Anyone planning a SG wedding but currently in Australia?

margiel

Yeah, off day today :p Cant explain why, even tho i work 3 1/2day only but still very much look forward to every Tue and it's just not the same compared to weekend (I love weekends too).. I MISS my Not Working days!!! Yet I am also HAPPY with my own earnings, so confusing *kekeke*

Reading Lala's, Jacq's and Emi's wedding stuffs, it made me a bit kan chiong oredi (Ya ABIT now). It's only 2 months away and i have not been doing anything leh!! Hey Girls, when should we send invitations out? A month before or earlier??
I still duno whether to get a hand bouquet cos mine is just a dinner, i find it a bit funny to hold the flowers when walking in and wats more just for that less than a minute moment, hmmmmm really duno, maybe a wrist corsage with flowy ribbon??? Otherwise will just do without it.

Lala, will u be back to Sg a couple of weeks before the wedding? If so there's enough time to make adjustments, hmmm for the lace turning yellowish, i find that's quite a lame excuse.. But not to worry, Im sure your gown will turn out beautifully on THAT BIG day

How many of us gg Dim Sum this sat??!
So far we have Sam, Lala, Emi, Jacq, Deluxe, me and Deborah. Had just sms Alys. Btw is Clare and Yusnizah joining in?

Looking forward to this Sat's Dim Sum! Cheers!!

jacq23

hey guys sorry to do this but can we meet for the 1.30pm session instead? please let me know and i'll book shark fin house for 1.30pm on Saturday.

Jacq

de_luxe

yah lala at least i dun have to go around comparing quotes this time. I just hope we get a staff apt soon cuz they told us none is available for at least 2.5 months... we have to stay in a tiny hotel room with no cooking and laundry facilties till then. Plus, the longer it takes, the longer we will need warehouse storage which is such a pain on the pocket!

Need to think about posting ads on e-bay soon to try and sell some of the furniture, else the shipping and storage cost is gonna go through the roof.

Haven't tot about a farewell party so far... dun mind hosting one, but i dun have a bbq since our balcony is just big enough for the clothes rack. Can do pot luck or something similar, tho pple have to sit all over cuz we can fit about 10 guests if i include the sofa and kitchen stools.

sammic wah... it's not so nice to have to bargain yah? how would you know what is the "right" price to pay? would you be able to buy your wedding bands in sg? I heard there's a new shop in raffles city, called love & co specializing in wedding rings, look very nice but dunno how much.

margie i understand what you mean with the off day... it's just different from a weekend. I miss my financial independence (want to buy something, got to think so hard) but on the other hand, dun fancy going back to work in sg.

If the invitations are just a formality (as in your guests already know the date and pretty much agree to come), 1 month is usually enough. I think I did mine about 2 months earlier cuz i just wanted to get it over and done with...hahha

Have you seen the hand bouquet shaped like a ball? I saw before (think it was June Florist) and liked it, looks like carrying a flowery round handbag. Well, I think doing without is also ok, dun think many people will notice whether there's a hand bouquet or not.

jacq23

ok yum cha all booked on Saturday, the 17th at 1.30pm. if they close at 3.30pm, shall we proceed to coffee then?

who's confirmed attendance?

eminozy

airfares.com.sg. they are super great! been with them for the longest time- MISA TRAVEL near chinatown
AM cool with yumcha at 130pm.. but i might have to run after 330pm.

Thanks jacq for organising!

ANyone going to the jap fest on sunday at Boxhill. i cant wait. its my favourite fest every year!!!!

jacq23

thanks emi, i'll go check it out...and wasn't the jap fest the one you went to last year? i drove past last week and was going to ask you so thanks for the reminder as i was keen to go this year. hey is it actually held in the big hall where the sign is or outside area?

de_luxe

Me confirmed
can't wait! Heehee.. m free the whole day since HB not in town... might as well console myself with some indulgence

What's the jap fest about? Dun know anything abt it.. is it FOC?

sammic

Deluxe, when u go into the jewellery chain stores here and look at their rings, they'll always tell u that they can do a special deal for you, or give discount, but won't reveal how far they can go, unless u are ready to buy on the spot. so far, i never tried to bargain cos i haven't found something that i like yet. and they kinda know i am juz browsing and not genuine buyer.

The vows will take place here in August so am unable to get the rings in sgp before then, thinking of resizing an old ring that i already have with me here. my fiance not fussy with his ring, he said he'll choose a simple design from any of these chain stores...but if i were to bargain for him, i'll ask for 30% or 40% markdown. heh heh...

jap fest sounds interesting...where and when?

thanks for organising yumcha see u 130 Sat

de_luxe

hehehe sammic didn't expect the jewellery shops here to be like that... it sounds more like something i would expect somewhere in asia... i tot westerners generally dun bargain

margiel

Hi Jacq, me and Deb confirmed! Isit the Shark Fin Inn City @ 50 Little Bourke St? Cos there's also a Shark Fin House @ 131 Little Bourke St

http://www.sharkfin.com.au/

Wonder how's ET (Emily) and her wedding? Think it is today rite? 15 May!
Hey ET, Wishing U and ur Hubby a A Happy and Blissful Marriage!
kao_wedding.gif

jacq23

hello! I booked at Shark Fin House @ 131 Little Bourke St but do let me know if you guys prefer Shark Fin Inn instead and I can book that one if there is still room available?
So at the moment, those how have confirmed are:
Marg
Deb
Emi
Corrine
Sam
Claire
Celine
Jacq

Does anyone know how to contact Celine cos not sure if she knows it's at 1.30pm instead?

pinkpony

Hi folks!! I am here!! Hehe... thought I've posted a note sometime when you gals change to 130pm...

Haha.. anyway, all alright now. I am going home tomorrow, so just made it in time for yum yum!! Thanks for thinking of me Margiel and Jacq! *wink*

Oh, shame I lost the post I sent.. bec. I remember typing lots on jewellery and something else... maybe forgot the last step to confirm sending it through then log out. Aiya, never mind, see you all soon!

eminozy

Claire said that shark fin Inn is better. If you want to, you can see if theres seats there BUT if many people are ok with House .. we should just stay there? I cant wait to makan!heheh

jacq23

sorry guys i didn't have time to check the posts today - i think we should just stay with sharkfin house since we already secured a table there...so see you all tomorrow at 1.30pm.

pinkpony

I am back to Melbourne after settling some 'part' of my wedding stuffs in Adelaide. We finalised the photographer, videographer, celebrant, cakes and met up with the winery 'events coordinator'

I have a question to ask if anyone of you have had your wedding in Australia - do you rely on the 'events coordinator' in the venue to set-up the venue to wedding purpose?

The reason I am asking is bec. I am getting worried as I talk to our venue 'events coordinator' - he never asked abt my colour theme, set-up, kinds of chairs, colour of sashes. I trust his hospitaility skills and winery taste. But when I start talking to him about things I want.. eg. the arch etc... my oriental RED theme and yellow theme in garden - He looked at me cluelessly. Like I have gone mad. So, I am not quite too sure about leaving him with my venue set-up decorations. The lawn that I will be married at is an empty garden - I have just so much ideas about decorating the place and jazzing up the area but I am restricted by who can help to coordinate and gives me a hand in that? The events coordinator doesnt seems to have a clue - do you think I should relax and let them do their usual stuffs or I should hire an external wedding decorator to help me with it?

On positive note, I really like my celebrant. She is a very nice lady. We are starting to talk abt the micro stuffs.. anyone of you wrote your own vows? I am really still uncertain abt that as it will all be recorded - we are having videographer.. scarlee i forgot my vows and start talking nonsense - it will all be with me!

Emi and ET, do you all have good recommendation on Asian restaurants in Adelaide? Everytime i went, I didn't have chinese.. so am just wondering if there's any good and cheap ones ard?

margiel

Hey Lala, when we had ours at Sassafras last July, the owner of the restuarant showed us an album on pictures of different colour theme which include little details like colour of napkins, table cloth, flowers and suggested ways to deco the tables eg. the matching colour of rose petal, chandelier kind of candle holder on each table. All in all, we also discussed abt the layout for that day as well as which CD to play during the match in, main course and dessert, place-cards on tables, food selection from menu. Yep they take care of every single stuff! I suggest prob u could show them pictures of the arch, and the type of red and yellow, easier for them to visualise? Otherwise a wedding decorator will be good if you have the budget
hey can consider Emi hehhee...

Yeah it's fun meeting celebrant and choosing ring vow and marriage vow. We just chose one that suits our nature from given pages
Not to worry, u are not expected to memorise them, ur celebrant will guide u thru, u just repeat after her . Our celebrant is an elderly man (look like KFC old man) and he is very caring! He also gave at the beginning of the ceremony. Not sure in Adelaide but here we got a booklet of our vows as well all the speeches from the celebrant on what he said on that day!! Good on you that you have settled most of the stuffs. Very exciting rite??!!! ;]

Helooooo girls, how are the rest doing? We are now into getting our July trip and dinner stuffs together. Manage to get the accomodation done, ordered cupcakes and now have to start getting mailing address from guests for invitation. Time ticks fast and here I am still putting on weight!! WIsh me luck when I try on my gown again LOL

margiel

Oops typo when i read my post.
"...Our celebrant is an elderly man (look like KFC old man) and he is very caring! He also gave at the beginning of the ceremony."
Ya our celebrant gave me away at the beginning of the ceremony since dad is in heaven

de_luxe

lala i laughed when i read your post about forgetting your vows, cuz i forgot mine! There's a bit that I'm supposed to memorize but i was so nervous I forgot it after the first couple of words.. the cam caught me peeking at the JP's sheet to read the words! LOL!

I've put up ads for our dining set on gumtree.com.au and simpletrade.com.au since the weekend and still no responses yet... keeping my fingers crossed. Was trying to use e-bay too but the oz site requires a verified PayPal account and it takes 3-5 days to activite it! Still waiting for the activation...

pinkpony

Hiya! Thanks Margiel, you've just confirm that its not normal for our case. We're pretty sure that the guy at winery will do a good job in hospitaility and his knowledge of wines. But definitely not decorations etc. Sigh!

The photographer and videographer came back with quote, it will cost us at least $3.5K for everything. Now its all about $$$$$$$$!!!

Hahaaa!! De_luxe!!!! The celebrant said she will pass us our own written vows and we read ourselves. We can also choose those 'Repeat after me' kind.. really depends what we want.

How about posting it in supermarket kind? I was thinking of 'Cold Storage' posting which I often will scan through to see anything interesting?

Have you been to an AFL game? Its actually quite cultural thing for me as the other time went for the first time to MCG and watch with HTB fav's team. There was good 60,000 people on stadium. Might want to soak yourself into Aussie culture before leaving the country!

Oh yes, I think i saw Yunizah the other time in B'meadows. Is she learning how to drive? I was at VIC roads to book appt to convert my SG driving license. And saw this learner driving really slow past me. I waved to her, but she didn't see me. Might also bec. of the tint in car.. anyway!

Oh yes, thanks for recommending the Cantonese rest. in Chinatown Emi! Haha!! *Notes taken*

Got to work now!!

cheryl_l

can i join your thread?
am already married and soon migrating to melbourne,in mid July this year

i m cheryl, currently me still in s'pore, hb oredi in Melbourne....

also, seems there are a few active members in this thread....hehee.....can kindly gimme a short intro

r u gals working there,how long have u all been in melbourne? all married? any with kids or planning one?
how's life in melbourne?

sorry to ask too many questions...

jacq23

hello cheryl! Welcome to this thread, you bet that there are active members
perhaps you can join us on our outings when you're here next time!

talking abt outings, is anyone going to see sex and the city? if not, you guys keen to organise a group thingy? let me know...

margiel

Welcome Cheryl! When will you be joining your hb in Melb? Will u guys be here for good?
I came over to Melb last Sep after we got married in July (in melb too). Am current working part time after a year break away from work
Life in Melbourne is definitely much relaxing compared to Sg. Really depend what you want to do when u are here e.g. home maker or getting a job. Meanwhile enjoy your transition preparation

Hi jacq, the next group thingy is the Potluck at your place on 14Jun rite? Looking forward to it! Are you keen to have one before the Potluck? hmmm cant think of gg where except makan and teh/kopi session heehhee...

pinkpony

Welcome Cheryl! I am sure you'll enjoy Melbourne. Heaps Melbournian brides here! Yay! One more member!

Self intro. I am getting married in Oct in Adelaide (where my HTB hometown is) and a simple reception in SG (where I come from!). Not thinking kids at the moment. Haha!! Both of us is working in Melbourne. What makes you choose Melbourne to migrate to?

Jacq, Simon already promised to go and watch Sex and City with me as he made me go with him for Indiana Jones. But its OK, I am sure will enjoy more with the girls! Hehe..

Margiel, did you have a professional photographer here? How much did you pay for it?

Yeah, talking abt 14 June, De_lux and Sammic, I can pick you all along the way. I know where you live now
Hey, de_lux, can ask your hubby to join lah... hehe.. *special condition* since he's leaving Melbourne too
Jacq, your place can fit one more man? LOL!!

sammic

Hi Cheryl,
Melb is a nice city, i'm sure you'll like living here. i came here as an overseas student in 1996, currently working. Getting married here in winter. After that having post-wedding dinner (a small one, for the extended families) in Sgp. Then after that have to think of a short honeymoon destination, still dunno yet! feel like something tropical...hehe...

Gals, i'm interested in SATC movie, just curious about that wedding dress and the fashion! My friend in London said she enjoyed it very much. Anyone else wanna catch it together? :)

Miss Lala, very nice of you...Thanks! if u prefer, i can come to your place and join u on that day.

Have a good one, you all!

de_luxe

welcome cheryl i'll be gone from melbourne by the time you get here. I'm leaving on 29 june to move back to sg. We haven't been here long, only since 28 Dec 07. I'm married to a German since 2006 and we are moving here and there cuz of his job.

lala just managed to post the ads on e-bay. I din see any notice boards in the supermarkets here.. else i would use them too.

i've not been to any AFL games yet, we were talking about going some time ago but haven't done anything abt it yet.

Hmm, i dun think Yusnizah is learning to drive. I think she already has a licence. Might be a case of mistaken identity?

Thanks for the offer... I'll ask HB if he wants to join, dunno if he might feel like the odd one out.

jacq i'm not a big fan of Sex and the City so was thinking of giving the movie a pass.

happy222

definitely see some active members of this thread
, btw, where do u gals live, my hb said he just found a rented house in blackburn area, anyone live near there?
any good place to buy furniture?

Jacq, sure wud definitely like to join the outings, can see tat u gals are quite 'on' in outings....hehee....

Margiel, will be coming over in mid July
, we gotten our PR last year, so shd be for good unless we dont like melb.
wat kinda part time job u working? is it easy to find part/ full time job in Melb? i wud prefer to work ...hehee...but nt sure whether can find job, i m in E&E engineering, anyone here?

Lala, actually i have nvr been to Melb.....hahaa.....been to Perth & find it to boring, sydney too cosmo, so choose melb
, U married to an Australian? so, u coming back SG this Oct?

Sammic, wahhh!!, so u have been in Melb for 8 yrs!! that is long....u must b very familiar ard there, can be my tour guide?...hehee...ur hb surtralian? honeymoon -Tropic?Bali is a beautiful & romantic place for honeymoon, u can consider tat.

deluxe, wat a waste, cant meet u oredi
. Me working in a German company in s'pore. so ur hb posting back to s'pore? btw, wat r u selling?
My hb buying furniture for our rental house now....

eminozy

hi hi girls!

how are u all? I am excited and rejuvenated! woohoo.
oh and welcome to Cheryl. u can call me emi and like sam, ive been around here for a while too since 2000 but was formerly living in adelaide. Now i just got a job here thanks to sam in RMIT after searching for 3 years!!!!( i nearly died) and heheheh too happy now. I got married last year to a german and we are here till we dont know when!

de-luxe how can u not be a SATC fan? I remember i watched like a whole of the last season in my friends apartment crying my ass off in Madrid the whole day! heheh its amazing.

I would love to join you girls to see it too! hehehe theres a lot of special screenings happening around melb.... with cocktail parties or for breast cancer and previews too... so how???

Oh is the Jacq still doing the 'party' in Doncaster on the 14th?

hope to meet up with you guys again soon.
have a great weekend!

PS: corrine... how did bertil got sick? hows the packing doing? what have u been up to?

adelaide brides... i would love to be your wedding coordinator BUT now i got a job, i cant move around! hehehhahahh. but more than happy to give u colour or visual advicelah!

jacq23

congrats emi! wat sort of work will u be doing?

hey gals, i'm not so sure about the party thing cos i feel bad that no one can bring their partners cos my house not big enough. wat say we all go out for dinner and intro our other halves then?

anyway can everyone let me know who is keen for SATC? So far, Sam, Emi, myself and a galfren wants to join as well...any other takers? perhaps next weekend in a cinema in the city?

margiel

Jacq, ralf wont be coming along cos the boys should be around on that weekend and if it is a girls' thingy, I prefer to go alone
Im fine with either arrangement, watever is easiest!

Once again, Congratulations Emi!

Hi Cheryl, Im working as a part timer (3.5 days a week) in a special school as teacher aide. Cant advice u on your field but u may want to check it out on jobseek.com Hope it helps
Have you started your packing in Sg? We will be away in Sg for a '2nd wedding' during mid July, would like to catch up with you when Im back hee...

Lala, thanks for the link, am still deciding to bring my gown back here to sell.. hmm cant decide.. too much of 'what if....' LOL

Deluxe, I got my pair of boots! Not the water proof type of material but it fits prefectly and The one and only piece with the right size on the shelve!! got it for $35 tho... Grab it and might get hubby to spray the water proof thingy on it. Very happy buy!

eminozy

jacq...no need to bring partner lah.. us only! hehehahahah.

i asked claire to come but she said she is only free after the 19th june... she is finishing her paper then.

thanks for the congratulatories.... if there is such a word. Work will start on wed for me... i am kinda nervous.. coz its a lot more responsibilities than what i am doing now paperwork wise. hehehe

pinkpony

Yoyo! This thread is moving so quick!!

First of all, Congrats Emi! Actually I didn't even know you're looking for a job! Haha. Good for you but no more sleeping-in and precious weekend... lol! And btw, I think I am the only Adelaide bride lah. Hehe... no worries abt that, you are in interstate too, not like you're in Adelaide now. And the deco. thing in venue is still a pain

Jacq, count me in for the Sex and City! Next weekend is fine. Its long weekend isn't it?! Yay! We watched Indiana Jones yesterday. I was good! But I told Simon to 'postpone' the one he owe me cus I am watching with you girls. Don't feel bad abt not being able to invite the Hubs to your place. Like Margiel said, if its a girls thing, I am sure the Hubs are happy to be left alone. Ha! But I was thinking if this is for Delux's farewell, I kinda feel it makes sense to have both of them there, thats why suggested. But anyway, looks like Delux's hub is thinking too

Margiel, hopes the link helps. I thought no harm putting it up on the site anyway, you call the shots. Maybe put up high high price and 'check' out the market! Haha! Hey, I was checking out nice boots too! Hehe.. yah, I am everything. The one I got has too much heels, I can't wear too long as its straining to the calves

Cheryl, I am working in Engineering field for an American company. My background is Chemical and Mktg. I just asked my HTB, he said EE is good here. There seems to be a shortage of skilled Engineers here. That must be a huge step for you to migrate here. Will you miss SG? I'm going back in Nov. for my wedding - CAN'T wait!!!!!!!!!!

Hey for the Melbournian, welcome Winter ;) So cold today isn't it. Rain and fog. So gloomy. And HTB kept asking me pile up on fabric instead of switching on the heater everytime. He said Global Warming!!!! Sigh. Someone pls help!

Oh yes, earlier someone said maybe we can change activities apart from makan-ing... how abt anyone likes to sing? I went to a karaoke place open by Korean few yrs back at Burwood. But heard its gone. Saw another one near where Margiel stays, think its the Roast Duck place we went.. anyone keen?

de_luxe

wow cheryl you guys are brave, moving here without having been here first. When will you be arriving? I'm living in Toorak, not sure where blackburn is. I'm still geographically hopeless in Melb. We're moving back cuz HB accepted a job offer at NTU. We've always known that Melb will be temporary just didn't expect the stay to be that short.

Aside from Ikea, you can also check out Fantastic Furniture and Freedom for cheap stuff. We looked around a fair bit but most other shops seem rather ex.

We're selling our dining set, TV console and bookshelves which were brought over from SG. Everything is less than 1.5 yrs old. We would rather not bring them back cuz staff apts in NTU are furnished and it will also make us exceed the shipping allowance by quite a bit. We also have a queen bed here that was bought in Feb at Fantastic Furniture, will be happy to sell it too if you're interested. I can email u photos and details if you want.

Oh i think engineers are in great demand here. I know someone's hubby is an engineer and he got a job within 2 wks of arriving in Melb. Where you previously studying in Oz?

margie how's ur prep for your 2nd wedding going?

$35 is a very good deal for boots! Where did u get it from?

emi congrats! have fun at work! will you still be working on a casual basis at the nursing home?

Guess i'm not a SATC fan cuz it's banned in sg, I think it's only available on HBO which we dun have so never actually watched it. I saw an episode or 2 later on but already lost the plot so can't follow the storyline anymore.

Dunno how Bertil got sick lah... he got a bit of a runny nose before leaving for Frankfurt. And a day after he was back, he started coughing and later got a fever. Been on MC almost the whole week, only worked like half days on Monday and Friday. No fever anymore, but still coughing away.

Hai, haven't started packing lah.. i think i'll leave most of it to the movers to do, except for some bulky stuff that i'll vaccum pack about 2 weeks later. Still trying to finish the sauces and all in the pantry. Feels like an impossible task.

lala yah it's been so cold... we have the heating switched on since late afternoons now. Guess no choice, got to wear more layers to save the earth lah... also to save money cuz the utilities bills will shoot up due to the cost of heating. I guess your heating is electric which is more expensive than gas. Our apt is always so cold, I usually wear pants/jeans at home with a T-shirt and sweater and add socks at night - yes even with the heater on!! I dunno if it's a side effect of the miserable weather, but i've been craving comfort food recently. Have been thinking about Teo Chew porridge for the past few days!! Bet it's not available here!

If you're looking for cheap boots, there's a factory outlet shop on chapel street, just after the irish pub, almost all for $50 each. I don't think it has a name. That's where i bought mine.

Jacq i'm ok with anything, at your place or outside. Whatever the rest is more comfortable with.

margiel

Lala, count me in for karaoke (even tho my voice croaks!) Have never been to any here but would love to go if there's kakis.

Deluxe, my boots is with suede outside and inner is with the wool-look alike material, got them from Target under Piping Option. See if I could put the picture up later

Happy Winter Season Everyone! Cheers..

sammic

Hello girls,

Hope you all had a nice weekend. Mine was busy...met with tailor, decorator and caterer all on a Sat...rushed liked mad man...but got things sorted. heh heh...

Cheryl, i think engineering is in demand now, perhaps can speak to recruitment agents when u come over...to get a better idea of the industry

I'm up for SATC movie, and any activities for farewell gathering for Deluxe. Please lemme know when and where and i'll be there. Thanks! my fiance won't be coming becos he has to study for an exam on 18 June.

Congrats Emi, drinks after work, your SHOUT! heheh...

Looking forward to hanging out together again! :)

cest_la_vie

Hi hi

May I join you all in this thread? I am moving to Adelaide... Hopefully by end of this year. Me and my HB are still waiting for our visa to be approved. Meanwhile, we would like to gain as much information as we can. We have never been there. Please advise ^-^

pinkpony

Margiel, your boots look SO warm and comfy!!! That's like exactly what you need in a weather like this. The height of the heel is what I'm looking for too.

Thanks De_lux for the $50 boots place! Will check-out soon!

Today fog is terrible isn't it! Glad HTB flew off last night cus heard many flights got delayed or re-routed to Adelaide.

So this weekend, Jacq and other SATC ladies, where are we meeting? Any preference of Sat. or Sunday? Can I proposed Sat. afternoon if no one has a preference? Hehe...

Oh welcome to the thread Lings! Adelaide!!!!!!! Aweeeee.... most of the girls here are Melbournians. There's a girl nick -ET, Emily (who haven't wrote in for a while) is living in Adelaide. And I believe its all known to the girls here that SA is also a all time fav. place for Emilia Jo lives in Adelaide for about 6 yrs and always rave about the goodness there *wink*

As for myself, HTB is from Adelaide. Its a beautiful city. I am getting married there in this coming Oct., up in the Adelaide hills. HTB's family is still there and we visit them pretty often.

To Lings and Cheryl, yes, it's really indeed (like De_lux said) very brave to move out of SG to a place you've never been to for good? Or have you all studied here before??????

cest_la_vie

Congratulations Lala

Have you prepare everything? Few more months to go for your AD. You must be excited.

Mine was last year and I had my wed dinner at Mercure... by the pool side with Mediteranean theme. Unfortunately the weather was too warm if not everyhting was just perfect. You know Spore weather

We have never been to Adelaide before and I was study in Switzerland. So basically we are just taking a risk to move there. Would it be hard to get accommodation there? How about getting a job there? Well.. not sure if it is for good. If we like it there, will stay on.

Ohh I am so glad at least one of you are in Adelaide.

I have been waiting to move in there for almost 2 years and hopefully our visa will be granted soon.

eminozy

Hi Lings.
welcome to our thread. Just wondering, why did you guys chose adelaide to migrate to? hehehe. its sure an interesting choice for singaporeans. Most of them would never even think of it. hehehe.yeah i rave about adelaide for its warmth, dryness, closeness and quietness, which might not be something most people would rave about.

Jobs in Adelaide are definitely lesser than Melbourne. But then again theres so many jobs in Melbourne but so hard to get them. So either way i see it as the same somehow.

What were u studying in Swiss? De_luxe studied in France. Its interesting to know that there are quite a number of Sporeans who studied in Europe in here...heheh

Corrine.. i will be at my previous job every friday to do teh mural program!

margie... now i feel like i neeed a 3rd pair of boots.... hehehehe.

oklah talk later.

See you on Thursday Sam! woohoooo

cest_la_vie

Hi Emilia thanks for your warm welcome

We would like to experience a different lifestyle and cultures. SA gov is promoting their state so our points are enough to be eligible for applying skilled independent visa and of course we don't want to miss this opportunity ^_^

Lala mentioned that you have been there for 6 years so you must like it there.. I presume

May I know what are you working as? Do you have family there? Which area are you staying in? Hehehe I post too many questions at once

I studied Hospitality Management course but I am no longer working in the hotel line. Tried for 2 years and it was very tiring.....

Oh yeahh forget to mention that I am actually Indonesian (holding PR here) and married to a Sporean. I have been staying in Spore since April 2004.

sammic

Hello everyone

Nice to meet you Lings! Hope you'll like SA and do come to melb for a visit!

Cheryl, when u come to melb, me as tour guide? i can show u around the city area, asian grocery shops, nice places to eat, and how to take the tram, quite easy to get around. won't get lost one.

Miss Lala, i can meet on Sat arvo, but where? :)

i envy u guys, can wear high boots here, i cannot, my legs thin like chopsticks, when i try on, there's so much loose space around the calf area, looks weird, and also when it rains, the water will fill up inside da boots, heh heh.... :)