Anyone planning a SG wedding but currently in Australia?

pinkpony

Aiyo Sammic! Making me jealous! I am the other way round... I am a shoe size 5. And you know how 'easy' it is to get this size here. And when I get one, its either the calves somehow very tight. Or, its sometime ending up difficult to zip up! Aiyo! My goodness! Me and my thunder leg!

Where for SATC? Hehe... nearest one to us would be Jam Factory. I don't mind Chaddy if its more straight forward to get there? I also can get to Southland, but I think its too far for Jacq? The rest, I don't know liao..... hehe..

De_lux, how is your selling and packing doing? Is it an emotional moment for both of you? Or you're happy to go back SG?

Oh yes, we went to check out the rings the other day. Went in some in chaddy. You know how I wanted to include wedding band together with the engagement rock right - there's some issues about fitting both together that look good. Due to the design of my rock, I will not find a band that will perfectly fit around the rock without showing some gap in between. Make sense? But I realised that twice we went into the shop, both said impossible to get one without showing some 'flesh' in between two rings. So, I am really thinking of going back to Fairy's Inc in SG that does my engagement. At least they design my engagement, surely will know a solution to wedding band isn't it? Haha... but after some drama with the bridal shop on my dress... I am not sure leh... aiyo!

Emi, how's first week at work? Hehe...

Ling, I was just in Adelaide last weekend - what else, preparing for my wedding. There's an article on paper that says the housing in Adelaide is overall cooling down (you might know there's an outage of increase of property prices). Mostly the North and Eastern suburb. The West side (beach area) is as usually high. The statistic just shown there are even huge differences in suburb in where you live than before.

Just two cents or you might have thought of it already - might worth renting first before deciding to settle on a property?

cest_la_vie

Hi Sammic, nice to meet you too

Once I have settle down in Adelaide, I will definetly find time to visit Melb and of course you all.

Lala, we are thinking to rent apartment first and then will hunt for a property if we confirm to stay for good in Adelaide. Thank you for the info. Not sure which location is good, safe and easy access to city. Any suggestion?
My sis did her wed band here in Spore, its worth and the workmanship is also good. Value for money.
If you want I can check with her the shop name. When are you coming down? Are you doing your wed dinner here as well? So for so good with your preparation in Adelaide?

cheryl_l

hi hi...so glad to see this thread been so active
, cant wait to meet up u gals ....

emi,
u mean need so long(3 yrs??) to find a job? so, looks like not easy to get a job in Melb
, mind me asking wat do u work as & where do u work now?

margiel,
me not shipping anything to melbourne, decided to sell or giveway the stuff here. ll just hand carry watever weightage allow by airlien. did u ship yr stuff over? if yes, which shipping com u use? ll def catch up with u when u back from ur 2nd wedding

Lala, ya, heard that is shortage of engineers but mostly chemical eng, electrical eng or IT line. not many jobs for electronics eng, rite?
ll miss the FOOD in s'pore, does Melb has good asian food?

de_luxe, do u have a single bed frame for sales? preferably those with pullout, need it for my guest room
, me & hb plan to get king size bed, instead of queen, we regretted getting queen one in s'pore....

sam,
set huh! book u as my tour guide
, me really need to know where to get good asian food & of course good place for shipping ....hehe..but most important must find a job la ....

cheryl_l

btw,so many asking how come me & hb so brave to migrate over Mel before even been there????
haha...like wat Ling said, guess is just taking a risk for next move......
Me studied in UK & Hb graduated from Perth,we went to Perth for our 1st landing, find it too boring. so , choose Mel.
Also, nt just me & hb, we are bringing along our 14 mths old princess
looks like i m the only mother here, anyone else?

cest_la_vie

Hi Cheryl, nice to meet you here.
Have you confirm when are you moving to Melb? You are really brave to bring your princess over as well. I don't have one yet, as we are thinking that if we move to Adelaide i won't be able to handle myself.

May I know what visa are you holding? How long do you wait for your visa to be granted? Did you apply through agent?

alysgal

Oh my gosh, so many posts, I'm so lost!

Welcome Lings and Cheryl. I've been living in Melbourne for 7+ years too, like Sam & emi =)

Margie, i like your boots!! I've been wanting to get a pair of high boots too, but like Sam, i cannot fit in
Sam, maybe can get in HK... I saw some in HK when me and hb went there for hols last year, but didnt manage to find any i like. BUT, they fit my calf area!

Emi, congrats on the job! What sort of job is it?

I'll probably pass for the SATC movie, not a fan of the show too. Oh but are we doing a farewell thingy for De-luxe? Do let me know! I'll try to drop by here abit more often....

de_luxe

haha cheryl i think for now you're the only mummy here... have to wait a while more for the rest to join in, most either newly weds or yet to be wed.
I suppose you will need to make childcare arrangements then, heard that it's quite expensive and limited here. You might want to consider this before getting a job. Dun worry about the food tho, food here is good, just more expensive than in SG of cuz, except maybe dim sum which i find cheaper here. I haven't actually had SG hawker fare here, tho i'm told that they are available. If u are a kaya fan, it is easily available in the Asian grocery shops.

i dun have a single bed. Only the queen size bed.

lala i haven't started any packing. The selling is moving slowly. Someone's coming later to view the dining set and someone else wanted to swap the bookshelves and tv bench for a mobile phone! A bit ridiculous.. Not feeling emotional. Maybe i'll feel it later, still 3 more wks to go.

Hi Lings i did hotel management too, but in france... you're right, it's tiring, not to mention long hours and low pay. I'm thinking of a career switch. Which line are u in now?

margie how's ur boots coming along? they look very warm and snug, perfect for these cold days. have they been water proofed already?

cest_la_vie

Hi deluxe, I was in the F&B Department all the time, from the time I graduated till I resigned. Can't take it anymore. Definetely low pay... Spore working hours are even longer I guess plus demanding customers. U studied in france, you must be speaking fluent French

I am currently working in the publication company...office hours work
and I started all over again. If you are going to switch as well, be ready for the pay cut. Well here most of the co looking for experience staff.

de_luxe

lings My french is rusty already, hardly ever speak it. It's good enough for casual conversation, not business. My course was conducted in English and I learnt French as a 2nd language. Also, it got "polluted" after i started learning German (my HB is German that's why) sometimes i mix the 2 languages without realising and nobody can understand me...

I've always been in F&B too, hated front office and housekeeping... but i switched from ops to catering sales after graduation and in the past 3 yrs, was doing consultancy. I enjoyed consultancy but even tho it's a desk job, the hours are equally long and the pay isn't fantastic. Yah, you're right abt SG customers being very demanding, always want cheap and good and the working hours are definitely longer than Europe.

Yah, i know the pay cut is gonna hurt, that's what makes the switch so difficult... sigh..

cest_la_vie

Deluxe are you working in Melbourne? I read from the thread that you are coming back to Spore. Are planning to get a job or become 100% housewife?

Hmmm well... working in the F&B Dept always long hours, back office or front are the same. Better think twice if you want to work in the hotel line here.

I did enjoy hotel line when I was in Switzerland and UK but after come back to Spore.... can't stand it here.

When will you be back?

jacq23

hello chickidees! sorry busy busy at work this week so didn't have time to post. bad news abt this saturday, my fiance's friend gave us free tickets to V8 racing at Sandown so we are going being the petrolheads that we are! I'm quite disappointed cos I really wanted to watch SATC!! Nvm I will have to take a rain check this time

Welcome Cheryl and Ling, a lil intro. I'm a Melbournian, been living in Aust for the past 8 years and currently working here with fiance. Getting married in July in Singapore(just a few days after Marg) so a bit hectic recently with the last minute overseas prep as well. Overall it's been really lovely living here bcos you get to live in your own place i.e. boss of the household hehe and lifestyle very diff from SG. Only drawback is that I miss spending weekends with my family!

marg, have u been doing much wedding stuff? I finally or let me rephrase, my mum finally sent the invites out so have been getting RSVPs coming in. Just found out that about 10 friends are coming from Aust so our number of tables are growing! Seating arrangement is another headache. My mum was saying that some relatives who are not on talking terms with each other have already requested for specific seats etc. Can't make everyone happy i guess...oh also when r u heading back to SG?

emi, how's ur new job? Do tell!

sam, i know wat u mean abt the skinny chicken legs. I also have the same problem. I'm a size 7 n half so opposite from lala, the calf area if always too big. It took me a year to finally find leather boots which fit, that still i had to compromise and get a size smaller...vanity before comfort i say! anyway i found my pair at this shop called santini in flinder's lane. they are known to have skinner boots. you might also want to try zomp. a friend was saying that she saw some skinny ones there as well.

deluxe, hope you manage to sell some stuff by today?

pinkpony

Haha... Cheryl, funny you said about Perth boring. Jacq and I studied in Perth. Err... that was like 9 yrs ago for me, and I have never been back since - only twice transit through. Heard many people said that it has changed a lot - to not so boring, 'kampong' as it used to be. Due to the property prices shot up, standard of living are higher and more overseas investors going in.. not sure if its true though

Wow... de_luxe, so impressive! You know so much language! Sometimes I really hope Simon can speak, just another one more language apart from English all the time... cus you know lah... sometimes you just want to 'gossip' or say something that others won't understand but can't
LOL!

Jacq, sounds like the table thing is really a headache... I think i've said this before, can have 'free-seating' or not? Hehe..... yeah, cant make everyone happy. You know what? At the end of the day, people no matter what, will still complain. Sigh! Also, the V8 race, my company has a usual sponsored race car, so we get complimentary tickets for staff.. but I really don't feel like going as much as I want to sniff out how FUN it will be! Customers will be there, so its like usual social work we do for work... so nope - not spending my personal weekend on them. Enjoy!!

So for SATC, how ah? Hehe... Sammi and Emi, still onze? Well if there's only 3 of us, wanna watch from nearby, Jam Factory? Emi, not far from Malvern East right?

Read someone is asking abt food in Melbourne. Yeah, food is fantastic. Sometimes standard have to drop a bit. Can't totally get hawker kind. And I still can't find my fresh fried carrot cake! Not those from asian groceries yah.

sammic

getting more postings here, can't keep up too!

Miss Lala, i still onz for satc...i'll ask Emi tonite when i see her.

here got lots of malaysian food, but the only 2 singaporean eateries i know of are: Chomp Chomp (Chinatown) and Old Raffles Place (Collingwood).

Thanks for all the bootie tips, i shall check out the shops... :)

eminozy

hey hey .

ok.. first of all i cant make it this sat coz i am working full on both weekends. how about a weekday in the evening since yours truly is now a city girl! hehehahah

2nd. work is great... RMIT is interesting. hehheeh

3rd. I had issues with boots due too gigantular calves issues BUT i realised in Turkety that if you buy a back zipped leather boots u can kinda stretch the leather and fit your calves in! heheheh

4. Theres heaps of singapore/malaysia place ..u just gta find them! even got yong tau foo!
ok have to get back to work./.

talk later!

pinkpony

Errr... how ah? Week nights are not good for me... you see, I try to do my work travels on normal work time Mon-Fri., so I get my own personal time in weekends.. heheee. Wahh.. now, I sounds like a 'slacker'!

So Sammic, wanted to PM you my mobile number. But you don't accept PM. Or you wanna PM me instead your mobile number? Emi has my mobile if you're mtg her tonight. I think we talk off-line. Haha!

Emi, you funny leh... you're always like 'jumping in and out' from nowhere. Like the other time you in MSN, just pop in and wrote me a note, then before I can reply, you went missing! LOL!!!!! I find you a character man.... you know your blog makes us laugh... Blah Blah Blah.... so very both of you!!

de_luxe

Finally managed to sell the dining set yesterday!! Yay!! Still having trouble with the bookshelves and TV bench, maybe cuz of the size, pple dun wanna transport... lelong lelong

lala i can't "gossip" with my hb in german yet, m not good enough to hold a decent conversation.

jacq hope the seating arrangements wouldn't be too much of a headache... i didn't have much issues cuz the cliques among my relatives worked out to fit nicely around each table.

BTW, is the session on 14 june happening?

ling i'm not working in melb but intend to look for a job in SG. Dun think i'll be looking for a hotel job, think it's too boring as i find all hotels generally the same once you get used to the environment but i would consider working in related fields tho. Will be landing in SG on 29 june.

margiel

Hello girls, this thread is running hot again

Welcome Ling, great to hear about your moving to SA. It's a nice place, been to adelaide once
im sure you will get tips about SA from the 'Adelaide fans' here ;)

Cheryl, wow u got a little princess, dats sweet to hear
Yes very brave for u guys to make a big move. Melbourne is truely a multi-cultural state with plenty good food and asian groceries are easily found! Im sure you guys will like it

As for my shipping when I came over last Sept, I had about 8 boxes, all thru S'pore Post via air freight, pretty fast, took about 4 days to arrive, clear custom and arrive at door step!

Alys!!! GOOD to see you again! Have you started any wedding preparation or isit still too early? How's work? Ye I supposed the farewell thingy for De luxe is still on

Jacq Jacq, OH Jacq!!! You are telling me abt it! I am having headace with my seating too even tho I only have 6 or 7 tables! And my invitation cards are still sitting on my desk!! Been a tad busy with the calling, emailing, sms-ing for mailing addresses and confirmation of attendance. There's still some outstanding stuffs to do like getting his 'jacket', finalising the cupcakes details, wedding favours and Guest list. Trying to keep cool even tho the time ticks like nobody business!

Last 2 days, I got so mad with QANTAS staffs when i dialled 131313 to check my flight change... to cut the story short, I was attended by a super RUDE staff who eventually hung up my call and even pretend not to hear me when I asked for her name, still got cheeks to say 'hello hello hello... bye' So childish and disgusting!!! Hope they better wake up on their phone service manner, sigh.. such silly people.

Emi, have fun tonite with Sam at the yummy COOKIE..Yum yum..

Hey girls, besides Lala, Deluxe and myself free on coming Mon, anyone would like to join us for a hang out? It's long weekend and sad to say I'll be alone on Sun and Mon cos the Hubby has to go back to office to work, their team has to rush a project, sigh.... there goes the precious long weekend! But good to have the fun company, loooooking forward ;)

sammic

ello gals
how to set up my PM? i didn't know got PM function...heh heh...
i'm free on monday, what are your plans?

cest_la_vie

Hi hi good morning gals.. yay finally its friday today

Hi Margiel & Jacq, nice to meet both of you. You girls are so on there. Hmmm wish I can move to Melbourne as well.

Deluxe, welcome you back to Spore. Hope that you can sell all your stuff there. You must be happy to see your family back here.

Enjoy your weekend

cheryl_l

lings, me gng over in July. Hb went over in April to settle down first.
Mine is a subclass 136 skilled -independent visa. Took me about < 1.5 yrs(heard usually is < 1 yr), mine takes longer due to my pregnancy, cant proceed for medical checkup until bb is born.
Wat bout u? wat kinda visa u applying?

deluxe, so ur hb r on expats terms? as for ur furniture, why dont u hold a garage sales? tot is quite popular in aussie?

margiel, any idea how much u paid for shipping? will call up sing post to check the rate

jacq, u r another one who stay so long in melb....wahhhh 8 yrs!!U r now australian citizen?

lala, u &amp; jacq studied in perth huh? which UNI? my hb is from Curtin. Guess becos the shops closed at 5pm, and the city centre is so quiet after 5:30.....
btw, r u gals staying near the city?

de_luxe

cheryl my hb is on local terms, he's an academic so typically no such thing as expat package. Too bad lah, i'll love a spouse allowance :D

I've not been to a garage sale here before, tho have seen some ads. We have only 2 sets of furniture to sell so it's not worth having a garage sale unless we have more stuff to sell.

sammic you need to click on your profile to accept PM

ling i'm quite neutral abt going back to sg, since i got married i usually only see my family once a month, everybody's always so busy, to arrange a meal together takes forever. I hardly ever see my relatives, except during CNY, weddings and furnerals. Rather pathetic yah?

margiel

Sam, Lala, Deluxe
Have sent u gals message on facebook for the Monday's happening

Cheryl, my shipments are mainly clothings, books, photo albums, bags, shoes, bolster!! (Yes cant sleep w/out one)
8 boxes cost me about S$1280 with the total weight of about 135kg . Singapore Post is still the cheapest if yours is under personal effects like mine. You can even trace the status and location of your shipments throught their website before being delivered to destination. If you have big items like furnitures, then u have to go through freight forwarding co. I have checked with DHL, UPS &amp; Fedex. Most do not do shipment of used clothings and some dun even want to do personal effects items. Just my few cents worth of sharing
Hopefully things have changed since the last time i've checked

cest_la_vie

Cheryl, ours are visa subclass 495. We submitted our docs last month and still waiting now.. hmm i think ours have been 1,5 yrs since I have 5 police clearance to do....sigh tats why took so long.

Deluxe, mine the same thing as well. I hardly see my family since they all back in Indo except my younger sis. I am currently staying with my in law. Have you got your place here?

Have a great weekend girls

de_luxe

ling nope dun own any property in sg, no $$$, hahaha... we used to live on campus at NTU then later rented an apt at Upper Bkt Timah

kymmie

Glad to chance upon this thread. I will be moving from SG to Melbourne this September. Bf has been asked to relocate and we figured that we can't imagine a life without each other - so I'm moving with him as well.

At the moment,I'm asking for an internal transfer with my own company. Doubt it will be approved in time for September but I will move anyway and see what kind of arrangements can be made with the boss prior to that.

Very nervous about the move and changes et al. Good thing is his parents and extended family get along real fine with me.. and I get along great with the colleagues in the Melbourne office.

Guess I will need lots of help from you 'old birds' when I move there... Wish me luck for my transfer request - else I will have to resign and somehow look for a new job or be an unofficial tai tai till then.

margiel

Welcome Kymmie, good to hear your coming
Have you started with your packing? Which suburb will you guys be staying? A little about myself, Im married to a German turned Aussie last Jul and settled down here in Sept. We are in Glen Waverley (Southeastern area), about 40mins train ride to city or 30mins drive. And coming July we'll head back to Sg for a '2nd' wedding dinner, 4 days before Jacq's! ;] Hope to meet up with you during our girls' meet when you are here and all the best in your transfer thingy! Cheers

Hello Sam, Emi, Deluxe &amp; Lala, thanks for dropping by here, I had a great time hanging out with u guys! Will make sure Harvey is in when u are back again

Jacq, is this sat potluck thingy still on? at your place? Most of us are happy to come without partners for Deluxe's &amp; hubby's farewell, we have roughly done headcounts, prob about 9 of us in your house

de_luxe

Hi girls, had a good time earlier today too =) yummy food... made me start making a mental list of food to eat in sg... hahaha...

oooh... another newcomer... welcome kymmie are you excited about the move? hope your internal transfer works out eventually. What field are you in? I'm actually moving back to sg end of this month but have so far enjoyed my stay in melbourne. Of cuz there were challenges, for me, it was a big lifestyle change from working practically 12-16 hours everyday to not working at all... there was a time when i felt quite depressed, facing the 4 walls at home, but thankfully i got over it after sometime. Is your BF Australian?

BTW, for those who were not hanging out with us today, just a quick update that Yusnizah has given birth to a baby boy, named Miguel Zacharius Groell, last Wed.

sammic

gd morning gals,

thanks for yesterday's good company, nice relaxing day out. still can't seem to get back into work-mode...happy that its a 4-day work week...

u all are such foodies, put me to shame really, i realised that i've been missing out a lot and need to venture out more for good food!

next time come by my 'hood and we can makan asian again! but first gimme some time to settle in, explore and reckee...unless u cannot wait and already know of some places there. :p

also wanna meet the fluffy harvey some other time, he looks so warm and cuddly. heh heh...

thanks for tips delux, i think i've made the p.m. work... :) and congrats to yusnizah on her new arrival!

nice to meet u here kymmie, hope your move to melb will be smooth-sailing! :)

have a nice week grils!

margiel

Deluxe, nice gifts rite? initially i wanted to get something like the honey jar thingy but hubby prefers cupcakes, duno isit the wedding cake thing is a must in their culture??!!! ;]

cest_la_vie

Morning girls

Hi Kymmie, welcome to this thread. I am also quite new here. Hope everything goes well for you. I am planning to move to Adelaide and still waiting for my visa.

Deluxe, how is your packing going on? Wahh is end of this month rite??? Time flies
excited?... I guess once you back here you will miss the lifestyle in Melb, not to worry looking at the bright side
The wed favours are very nice but quite ex.

Margiel, Did you order from them?

margiel

Lings, no we are having wedding favours from the hotel as well as cupcakes for the guests. Ya the ones on the site are rather ex but good ideas for gifts ;)

pinkpony

Harrow cool chicks!! What a beautiful day today isn't it! I went out for a walk today at lunch its almost like PERFECT weather! Cool, little breeze and SUNNY! Tomorrow gonna be RAINY, wet and cold again at night, so Sam/Emi, let's not go out too late tomorrow OK.. I've bit phobia about wandering and driving in thunderstorm
LOL!

Wow. Can't imagine myself can talk so much about the weather. Anyway, some updated on the wedding, I finally called Mandarin Oriental yesterday to confirm some details. I guess I am now 99% I'll go with them, unless that 1% of other temptation keeps me sway sideways again

I've downloaded some pictures of the wedding band I'd like, will email Fairy's Inc about it and ask them to start working on it so HTB can get to view it when he's back in Aug. Started on the Guest List. 5 of my SG friends are coming over to SA! SA GREAT!

And funny De_luxe you mentioned the wedding favours website - btw, it has heaps stuff... just wondering, does anyone knows where I can get personalised chopstick? Err.... we were thinking of having our names in each stick.. cheesy? Cliche? Hehehe... its my HTB's idea. I wanted noodle box with boiled lollies and fruitchocs as buffet so they just scoop into the noodle box! Oh, still with the cupcakes

Then as I browse through so many pretty website, I saw a personalised matching toasting flute! But they are quite EX... or personalised wine? But since my wedding is in winery, not sure they're pleased with that. Uhm..

Kymmie! Welcome! You know as you were introducing yourself, I feel so like dejavu! Cus like I was sharing with the girls the other day, I was also looking at transfer by the company earlier last year.. then I waited till abt 3 months without news, I thought "Heck, if no job, I will find job when arrive here"
Then not long after we made the decision, my company sent me over! So hang in there and keep 'drilling' into them that you've to come over. Maybe get married to your BF? Hehe... then, it will be a natural thing for them to send you over.. cus its no longer BF.. cannot be separated
But there again, since you said you're moving to here in Sept. so guess you've more or less made up your mind. Well good luck and see you in the down-under!

Oh yes, Margiel, what do you think of the peanut butter spread ah?? Heheee!! I don't find it nice leh!! Can refund?! LOL! Maybe this is the natural kind. I prefered the preserved one! LOL!!!

de_luxe

lala haven't seen any personalized chopsticks so far... i once got chopsticks at a wedding in hilton but i think they are display only cuz too short to hold properly!! Maybe your winery will be able to do the personnalized wine for you?

BTW, if you wanna take at look at the Mandarin Oriental invitation cards, you can come over to my place. I still have them... of cuz if they changed it in the past 2 yrs then i dunno lah..

margie yah i liked the favours on this site, a bit more unique than the typical hotel favours. If they were ard during my wedding, i would have choosen the kaya jar... i'm a sucker for kaya :p

lings i haven't started packing yet... just emptied our bookshelves last wkend cuz the buyer wanted to come and collect but later changed her mind. I'm gonna let the movers do most of it, and will only deal with my own suitcase... lazy lah... this is my 4th move in 2 yrs, had enough of packing and unpacking liao...

BTW, if you are interested in meeting new people, there's a group in Melbourne, Sydney and Adelaide that meets once a month called Newcomers Network http://www.newcomersnetwork.com/nn/index.php. The sessions are free, you only pay for your drinks or food if you decide to purchase any. The site also has useful articles about moving to Oz. The Melbourne one offers courses at a fee for new arrivals, talks about things like culture and looking for a job here.

I don't think I can finish the stuff in my pantry and fridge, would anyone want them? I have things like rice, butter, onions, garlic, sugar, various sauces, corn flour...

kymmie

Thank you so much for the warm welcome! Yes, I've made up my mind to move in September and we'll sort things out along the way. Worse case scenario is for me to be a 'tai tai' for a few months till a new job is in sight.

We haven't decided where exactly we want to stay. For the first month, his company will put us up in a service apartment near work. Then for the next 6 months - 1 year, we'll put up in an apartment right in the city centre. It will be easier for me to get my bearings and move about - especially when I don't know how to drive!!! Then after that, we may be buying a house further out so we can have more space and peace. Ideally would be somewhere near Templestowe or Park Orchards cause that's where the family is.. Though I must add, that's a long way to drive to the city =(

Speaking of food, my BF was just teasing me about what I said during my last visit to Melbourne. We walked past a Singapore cafe / restaurant and I was lamenting how expensive a plate of chicken rice is and that I would NEVER EVER pay that much for that! At that time, we didn't think we'll be moving back to Melbourne that soon. Well, seems like karma is catching up on me and he's now waiting for chance to jump on me relishing a plate of AUD 8 chicken rice.. hahaha

Can't wait to meet you girls when I'm there...

margiel

Hehe Kymmie, u and your comments ;] You will get used to it in time to come. When I came over here, 'everything' seems ex and had to think twice b4 getting simple things like ginger etc!!! Just me and my silly psychological thingy. I cant drive too but live quite near to train station and bus stops, living in Melb is not too bad afterall, Im sure you'll gradually grow to love it. I have not had any chicken rice here cos you can simply get the ready mix (Singapore Prima taste brand is good!) to make it yourself, probabaly your $8 can make 2 yummy plates from your kitchen
Do you have Mulitply or facebook account? A number of us are in that too, sometimes we chat everywhere :p

It's weekend again girls!! And rain rain go away, give us sunshine 2moro

de_luxe

hi kymmie we dun have a car either... getting around is not much of a problem as long as u live near a train / tram station but the aussies really do have a different concept of distance - their "round the corner" would be considered a good walk by most s'poreans!! Also helps if there are shops and supermarket around. Personally I dun like going out alone at night so much here, cuz the streets are very dark and quiet.. it's safe but i'm paranoid!!

Haha... feel the pinch paying A$9 for nasi lemak... once in a blue moon, it's ok to treat urself for being a good girl lah

Yap, the Prima stuff is real good... tried the laksa.. yum yum

eminozy

hehhe. i totally forgot about this site since we have been too hyper in facebook. now i know which newbie you guys were talking about. :p

welcome kym...hope u'll enjoy chatting with us all. super chatterboxes! hehehehe

will we meet again on weekend? hehehahahhehe

talk to all yous later,,, aitttt!

ps: i found a chicken and prawn dumpling place so cheap . 8 pcs for $6!

cheryl_l

have not login for a while, hope u gals havent forgotten me

hi , kymmie. I am new here too, moving to melbourne in July. hope to c u there.

Today is my last day of work ...pheww.....have mahjong session with my colleague afte work!!really fun.
am busy with packing &amp; selling off my stuff now, most of my furnitures &amp; electrical appliances, very tired

anyone can give me some idea about buying private insurance in australia?

btw, are most of u staying in city center?

de_luxe

hi cheryl good to see u back here... yah packing xian hor... i'm starting to pack this wk. If u dun manage to sell off, then just bring w u lor, anyway u are likely to need to buy the same things all over again if u come empty-handed.

Is ur hubby confirmed renting the place in blackburn?

I dun think anyone of us is staying in the city centre. The closest is me in toorak, ms lala and sam in st kilda... abt 5km from the city. At first we wanted to rent in the city cuz hb works there, tot can save on transport if he walks to work. But all the places we viewed, either too old n grotty, too expensive or too small. I think we viewed almost 50 places. Apt/house hunting here is no joke, damn bloody tough, competitive and frustrating (excuse my language). Now i prefer this area to the city, close enuff to go to city if i need to, but there're plenty of shops here so dun really need to go to city often, maybe once in 2-3 wks. Far from the city crowds, near to nature, many parks and the river is within walking distance.

Sorry i can't help re insurance. I'm on 457 visa and the employer is required to pay for it. I read the stupid book from front to back but still dun fully understand how the system works here.

kymmie

Oohhh de_luxe.. your house hunting experience is really worrying me!!! As it is, whenever I'm searching for rentals online, the city centre houses that comes with the budget I have in mind (500 to 600 pw) looks abit sad and unfurnished. Maybe we should plunge straight into the suburbs *gulps for me* instead of a city centre acclimatisation period?? hahaha

I can almost see a spike in expenditure now when we move.. especially on the new furnitures (our current place in SG is rental as well and comes almost fully furnished except for some little pieces of our own here and there).. oh well, the consolation is that the furnitures can follow us for the rest of our lives, wherever we are moving to next..

Sigh.. the move is starting to get depressing.. we'll have to leave our plants behind at my parents.. after all the love put into grooming them... and I'm gonna have to cut back on my cab rides too... and there's a million of immigration and taxation and whatever law to understand...sob sob

Oh btw girls, I've seen some of your pictures on Margie's facebook and may I dare say - you girls surely look like you're gonna have alot of fun! I can now proudly tell my bf that I will be in good hands (he keeps saying that he will find me a singaporean ladies support group so I can talk singlish to in Melbourne. Looks like I've beat him to it!!)

de_luxe

kymmie don't panic... u dun really have to plunge into the far away suburbs straightaway... there are places that are not in the city but not so far either, like the distance of bkt timah to orchard. It helps that ur bf is aussie, then he knows how things work here. Plus if he's familiar w melbourne, he'll prob know which areas are the ok areas to live in. We dinno anything n hardly anyone, so it was doubly tough for us. At the beginning, based on our budget vs wat we saw on the web, we took the trains to the inner city suburbs to check out the area b4 looking for an apt there. I must say some areas were cheap but a big shock... We also dinno how the agents work here, practically drove me up the wall.

Yes, almost all apts here are unfurnished, also no white gds e.g. fridge, washing machine included. There are places that are furnished, i know someone staying in such a place in the city but rent is also higher lah. Renting here is different from SG lah. I felt that dollar for dollar, I get better value for money when renting in sg but those were the days before the rental market in sg started going crazy.

Ur budget is already higher than ours, ours was $300pw, max max $400... i guess it din help that we were looking for a place in Jan, towards the end we were also competing w the students. U coming in sept, by then the students all settled in liao.

To save $$ on furniture, just get the basics first like bed.. the rest can follow when you're more settled. We were lucky to find a place w washing machine, dryer, fridge n microwave included... that's why willing to pay more rent, otherwise our 'settling in' expenses will be even higher. BTW, you are able to hire-purchase such items but i dunno if it's worth it or not.

pinkpony

Hi ladies. TGIF! Gosh! Week after week went by so quick! How has everyone's week being going, or gone?

How is your packing so far de_luxe? Wheck all you needed from Melbourne already? LOL!

Emi! Dumplings so cheap! Hey, I am checking out that Indian place in Burwood Hwy that you girls have been raving about tonight! Hope its GOOD!

Margiel, when do you want to check out the noodle boxes? I can't really do it this weekend or next. How about weekdays/nights next week?

Cheryl, I had a pretty intensive health coverage by work. So I can't really advise this. But know that the other girls were talking about it the other time.. let the expert advise!

House hunting... gosh. That's a nightmare for me when I was looking for one too. You know lah... women generally tend to be more fussy... but we didn't went to inspect a lot. Only abt 5 units? Then we decide on this one. Actually I only spend 1 day to seriously inspect with my fiance and another half day alone, then, here we are!!!! I think I landed on a designed award lobby apartment (according to Margiel). Whahaaaaa!!

But i really dislike the tram noise. Something funny this week, we had a friend visiting from Adelaide living with us, he couldn't sleep for 3 nights as he said its too noisy and bright! Yeah, I still can't get over the fact the there are a total of 8 lanes of traffic and 2 for trams just right in front of us!

My suburb is Melbourne. So, its within the city suburb I guess? I would believe likewise for Sammic. She only lives 3 streets away from mine

I was at the Eastern side last night. Visiting a colleague in Donvale. I like it there! Thought its a far cry from the city, but once you get to explore like the locals, there're heaps to 'hidden' beauty!

I don't know how much you already know abt the renting property structure here, but good to know that the 'inspection'is for a period of time. Usually gets more over the weekend. And you've to put through application for the place you like. So its not necessary means you will get it (but usually does). Then the landlord qualify and approves your application. I think we put through 2 application and got this reply the fastest, so we grab it. And yes, usually they comes unfurnished.

YAY! Its the weekend again! Have fun ladies!!!! Hope to get the perfect weather again!

de_luxe

Hehe... finally packed my clothes today. Now wardrobe practically empty. Been doing a little bit of other packing almost everyday but i'm so slow, it seems that i'll never finish. This time the packing seems easier tho, and lesser too. Maybe cuz we haven't bought much here and already threw out a lot of stuff when we left SG.

We're hiring cleaners to deal with the end of lease cleaning, can't be bothered to do it. But I was so mad on Wed cuz the original company i wanted to hire quoted $216 on Mon and wanted to charge me $260-300 when i called confirm, claiming that they didn't remember what they quoted and that their quoted price didn't include the venetian blinds. What stupid excuses! Wasted my time and phone credits! Gave them a piece of my mind and hired someone else!!!

I still haven't gotten my Vietnamese broken rice yet, will definitely be doing it next wk for lunch =D Other food, dun think i'll really miss anything leh...

emi thks for coming by earlier to get the foodstuff... a big relief for me that I didn't have to throw everything away. Hope you enjoy the goodies!

wah lala u very lucky, only 2 applications.. we submitted at least 4 before getting our place - I think that was only because we offered more than the advertised rent. Spent at least 2 Sats plus a few other weekdays doing inspections... really damn xian, some more no car, must jalan everywhere in the hot summer heat, some days 40deg, wah lau really can die man. Then one of the last days of house hunting, it started raining suddenly and we didn't have umbrellas.. i ended up getting sick n was freaking out cuz it felt like we'll never get an apt in a location that we want. Horrible plus terrible lor!

I dunno if our difficulties could be due to the fact that we didn't have any Aussie references n prev rental history.

What was really frustrating was we didn't know that it's possible and accepted to offer more than advertised rent until much later. Also, someone gave me wrong info said best not to submit multiple applications. *SIGH* AND when we called the agents to ask abt the status of our applications, they won't say if we're not successful... just keep saying landlord haven't decided, etc etc.. all sorts of excuses... PLUS giving us wrong info. That time, so angry man!

emilyteo

Hi Gals!! I am back! Whao.. it seems like the forum has been very active... Cool! For those who don't know I went back to Singapore last month for my wedding. Overall, it was beautiful and memorable except for my experience with the hotel. I had my wedding at Raffles Hotel, however, I was so disappointed with their service.... If you are inetersted to read what I have been through.. read on. (PS: this is what I posted on the Raffles Hotel thread for other future brides to take note....)

According to Chinese wedding, the bride is to marry into the groom’s place. In order to adhere to this customary procedure, my husband from Australia booked an additional night for the courtyard suite. On our wedding day my photographer and videographer were rudely stopped by the concierge, Sharin, for taking photos of us getting in and out of the bridal car. We were aware of Raffles Hotel’s photography guidelines. However, this was not indicated in any of the guidelines. As Raffles Hotel’s paying guest we were stopped for taking photos whereas tourists were allowed to snap photos everywhere within Raffles Hotel. We brought this to our banquet coordinator, Tracey Heng’s attention. To our surprise, she informed us that tourists are given the privilege as a marketing strategy for Raffles Hotel. We are paying thousands of dollars to Raffles Hotel in the hope of getting a memorable and wonderful wedding, yet we are treated worst off than non-residences.

Adding to the day’s disappointment, it was our banquet dinner. During our detail-finalising meeting, we specifically notify our banquet coordinator that we required an additional stand for our wedding portrait. This was not provided. We had to improvise using the table sitting stand for our wedding portrait. We were informed to bring our own laptop for the music and video highlight as Raffles Hotel’s audio system was not advanced enough to pay MP3 music. However, to my surprise, the audio technician on duty for our wedding banquet did not know how to use our laptop for the music and video highlight. My friend was to assist him, which resulted delayed in the music during our first march-in (music only came on half way through the march-in). During the banquet, the catering staff told our guest that there was insufficient beer without consulting us if we were willing to open another barrel. We received various compliant from our unsatisfied guests, which was so embarrassing.

In addition, Raffles Hotel DID NOT DELIVER the following items that were stated on our contract:
1. Sashes for alternate guest chairs. (which I have requested prior to signing the contract).
2. Actual tire of our wedding cake to be delivered to our suite. This was not delivered even upon us checking out on the next day.
3. Ang bao box was not provided for our wedding banquet. (Fortunately, we brought one with us).

All these unpleasant experiences during our wedding day was discussed with our banquet coordinator upon checked out and was offered a nice lunch worth SGD120 at Raffles Hotel for compensation. This was how our coordinator put it across to us: ‘We overlooked on these issues and to show our sincere apology, let me buy you both a nice lunch at Raffles Hotel.’ When we refused to accept, she then continued: ‘The lunch worth $120. Normal lunch outside will probably cost only around $25.’ When my husband and I heard this, we felt totally insulted. The first thought that came to us was: ‘Is she implying we are not able to afford to have lunch at Raffles Hotel?’

We refused to accept and asked to speak the Director of Catering Department, Elizabeth. She was really professional and immediately acknowledges and apologised for the distress we had been through, and offered a 5% discount off our banquet bill. Honestly, regardless what compensation they tried to provide, it would never make up for the frustration and disappointment I experienced on the most important day of my life. We were not trying to rip off Raffles Hotel, all we expect was just a sincere apology and compensation.

I was totally disappointed with Tracey’s professionalism and carelessness. After we checked out, we realised that we were not given the break-down of the banquet bill. I called her at 2.30pm on the same day to request for one. She told me that she would email me and leave a print-out with the concierge before she leaves the office for my collection. I arrived at the concierge desk at 8pm on the same day, but the concierges were totally clueless. They were unable to contact Tracey as she had left the office. I managed to contact her on her mobile and her respond was,’ why are you back at Raffles Hotel?’

Compliment
We have to agree that the following services we received deserve a thumb up!
1. Our banquet manager, Jason. He was very responsive on our request and efficient with resolving the problems we had during the banquet. He was friendly, patience and understanding.
2. Our guest compliment on the food – very tasty and filling. Individual serving of the food to all guests was very impressive. Apparently, not all hotels provide such service.
3. Our Chef, Richard Thong was very attentive. He delivered all our requests during our food tasting feedback. When I thanked her after the banquet, he humbly said, ‘it is my responsibility.’
4. Butler, porter services during our stay at Raffles Hotel were excellent and had made our stay enjoyable.
5. Generally, all staff at Raffles Hotel are polite and friendly.

oh... one more thing that deserves a thump up! The flowers were fresh and beautiful!! Lots of our guest loved the flora setting. Their wedding favour were nice too.

ok. enough for my fustration. I'll write some happy story next time....

de_luxe

Hey! just sold my tv console!! Yippee!!

Hi ET are u back in Adelaide now?

I'm sorry to hear about your bad experience at RH. I had issues with my hotel too.. different issues from you but frustrating and stressful nevertheless. I had a really bad impression of their then Director of Catering, my HB described him as "slimey"! It really sounds like your co-ordinator is those bo-chap type. Well, it's unfortunate but i guess every hotel has one of those. My ex-colleague (not from RH) used to argue with and scold her couples, I really dunno how she manage to keep her job despite all the complaints. As an ex-staff of RH, I feel bad and really disappointed to hear abt it.. of cuz it's none of my responsibility or anything like that. It's just that they really drilled "guests are kings" into us. There was a period when they treated many of their staff very poorly, a lot of my ex colleagues, many from the opening team, worked there many years, left. Since then, I've heard and do know that the standard has dropped, esp after Ms Chua left and after RH has been sold to a private company. Now everything is about profit and things are just different. We (me &amp; ex RH colleagues) dun like going back there anymore, even for just a meal. It feels too sad to witness the decline of SG's grand old dame.

Well, despite all the issues... hope you're still in honeymoon period and married life has been bliss so far

jacq23

hey guys, hope you are keeping warm this rainy day
me resting at home preparing for hen's night tonight..

Kymmie, templestowe is not very far from where i am however as i am pretty close to the freeway, it only takes me 15-20 minutes to get to the city without traffic.

lala, you would have been a suburb away from my hood last night man. should have called to drop by! btw i also went to the indian restaurant in burwood for lunch today.

marg, it's my 3rd weekend in the row going there for lunch, jialat don't know whether can still fit in the wedding gown.

emily, sorry to hear abt your story abt the hotel but thanks for letting us know cos it's really useful info which i will be able to ask my coordinator prior to our wedding in july. i'm pretty shocked abt the taking of photos treatment u received at the entrance since it was ur big day and u would not have expected anything less of them being accomodating to the bridal party as opposed to the tourists. also abt the beer running out, did ur coordinator ask you to appoint a "beverage contact" from your family/friends before the wedding so that hotel staff can approach for any beverage related issues/queries? Thanks again for reminding me about them having to provide me with a breakdown of the banquet bill as being the absent-minded people Adrian and myself are, we would have forgotten to ask. Lastly i guess ur disappointment also stems frm the fact that the hotel is known to be pretty costly and your expectations were reasonable no doubt. Nonetheles I hope your family and guests still enjoyed the day and congrats to both your hb and yourself!

eminozy

hi hi...

no worries corrine, I have given a bag to a friend of mine when i met her afterwards and a bag for margie. All sorted out.
Now i am wondering should i drizzle the choc pepermint onto the icecream?

hehehe. Went to Ipoh jaya again last night and had hainanese chicken with kangkong. Chris had the curry laksa, MY GOD>.. should have had that. So yummy looking, can die. We ended up from 730-1200am there with some friends .. just yakking and enjoying tea, coffee, dessert too....

Rentals are a pain. We submitted 3 places. We got the 1st one we saw and we ended up loving it ( 2bdrm unit). Our budget also not so much. Theres no way in the wide world i will pay more than $350...in the outer suburbs hehehehe. NO WAY.
We live in Caulfield/Malvern east and take the express train to the city which takes us less than 10 minutes.. so its a great suburb to live in.

We might be moving to the city next year and our budget is $400. So we will seelah.
Coz we have all of our furnitures and stuffs with us, we prefer empty rentals. Most people prefer it that way too, if you are looking to be in the heart of the city, fuly furnished, your budget seems to be right. Theres this beautiful loft apartments on Flinders Lane, ala European style at about $600 a week, fully furnished but you have to know most of them have no carpark.. you have to add an extra $50-$100 p/wk for a carpark.

Good luck, I suggest you google MICM if you want a good property in the city. I love their apartments but they are hard to get coz so popular(got waiting list).

Oh dear.. ET, so sad about your wedding. I knew another SG bride in another thread who had a lovley sexy wedding at the bar with jazz musicians.. Its so unfortuante your coordinator was a ditz. I hope your photos turn out well though...

I was lucky that i was my own wedding coordinator. so everything if salah would be my own fault. kekekek.

oklah girls rug up.... its bloody cold this weekend!

over and out.

de_luxe

haha emi i actually found that this flavour of ice cream didn't quite go with the choc peppermint sauce, defeated the whole purpose of buying the ice cream in the first place. I find it better with plain ice cream e.g. vanilla, choc. It's also nice with plain biscuits and wafers. Enjoy!