Any mahjong players out there?

hi coolangel,

correct me if wrong: that is "xiao san yuan" think 3 folds, but u cannot anyhow game, still must form the tiles first.

hi boringbuangkok,

ya Wed confirm, but if no game also do try to let me know earlier so that me can plan other stuff, thanks!

coolangel,

For Da San Yuan: Need to pong Hong Zhong, Bai Ban and Fa Cai. Your remaining tiles can remain messy... If u have a pair of Fa Cai, then juzt need to show ur Fai Cai will do. The rest of the remaining tiles no need to show. If ur max is 5 fan, then its considered "man".

For Xiao San Yuan: Need to pong at least 2 of the 3(hong zhong, bai ban and fa cai). If you onli have 1 fa cai (waiting for "dan diao"), then your remaining tiles must be in order then u can win. Also "man" if u play xiao san yuan + ban se..

Not so sure if xiao san yuan + any of the kinds considered as "man" or nt..

Better ask some experts here to help on this!

Hi iliac
I know "da san yuan" no need to form tiles but "xiao san yuan" need to form tiles huh? I asked my friends who we were playing on friday nite also dun know lei.... so we agree to add 1 fold and no need to form tiles.... that why I want to know the correct playing method.

coolangel,

yup. need to form tiles for xiao san yuan. 3 folds if remaining of different kinds and types. But if u play pong pong hu, then 5 folds or ban se also 5 folds. Other than that is considered 3 folds.

Thanks for the advice. One more question

If I got 3 fai cai, 3 bai ban and 2 hong zhong in my cards can I game anyhow? or I need to "gang" first?

hi coolangel,

if somebody throws out a hong zhong, u can game immediately anyhow (da san yuan), otherwise its xiao san yuan & u will need to form the tiles 1st.

yah coolangel, you can win immediately even if the rest of the tiles are not formed yet. But u only need to shouw your hong zhong, bai ban and fa cai. Otherwise consider zha hu leh...

last sat, I also got bao by my friends' bf...I dun understand, later ask my friends and my mum, they disagree me got bao...they call it the all 1 and 9...

he bong dong/bird/9 bamboo, and game my 9 tong and I cannot remember, they said it's bao, what's you gals think?

what my mum & friend say if got dong or big card, is not consider 1, 9, 1 , 9

its consider chou yao jiu.

But should not BAO, cos its not a pure Yao Jiu. Unless you throw the tiles to him in a row of 4 times. means the DONG+Bird+9 Bamboo+9 Tong all you throw in a shot then consider BAO

yap ... must be all 1,9,1,9 then got bao ... if got dong is already half 1,9,1,9 then no bao one ....

its just like bao full colour ... no bao half colour principle ...

rest of panel ... correct anot?

hi boringbuangkok,

my understanding same as the rest, no need to bao since its not pure 1-9. that's why it's always better to clarify before the game or before u throw the tile.

oh but to add, but if the scenario is its 4 folds & u throw out a big card, or its bao fresh card & the 9 tong is fresh card, then gotta bao, but since u only throw a 9 tong & assuming its not a fresh card, then think no need. but me am not too sure also, better to check with my hubby.

Still got so many rules one huh.... luckily I always play with my friends who also "ban tong shui" or I always ask before I throw if play with experts.....will ask 'Bao" wat huh? Do ppl normally tell u "bao" wat tiles or not? Cos whenever I play they will tell me before hand.

MJ is a game with alot of rules. different rules playing with different ppl so there is no right or wrong. So to play safe check with the rest wat is the rule 1st.

sunnyling,

agree with u totally!

hey coolangel,

different people play their game differently....I will warn the other players wat pai to bao if i remember....but most of the time, the onus is on u. U have to look out for it & sometimes, u just gotta learn it the hard way.

ya, actually my mum always tell me that I such a beginning, dun play with those experts, becos I am those kind like to play play only, maybe those play with me know lah, I blur blur one, I just treat it as a game, not as if those must must win kind, there's a lot of rule I dun now, I dun even noe what 1 9 1 9....hai...

blur sotong...

tmr who on....it's me, iliac, GNV and ??

coolangel

playing with my families member they dun bother to tell you bao what you got to look out yourself if you kena bao is your own fault but playing with friend we will tell each other wat we bao.

yah lor... i think different pple play different rules... Onli pure 1/9 then got bao. If not, then not considered bao mah....

we play 13 yao double limit.. some play max 5 folds onli mah.. some play ping hu as 4.5 folds... so gotta agree on the rules b4 u start playing.. otherwise a lot of conflict!

so far i play with immediate family and frens will inform.. If u play wf those old aunties and relatives who veri ""professional"" they will tell u tat u gotta look out urself.. they will not tell u if they bao da pai or wat.. so gotta be veri careful...

sometimes pong or gang forget to take they also dun want to tell u.. hoping to bao u when u win! Forget to take flower they also dun tell u so then try to let u win so can bao u...

Play with this kind of pple gotta pay full attention one.. No play play.. Hahhahaha :-)

Thanks for the advice...so far I only play with my hubby's bros and sis, my close friends and my colleague and her hubby. They quite patience to teach me lor. They will tell me 'Bao" wat so if I throw wrongly then got "bao" luckily never happen yet..... I still confused abt ping hu also...sometimes I will ask can i game or not b4 I show the cards.

borinbuangkok,

I cant make it tomorrow. Have something on... Think iliac & tupper_mum on leave today... IF u want can give iliac a call to confirm on tomorrow's game lor... If nt urgent, maybe can wait till they are back tomorrow??

coolangel, same here.. I normally play with my husband's family and his frens.. My frens dun realli know how to play MJ one lah..... Sometimes i also make silly mistakes.. forget to draw flower so will xiao xiang gong lor... sometimes i so tired/blur till i forget to win or eat.. Hehehhe.... :-) My hubbi stand behind me see liao also blood boil! :-)

Hi Serrich
So u and me are "ban tong shui" MJ players...hee hee...... maybe we can play together...ha ha can give chance ......

Hi Boringbuangkok

I hope I can but I cant.... My working hrs is fr 11am till 8pm and I only go SK on weekend cos I haven customary yet.

coolangel,

Yah lor, we can play play together.. But I can tell u lor... New player doesnt mean will lose one.. MJ depends a lot on luck! No matter how expert u are, u can onli try to minimise lost by not throwing the winning tile. But if the person damn lucky and keep self pick, all lose like siao!! Hahhahaha :-)

borinbuangkok,
wah u so on!!! Come Jurong and play wf me lah.... Or Bukit Timah??? Sure got kah!!! My hubby also got fren staying at SK but cannot go his house play cos his family too big liao... Hehehe...

hi Serrich
Wow you stay far away from us lei.....

hmmm...weekends i also can lei...sat must after 8pm then sunday anytime till 6pm..... but this week not free going for my fitting

sorry can't ... me strictly a weekend player .... cos next day need to work ... will be very tired ... if fact usually after work me very tired and drained out ler ... pai seh ...

Hi boringbuangkok,

u read my email/sms? so how? hope u can let me know soon so that me can do my planning, thanks!

hi serrich,

erm, so are u staying jurong or bt timah? bt timah even better hehehe...

ai yo yo, very disappointed....no kakis from this forum can make it....hi iliac, we just confirm, at the most, my mum play, what you think....a few of my friends cannot confirm yet leh....what you think?

Hi coolangel,

u are wrong liao, me no expert lah, in fact me am very 'green' hehe... that day just xiao xiang gong at the very 1st round when playing with boringbuangkok they all
me of course also prefer location convenient for me, but its not easy to suit everyone so me try to accommodate if me can, maybe cos me still rather new to the game so me more enthusiastic loh haha...

Hi boringbuangkok

I really hope I can play cos ...sob sob my mum's place too far away from yr place if not I dun mind going straight after work.....sigh....my hand itchy liao.....

hi boringbuangkok,

oh no me just told my mom me going back for dinner liao while reply coolangel's posting cos me wait & wait but no news from u, shall we next time then?

wah... i missed so many postings arh.. spent one whole am in meeting.....

iliac, my hubbi's fren staying bukit timah... normally we will go bukit timah if his frens dun want to come to jurong leh...

so tonite's session still on is it???

Hi boringbuangkok,

So how? Or u already confirmed with geneva? Then me try ask my mom but no promise cos if she already go out to buy the ingredients then cannot liao

Hi serrich,

oic, but that means if bt timah then enough players liao cos u & ur hubby + ur frens right?

Hi boringbuangkok,

Sat night me ok, but what about tonight? Confirmed cancel or u want me try call home 1st? Cos me don't wanna ask my mom unnecessarily cos she doesn't like changes once confirm

Hi iliac
Now I am staying at east side and my new home is at SK which I going over on friday nite
to help my hubby do cleaning up cos he is satying there right now...... I manage to know where to stay liao....west side..hee hee also very far fr us.

Hi boringbuangkok
Hmmm...... I cannot confirm lei. My colleague and her buddy might be playing with us then I got another friend also chio now more than enough... they only want to confirm on sat whether want to play or not. Our game always start after 9pm and end late.

if you cant find kaki, I dun mind let u have my seat.

Hi boringbuangkok,

how? must quick let me know cos got 1st must grab her before she goes out, then if grab her still must get her approval

Hi coolangel,

Quote: "I manage to know where to stay liao" => ?? u mean u manage to know where me stay issit? me stay bishan, not west side lah, that is used to

wow so gd overflow of kakis, & so gracious of u to give up ur seat!

Hi iliac
I happened to read it fr past posting. hee hee
I dun know exactly where to stay lah....

My hubby also like to play MJ and normally we take turn to play if overflow Kaki lor... Pai say to ask ppl to give up seat lah...... If my colleague they all want to play I can give up my seat to anyone of u or if my another friend dun mind giving him lor.....

I can understand hand itchy then cannot play a bit sian man.....