, hope it perks up some wedding mood here too!

“Tomorrow morning if you wake up
and the sun does not appear
I will be here

If in the dark, we lose sight of love
Hold my hand, and have no fear
'Cause I will be here

I will be here
When you feel like being quiet
When you need to speak your mind
I will listen
And I will be here

When the laughter turns to cryin'
Through the winning, losing and trying
We'll be together
I will be here

Tomorrow morning, if you wake up
And the future is unclear
I will be here

Just as sure as seasons were made for change
Our lifetimes were made for these years
So I will be here

I will be here
And you can cry on my shoulder
When the mirror tells us we're older
I will hold you
And I will be here
To watch you grow in beauty
And tell you all the things you are to me
I will be here

I will be true to the promise I have made”

And the second reading,

Let your love be stronger than your hate or anger.
Learn the wisdom of compromise, for it is better to bend a little than to break.
Believe the best rather than the worst.
People have a way of living up or down to your opinion of them.
Remember that true friendship is the basis for any lasting relationship.
The person you choose to marry is deserving of the courtesies
and kindnesses you bestow on your friends.
Please hand this down to your children and your children's children.

de_luxe

lala that's a nice reading indeed..

Yeah, i've seen those pics, but the photo shoots are not that cheap, abt $200, and only get soft copies of the photos and i think 1 or 2 print outs. Maybe can be greedy and ask B to pay for both.. hehehe.. he'll prob freak!

charmaine EDD is 20 Jan...

Yeap, managing expectations.. easier said than done
it's inevitable that you can't make everyone happy, lots of give and take needed.

echidna

Hi all, seems that most of you are in Melbourne? I miss Melbourne, studied at Monash Uni for 3 years before relocating to Sydney

Apparently Aussie bridal boutiques don't rent out wedding gowns, or am I wrong? Did you ladies get your wedding gowns from Aust or SG? Thanks in advance!

pinkpony

Hi again! Happy weekend!

De_luxe, so you will be due almost close to CNY? Haha!! Surely he/she have chosen the right time to 'pop' - just in time for ang bao!!

Not sure if you are already looking at the baby stuffs while in Oz... is there any differences of price/design etc etc for maternity and baby things compared to SIN? I didn't really pay attention in great detail but as if I have to shop for my nieces and nephews and cousins and friend's baby - I realised the toys in SIN are cheaper - sometimes the Kiddyland place? have quite reasonable toys. But the new born baby clothes here are just SOOOO cute! You've seen the Cotton On right... they have recently came out with more design and its just hilarious!

So your new place have make room for your little one arrival?

As we met up the other day, was saying that everyone on the table is 'busy' with something. Moving house, house hunting, wedding, honeymoon, moving and packing here and there etc etc... haha!!

Echidna, welcome! Uhm. I think yeah, most of the girls who are 'active' here are living in Melbourne at the moment..not that I know of living in Sydney. Hey, so do you like Sydney better? You're Singaporean too? So surely you won't mind abt the 'rival' between Melbournian and Sydney.. hehe.. quite funny at times. To me, its all same country!

Oh, I had my gown done in SIN, for some reason, I thought it would be expensive here in Melbourne. So I get my gown organised in SIN. With my little bit of research on Oz bridal gown - most Oz bridal boutiques don't rent. Its mostly for purchase. It also depends on what kind of gown you looking for.

If you're after those full-on gown, its usually sell in specialised gown places (and they have those on rack and do little alterations) or formal hire place. Its also depends on your budget as well. Of course the bridal gown places can also do everything from stratch, but may be bit pricey.

If you're after simple flowy white long dress, I realised that some boutiques in Melbourne has quite nice dresses of such kind. Sometimes it comes in white or ivory. Very pretty. The ones I fancy is abt $900 range. And again, its purchase of course.

jacq23

Hi Echidna, I got my gown from S'pore cos I didn't want to carry it from Melb and also cos I didn't want to intially keep it. However after it was made, I so wanted to keep it but the shop didnt let me cos that was the agreement

I agree with Lala - if you want to get something simple and flowy, then perhaps aust will have some nice ones.

deluxe, sorry i had missed ur earlier post. Good to know that Edmund is still in demand hahah...he's a good bloke.

sammic

Hi Echidna,
some korean or hongkong-owned bridal shops in melbourne rent out gowns. they have package like hair + makeup + gown rental. not sure how much they charge. have u checked out the asian suburbs in sydney?

i bought my gown (aussie designer) from usa 'ebei', coz it was half the price of what they charged in melb stores. well, there is risk of lost mail, wrong size, wrong colour, or turn out fake, or e-shop closedown. but i was very lucky.

but a word of advice based on my personal experience, if u want to get tailor alterations for wedding gown in australia, u may have to budget for this. i paid $400 for minimal alterations (to shorten skirt and petticoat, and widen corset backflap). this alteration cost is not included with the retail price of the gown in aussie gown stores. they always quote u about $200 extra for alterations, but not quite the case, it will go up to $400 most of the time. workmanship labour cost is expensive in oz.

echidna

Dear All, thank you so much Miss Lala, Jacq and sammic for your kind advice and suggestions.

Miss Lala: Hehe, I prefer Melbourne to Sydney but job is here, and I don't mind the sunshine
I would presume that Melbourne has more nice boutiques than Sydney since the city is so associated with culture and the arts...

Jacq: How did you get your fitting of gown done in SG when you're in Melbourne? I heard you have to go back at least 3 times to do so?

sammic: Have yet to check out the HK/Korean suburbs. Still mainly browsing for ideas through internet. You're right, Aussie retail stores are robbing us 9-5 (and 9-9 once a week) :p Even with shipping, it's still cheaper to buy from the US. Very tempted to buy gowns online. Have any of you heard of www.bridalgown.net ? The prices are so much cheaper from what I've heard

de_luxe

lala yeap, bb's due 1 wk before CNY - means i'll miss CNY for the 2nd consecutive year.. pros n cons lah.. dun have to give out ang baos
.. very heart pain exercise..

i din look at baby stuff in Oz cuz didn't want to buy and bring back, n also that time was still too early, we were waiting for it to stablize n to get over and done w all the tests before making plans.. just browsed some to get a gift for Yusnizah's boy.. i think generally prices are higher in oz but think the material is thicker (due to cold weather??) n they have more quirky designs.. in mothercare, kiddy palace, the avg price for a romper (the bodysuit thingy) is abt S$8-10... there are cheaper ones at hdb stores, i got a bunch of tops and bottoms from Waterloo St, 6 pcs for $10, but no design, just a "i love mom" printed in one corner.. was told by a fren that they lasted her through 3 babies, so i guess quality is pretty good.. just that as of now, my poor baby will have a uniform of white top and white bottom everyday.. haha..

Haven't been looking at toys, most pple tell me not to buy toys cuz pple usually will give them as presents, still in the midst of looking at the essential stuff and feeling the pinch.. my mom was shocked to see that the avg price of a pram is $400+, all in for the basic items (pram, cot, car seat, play pen).. will cost more than $1k..

echidna

Ops, missed your earlier post there...

de_luxe, thanks for you kind offer to help me, but I'm fortunate to have family members to help with stuff back in SG
Why did you move back to SG if you don't mind me asking. My fiance is keen to go back too, but all S'poreans in Australia advise us not to

de_luxe

echidna it's quite a long story, but we moved cuz of my hb's job. Dunno if u've heard abt the hooha caused by UNSW and UNSW Asia in Sg? There were a few articles in the Sydney Morning Herald when UNSW Asia closed down last yr.

My hb was working in NTU from 1999 till 2006, then left to join UNSW Asia. Who knows that they will pull out of SG so suddenly.. so he was left w/out a job n had to start applying for new ones. Timing was bad, cuz the news came in May 07, which mean that most unis would have firmed up their academic staff for the coming semester n generally unis take a long time to revert on applications as they have to go through round after round of internal and external consultations.

So when the Melb job came along, we tot we'll give it a try since there was nothing else available then. Made the arrangements to move while he was still having interviews at several places. Shortly after we arrived in Melb, NTU n another uni reverted with an offer so we were in a dilemma for some time. Both positions were equally gd, n better than the melb one. In the end, decided on ntu cuz he was tired of re-adapting to a completely new environment n setting up new contacts again. Turned out also that he didn't enjoy the work n working culture (poor mgmt) in melb so in the end, he was pretty happy to leave. On my part, i was fairly neutral, just didn't enjoy having to pack and unpack all the time (i've moved 4 times in 2.5 yrs!!). Then, 1 month before the move back, we found out that we are expecting so it turned out to be a gd move.. We might move again if another better job opportunity comes along... will cross the bridge when we come to it

I've lived in different countries so far n have come to the conclusion that there's no perfect place, everywhere has its pros n cons - what's impt is that one can deal with the cons. Dun think we would have stayed permanently in Oz, somehow, it doesn't feel like the place for us. I think eventually, we'll either stay put in SG or move to Europe. SG is a safe place, etc etc... n there are things i like abt it, but on the other hand, i feel that Europe is a better place for kids and welfare is definitely better there too but will miss the familiarity n convenience of SG.

Is ur fiance s'porean too? What are his reasons for wanting to move back? Generally, once you've lived overseas for sometime, moving home will be a reverse culture shock experience and the 1st few months won't be easy (it took me 6mths to 1 yr after spending 3 yrs overseas), esp if u're used to the Oz pace of life. Also, in terms of work, I think SG is more hectic and pressurising, esp if u r in the service industry... many times on call 24/7 for clients, which is prob not common in Oz.

echidna

de_luxe, I know about UNSW Asia very well actually as I'm doing my postgrad studies with UNSW here in Sydney. Had a lecturer who relocated to Singapore only to be out of job immediately after that

Primary reason for fiance wanting to go back SG is family. Also, in the near future when we start a family, won't want strangers taking care of our baby, ie day care centres (which cost alot too). You're right, nowhere is perfect. Sydney's expensive and its public transport and roads are horrible. Fiance went back to SG for work for a fortnight and had a hard time working with his SG colleagues. The work ethics are just different. I maybe wrong but it seems that SG still practices the "can't-go-home-before-the-boss-does" attitude.

I'm actually Malaysian, but all wedding matters will be done in Singapore and fiance's sister has been so helpful with banquet scouting. Very lucky to soon call her sister-in-law!
But I still have lots to do. If anyone has recommendations for all wedding related, please let me know.

Thanks again for your help, ladies...

cheryl_l

de_luxe,

guess me & you just went the opposite direction...hehee..i left s'pore to come to Oz.
Luckyly we settle in quite well here too. I find that OZ is a better place then s'pore if you have children as u tends to have more family life here, have more time to spend with the children.
On top of tat, the benefits from government - free medical..etc is something u dont get in S'pore.

did you join the SMH forum? You can checkout the overseas spree,some mummies organise spree and the cloths mostly US brands, its much cheaper then buying them at department stores.
U getting any confinement lady?

de_luxe

echidna have u considered being a SAHM when you have kids? I think Oz provide more tax breaks in such cases. In SG, unless u r sure ur family members can help out, most also resort to maids or day care. SG govt is encouraging women to go back to work after kids, so a lot of the benefits announced are for working moms only.

Well yah, SG work ethics are definitely different n more pressurizing.. the "can't go home before the boss" is prevalent in some companies, it really depends on the individual company n the culture. Mainly what i experienced is more peer pressure - as in, no one wants to be seen as the 1st one leaving the office everyday, oft perceived as slacking... used to have a colleague who comments "wah, 1/2 day today, ah?" when anyone left at 6.30 or 7pm...

cheryl well generally, sg can't compare to most western countries when it comes to a better environment for kids..

yes, i did join the SMH forum but dun take part in the sprees.. too lazy to go through the different threads n not buying that much also.. esp on children's clothes, cuz they grow so fast at the early stage, no need to spend so much.

My mom will be helping w confinement.. too expensive to hire someone over CNY period, charges are double the norm!

pinkpony

Hello all

De_luxe, looks like you are very sensible mother-to-be! When shopping for my nieces and nephews, I'd always give in to the pretty and cutest thing in shop... maybe its always one or two gifts. So different frm buy bulk when its your own...

Well, we do always discuss the topic on where to live too. Sometimes I rather he made up his mind on a place. But luckily he likes SIN too. And I don't mind Aust. So we are always easy either Aust./SIN. But I find that living in a place without families and most friends, its quite boring... everything is just both of us. And I am totally not comfortable with the idea of 'floating' see where we will be kind of attitude. I am a little 'Miss Planner'

Working in SIN can actually be as 'relax' as here in Aust. Depending who you work with. And the culture will be same. I work for an American company. When I am in the SIN office, I leave 5pm on dot EVERYDAY. Comes in around 830am. Sometimes on Friday, we leave at 430pm
Our office is completed dead quiet by 6pm.

On one hand, I really cannot understand why people complain about SIN this and that. On the other, I do enjoy the lifestyle which is different here though. Sigh! What to do??!!

because

Hello Ms Lala, sorry for the late response... have been busy trying to get a job, and my dad came to visit so haven't logged on for a week or more. Thanks so much for the readings.
Truly inspirational!

Hello ladies - actually I think its the kind of company you work for and the corporate culture that partially determines the stress level... Heehee, I have worked before in Singapore for both American MNC and the govt service before I came over. The difference in culture is really stark.

In my MNC job, the manager used to tell me (repeatedly), that when it comes to Friday, I can leave at 4.30pm.

My last boss used to work really late (like leave the office on average 9pm), I guess because she had sooo many meetings and couldn't clear her emails, but no hard and fast 'rules' or the like, that we had to leave after her (phew), though we were still expected to work late and on weekends!! I know of colleagues in other depts who had this kind of 'must leave after boss leaves' mentality (so I guess it wasn't too bad where I was).

I shall hope to be gainfully employed in this country soon and shall keep you all posted on how it is like in my new workplace. hehe

Actually one big thing I notice in Australia compared to Singapore is that people here take more pride in their profession and are generally more respected. E.g. Construction workers here, mailmen, bus drivers here are proud to be in their line of work, and they do their job with finesse. The same professions in Singapore are kinda 'snubbed' by the locals, and usually taken up by people from other countries.

echidna

de_luxe, I don't mind being a SAHM at all, but would prefer to have double income for the family, just in case...

I've heard that the global meltdown is affecting Singapore. How badly is it affecting you ladies?

Charmaine, I think blue collar workers are generally more respected because of the minimum wage law in Australia. I found out that the garbage man's pay is higher than fresh graduates/young white collar workers. I guess we all suffer for awhile when we first start working. The high income tax here doesn't help either..

de_luxe

Hope the spring weather is cheering you up… the monsoon is just starting in SG… lovely rainy days to sleep in – if I’m not working that is!

I’m so glad Obama won the election!! Hopefully he’ll really be able to bring CHANGE WE CAN to the US!!

lala yes, it’s certainly different buying 1-2 gifts vs buying an entire nursery… on top of that, there are also doc and hospital fees to consider. So when you add everything up, it’s really quite a hefty sum to spend in 6 months or so… we’re not penniless, but we believe in spending wisely and at this point, when the baby is not even born, it’s like buying stuff for someone you don’t know! How to know whether he will like the stuff (there are kids who hate being in a pram for example) or if he might be allergic to something, or even whether something that seems to be useful ends up as a white elephant, etc… I know of someone who spent S$2k on a pram, no doubt it’s designer… but honestly, IMHO, that money can be spent on a lot of other stuff.

I understand what you mean with “floating around” – I’m not entirely comfortable with it either. But such is life… I guess when we married a foreigner, we all kinda knew what we are getting ourselves into.

You’re really lucky to have a good work environment in SG… in all my jobs, it’s always been long hours, maybe cuz I’m in the service industry, no choice have to pander to clients to keep my rice bowl. I do agree with Charmaine that the environment is shaped by the company / dept / direct boss… it’s just a different mentality in SG’s service industry I suppose, where it’s the norm to bend over backwards to serve a client. Whereas, in Oz, I personally have experienced that they are more laidback abt it and I suppose clients are not as demanding and/or understand too that other people have a life aside from attending to them!!

As to why pple always complain… fact of life is that the grass is always greener on the other side!! But when you do get to the other side, you’ll find that the grass is the same after all… maybe slightly different taste but still sama sama. :D

charmaine all the best for your job search.. any luck with interviews so far?

Yeah there are no hard and fast rules on how late one has to work in most companies… it’s usually an unspoken / culture thing… a lot of peer pressure and finger pointing if one doesn’t fit in.

It’s not just in Oz that pple that more pride in their work… in most Western countries it’s like that from what I’ve observed. In France, waiters are proud to be waiters, they’re happy to be a waiter for their entire lives… just try snubbing one!! But in SG, it’s so competitive and the “keeping up with the Jones” mentality just overrides everything – parents and relatives keep comparing who has a better job, bigger house, fatter pay cheque, smarter kids, etc.. that the pressure to excel is just incredible. SG has no room for failures and those who dun take the trodden path, so to speak. Many pple I know go to uni just to get a degree… dun care how gd the uni is or the quality of the course or whether they really want a job in that industry, all they want is a piece of paper! Of cuz, it’s hard to take pride in your work if you’re not interested in it at the end of the day. My hubby is often offended / pissed / irritated when students ask for and expect exam tips or are obviously only interested in the end-result and not the process of learning.

It’s amazing how pple complain that foreign workers are snatching jobs from S’poreans but the fact is that most of these jobs, S’poreans don’t want!! That’s why I think the IRs are a big bad idea. Despite the no of jobs they are bound to create (that was one of the key reasons for the IRs right??), I bet majority of the rank-and-file which is about 60-70% of their entire workforce will be filled by foreigners. The hotel / restaurant industry is already so HR-starved! How on earth will the IRs help???

echidna your FSIL sounds really nice! You’re indeed lucky!

Yeah, double income is certainly a nice to have but whether you are SAHM or FTWM, there’s bound to be a tradeoff somewhere - you just need to figure out which tradeoff you'll rather accept. On top of that, working is not just abt the money… it’s abt financial independence and interaction with pple. I know I din cope very well with being financially dependant on my hubby while in Melb and not having much intellectual stimulation / intelligent conversations with adults can really drive me nuts!!

The meltdown is not helping businesses in SG… pple and companies are afraid to spend.. DBS just announced that they’ll be laying off 900 staff in SG and HK. How bad is it in Oz?

echidna

Hi Clara,

I'm in Sydney, but my family's in Perth. It's a nice city, not as complexed and crowded as Sydney. A little too quiet for me though

snoozy

Hi ladies!!!

I got my visa 4 days ago!!! So happy with that and most happy is my case manager granted me permanent visa which means I dont have to wait for 2 years. NOw I m trying to looks for job around city - Melbourne. But one thing I need all the ladies advices.. do I have to pay tax to Singapore when I working in australia?

eminozy

heloo snoozy. welcome.. No u dun have to pay tax in spore and still ge thsoe money bonus every year!

Welcome to Echidna and Clara too.

snoozy

hi emilia,

But if you works for company that is connect to Singapore company for example. A branch to a Singapore Comapany, do you have to pay tax on this?

eminozy

aaahhh. i think yes... the best person toask this is Celine, she is working for a company sorta connected to Singapore. Will tell her to come in here!

because

Hi Clara,

I'm living in Perth now
Just came over in September. Whereabouts will you be staying when you come over next month?

because

Hello de_luxe!

I was jobhunting when the news of Obama hit the TV, and I was stoked! He's just so much more competent than McCain... Just hope he doesn't get assasinated soon...

Yes, I've managed to find a job - I started on 12 November doing Marketing for a national printing franchise. Its great and I'm quite happy.

I totally agree that its a western culture thing on working late... people in my office run off the moment it hits 5pm, unless there are occasional late meetings with the clients.

Yah, I've got a uni friend (from Sgp too) who's got a degree who has been waiting tables in a small restaurant since we graduated 3 years ago. And she's still there - with no intention to go into her field just yet. Its like she's really proud of her profession now (I bet it would be a different story if she was waiting tables in Singapore)...

I totally agree with you us Singaporeans are a spoilt bunch and that our success has been mostly due to the sweat and blood of foreign labourers/workers, doing all the jobs that most locals would never dream of doing.

yukagirl

hihi Charmaine! I will be living North of the river.. around Duncraig, hillary those part that area! Btw Charmaine how old are you??

I will be looking for job too hope i get a decent job there (i study business studies)

which part you stay?? North of river, south or??

yukagirl

Charmine! I having 2 wedding too..

my actual Church wedding and reception in perth another dinner reception in SINGAPORE..

btw where you holding yours over there? winery?
hope to hear from you soon!

because

Hi Clara!

Wow, you have already gotten your house? We're currently renting a place South of the river (at Orelia which is like wayyyyy South), we are looking out for a house now, and the wedding will be in Singapore next Dec. At present, we have no intention of having a wedding here, since my friends here are flying over to see the wedding in Sgp.

What type of jobs are you looking for here? I was applying even before I moved over, but from what I experienced, the bulk of the companies were only willing to consider me for interviews when I was physically in the country.

Hope you have an easier time with your job search! I spent a couple of months before I found one.

de_luxe

charmaine all the best for your new job! Just realised that you started work 2 wks ago... how's it been?

lala just saw ur Adelaide pics... really lovely
u both looked radiant!

because

Hello de_luxe, Thanks for your well wishes
Its my 4th week at my new job, and I'm really loving it. The people are awesome! I guess cuz we're all in the same generation.

I'll be back in Singapore in a couple of weeks time to arrange all the miscellaneous for the wedding though... So think it will be a busy 2 weeks!

How is the baby? Do you get cravings for any particular dishes?

de_luxe

hey charmaine, glad things are going well at work
that certainly helps when adjusting to a new country

All the best for your trip back!

Baby's doing fine... dun have any specific cravings... mine tends to come and go and the things i want to eat change all the time... recently dun seem to have much appetite tho, i'm just eating for the sake of eating.. if i were not pregnant i would prob not bother to eat much but now no choice, no appetite also must find something to eat.

because

Hello de_luxe, thanks for your well -wishes. I can't believe its only a week before I go back home.

Anyway, just a month more before you're due? That must be super duper exciting!
Where will you be delivering your child?

de_luxe

hi charmaine yeah... just 5 more wks to go... n i haven't done anything abt the nursery n hospital bag yet! strangely, still feel quite laid back.. hope i dun procrastinate too long! Will be delivering at Mt Alvernia...

Where's everybody? Been so quiet here... hallo?? Winter's over - time to come out of hibernation.. or is everyone sunbaking on some nice beach in oz?? :p

de_luxe

got this from a mailing list i'm on.. tot some of u might be interested

MELBOURNE - Bring Your Own Christmas Day Picnic Lunch 12-3pm, 25/12/08, Queen Victoria Gardens (opposite National Gallery of Victoria between Alexandra and Linlithgow Avenues), St Kilda Road (50+ guests booked)
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/melbourne/christmas_day_lunch_2008.php

MELBOURNE - Boxing Day Welcome Home Party for Australian Expatriates and Repatriates 6-8pm, 26/12/08, Rendezvous Hotel, The Bar, Level 1, 328 Flinders Street (100+ guests booked)
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/melbourne/welcome_home_party_2008.php

MELBOURNE - Welcome to Melbourne Event - Second Friday of Every Month 6-8pm
9/1/09, 13/2/09, 13/3/09, 10/4/09, 8/5/09, 12/6/09, 10/7/09, 14/8/09, 11/9/09, 9/10/09, 13/11/09, 11/12/09
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/melbourne/welcome_to_melbourne.php

SYDNEY - Welcome to Sydney Event - Second Friday of Every Month 6-8pm
9/1/09, 13/2/09, 13/3/09, 10/4/09, 8/5/09, 12/6/09, 10/7/09, 14/8/09, 11/9/09, 9/10/09, 13/11/09, 11/12/09
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/sydney/welcome_to_sydney.php

PERTH - Welcome to Perth Event - Second Friday of Every Month 6-8pm
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/perth/welcome_to_perth.php

BRISBANE - Welcome to Brisbane Event - Second Friday of Every Month 6-8pm
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/brisbane/welcome_to_brisbane.php

ADELAIDE - Welcome to Adelaide Event - Second Friday of Every Month 6-8pm
http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/australia/adelaide/welcome_to_adelaide.php

For some extra networking, consider joining one of our Online Groups
Newcomers Network Linked In http://www.linkedin.com/groups?gid=167266
Australian Expatriates http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=56018431832
Newcomers Network Melbourne http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=10162036646
Newcomers Network Sydney http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=8756174149
Newcomers Network Perth http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=20018903653
Newcomers Network Brisbane http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=13458541619
Newcomers Network Adelaide http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=8236505681

pinkpony

Hey de_luxe, you are so super good ah!

Ladies, its been really a while isn't it. As I met Sam the other day, we were still talking abt how long we have not been into this site and its all quiet..

Yes, for me, the wedding is officially over *phew*... for those in preparation - hang in there! All your efforts, time and details will be paid off when the day you walk down the aisle and see all smiling faces back at you. And am really happy that bec. of this forum, managed to get to know so many nice and friendly (so far but we are so near!) Singapore girls Its really fate isn't it!

I mean this site, is just incredible. From single, bride to be, married and some mum to be too! Gosh. For those moving on to your new phase of motherhood (hehe.. you both know who you're) - haha... even the creator of this thread too! All the very best for the new 'challenge'!

Here's my wishes to all a very blessed and bright new year! Cheers for happy marriage and be it spending time with family or love of your life, hope your festive seasons is filled with food and laughter! Haha!!

yukagirl

hello all again!!

i relocate to perth already and trying to settle down more and get used to living at my own place haha

I will be having my makeup and hairtrial with my bridesmaids this 30 dec!! very exciting!

hi charmaine hows you new job?? did you rush into city for sale too! LOL..

anyway i will be starting work soon too!

because

Hi Clara,
That's great! Hope you are adjusting well... I am actually back in Singapore right now for a short vacation before heading back to start work. Hope you will enjoy your new job

Happy New Year!

sher02

Happy New Year Everyone!

Glad to know i'm not the only one organising a wedding from oz! I'm in Perth at the moment and planning for a wedding in 2010.

Anyone tried using a wedding planner? I'm looking at organising an outdoor wedding and it seems as though there's way too much work!

sheep_in_sydney

Hi all, just like to start by saying Happy New Year! I stumble upon this forum while doing bit of research on singaporeans organizing a wedding in SG from Australia.
Must say its been helpful and interesting to read about your experiences. Makes me wanna look at your wedding pictures!

It looks like not many people are based in Sydney. I've been here working for only a year and a half plus. Almost pretty much isolated most the time since I came without having a circle of friends and family is back in SG - like Miss Lala said, can get boring. Been with my bf for about the same period of time :)P yes I met him not long after I got to Sydney..), being older mature folks we are now, we're both looking for the same thing - no more games and crazy partying, wanna settle down, have cute babies and a reasonably nice home. Conclusion is few days ago he did a spontaneous proposal while we were on a camping trip at Port Macquarie. Er I guess I was super shocked since I've never harbor fantasies of "romantic proposals" (must say though I'm already 29, I still feel like a kid at times - imagining myself in a wedding gown seems bit strange and foreign..) So here I am reading your posts to gain some useful tips on wedding plans!

From what some of you said, looks like getting a gown in Singapore will be cheaper. We're looking at having a christian ceremony and banquet dinner in Singapore. Then maybe a party in Sydney mainly for inviting my bf's friends. Also ang mohs got this thing about having an engagement party.. a bit one kind to me as I'm a pretty typical chinese singaporean.

Planning a wedding is no easy task ne..

yukagirl

hi liz..

i dont have engagement party and I DONT HV FRIENDS IN PERTH..
boring

SHER i live in perth too and i having my wedding in Hilton hotel this yr autumn!! if you like outdoor wedding go to swan valley winery...

I have a wedding planner in perth too i think its better to engage a wedding planner

btw how old are you SHER?? you manage to join any singapore group or club or association??

yukagirl

btw Liz me and my fiance not crazy about engagement party tho thats why we dont hv one..

infact can see that many singaporean marry to australia LOL

sher02

Hi Liz and Clara,

I didn't have an engagement party as well. I had issues with in-laws and it took us a few months to tell them and by then, we couldn't be bothered!

Clara - I'm 28 and been here for almost 9 years! We're getting married in Singapore so its a little more complicated for us. We're going back to Singapore for CNY so I'm compiling a list of things to do so that when we get there we can have a look at the church, check out weddng venues, speak to caterers, speak to marquee guys..etc etc

We're building a house as well, and even after shipping cost, it is cheaper to get furniture and tiles etc etc all from Singapore. So furniture and tiles are on our list to do too!

I reckon I'm trying to help Singapore out of a recession! :p