Anyone planning a SG wedding but currently in Australia?

de_luxe

Hey Lala what a coincidence... we had our wedding at Mandarin Oriental too... we used the outdoor area called Harbour Terrace, opposite the restaurant you mentioned (Dolce Vita) for the dinner and there's another area at the back near the kids' pool for our solemnization. Took the risk to not have a marquee and thank goodness there was no rain (it poured cats and dogs the next day). Ambience and view were really nice...some pple mentioned that it was rather warm tho I found it quite ok in my gown and all. My photographer had to request for more lighting cuz he went down to observe a wedding held there before mine with their normal lighting and found that it's too dark and that couple's photographer was complaining how hard it was to get a good shoot.

Not sure what the minimum for the area is, prob ard 60 - 80 since the max is 150.

I've heard abt many pple doing overseas shoot too (NZ and Taiwan are popular locations too), was very tempting esp when i saw those beatiful sceneries but i found it too expensive, air fare, etc... but i guess most pple treat it as a once in a lifetime affair or holiday and more willing to spend.

Oh... my fren would like to come on Sat but will be able to make it only from 12pm onwards.

alysgal

Sorry for taking so long to get back to you, I have been so caught up with work lately. =(

As for saturday, I've got no preference either. will go with whatever you girls decide!

See you all on saturday!

eminozy

hello alys...relax matteey..hehehe. you're in melbournelah... :p

Oklah in that case, i just take it as IPOH JAYA, okiely dokiely, girls?

I will book it tomorrow.

Confirmed Makan List

Venue:

Ipoh jaya
90 Queensberry St
Carlton, VIC 3053
Its diagonal to Ying Thai

TEL: (03) 9349 2988

Time: 11.30am

1. Emi - OK
2. Lala - OK
3. Deluxe - OK
4. Margie - OK
5. Deb - OK
6. Jacq - OK
7. ET - Maybe
8. Alys - OK
9. Sammic - OK
10. Claire- Maybe
11. De_luxe's friend- OK

eminozy

aiyahhhhhhhh....got problem! Ipohjaya doesnt open for lunch at all....so where shall we go guys? they opened thursday-sunday 5pm-1030pm!

ok..have to wreck my brain... how about yumcha at shark fin house in chinatown ..sat morning till lunch?

eminozy

aiyahhhhhhhh....got problem! Ipohjaya doesnt open for lunch at all....so where shall we go guys? they opened thursday-sunday 5pm-1030pm!

ok..have to wreck my brain... how about yumcha at shark fin house in chinatown ..sat morning till lunch?

or any other suggestion?

Theres Vegie Bar in brunswick street. anyone been there?

jacq23

oh no...after all that! yumcha is ok but I think we would probably have to be there by 11am for the first sitting?

I've always wanted to go to Vegie Bar (I think it's called Sustenance?) but it doesn't look like it can hold a large party at least from the outside...

there's this jap place called J Cafe on Exhibition St (cnr Bourke) which is affordable authentic jap if anyone is keen?

eminozy

hey corrine.

thanks for looking for a place. I was just online with jacq after i saw her message and she called JCAFE and reserved a place for us. If anyone is not too happy with that. we can still cancel but since it a saturday lunch, i dont know if its a good idea to forgo this.

the website is http://jcafe.sushiburger.com.au/index.html

VENUE: JCAFE
167 Exhibition Street
Melbourne 3000 VIC
9650 9877
TIME: 12pm
PAX: 11 people

de_luxe

No prob with the venue... looking forward to meet all of you.

BTW, does anyone have a car rental company to recommend? We're thinking of going somewhere over the Anzac wkend (esp cuz they gonna replace the tram tracks in front of our place during the 3 days) but haven't decided where or done any research yet. I looked at the website of Network Car Rentals and the rate quoted ranges from $45-55 per day - is that the normal rate?

eminozy

hey corrine... Good idea! Thats what being in AUstralia is all about, going away on a long weekend!

Before we had our own car we always rent from RENT A BOMB ( u should google them), 4 days would cost us about $250. If not we would also rent from Budget or Hertz because we want to get frequent flyer points! If you want to rent a car over this period, you better do it fast coz its a long weekend, and most cars would already been booked!

emilyteo

Hi Gals! Sorry for being MIA for so long.... been really busy with work due to my upcoming trip back in Singapore.

I dont think I'll be able to join you gals this Saturday. However, will look forward for the next opporunity, if I also a Melbourne....

Have fun and take lots of pic and keep me update on multiply!

jacq23

good stuff guys...see you on saturday!!

about rent-a-bomb, that has jogged my memory from 5 yrs ago when we first moved to melb. we rented a bomb from rent-a-bomb and trust me they lived up to their name at that time but anyway we were stuck in peak hour traffic in the bomb and...my fiance realised that the third gear was not working!!! so everytime he accelerated, he had to shift from first straight to third gear...hahah...i was so stressed man...
but it seems that they have upscaled their cars since then as i saw a few newer models recently...just thought my experience would prove entertaining

margiel

Hi Sammic, wats ur ID at the facebook? Jacq and Emi had put up few photos there. Hope to add u in too

Hey girls, yes the meet up was really fantastic and for that few good hours, I felt sooooooo 'Singaporean'. Looking forward to having such again

sammic

Hi Marg
can search for me on FB: samchen79[/|alias/at/]gmail[/|dot/]com
thanks and lets meet up again sometime!

margiel

Hi Sam, i tried but nothing came out from the search. Would u like to add me in instead? My Facebook is Margie LR. Hope it works

margiel

Hello girls! How's everyone doing?
Hey ET, how's ur wedding preparation getting on? Saw from the multiply calender that your wedding day is on 15 May! That's getting very near
Stay cool and Do keep us updated ok?!

sammic

Hi! Hope everyone is well.
After analysing the quotations received. i've also chosen the same package as Margiel. heh heh.
Wanna meet up again? :)

margiel

Oh dats great Sammic, finally u hv settled on ur Sg wedding venue! Is ur coordinator Charlene? She's a nice lady and is able to accomodate if you have special requests
Did Marriot offer u Legacy Suite too? We are having the same colour theme as shown on their photos (red & gold). When is ur Sg dinner?

de_luxe

Congrats sammic, that was a pretty fast decision... one hurdle down

I'm trying to help my sis with her wedding in Oct from here, a little tough with the distance but trying anyway... can somebody tell me what's the market rate for BS packages w/out photography these days? I paid ard S$5k in 2005/06 and that was already considered expensive but my sis says that it's now around S$9K?!!?! I nearly fainted! I know things have gotten more expensive but an increase of S$4K in 2 years is a lot!

Anybody keen on yum cha? I've been thinking abt it since walking past this new chinese restaurant on chapel st...their prices made my heart skip a beat tho!

pinkpony

Hiya ladies! I am back. Its been SO freezing cold the past few days isn't it!

Margiel and Sammic, does the function room in Marriot that you've booked on has a big 'waiting lounge' area? The reason why I am asking is bec. I needed one as that will where my tea ceremony is. Sigh. I'm so flicker minded ;)

ET, I am going to Adelaide on the 26th May that weekend. We have listed a whole lot of suppliers that we need to meet - celebrant, photographer and confirm the cakes etc. Are you free to meet up? Let me line-up those appointments first, then shall let you know exactly when, provided you're available too lah. Hehee..

De_luxe, $9K is definitely WAY too much. The last I was checking was in Nov. last year? And prices are still reasonable. Can get $3888 for a package. Where is your sister based? I find going down along Tanjong Pagar stretch and walk into each and every shop. This will gives her some perceptive what range of package.

Hey, what do you girls think... my wedding theme colour as white and 'Lemon Yellow' or 'Bright Red'? I've seen magazines that Red goes so well with White... its bit Chee-na but so oriental and nice! Yellow is also such a happy colour. It will brighten up the place isn't it! Ohhh.. any suggestions? I really need to decide the color theme soon as I've to set the type of flowers on the cupcakes etc.

Yum Cha sounds good too! I'm for it!

jacq23

hey guys - happy with yum cha. deluxe, are you refering to the place at a corner of a side street and chapel? it operates more like a tea house? i went it to check out teas and they are even more expensive than T2!!

let me know when you guys available to catch up

eminozy

aaaaahhh... i think i know that one .. apparently its GOOD. the yumcha place on chapel.

lala.... Its ok to go cheena as long as u do it in STYLE.
i went very malay too but in STYLE. lotsa stereotype you have to avoid.. I think if you can make it ala... Shanghai- tang period it would be awesome.....
think 1930s... think romance. think 'In the mood for love' think HONGKONG, :p

Good luck.

pinkpony

But yellow is very nice too isn't it?!! Its happy and most importantly, I have ready Singapore Yellow Orchids to go with it!! If I choose Red, it will be Red roses- quite boring? But I can 'paint' my face with Red lipstick. I think they'll look good in my tan complexion. Aiyo, how ah Sayang?!!!

De_luxe, I also went into your Facebook. The photos are all so nice! I saw you in one of the Kwa. I really like it but I tried it the other time at my BS, I look terribly weird leh. I am not sure if that's just me, but I feel I strange with that traditional clothing. Somewhat not me... make sense?

eminozy

I had HUGE yellow crysanthemuns on my blue songket with gold trimmings on the table... it was such a wonderful contrast. and on some tables i had forest of the flames with Green tropical huge leaves... on white tables. it was a wonderful mix with tealight candles... :p

yellow red and white can work well.. but it depends on what shades u looking at?

margiel

Lala, outside the Legacy Suite room is the cocktail & reception area, quite huge to me and most imptly there's privacy, dun think there's any other function room next to that area so most likely they wont be unknown guests walking around

What about having your tea ceremony in your hotel room? More comfy?
Oh if u remember the last time we went Marriot together, that is the level (level 2), remember the mooncake counter? The room is slightly further up with red cushioned looking walls all over.

I like the white and red theme
Looks bright and elegant, hmmm not sure abt yellow, i think if white and yellow for day time, that will prob give a cheery, youthful, happy look esp when u have bright daylight but if during dinner with orangey lightings, then u might want to advise ur photographer abt the colour theme so that he can fix up his camera settings. Well how abt 3 colours together? Like wat Emi suggested, then no need to 'headache' liao *kekeke*

Eh Girls, I'm ON for yum cha! Isit the authentic kind with good har kow, siew mai, egg tart, chee cheong fun, peh dan chok (century egg porridge) etc... oooooooww me drooling oredi LOL Count me in! Let's have it before Deluxe go back to Sg!
Ok Im excited about it, let me volunteer myself to organise name list and date again, but need input for venue and time

Get the ball rolling

Margaret
Available weekends in May: 17-18/5, 31/5

Sammic

Lala

Emi

Deluxe

Jacq

jacq23

Hi Marg, the one in chapel st doesn't seem like the authentic type so we have 2 choices i.e. westlake/dragonboat in chinatown or chapel st one.

emi, u want to invite claire along also?

Margaret
Available weekends in May: 17-18/5, 31/5

Sammic

Lala

Emi

Deluxe

Jacq - any weekend from 17 May onwards

de_luxe

Hello everyone! I'm ok any day... have never had yum cha in melb before so dunno where's good.

Jacq i think the one you mentioned is called Oriental Tea House.. it looks like a tea shop cum cafe? That's quite well established i think but I've looked at the menu n think it's not the kind of yum cha we get in SG, rather westernized. It got reasonable ratings in The Age but probably ang mo tastebuds, lol...

The new one i saw is near to Pran Central, corner Commercial Rd and Chapel St called China Tea House. I think they only opened 1-2 months ago, first time I went past it was still being renovated. It's quite a huge space with carved Chinese chairs and at the back the kitchen with the hanging ducks, etc.. have never walked past it during meal times so dunno if it's good. I find the menu rather ex and the yum cha selection isn't great, only managed to make me think about having yum cha elsewhere.

Wow emi your table decor sounds very nice and elaborate.. dun remember seeing any pics of it tho? are they on your multiply?

ms lala Thanks for the compliment. The kwa was the standard OTR from the BS, i actually decided after the photo shoot that i didn't like the red flowers in my hair... hahaha.. and i wished i insisted on putting HB in the male version, no budget that's why we didn't rent one for him.

Yeah, i understand what you mean by feeling strange in it... i felt the same too, din even expect to look good in it, only wore it to please my mom . My mom once rented one of those Qing dynasty costumes with the big headgear and stacked shoes.. we tried on and took photos for fun... i tot i looked really weird in it and since then had the impression that i dun suit cheena clothes. BTW the Kwa red colour came off on my skin during the outdoor shoot cuz of all the sweat, make sure you bring wet tissues if you are doing an outdoor shoot in that!

Your wedding theme colour is for the oz one? if you think red and white too cheena and not particularly pantang about colours, you can use red and black lace or red and royal blue, will look very lux i think but the scheme/style has to also suit the venue lah. Agree with margie abt the white and yellow, that would be cheery and very suitable for daytime / garden theme.

I tot you confirmed your bqt at Oriental already? Actually i did my tea ceremony in the Garden Suite, in the private foyer room. I liked it cuz it's private and has sofas. Was big enough for both sides of my families and a handful of overseas guests. Actually wanted to do it in the tea section of their chinese restaurant, i find it done in a very nice Chinese style, stylish and classic but not cheena. But they would only do it if my tea ceremony takes place when the chinese restaurant staff are on duty i.e. just before each meal period, and that would have clashed with my solemnization. Usually the hotels will allow you to use 1 of their function rooms FOC for tea ceremony, as long as not peak period for conferences, etc...just need to ask them.

Oh i got my numbers wrong, we paid less than S$4k for BS package and PW... my sis also didn't give me the full details, only just found out it includes that the S$9K includes AD and PW photography, shoes, gowns, 2 suits, dry cleaning and something else... she's in sg and has been to quite a few BS, but either too ex, dun like service and/or gowns... AND they made some hasty decisions so now over budget and have to find ways to cut corners. The wedding is in Oct and she's doing a PW but still doesn't have a BS.. OMG, i think i more kan cheong than her!

Oh yah, btw, we're leaving melb on 29 june, movers are coming in 27 june. Been slowly starting the moving arrangements... we've informed the agent already to terminate our lease, surprisingly they weren't too upset abt it. Well, if anyone is looking for an apt in Toorak, let me know cuz we have to pay rent until the new tenant comes in and i hope the agent doesn't drag their feet...it's fairly large (2 bedrm + study), has all the white goods included, washer, dryer, fridge and microwave, located just next to Toorak Village, tram directly in front and train nearby.

sammic

Hi Gals!

To answer all your questions: I'm having the Legecy Loom, think there is a pre-function area for cocktails outside the room, but dunno how big the area is. my coordinator is alison and it will be on the Saturday of the grand prix weekend. they provide decor themes? so i guess i can choose then?

i luv oriental tea house on chapel st, expensive, and not much selection, only went there like 3 times in the past 3 years...looking at $25 to 30 per person. i'm happy with westlake or dragonboat in chinatown too, they are nice too! think most yum chas have 2 sessions, 11am and 1pm?

available: 17+18 May, 31 May(gotta leave at 2pm, so would prefer 11am session) and 1 June onwards

looking forward to meeting you all again!

eminozy

hello..seems like my weekends are all green flag right now. I will have to ask Claire about Yum Cha. meeting her on sunday....
And also i would like to recommend Shark Fin House in Chinatown... Its not bad either... i think about $20-30 per person as well.But we ate heaps of seafood with that price.

Thanks Corrine... my deco is in my album in multiply- Singapore wedding.

But heres a snippet of my table. Seriously, my wedding was bursting with colours, and for a while i doubted myself..but after which when it was done IT was perfect in my eyes. i was quite overwhelmed actually. hehehahah

Everything i did for my wedding was individual. I had to go through everything with the providers one by one to what i want.

hehehehahha. this is what happened when u too pedantic and have a sort of visual.
I should become a wedding consultant! hehehahah

666380.jpg

pinkpony

Ohhhh... deluxe. What an shame. You are really confirm going back! It wasn't seems long at all since we were sharing notes about the movers thingy. Ohh... hmmm.. well, I am sure you guys have gone through much thoughts to arrive at this decision.

Yeah, I am SO close to confirm Oriental - actually the contract is done but some minor changes etc. Well, no harm in meantime checking out others right.. hehe. Anyway, yep, my tea ceremony intend to be in the Garden suite reception area... I like it bec. its so bright and green! Very garden-y... ha!

I'm available too on the 17/18 May. Not the one after. Hopefully can meet ET in Adelaide then!! Then the 30th one is too far lah... but now should be ok for that.

Forgot to tell you gals. I am bit colours freak lah. I am known for coordinating colours - even my usual clothings and dressing, sometimes even watch, shoe, eye shadow... all must match. LOL!! Non-creative at all. Boring gal. So, having colours theme is a BIG deal for me.

Like I was thinking, maybe I will have my garden ceremony in yellow and white theme. Then the reception which is just a stone's away can have red and white theme. BUT, what colour will my make-up be? Yellow or Red tone eyeshadow? Lipstick colour? *faint* I know. Sorry ah.. let me have some moments of my perfect world.

Hey, for Margiel and Jacq. you girls having in June/July? It will be very soon!!!!

Oh yes, do you all realised that the diamond shops here are all very reasonable price for rings etc? I saw from the outside of the shop that the carat is abt same likewise for mine but cost like half the price!! Is it not real? Or they're really cheaper? Any good jewery shop for wedding bands? HTB got my engagement from Fairy's Inc in SG. Now, no fairy in Melb.. how ah?

Alright, we shall catch up when we meet.

margiel

Looks like all of us are fine on that 17-18th weekend. Ok Let's have it on 17 May (sat) then

Now we need to confirm on the venue and time.

pinkpony

Yeah, 17th is good. HTB is travelling again.. so I'll have whole of that weekend available ;) Oh, that also means I've no chauffer liao!!!

Venue, thought its that Yum Cha place at Chapel St right.. since its Yum Cha, means Dim sum right... means around 1130am again? Or earlier? Haha..

pinkpony

Yeah, 17th is good. HTB is travelling again.. so I'll have whole of that weekend available ;) Oh, that also means I've no chauffer liao!!!

Venue, thought its that Yum Cha place at Chapel St right.. since its Yum Cha, means Dim sum right... means around 1130am again? Or earlier? Haha..

jacq23

emi, i like your colour combi - it worked really well
hey wat type of bonbonierres (is that how you spell it) did u give your guests? I like the packaging. I only asked the hotel to pack a piece of sugee cakes with icing for mine then now I'm wondering whether it's nice enough or not?

ok so u gals pretty ok with the 17th? Shall we just meet at sharkfin house as suggested by emi since it's in the city and i guess convenient for all? let me know the numbers and i can make a booking. 11.30am?

eminozy

Thanks Jacq.. the bonbon...heheheh LONGGGGGGGG STORY.

i was so obsessed with margie's one at her wedding that i went all over melbourne looking for chinese takewaway boxes: from plastic to grade A paper type to colours, then at last i settled for a window one which i foond at a chinese shop at oakleigh a fraction of what i was about to pay. I bought about 400 of them here for less than $100 and packed them to bring to spore asking 2 other frens on seperate journey home to help me.

So teh normal guests got their beautiful cupcakes while my close family gets a bit extra... hold on i get u the picture....

my bridesmaid and mum took the whole morning to tie them up with ribbons!

And the cupcakes .... i didnt even get to eat them...

I do have a pair of the wooden boxes at home for memory!

ps: from feedback.. Everyone loves the cupcake... some got extra somore... I think if a bloody good cake is all you need to make people happy!
667045.jpg

eminozy

lala..i had so many issues with colours too. at first i wanted olive and brown.. then i wanted green and white.. then chris kept wanting BLUE BLUE BLUE.. so i said oklah.. Blue...

Then i wanted cybidiums( special green and brown orchirds)... but they were too ex so i settled for cymbidiums in my hair and my bouquet only and have tropical flowers at the wedding. And I love the fact that my cupcakes uses cabbage flowers.. so interesting!

Sekali come out got all the colours.. I was soo worried it will look like some crazy wedding but then again... it reflected me.. My close friends kept telling me .. Eh Emilia.. your wedding is sooooo yoU! ehehehhhahaha.

jacq23

Thanks for the pics emi! Great idea to have the chinese takeout boxes but becos i'm so lazy i probably won't go that extra length
i'm getting excited with the fact that i havent actually seen the ballroom design in person and it will be like a surprise for me on that day. i mean i've see the pictures and chosen the colours from there but i'm sure it's diff when u r seeing the actual thing for the first time...can't wait!

i received good news from the bridal shop today that they have just made some new dresses so i may decide to wear a different one from the one i had on for the prewedding photo shoot. i just can't believe how fickle minded i have been with the whole dress thing when it's supposed to be the most important thing for the bride!

sammic

Dragon Boat chinatown is closed for reno. So that leaves Sharkfin/Westlake/AY Oriental Teahouse. 11.30am is fine with me.
Anyone seen Ironman yet? i saw it over the weekend and it was awesome! heh heh...

de_luxe

I'm fine with 11 or 1130, whatever time the reservation is... 17 may turns out to be great as HB will be leaving that morning for germany for one whole week!!
Nothing better than yum cha to sooth the soul...

wow emi you really put a lot of effort into sourcing for stuff and decor.. the decor and cupcakes are really nice.. i will die if i had to go through every detail with independent vendors.. just dealing with the hotel was enough to drive me crazy - and my sis claimed that i was being picky!! You're very lucky to have help tying up the ribbons - i can't imagine anyone doing that for me!

sammic i haven't seen Ironman yet.. it didn't quite appeal to me but HB has been bugging me since he saw the trailer!!

ms lala yeah, it's a pity that we're moving again so soon.. i tot we'll be here ard a year.. oh well, must enjoy my last 2 months not working... have to find job etc back in sg.. NTU is arranging for us to move using KC Dat.. their partner agent here is Wridgeways - was it the same for you? So far the experience with KC Dat is already better but I dunno why Wridgeways has 3 different pple contacting us... so confusing, now i dunno who's who and who our key contact is.

Oh you haven't signed the contract with Oriental...I tot you've already signed the contract and paid deposit... if change mind and no refund, very painful on the pocket..

I'm very surprised to hear that jewellery is cheaper here cuz if compared to europe, sg is cheaper and nicer.. my sis was just asking if there's any wedding stuff here that's nice and cheaper than sg but since i've never looked at these stuff here, i told her i dunno but i guess it's not feasible for me to buy their wedding bands on their behalf here!!

pinkpony

Wow!! Emi.... yeah, your deco. looks SO you!! I can picture you in it! Its really nice. Very modern yet traditional style. I can see you've gone through lots details and time to do all that - just perfect for a resourceful person like you.. I don't know if I'm capable to do that... but you certainly trigger some ideas liao!! Thanks!!!

No, haven't seen Ironman.. honestly, I havent gone to any movies here yet. Opss... so mountain tortoise. We did went to watch the musical Phantom of the Opera though.. I actually find that very fun, partly bec. I get to dress up!! Would love to check out some concert at the music theatre in melbourne bontanical gardens though. Any lobang? Heard that cantonese star Sammy Cheng is holding one concert in Melbourne soon?

So, at least de_luxe, your move is covered by NTU.. so not so 'xiong'. Haha.. welcome to the bachelorette weekend! Hey, before you leave Melbourne for good, are you guys going to organise a farewell party? Maybe we can get our partner altogether for say BBQ?? Hehe... I am finding every excuse to party right?!! LOL!

Yeah, my company use KC Dat too.. they are good. The Melbourne one they use... can't recall leh... oh dear... forgot! Not Wridgeways. That one in Melbourne was just OK. They do just the minimal, nothing extraordinary.

Jacq.! At least you're spolit for choice! Mine is... sigh! I refused to think abt it but guess I have to soon. I designed one MTM just before I left SG. 4-months since here, no sound no picture from those guys. So, I just called the designer last weekend and he said oh, lace haven't sew in. I was like.. so, what have you done for the past few months while I'm away.. he said he'll only sew it in one month before as the lace might turn yellowish if its done too early. But he never told me that when I left for Aust. and what if after they sew it, I am not pleased with it? By then, I won't have time to source for another one! *tao tia ah*

So yay, dim sum this Sat!

sammic

i think jewellery is cheaper back home? i was looking at wedding bands here and found shops like bevilles, dunklings, thomas, zamels, they mark up prices a lot and have to bargain with them, dun't pay full price there! i also checked out cash converters too, good price but then all the rings there too big... and then as for shops like makers mark, paul bram and charles rose...i dun even dare to go in. :p But melb has some really talented independent jewellery designers...their custom designs are sold in etal on flinders lane

Sammi concert is over, i saw her melb concert back in 1999, and it was an amazing show.

the sidney music myer music bowl in botanic gardens got free summer performances, i went for the opera and classical music. perhaps have to wait until next summer, now too cold maybe?

thanks for booking yumcha Sat! i am fine with the earlier session, sharkfin or westlake!